{"answer":"Kansas has 8 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with Kansas Comprehensive Grant: $200-$10,000 at the eighteen participating private Kansas colleges/universities.","as_of":"October 2026","date":"2026-10-21","dek":"The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a Kansas high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.","faq":[{"a":"Kansas has 8 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with Kansas Comprehensive Grant: $200-$10,000 at the eighteen participating private Kansas colleges/universities.","q":"What scholarships does Kansas offer?"},{"a":"Kansas runs 1 award that turn on grades or scores, and Kansas State Scholarship is one of them.","q":"Does Kansas have a merit scholarship?"},{"a":"Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.","q":"How do I find the rules for a Kansas scholarship?"}],"findings":[{"h":"Kansas runs 1 award that turn on grades or scores.","p":"Kansas State Scholarship is one of them. 0 of the 3 programs we could read name a GPA, and 0 name a test score. A need-based award asks about family income instead, through the FAFSA."},{"h":"Kansas Comprehensive Grant is the award to read first.","p":"What Kansas Comprehensive Grant pays: $200-$10,000 at the eighteen participating private Kansas colleges/universities. The next program on the table is Kansas State Scholarship. Neither page posts a deadline, so file the FAFSA early and check again in the spring."},{"h":"What this table does not tell you.","p":"The state agency's own page names 5 more programs in a second table below. Some of those pages give no award figure at all, so those rows carry the name and the link only."}],"license":"CC BY 4.0 \u2014 quote with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach)","method":"Programs come from the Kansas Board of Regents and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a Kansas high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.","question":"What scholarships are available in Kansas?","related":[{"label":"Merit scholarships by college","url":"/merit-scholarships"},{"label":"State scholarships in every state","url":"/research/state-scholarships-every-state"},{"label":"High schools in Kansas","url":"/research/high-schools-in-kansas"},{"label":"Scholarship deadlines","url":"/research/scholarship-deadlines-2027"}],"sections":[{"h2":"How to read a state scholarship","paragraphs":["State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.","The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds."]},{"h2":"What a family should do with this","paragraphs":["Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. The Kansas pages on this table post no date, so file the FAFSA as early as you can and check the program page again in the spring.","Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published."]}],"slug":"scholarships-in-kansas","sources":[{"label":"Kansas Board of Regents","url":"https://kansasregents.gov/scholarships_and_grants"},{"label":"Kansas Comprehensive Grant","url":"https://kansasregents.gov/scholarships_and_grants"},{"label":"Kansas State Scholarship","url":"https://kansasregents.gov/scholarships_and_grants"},{"label":"Kansas Promise Scholarship","url":"https://kansasregents.gov/scholarships_and_grants"}],"tables":[{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"kind","label":"Merit or need"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"gpa","label":"GPA it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"test","label":"Test score it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"who","label":"Who qualifies"},{"fmt":"str","key":"deadline","label":"Deadline"},{"fmt":"str","key":"renewable","label":"Renewable"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Every state scholarship in Kansas","intro":"Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.","note":"Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a Kansas high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.","rows":[{"award":"$200-$10,000 at the eighteen participating private Kansas colleges/universities; $100-$4,000 at the six state universities and Washburn University","deadline":"","gpa":"","kind":"Need-based","program":"Kansas Comprehensive Grant","renewable":"","source":"https://kansasregents.gov/scholarships_and_grants","test":"","who":"Kansas resident; enrolled full-time at an eligible Kansas private college/university, one of the six state universities, or Washburn University; no separate application -- list an eligible college on the FAFSA; funding allows about 1 in 3 eligible students to be assisted"},{"award":"Varies; assists designated State Scholars who show financial need","deadline":"","gpa":"","kind":"Merit and need","program":"Kansas State Scholarship","renewable":"Renewable for up to four years of undergraduate studies","source":"https://kansasregents.gov/scholarships_and_grants","test":"","who":"Must be designated a 'Kansas State Scholar' during senior year of a Kansas high school (top 40-50% of Kansas high school graduates), certified by the high school and the Kansas Board of Regents; must be enrolled at a participating Kansas postsecondary institution"},{"award":"Amount determined by the student's educational institution based on the FAFSA and other financial aid received; may be used toward tuition, required fees, books, and required program materials","deadline":"","gpa":"","kind":"State award","program":"Kansas Promise Scholarship","renewable":"","source":"https://kansasregents.gov/scholarships_and_grants","test":"","who":"Enrolled in a specified high-wage, high-demand, or critical-need industry program at an eligible Kansas community college or technical college, Washburn Institute of Technology, or certain private postsecondary institutions; FAFSA required; carries a service/completion obligation per program rules"}]},{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"detail","label":"What the page says"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Other programs the state names","intro":"The agency's own page lists these too. Where its page gives no award figure, the row carries the name and the link only.","note":"These rows come from the Kansas agency's own index of programs. A blank award means that index does not state one, not that the program pays nothing.","rows":[{"award":"","detail":"","program":"Kansas Education Opportunity Scholarship","source":"https://www.kansasregents.org/students/student_financial_aid"},{"award":"","detail":"","program":"Kansas Hero's Scholarship","source":"https://www.kansasregents.org/students/student_financial_aid"},{"award":"","detail":"","program":"Kansas Military Service Scholarship","source":"https://www.kansasregents.org/students/student_financial_aid"},{"award":"","detail":"","program":"Kansas National Guard Scholarship","source":"https://www.kansasregents.org/students/student_financial_aid"},{"award":"","detail":"","program":"Kansas Nursing Service Scholarship","source":"https://www.kansasregents.org/students/student_financial_aid"}]}],"title":"Scholarships in Kansas: the 8 state programs and what each asks for","updated":null,"url":"https://highschoolreach.com/research/scholarships-in-kansas"}
