No UC admissions data on file for Orangewood High (continuation).

This school doesn't appear in UCOP's source-school records (it may send few or no applicants to UC). Its enrollment trend and similar-school comparison are still below.

Orangewood High (continuation)

Redlands · San Bernardino County · Redlands Unified · Public

Public San Bernardino County Redlands Unified → CDS 3667843…
Shareable scorecard →

At a glance

Programs & features
  • 1 AP courses offered — Limited
  • Gifted & talented program
Academic signals
  • AP rigor: Bottom 22% of US high schools
  • 4-yr grad rate: 72% in 2019 (Bottom 16% of US high schools by 4-yr grad rate)

Composed from federal CRDC offerings, EDFacts graduation data, and other public data. Full breakdowns below.

How Orangewood High (continuation) compares for families

What families should know about Orangewood High (continuation).

  • vs Similar SchoolsThe closest comparables nearby: Grove High School, Audeo Valley Charter School, Dr. John H. Milor High Continuation and 2 more. See the sidebar to compare side-by-side.
You've seen Orangewood High (continuation). What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

For Parents

Get alerts when Orangewood High (continuation)'s numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

California College-Going Rate

44.2% of the 2022-23 graduating class enrolled in college within a year.

The share of 2022-23 graduates who enrolled at a college anywhere in the U.S. within 12 months, per the National Student Clearinghouse match the California Department of Education publishes.

Within 12 months
44.2%
of 95 graduates

Give the same class four more months and 50.5% had enrolled — CDE publishes a 16-month window alongside the 12-month one, 48 students.

Up 23.3 points from the 2021-22 class (20.9%).

Where the 2022-23 class enrolled

In California — 40 students (42.1%)

University of California 0.0% 0
California State University 0.0% 0
California Community College 36.8% 35
California private college 5.3% 5

Out of state — 2 students (2.1%)

Out-of-state 4-year 1.1% 1
Out-of-state 2-year 1.1% 1

CDE puts each graduate in one bucket only — whichever kind of college they were enrolled in longest — so these add up to the rate above. That is a different count from the UC Reach Score on this page, which counts a student at every UC campus that admitted them.

Source: California Department of Education, College-Going Rate (DataQuest) ↗, cohort 2022-23, posted 17-Sep-2025. Data file: cgr12mo23.txt ↗ (and the 16-month file ↗). CDE builds the rate by matching California high school completers to National Student Clearinghouse enrollment records; we publish CDE’s aggregates and hold no student-level data.

Academic rigor

AP + advanced-course offerings

Limited — narrow advanced curriculum

Bottom 22% of US high schools

50th 90th ↑ this school
Less rigorMore rigorMost rigor
AP courses offered
1
Subject breadth not reported
Students taking AP courses
20
≈8 per 100 students · uptake, not just offerings
Lab science classes
1
1 physics · 0 chemistry
Other rigor signals
Gifted/talented program

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). CRDC reports what's offered + enrolled — it doesn't collect AP exam pass rates (College Board owns that data and doesn't release it school-level).

SAT / ACT participation

CRDC federal data · 2020-21
SAT/ACT test-takers
0
11th-12th graders who took 1+ college admissions test
Test-taking intensity
0.0
takers per 100 students in grades 9-12

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). Volume — not score — is what's reported here. A higher count means more students at this school are entering the college admissions pipeline. Note: 2020-21 was COVID-disrupted; some districts (especially those that stayed remote longer) report unusually low or zero takers.

4-year graduation rate · federal EDFacts

What % of students graduate on time?

Bottom 16% of US high schools by 4-yr grad rate

50th 90th
4-year graduation rate
72%
Range: 70–74%
4-year cohort size
142
Students in the 9th-grade entry class tracked over 4 years
Compared against
17,988
US high schools reporting 4-year ACGR

Source: federal EDFacts ACGR (Adjusted Cohort Graduation Rate), 2019 vintage via Urban Institute. EDFacts publishes a range (low-high) to preserve privacy on small cohorts; we display the midpoint.

Federal Title I context

Title I Schoolwide eligible

≥40% FRPL — qualifies for Title I Schoolwide program

71.5%
FRPL rate — % of students who qualify for the federal Free or Reduced-Price Lunch program. This is the underlying federal income-eligibility signal Title I designations are computed from (ESEA Sec. 1113).
0% (no FRPL) 35% TA · 40% Schoolwide 100% (universal FRPL)

40-74% of students qualify for free/reduced lunch. The district can use Title I funds across the whole school under federal Schoolwide Program rules.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, free/reduced-price lunch eligibility. The actual Title I designation is a district decision and may differ from eligibility — but the federal eligibility math is what we show here. We don't claim to assert whether the district formally chose to enroll this school in Title I.

