{"answer":"Idaho has 2 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with Idaho Opportunity Scholarship: Up to $3,500 per academic year, renewable for up to four years.","as_of":"October 2026","date":"2026-10-21","dek":"The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a Idaho high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.","faq":[{"a":"Idaho has 2 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with Idaho Opportunity Scholarship: Up to $3,500 per academic year, renewable for up to four years.","q":"What scholarships does Idaho offer?"},{"a":"Idaho runs 1 award that turn on grades or scores, and Idaho LAUNCH is one of them.","q":"Does Idaho have a merit scholarship?"},{"a":"Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.","q":"How do I find the rules for a Idaho scholarship?"}],"findings":[{"h":"Idaho runs 1 award that turn on grades or scores.","p":"Idaho LAUNCH is one of them. 1 of the 2 programs we could read name a GPA, and 0 name a test score. A need-based award asks about family income instead, through the FAFSA."},{"h":"Idaho Opportunity Scholarship is the award to read first.","p":"What Idaho Opportunity Scholarship pays: Up to $3,500 per academic year, renewable for up to four years. The next program on the table is Idaho LAUNCH: Up to $8,000 total, covering up to 80% of tuition and fees (up to $4,000 in the first year. The table carries the deadline and the renewal rule for each one."},{"h":"What this table does not tell you.","p":"Every figure on the table was read off the state's own page for that program. Nothing is estimated and nothing is carried over from an earlier year."}],"license":"CC BY 4.0 \u2014 quote with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach)","method":"Programs come from the Idaho State Board of Education and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a Idaho high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.","question":"What scholarships are available in Idaho?","related":[{"label":"Merit scholarships by college","url":"/merit-scholarships"},{"label":"State scholarships in every state","url":"/research/state-scholarships-every-state"},{"label":"High schools in Idaho","url":"/research/high-schools-in-idaho"},{"label":"Scholarship deadlines","url":"/research/scholarship-deadlines-2027"}],"sections":[{"h2":"How to read a state scholarship","paragraphs":["State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.","The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds."]},{"h2":"What a family should do with this","paragraphs":["Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. In Idaho the earliest date on this table is the one to put on the calendar first.","Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published."]}],"slug":"scholarships-in-idaho","sources":[{"label":"Idaho State Board of Education","url":"https://boardofed.idaho.gov/scholarships/"},{"label":"Idaho Opportunity Scholarship","url":"https://nextsteps.idaho.gov/scholarship-idaho/idaho-opportunity-scholarship"},{"label":"Idaho LAUNCH","url":"https://nextsteps.idaho.gov/launch"}],"tables":[{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"kind","label":"Merit or need"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"gpa","label":"GPA it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"test","label":"Test score it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"who","label":"Who qualifies"},{"fmt":"str","key":"deadline","label":"Deadline"},{"fmt":"str","key":"renewable","label":"Renewable"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Every state scholarship in Idaho","intro":"Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.","note":"Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a Idaho high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.","rows":[{"award":"Up to $3,500 per academic year, renewable for up to four years","deadline":"March 1, 2027 (FAFSA and application, for the 2027-28 academic year)","gpa":"Minimum 2.7 unweighted, cumulative GPA","kind":"Need-based","program":"Idaho Opportunity Scholarship","renewable":"Renewable up to four years; must maintain a 2.7 GPA, complete 30 credits per year, meet satisfactory academic progress, and submit renewal confirmation by March 1 each year","source":"https://nextsteps.idaho.gov/scholarship-idaho/idaho-opportunity-scholarship","test":"","who":"Idaho resident who has graduated or will graduate from an Idaho high school; pursuing a certificate, first associate's, or first bachelor's degree; FAFSA required"},{"award":"Up to $8,000 total, covering up to 80% of tuition and fees (up to $4,000 in the first year; full amount in one year for programs under 12 months)","deadline":"Applications open October 1 and close April 15 (for 2026-27 graduates)","gpa":"","kind":"Merit and need","program":"Idaho LAUNCH","renewable":"","source":"https://nextsteps.idaho.gov/launch","test":"","who":"Idaho resident; graduate of the current year's Idaho public, charter, private, home school, or GED program; under age 21 by April 15; enrolled in or applied to an eligible Idaho education or training program in a high-demand field; must complete a Career Pathway Plan; must begin enrollment the fall after graduation"}]}],"title":"Scholarships in Idaho: the 2 state programs and what each asks for","updated":null,"url":"https://highschoolreach.com/research/scholarships-in-idaho"}
