{"answer":"Georgia has 2 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table says what each one pays, who qualifies, and when it closes, in the state's own words.","as_of":"October 2026","date":"2026-10-21","dek":"The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a Georgia high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.","faq":[{"a":"Georgia has 2 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table says what each one pays, who qualifies, and when it closes, in the state's own words.","q":"What scholarships does Georgia offer?"},{"a":"Georgia runs 2 awards that turn on grades or scores, and HOPE Scholarship is one of them.","q":"Does Georgia have a merit scholarship?"},{"a":"Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.","q":"How do I find the rules for a Georgia scholarship?"}],"findings":[{"h":"Georgia runs 2 awards that turn on grades or scores.","p":"HOPE Scholarship is one of them. 2 of the 2 programs we could read name a GPA, and 1 name a test score. A need-based award asks about family income instead, through the FAFSA."},{"h":"The state's own pages are the only place these rules live.","p":"Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it."},{"h":"What this table does not tell you.","p":"Every figure on the table was read off the state's own page for that program. Nothing is estimated and nothing is carried over from an earlier year."}],"license":"CC BY 4.0 \u2014 quote with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach)","method":"Programs come from the Georgia Student Finance Commission (GSFC) / GAfutures and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a Georgia high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.","question":"What scholarships are available in Georgia?","related":[{"label":"Merit scholarships by college","url":"/merit-scholarships"},{"label":"State scholarships in every state","url":"/research/state-scholarships-every-state"},{"label":"High schools in Georgia","url":"/research/high-schools-in-georgia"},{"label":"Scholarship deadlines","url":"/research/scholarship-deadlines-2027"}],"sections":[{"h2":"How to read a state scholarship","paragraphs":["State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.","The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds."]},{"h2":"What a family should do with this","paragraphs":["Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. The Georgia pages on this table post no date, so file the FAFSA as early as you can and check the program page again in the spring.","Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published."]}],"slug":"scholarships-in-georgia","sources":[{"label":"Georgia Student Finance Commission (GSFC) / GAfutures","url":"https://www.gafutures.org/hope-state-aid-programs/hope-zell-miller-scholarships/hope-scholarship/"},{"label":"HOPE Scholarship","url":"https://www.gafutures.org/hope-state-aid-programs/hope-zell-miller-scholarships/hope-scholarship/initial-academic-eligibility/"},{"label":"Zell Miller Scholarship","url":"https://www.gafutures.org/hope-state-aid-programs/hope-zell-miller-scholarships/zell-miller-scholarship/initial-academic-eligibility/"}],"tables":[{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"kind","label":"Merit or need"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"gpa","label":"GPA it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"test","label":"Test score it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"who","label":"Who qualifies"},{"fmt":"str","key":"deadline","label":"Deadline"},{"fmt":"str","key":"renewable","label":"Renewable"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Every state scholarship in Georgia","intro":"Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.","note":"Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a Georgia high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.","rows":[{"award":"A portion of in-state public-college tuition cost, applied per credit hour up to 15 hours/term","deadline":"","gpa":"3.0 (GSFC core-course GPA)","kind":"Merit","program":"HOPE Scholarship","renewable":"","source":"https://www.gafutures.org/hope-state-aid-programs/hope-zell-miller-scholarships/hope-scholarship/initial-academic-eligibility/","test":"","who":"Requires 4 rigor credits; maintain a 3.0 in college. Graduates of non-eligible high schools/home study need ACT 24 / SAT 1160 or retroactive eligibility instead of the GPA path"},{"award":"100% of in-state public-college tuition","deadline":"","gpa":"3.7 (GSFC core GPA) -- or 3.0 for a named valedictorian/salutatorian","kind":"Merit","program":"Zell Miller Scholarship","renewable":"","source":"https://www.gafutures.org/hope-state-aid-programs/hope-zell-miller-scholarships/zell-miller-scholarship/initial-academic-eligibility/","test":"SAT 1200 / ACT 25 in a single sitting (waived on the val/sal path)","who":"The 3.0 val/sal path needs no test score; 3.3 is the separate in-college maintenance GPA. Graduates of non-eligible high schools need SAT 1340 / ACT 29"}]}],"title":"Scholarships in Georgia: the 2 state programs and what each asks for","updated":null,"url":"https://highschoolreach.com/research/scholarships-in-georgia"}