College readiness

Getting ready for college

These come from the state and federal files, not from UC — so they are here whether or not Orangewood High (continuation) has a UC admissions record.

Student-Counselor Ratio
Counseling here is unusually well-staffed — about 102 students per counselor, near what experts recommend.
102:1
2.0 FTE counselors · 205 students
In context: CA median 337:1 · 235 fewer students per counselor · ASCA target 250:1.
A-G Completion
Fewer than 1 in 10 graduates finish the courses UC and CSU require — below the state norm. Worth asking how course access and planning work here.
1%
1 of 115 graduates · 2024-25 cohort
In context: CA median 55.9% · -55.0 pp vs. median · San Bernardino Co. 52.6%.

SBAC academic outcomes — grade 11, 2025

Share of grade-11 students meeting or exceeding the California standard on Smarter Balanced ELA and Math. This is the academic-readiness signal that pairs with UC Reach (post-grad outcomes), stability (retention), and absenteeism (engagement). Note: statewide median Math is only ~20% — a school at 20% isn't an outlier; one at 45%+ genuinely is.

About 1 in 10 students read and write at grade level — below the state norm — worth asking what extra support looks like.
Fewer than 1 in 10 students do math at grade level — below the state norm — worth asking what extra support looks like.
ELA — met or exceeded
n = 145
13.8%
incl. 4.1% exceeded
-32.5 pts vs. San Bernardino County median (46.3%) · CA median 54.5% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 79.4%
Math — met or exceeded
n = 144
4.2%
incl. 0.0% exceeded
-11.6 pts vs. San Bernardino County median (15.8%) · CA median 21.4% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 53.6%

Source: California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) Smarter Balanced research files. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥30 tested students.

Student composition — 2025-26

HS grades 9–12 racial/ethnic composition and program subgroups, from CDE Census Day Enrollment. Two-year shift shown when ≥1 pt — surfaces how the community served has changed since 2023-24.

Race / ethnicity

Hispanic / Latino 73% +2.4
Black / African Am. 8% -1.6
White 8% -4.1
Two or more 6% +2.3
Asian 2%
Not reported 2%
Filipino 0%
American Indian 0%

Program subgroups

Socioeconomically disadv. 82% -6.2
English learners 6% -1.5
Homeless 5% -4.0

Source: California Department of Education, Census Day Enrollment 2025-26 (HS grades 9–12). Δ shown when shift is ≥1 pt since 2023-24. Categories below 0.5% omitted.

Chronic absenteeism — 2024-25

Share of students missing 10% or more of expected attendance — the leading indicator that often precedes the demand decline shown above. Families disengaging tend to raise absenteeism first, then formally leave. Basis: grades 9–12.

81% of students miss 10%+ of school days — above the state's ~23%. Ask what the school is doing about engagement.
Chronic absent
81.1%
288 of 355 students

Absenteeism is up 4.1 pp since 2016-17. A rising absenteeism trend often precedes formal departure — worth investigating which subgroups are driving it.

San Bernardino County median
26.7% · school is worse than 95% of 97 HS
Statewide median
22.8%
Chronic absenteeism by year (raw %)

Source: California Department of Education, Chronic Absenteeism 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 eligible students. CDE didn't publish a usable 2019-20 file (COVID).

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment (9–12)
213 (2018)205 (2026)
-3.8%
Grade 12 (graduating class)
152 (2018)136 (2026)
-10.5%

If this trend holds (+1.0%/yr, Total enrollment)

At per-pupil funding of $ / student:

Horizon Projected Total enrollment Change Funding impact / yr
1 yr (2027) ~207 +2 $0
3 yr (2029) ~211 +6 $0
5 yr (2031) ~216 +11 $0

Straight-line extrapolation of the recent annual rate — a what-if, not a forecast of intent. Default = California's LCFF base grant for grades 9–12 ($12,423/ADA). Edit the figure to match your school.

How does Orangewood High (continuation) really compare on getting kids to college?

Unlock a head-to-head snapshot of Orangewood High (continuation) against its 10 most similar nearby schools — matched on size, location, type. See exactly where it stands on the college pipeline.

