{"answer":"Alaska has 1 state scholarship program for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS): Level 1: up to $7,000 per year.","as_of":"October 2026","date":"2026-10-21","dek":"The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a Alaska high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.","faq":[{"a":"Alaska has 1 state scholarship program for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS): Level 1: up to $7,000 per year.","q":"What scholarships does Alaska offer?"},{"a":"Alaska runs 1 award that turn on grades or scores, and Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS) is one of them.","q":"Does Alaska have a merit scholarship?"},{"a":"Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.","q":"How do I find the rules for a Alaska scholarship?"}],"findings":[{"h":"Alaska runs 1 award that turn on grades or scores.","p":"Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS) is one of them. 1 of the 1 programs we could read name a GPA, and 1 name a test score. A need-based award asks about family income instead, through the FAFSA."},{"h":"Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS) is the award to read first.","p":"What Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS) pays: Level 1: up to $7,000 per year. The table carries the deadline and the renewal rule for each one."},{"h":"What this table does not tell you.","p":"Every figure on the table was read off the state's own page for that program. Nothing is estimated and nothing is carried over from an earlier year."}],"license":"CC BY 4.0 \u2014 quote with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach)","method":"Programs come from the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE) and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a Alaska high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.","question":"What scholarships are available in Alaska?","related":[{"label":"Merit scholarships by college","url":"/merit-scholarships"},{"label":"State scholarships in every state","url":"/research/state-scholarships-every-state"},{"label":"High schools in Alaska","url":"/research/high-schools-in-alaska"},{"label":"Scholarship deadlines","url":"/research/scholarship-deadlines-2027"}],"sections":[{"h2":"How to read a state scholarship","paragraphs":["State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.","The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds."]},{"h2":"What a family should do with this","paragraphs":["Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. In Alaska the earliest date on this table is the one to put on the calendar first.","Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published."]}],"slug":"scholarships-in-alaska","sources":[{"label":"Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education (ACPE)","url":"https://acpe.alaska.gov/Funding-Solutions/Alaska-Performance-Scholarship"},{"label":"Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS)","url":"https://acpe.alaska.gov/Funding-Solutions/Alaska-Performance-Scholarship"}],"tables":[{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"kind","label":"Merit or need"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"gpa","label":"GPA it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"test","label":"Test score it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"who","label":"Who qualifies"},{"fmt":"str","key":"deadline","label":"Deadline"},{"fmt":"str","key":"renewable","label":"Renewable"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Every state scholarship in Alaska","intro":"Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.","note":"Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a Alaska high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.","rows":[{"award":"Level 1: up to $7,000 per year; Level 2: up to $5,250 per year; Level 3: up to $3,500 per year; students can receive the equivalent of 8 full-time disbursements within 8 years of high school graduation","deadline":"FAFSA due by the June 30th priority deadline each year the award is used; private/homeschool eligibility-determination form due July 15","gpa":"Level 1: 3.5; Level 2: 3.0; Level 3: 2.5 high school GPA (meeting the GPA OR the test-score bar for that level qualifies)","kind":"Merit","program":"Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS)","renewable":"Renewable for up to 8 full-time semesters within 8 years of high school graduation; recipients must meet the school's satisfactory-academic-progress standard, keep unmet need of $500 or more, and (after the first year) complete 30 semester credits per year with a cumulative 2.5 GPA","source":"https://acpe.alaska.gov/Funding-Solutions/Alaska-Performance-Scholarship","test":"Level 1: ACT 25 / SAT 1210 / WorkKeys 18; Level 2: ACT 23 / SAT 1130 / WorkKeys 15; Level 3: ACT 21 / SAT 1060 / WorkKeys 12","who":"Alaska resident who graduates from an Alaska public, private, or home school; must complete a specific rigorous curriculum (the APS Checklist); FAFSA (or Alternative APS Application for non-Title IV schools) required; must have unmet cost of attendance of $500 or more; enroll in at least 12 credits per term for a full-time award"}]}],"title":"Scholarships in Alaska: the 1 state program and what each asks for","updated":null,"url":"https://highschoolreach.com/research/scholarships-in-alaska"}
