Research · Test scores · October 2026

Which colleges brought back the SAT requirement, and the first class it hit

As of October 2026: 20 of the 35 colleges in our table require an SAT or ACT score from fall 2027 applicants, and 15 of them name the first class that had to send one. Those first classes run from fall 2022 at the University of Georgia to fall 2029 at Vanderbilt, which is still test optional today.

The table holds all 35 colleges we checked, each one's policy for fall 2027, the first class required to send a score and the page it was read from. Fourteen are still optional.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com), October 2026. Figures and the table may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

The findings, in plain English

The requirement came back at the most selective colleges first. MIT went first, for a class entering around fall 2023; its own announcement does not name the year. Dartmouth, Yale, Brown, Harvard, Caltech and UT Austin followed in fall 2025. Cornell, Penn, Johns Hopkins, Stanford, Ohio State and Miami followed in fall 2026. Tennessee comes next, in fall 2027.

Three colleges have already named fall 2028. Princeton, Columbia and Notre Dame are all test optional for fall 2027 applicants. All three require a score from students entering in fall 2028. Vanderbilt stays optional one year longer and requires a score from fall 2029. A current junior and a current freshman are not looking at the same rule at any of them.

Five of the 20 may never have dropped the test at all. Georgetown, Purdue, Georgia Tech, the University of Florida and Florida State all require a score now. None of their pages names a first required class, which is what a return would leave behind. Georgia is the clear case of a short pause: one optional cycle in fall 2021, then required again in fall 2022.

Test policy and the first class required, at the colleges we checked

Sorted by the first class that had to send a score; colleges whose pages name no such class come last.

CollegePolicy for fall 2027 applicantsFirst class requiredAnnouncedCollege's page
University of Georgia required fall 2022 (after a single test-optional cycle, fall 2021) 2021-05 Source
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) required fall 2023 (approximate; MIT's own text I retrieved did not state the exact year) 2022-03 Source
Brown University required fall 2025 (Class of 2029) 2024-03 Source
California Institute of Technology (Caltech) required fall 2025 2024-04 Source
Dartmouth College required fall 2025 (Class of 2029) 2024-02 Source
Harvard College required fall 2025 (Class of 2029) 2024-04 Source
University of Texas at Austin required fall 2025 2024-03 Source
Yale University required fall 2025 (first reinstated as test-flexible: SAT/ACT/AP/IB); narrowed to SAT-or-ACT-only starting fall 2027 applicants 2024-02 (initial); 2026-08 (narrowed to SAT/ACT only) Source
Cornell University required fall 2026 (all eight undergraduate colleges) 2024-04 Source
Johns Hopkins University required fall 2026 (Krieger School of Arts and Sciences and Whiting School of Engineering; not the Peabody Institute) 2024-08 Source
Ohio State University (Columbus campus) required fall 2026 (2026 admissions cycle) 2025 Source
Stanford University required fall 2026 (Class of 2030) 2024-06 Source
University of Miami required fall 2026 2025-01 Source
University of Pennsylvania required fall 2026 2025-02 Source
University of Tennessee, Knoxville required fall 2027 (self-report deadline January 20, 2027) — Source
Columbia University (Columbia College and Columbia Engineering) optional (through the 2026-2027 admissions cycle; required starting the 2027-2028 cycle) fall 2028 (effective August 2027 for the 2027-28 cycle; not yet in effect for fall 2027 applicants) 2026-06 Source
Princeton University optional (for fall 2027 applicants; a required policy is announced starting fall 2028) fall 2028 (announced, not yet in effect for fall 2027 applicants) — Source
University of Notre Dame optional (through the 2026-27 cycle; required starting the 2027-28 cycle / fall 2028) fall 2028 (announced, not yet in effect) — Source
Vanderbilt University optional (through fall 2028; required starting fall 2029) fall 2029 (announced, not yet in effect) — Source
Carnegie Mellon University mixed by school -- required only for the School of Computer Science; most other colleges are test-flexible (a score of some kind, not necessarily SAT/ACT, is required); College of Fine Arts is test-optional — — Source
Duke University optional — — Source
Emory University optional — — Source
Florida State University required (covered by the same statewide Board of Governors Regulation 6.002 as all Florida State University System institutions) — — Source
Georgetown University required — — Source
Georgia Institute of Technology required — — Source
Northwestern University optional — — Source
Purdue University required — — Source
Rice University optional (recommended but not required) — — Source
University of Chicago optional ("No Harm" policy) — — Source
University of Florida (and Florida's State University System generally) required — — Source
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign optional (also mandated by Illinois state law -- the Higher Education Fair Admissions Act -- for all Illinois public universities, not purely an institutional choice) — — Source
University of Michigan optional (no reinstatement announced) — — Source
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill optional, GPA-conditional (weighted GPA 2.8+ exempt; below 2.8 must submit ACT 17+ or SAT 930+) -- not a clean optional/required binary — — Source
University of Wisconsin-Madison optional (UW System Board of Regents authorization extends the waiver through the spring 2028 term) — — Source
Washington University in St. Louis optional (no reinstatement announced) — — Source

