{"answer":"Hawaii has 4 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with State of Hawaii B Plus Scholarship: Up to $2,000 per academic year.","as_of":"October 2026","date":"2026-10-21","dek":"The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a Hawaii high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.","faq":[{"a":"Hawaii has 4 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with State of Hawaii B Plus Scholarship: Up to $2,000 per academic year.","q":"What scholarships does Hawaii offer?"},{"a":"None of the state programs on this table turns on a GPA or a test score.","q":"Does Hawaii have a merit scholarship?"},{"a":"Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.","q":"How do I find the rules for a Hawaii scholarship?"}],"findings":[{"h":"Hawaii state aid is need-based, not merit-based.","p":"None of the state programs on this table turns on a GPA or a test score. They ask about family income instead, through the FAFSA. State of Hawaii B Plus Scholarship is the exception."},{"h":"State of Hawaii B Plus Scholarship is the award to read first.","p":"What State of Hawaii B Plus Scholarship pays: Up to $2,000 per academic year. The next program on the table is Hawai'i Promise Program. The table carries the deadline and the renewal rule for each one."},{"h":"What this table does not tell you.","p":"The state agency's own page names 2 more programs in a second table below. Some of those pages give no award figure at all, so those rows carry the name and the link only."}],"license":"CC BY 4.0 \u2014 quote with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach)","method":"Programs come from the University of Hawaii System and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a Hawaii high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.","question":"What scholarships are available in Hawaii?","related":[{"label":"Merit scholarships by college","url":"/merit-scholarships"},{"label":"State scholarships in every state","url":"/research/state-scholarships-every-state"},{"label":"High schools in Hawaii","url":"/research/high-schools-in-hawaii"},{"label":"Scholarship deadlines","url":"/research/scholarship-deadlines-2027"}],"sections":[{"h2":"How to read a state scholarship","paragraphs":["State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.","The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds."]},{"h2":"What a family should do with this","paragraphs":["Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. In Hawaii the earliest date on this table is the one to put on the calendar first.","Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published."]}],"slug":"scholarships-in-hawaii","sources":[{"label":"University of Hawaii System","url":"https://www.hawaii.edu/tuition/scholarships/"},{"label":"State of Hawaii B Plus Scholarship","url":"https://manoa.hawaii.edu/fas/types-of-aid/scholarships/financial-aid-scholarships/"},{"label":"Hawai'i Promise Program","url":"https://uhcc.hawaii.edu/admissions/hawaii-promise.php"}],"tables":[{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"kind","label":"Merit or need"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"gpa","label":"GPA it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"test","label":"Test score it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"who","label":"Who qualifies"},{"fmt":"str","key":"deadline","label":"Deadline"},{"fmt":"str","key":"renewable","label":"Renewable"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Every state scholarship in Hawaii","intro":"Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.","note":"Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a Hawaii high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.","rows":[{"award":"Up to $2,000 per academic year","deadline":"","gpa":"3.0 or higher cumulative high school GPA","kind":"Need-based","program":"State of Hawaii B Plus Scholarship","renewable":"May be renewed annually for up to four years for students maintaining satisfactory academic progress, depending on available funding","source":"https://manoa.hawaii.edu/fas/types-of-aid/scholarships/financial-aid-scholarships/","test":"","who":"Hawaii resident; graduated from a Hawaii public high school after 2005; completed a rigorous high school curriculum (4 English, 3 math incl. Algebra I/Geometry, 3 science incl. Biology, 3 college-prep credits); enrolled full-time at a University of Hawaii campus directly after graduation; UH Common Scholarship Application plus FAFSA"},{"award":"Covers remaining tuition, fees, and books at a UH Community College after other aid is applied (2024-25 average award $2,933)","deadline":"March 1 (for first consideration on the FAFSA)","gpa":"Maintain at least a 2.0 GPA","kind":"State award","program":"Hawai'i Promise Program","renewable":"","source":"https://uhcc.hawaii.edu/admissions/hawaii-promise.php","test":"","who":"Hawaii resident qualifying for in-state tuition; enrolled in a UH Community College degree-seeking program; at least 6 credits per semester; FAFSA required"}]},{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"detail","label":"What the page says"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Other programs the state names","intro":"The agency's own page lists these too. Where its page gives no award figure, the row carries the name and the link only.","note":"These rows come from the Hawaii agency's own index of programs. A blank award means that index does not state one, not that the program pays nothing.","rows":[{"award":"","detail":"","program":"Hawaii Regents and Presidential Scholarship","source":"https://www.hawaii.edu/admissions/paying-for-college/"},{"award":"","detail":"","program":"Second Century Scholarship","source":"https://www.hawaii.edu/admissions/paying-for-college/"}]}],"title":"Scholarships in Hawaii: the 4 state programs and what each asks for","updated":null,"url":"https://highschoolreach.com/research/scholarships-in-hawaii"}
