{"answer":"Nebraska has 3 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table says what each one pays, who qualifies, and when it closes, in the state's own words.","as_of":"October 2026","date":"2026-10-21","dek":"The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a Nebraska high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.","faq":[{"a":"Nebraska has 3 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table says what each one pays, who qualifies, and when it closes, in the state's own words.","q":"What scholarships does Nebraska offer?"},{"a":"None of the state programs on this table turns on a GPA or a test score.","q":"Does Nebraska have a merit scholarship?"},{"a":"Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.","q":"How do I find the rules for a Nebraska scholarship?"}],"findings":[{"h":"Nebraska state aid is need-based, not merit-based.","p":"None of the state programs on this table turns on a GPA or a test score. They ask about family income instead, through the FAFSA. A strong student looking for a merit award in this state will find it at a college rather than from the state."},{"h":"The state's own pages are the only place these rules live.","p":"Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it."},{"h":"What this table does not tell you.","p":"1 program publishes figures for an earlier award year (2024-25), and the state has posted nothing newer we could find. The table says which year each one describes. The state agency's own page names 1 more program in a second table below. Some of those pages give no award figure at all, so those rows carry the name and the link only."}],"license":"CC BY 4.0 \u2014 quote with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach)","method":"Programs come from the Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education (CCPE) and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a Nebraska high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.","question":"What scholarships are available in Nebraska?","related":[{"label":"Merit scholarships by college","url":"/merit-scholarships"},{"label":"State scholarships in every state","url":"/research/state-scholarships-every-state"},{"label":"High schools in Nebraska","url":"/research/high-schools-in-nebraska"},{"label":"Scholarship deadlines","url":"/research/scholarship-deadlines-2027"}],"sections":[{"h2":"How to read a state scholarship","paragraphs":["State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.","The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds."]},{"h2":"What a family should do with this","paragraphs":["Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. In Nebraska the earliest date on this table is the one to put on the calendar first.","Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published."]}],"slug":"scholarships-in-nebraska","sources":[{"label":"Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education (CCPE)","url":"https://ccpe.nebraska.gov"},{"label":"Nebraska Opportunity Grant (NOG)","url":"https://ccpe.nebraska.gov/nebraska-opportunity-grant-nog"},{"label":"Access College Early (ACE) Scholarship Program","url":"https://ccpe.nebraska.gov/access-college-early-ace-scholarship-program"}],"tables":[{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"kind","label":"Merit or need"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"gpa","label":"GPA it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"test","label":"Test score it asks for"},{"fmt":"str","key":"who","label":"Who qualifies"},{"fmt":"str","key":"deadline","label":"Deadline"},{"fmt":"str","key":"renewable","label":"Renewable"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Every state scholarship in Nebraska","intro":"Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.","note":"Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a Nebraska high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.","rows":[{"award":"Need-based grant; amount varies by Student Aid Index. In 2024-25, $24,405,784 total was awarded, averaging $1,823.66 per recipient (the page describes the 2024-25 award year)","deadline":"","gpa":"","kind":"Need-based","program":"Nebraska Opportunity Grant (NOG)","renewable":"","source":"https://ccpe.nebraska.gov/nebraska-opportunity-grant-nog","test":"","who":"Nebraska resident; attending a Nebraska postsecondary institution; FAFSA"},{"award":"Covers tuition and mandatory fees for a qualifying dual-enrollment or early-enrollment college course taken while still in high school","deadline":"Fall term December 15; winter term February 15; spring term May 15; summer term July 15","gpa":"","kind":"Need-based","program":"Access College Early (ACE) Scholarship Program","renewable":"","source":"https://ccpe.nebraska.gov/access-college-early-ace-scholarship-program","test":"","who":"Course must be taken for a grade (not audit or credit/no-credit); must have lawful U.S. immigration status (DACA recipients are ineligible)"}]},{"columns":[{"fmt":"str","key":"program","label":"Program"},{"fmt":"str","key":"award","label":"What it pays"},{"fmt":"str","key":"detail","label":"What the page says"},{"fmt":"url","key":"source","label":"Official page"}],"h2":"Other programs the state names","intro":"The agency's own page lists these too. Where its page gives no award figure, the row carries the name and the link only.","note":"These rows come from the Nebraska agency's own index of programs. A blank award means that index does not state one, not that the program pays nothing.","rows":[{"award":"Up to $5,000 a year","detail":"For a Nebraska high school graduate enrolled at a Nebraska college, with the FAFSA required","program":"Door to College (DTC) Scholarship Program","source":"https://ccpe.nebraska.gov/door-college-dtc-scholarship-program"}]}],"title":"Scholarships in Nebraska: the 3 state programs and what each asks for","updated":null,"url":"https://highschoolreach.com/research/scholarships-in-nebraska"}