The full head-to-head table — every peer school's UC Reach, side by side.
Enrollment trend + 3-year projection — is this school growing or quietly shrinking?
The plain-English read on what it all means for your family.

Your similar-school group includes

Grove High School · Audeo Valley Charter School · Dr. John H. Milor High Continuation · Slover Mountain High (continuation) · Middle College High · Nueva Vista Continuation High · +4 more

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement. We'll email you the snapshot and a few alerts a year. Unsubscribe anytime.

Enrollment stability & demand — 2024-25

Two complementary signals: retention (do students stay once enrolled?) and demand (are families choosing the school?). Read against the San Bernardino County baseline — the demographic tide is moving every CA HS, so a school's gap vs. county is the actionable signal.

38% of students who start the year finish it here — more churn than most CA schools. Ask what's behind the turnover.
Critical
Compounding decline on both vectors.

Enrollment -10.5% vs. county +0.0% AND stability (38.3%) below the county median. Recruitment and retention both under pressure — likely a foundational rather than tactical problem. Chronic absenteeism is also at 81.1% (up +4.1 pts from 2016-17) — engagement and demand are both signaling decline.

-10.5%  senior class, grade 12 (2018–2026)
+0.0%  San Bernardino County baseline
-10.5pp  gap vs. county
38.3%  retention (county median 80.5%)
Senior class (grade 12) — indexed to 100 at 2018
Stability rate by year (raw %)
Stability rate
38.3%
141 of 368 students

227 of 368 students who enrolled at Orangewood High (continuation) this year didn't maintain continuous enrollment (61.7% non-stability). Mid-year transfers, dropouts, and other exits are all counted.

San Bernardino County median
80.5% · school is in the 12th percentile of 99 HS
Statewide median
87.3% · in the 11th percentile of 1,734 HS

Stability by student group

Socio. disadvantaged (295) 39.3%
Hispanic / Latino (282) 36.2%
English learners (43) 30.2%
White (30) 46.7%
Black / African Am. (29) 44.8%

Nearest peer high schools

Grove High School 94.1% Audeo Valley Charter School 53.7% Dr. John H. Milor High Continuation 33.9% Slover Mountain High (continuation) 40.4% Middle College High 93.8%

Source: California Department of Education, Stability Rate 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 cumulative enrollees so by-design-high-churn continuation schools don't dominate the bottom of the distribution. Cumulative enrollment counts every student on the rolls during the year, so it can exceed peak-day enrollment.

District financial profile — Redlands Unified (FY2020)

From 4 years of NCES F-33 filings (the federally-mandated district finance survey). Public schools don't have their own books — the district does. These figures show the financial scale, revenue dependence, instruction-vs-overhead mix, and long-term debt that shape what a school can sustain.

Total revenue
$337.5M
+26.3% since FY2017
Per-pupil revenue
$16,781
20,109 students enrolled
Revenue mix
State: 59.4%
Local: 23.5%
Federal: 17.1%
Instruction share
55.0%
of current spending · $8,130/pupil
Long-term debt
$60.7M
-34.5% since FY2017
Total revenue by year ($M)
Total expenditure by year ($M)

Source: NCES F-33 Annual Survey of School System Finances (Urban Institute Education Data API). Latest year currently published: FY2020. F-33 is a district-level federal filing — it reflects the Redlands Unified as a whole, not this individual school's books. Revenue mix shows where the district's dollars come from (state aid dominates in CA via LCFF). Instruction share is current expenditure on instruction ÷ total current expenditure (national benchmark ~60%). Long-term debt is end-of-year outstanding (mostly facilities bonds).

For School Admins

The full Reach Report for Orangewood High (continuation)

A board- and LCAP-ready intelligence brief: your enrollment retention and college outcomes, benchmarked against your closest competitors, with a 5-year forecast, concrete steps to act on, and the rigor + outcomes story you can share with your families. Built from primary public data — prepared for you, not auto-generated.

  • Your 5-year enrollment forecast (currently 1.0%/yr) with the revenue at stake
  • Student-retention benchmarking vs your county median — and the LCAP evidence to back your goals
See a sample report →

Related reading

The data Newsom asked for already exists — school by school

UC testing review · August 25, 2026

Nursing at NYU is harder to get into than Brown

College admissions · August 21, 2026

All stories from the data →

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at Orangewood High (continuation)?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →

For School Admins looking at enrollment trends: request a Reach Report →

What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next