Research · Scholarships · October 2026

Scholarships in Maine: the 3 state programs and what each asks for

As of October 2026: Maine has 3 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with Maine State Grant Program: Maximum $2,500 for full-time students in the 2026-27 academic year.

The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a Maine high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com), October 2026. Figures and the table may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

The findings, in plain English

Maine state aid is need-based, not merit-based. None of the state programs on this table turns on a GPA or a test score. They ask about family income instead, through the FAFSA. A strong student looking for a merit award in this state will find it at a college rather than from the state.

Maine State Grant Program is the award to read first. What Maine State Grant Program pays: Maximum $2,500 for full-time students in the 2026-27 academic year. The next program on the table is Free College Scholarship (Maine's tuition-free community college program). Neither page posts a deadline, so file the FAFSA early and check again in the spring.

What this table does not tell you. The state agency's own page names 1 more program in a second table below. Some of those pages give no award figure at all, so those rows carry the name and the link only.

Every state scholarship in Maine

Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.

ProgramMerit or needWhat it paysGPA it asks forTest score it asks forWho qualifiesDeadlineRenewableOfficial page
Maine State Grant Program Need-based Maximum $2,500 for full-time students in the 2026-27 academic year; up to $1,250 for half-time to less-than-full-time students — — Maine resident; enrolled at least half-time at an eligible Maine school (or, for some NEBHE Tuition Break Program students, an eligible out-of-state school) in a program leading to an initial undergraduate certificate, associate, or bachelor's degree; FAFSA required — Must file the FAFSA each year to be considered; the school determines eligibility annually Source
Free College Scholarship (Maine's tuition-free community college program) State award 100% of tuition (plus mandatory fees for 2024-25 graduates) at any of Maine's seven community colleges, after federal and state grant aid is applied, for graduates of 2026 and beyond — — Maine resident; high school graduate or holder of an equivalent credential (GED/HiSET); FAFSA required (students unable to file FAFSA due to citizenship status can still qualify by working with the community college) — — Source

Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a Maine high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.

Other programs the state names

The agency's own page lists these too. Where its page gives no award figure, the row carries the name and the link only.

ProgramWhat it paysWhat the page saysOfficial page
Maine Tuition Waiver Program — For foster and adopted children, and for the families of fallen first responders Source

These rows come from the Maine agency's own index of programs. A blank award means that index does not state one, not that the program pays nothing.

How to read a state scholarship

State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.

The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds.

What a family should do with this

Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. The Maine pages on this table post no date, so file the FAFSA as early as you can and check the program page again in the spring.

Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published.

Questions parents ask

What scholarships does Maine offer?

Maine has 3 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with Maine State Grant Program: Maximum $2,500 for full-time students in the 2026-27 academic year.

Does Maine have a merit scholarship?

None of the state programs on this table turns on a GPA or a test score.

How do I find the rules for a Maine scholarship?

Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.

Method & sources: Programs come from the Finance Authority of Maine (FAME) and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a Maine high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.

This brief as data: /research/scholarships-in-maine.json. Free for editorial use with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach).

For parents · free

Where does your student stand?

The free Family Decision Report reads your student's GPA and scores against every college on their list.

Build your free Family Decision Report →

Related: Merit scholarships by college · State scholarships in every state · High schools in Maine · Scholarship deadlines