{"answer":"Missouri has 5 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with Access Missouri Financial Assistance Program: $500-$1,700/year at public 2-year schools.","as_of":"October 2026","date":"2026-10-21","dek":"The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a Missouri high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.","faq":[{"a":"Missouri has 5 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with Access Missouri Financial Assistance Program: $500-$1,700/year at public 2-year schools.","q":"What scholarships does Missouri offer?"},{"a":"Missouri runs 1 award that turn on grades or scores, and Bright Flight Program is one of them.","q":"Does Missouri have a merit scholarship?"},{"a":"Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.","q":"How do I find the rules for a Missouri scholarship?"}],"findings":[{"h":"Missouri runs 1 award that turn on grades or scores.","p":"Bright Flight Program is one of them. 3 of the 3 programs we could read name a GPA, and 2 name a test score. A need-based award asks about family income instead, through the FAFSA."},{"h":"Access Missouri Financial Assistance Program is the award to read first.","p":"What Access Missouri Financial Assistance Program pays: $500-$1,700/year at public 2-year schools. The next program on the table is Bright Flight Program: Up to $3,000/year for the top tier (ACT 32+ or equivalent SAT). The table carries the deadline and the renewal rule for each one."},{"h":"What this table does not tell you.","p":"The state agency's own page names 2 more programs in a second table below. Some of those pages give no award figure at all, so those rows carry the name and the link only."}],"license":"CC BY 4.0 \u2014 quote with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach)","method":"Programs come from the Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development (MDHEWD) and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a Missouri high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.","question":"What scholarships are available in Missouri?","related":[{"label":"Merit scholarships by college","url":"/merit-scholarships"},{"label":"State scholarships in every state","url":"/research/state-scholarships-every-state"},{"label":"High schools in Missouri","url":"/research/high-schools-in-missouri"},{"label":"Scholarship deadlines","url":"/research/scholarship-deadlines-2027"}],"sections":[{"h2":"How to read a state scholarship","paragraphs":["State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.","The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds."]},{"h2":"What a family should do with this","paragraphs":["Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. In Missouri the earliest date on this table is the one to put on the calendar first.","Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published."]}],"slug":"scholarships-in-missouri","sources":[{"label":"Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development (MDHEWD)","url":"https://dhewd.mo.gov"},{"label":"Access Missouri Financial Assistance Program","url":"https://dhewd.mo.gov/ppc/grants-scholarships/access-mo"},{"label":"Bright Flight Program","url":"https://dhewd.mo.gov/ppc/grants-scholarships/bright-flight"},{"label":"A+ Scholarship Program","url":"https://dhewd.mo.gov/ppc/grants-scholarships/a-plus"}],"tables":[{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"kind","label":"Merit or need"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"gpa","label":"GPA it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"test","label":"Test score it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"who","label":"Who qualifies"},{"fmt":"str","key":"deadline","label":"Deadline"},{"fmt":"str","key":"renewable","label":"Renewable"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Every state scholarship in Missouri","intro":"Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.","note":"Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a Missouri high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.","rows":[{"award":"$500-$1,700/year at public 2-year schools; $1,750-$3,500/year at public 4-year, state technical college, private, and approved virtual schools","deadline":"For the 2027-28 academic year: priority deadline February 1, 2027; final deadline April 1, 2027; correction deadline July 31, 2027","gpa":"2.5 cumulative GPA required to renew (not an initial-eligibility requirement)","kind":"Need-based","program":"Access Missouri Financial Assistance Program","renewable":"File the FAFSA and have eligibility re-evaluated each year; must maintain satisfactory academic progress and a 2.5 GPA","source":"https://dhewd.mo.gov/ppc/grants-scholarships/access-mo","test":"","who":"Missouri resident; FAFSA; enrolled full-time at a participating Missouri institution"},{"award":"Up to $3,000/year for the top tier (ACT 32+ or equivalent SAT); up to $1,000/year for the next tier (ACT 30-31 or equivalent SAT); paid in equal fall/spring installments","deadline":"Qualifying score must be achieved by the June ACT/SAT test date immediately following high school graduation","gpa":"2.5 cumulative GPA required to renew (does not apply to the first year)","kind":"Merit","program":"Bright Flight Program","renewable":"Up to 10 semesters or until a bachelor's degree is completed, whichever occurs first, while maintaining a 2.5 GPA and satisfactory academic progress","source":"https://dhewd.mo.gov/ppc/grants-scholarships/bright-flight","test":"Composite ACT or SAT score within the top five percent of all Missouri test takers","who":"Missouri resident; U.S. citizen or permanent resident; full-time enrollment (minimum 12 semester hours); cannot be pursuing a theology/divinity degree"},{"award":"Reimburses the unpaid balance of tuition and general fees after non-loan federal aid (such as Pell) is applied, at Missouri community colleges and vocational-technical schools; for 2026-27 the maximum reimbursement rate is $240.00 per credit hour or $8.00 per clock-hour","deadline":"","gpa":"2.5 unweighted high school GPA; 2.0 cumulative college GPA to renew","kind":"State award","program":"A+ Scholarship Program","renewable":"Must maintain a 2.5 college GPA, complete the FAFSA annually, and finish 12 credit hours per term (6 in summer)","source":"https://dhewd.mo.gov/ppc/grants-scholarships/a-plus","test":"Proficient or advanced on the Algebra I end-of-course exam (or a higher-level DESE-approved math exam)","who":"At least 95% attendance in grades 9-12; 50 hours of unpaid tutoring or mentoring before graduation (up to 25% may be job shadowing); FAFSA; 12 college credit hours per term (6 in summer)"}]},{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"detail","label":"What the page says"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Other programs the state names","intro":"The agency's own page lists these too. Where its page gives no award figure, the row carries the name and the link only.","note":"These rows come from the Missouri agency's own index of programs. A blank award means that index does not state one, not that the program pays nothing.","rows":[{"award":"","detail":"Pays for college-credit coursework taken in high school","program":"Dual Credit / Dual Enrollment Scholarship","source":"https://dhewd.mo.gov/ppc/grants-scholarships"},{"award":"","detail":"","program":"Advanced Placement Incentive Grant","source":"https://dhewd.mo.gov/ppc/grants-scholarships"}]}],"title":"Scholarships in Missouri: the 5 state programs and what each asks for","updated":null,"url":"https://highschoolreach.com/research/scholarships-in-missouri"}