First-year applicant policy as each college's own admissions page or news release stated it in October 2026, for the application cycle now open, which is fall 2027 entry. The first class required is the first entering class that had to send a score, in the college's own words; a blank means the page did not state one, and for five of these colleges that may mean the requirement never lapsed. Carnegie Mellon sets the rule school by school, so its row carries a sentence instead of one label. These are the colleges we checked, not every college in the country, and a policy covers one cycle at a time.

The colleges that are still test optional

Fourteen colleges in the table leave the score to the student for fall 2027. Princeton, Columbia and Notre Dame are on that list, with fall 2028 already announced, and so is Vanderbilt with fall 2029. The ten with no return date are Michigan, UNC Chapel Hill, Wisconsin, Illinois, Washington University in St. Louis, Duke, Northwestern, Rice, Emory and Chicago.

Four of those ten come with a condition to read closely. UNC Chapel Hill is optional only above a weighted grade point average of 2.8; below that a student must send a score. Illinois is optional because state law says so for every public university in Illinois. Wisconsin's waiver is authorized through the spring 2028 term. Rice says a score is recommended, not required.

Yale is the college that changed shape rather than direction. It used to take an AP or IB score in place of an SAT or ACT. From the cycle now open it takes the SAT or ACT only.

One college sets the rule school by school

Carnegie Mellon has no single policy. Its School of Computer Science requires an SAT or ACT. Most of its other colleges require a score from some accepted exam. Its College of Fine Arts is optional. At Carnegie Mellon, the school a student applies to decides the answer.

What a family should do with this

Sort the student's list by what it asks for. If one college on it requires a score, the student is taking the test, and the plan is the same as if every college did.

Read the first-class column by the student's graduation year, not by today. A sophomore applying for fall 2028 entry faces Princeton, Columbia and Notre Dame as required colleges. A senior applying now does not.

Then check each college's own page in the fall of senior year. These policies have moved every year since 2020, in both directions, and the college's page is always newer than a table.

Questions parents ask

How many colleges have brought back the SAT requirement?

20 of the 35 colleges in our table require an SAT or ACT score from fall 2027 applicants, and 15 of them name the first class that had to send one.

Is Princeton going to require the SAT again?

Princeton, Columbia and Notre Dame are all test optional for fall 2027 applicants. All three require a score from students entering in fall 2028.

Is Michigan test optional?

The ten with no return date are Michigan, UNC Chapel Hill, Wisconsin, Illinois, Washington University in St. Louis, Duke, Northwestern, Rice, Emory and Chicago.

Method & sources: Each row is the first-year testing policy stated on that college's own admissions page or news release in October 2026, for the application cycle now open, which is fall 2027 entry, together with the first entering class the college says had to send a score and the date it announced the change. The table covers the colleges we checked, mostly the selective names families ask about, so it is not a census of American colleges. Four limits ride with it: the University of Virginia's and Cooper Union's admissions pages would not load for us, so neither college is in the table; MIT's own announcement does not state the first required class, so its year is marked approximate; and five colleges that require a score today name no first class, which may mean they never dropped it. Rows are sorted by the first class required and then by college name.

This brief as data: /research/colleges-that-brought-back-the-sat.json. Free for editorial use with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach).

For parents · free

Where does your student stand?

The free Family Decision Report reads your student's GPA and scores against every college on their list.

Build your free Family Decision Report →

Related: Test policy at public universities, state by state · Test policy at the 50 most-applied-to private colleges · Colleges that will not look at a score at all · SAT or ACT, which one to take