No UC admissions data on file for American River Charter.

This school doesn't appear in UCOP's source-school records (it may send few or no applicants to UC). Its enrollment trend and similar-school comparison are still below.

American River Charter

Georgetown · El Dorado County · Black Oak Mine Unified · Public

Public El Dorado County Black Oak Mine Unified → CDS 0973783…
Shareable scorecard →

Top 5% Attendance (lowest chronic absenteeism) in CA

At a glance

Programs & features
  • 1 AP courses offered — Moderate
  • Gifted & talented program
  • 1 calculus classes · 2 physics · 4 chemistry
Academic signals
  • AP rigor: Bottom 37% of US high schools
  • 4-yr grad rate: 75% in 2019 (Bottom 21% of US high schools by 4-yr grad rate)

Composed from federal CRDC offerings, EDFacts graduation data, and other public data. Full breakdowns below.

Keep this page current

Work at American River Charter? If this page is missing your newest school profile, matriculation list, or college acceptances, send us the links. We read the document, copy the figures exactly as published, and cite it on this page.

Your badges. American River Charter has 1 badge it can post on its own site, free — each states one claim from this page and links back here. Get the badge code →

Send us links

Links only, please. We can't take file uploads, and we never publish a number without the document it came from.

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

How American River Charter compares for families

Solid mid-tier academic profile.

  • ▸ Locally🎯 Top 5% in California on Attendance (lowest chronic absenteeism).
  • ▸ vs Similar SchoolsThe closest comparables nearby: Golden Sierra Junior Senior High, Foresthill High School, Charter Community School Home Study Academy and 2 more. See the sidebar to compare side-by-side.
You've seen American River Charter. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

For Parents

Get alerts when American River Charter's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

California College-Going Rate

31.3% of the 2022-23 graduating class enrolled in college within a year.

The share of 2022-23 graduates who enrolled at a college anywhere in the U.S. within 12 months, per the National Student Clearinghouse match the California Department of Education publishes.

Within 12 months
31.3%
of 16 graduates

Give the same class four more months and 31.3% had enrolled — CDE publishes a 16-month window alongside the 12-month one, 5 students.

Down 9.9 points from the 2021-22 class (41.2%).

Where the 2022-23 class enrolled

In California — 4 students (25.0%)

University of California 0.0% 0
California State University 0.0% 0
California Community College 25.0% 4
California private college 0.0% 0

Out of state — 1 students (6.2%)

Out-of-state 4-year 6.2% 1
Out-of-state 2-year 0.0% 0

CDE puts each graduate in one bucket only — whichever kind of college they were enrolled in longest — so these add up to the rate above. That is a different count from the UC Reach Score on this page, which counts a student at every UC campus that admitted them.

Source: California Department of Education, College-Going Rate (DataQuest) ↗, cohort 2022-23, posted 17-Sep-2025. Data file: cgr12mo23.txt ↗ (and the 16-month file ↗). CDE builds the rate by matching California high school completers to National Student Clearinghouse enrollment records; we publish CDE’s aggregates and hold no student-level data.

Academic rigor

AP + advanced-course offerings

Moderate — some AP / advanced course access

Bottom 37% of US high schools

50th 90th ↑ this school
Less rigorMore rigorMost rigor
AP courses offered
1
Subject breadth not reported
Advanced math classes
1
1 calculus · 0 advanced
Lab science classes
6
2 physics · 4 chemistry
Other rigor signals
Gifted/talented program

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). CRDC reports what's offered + enrolled — it doesn't collect AP exam pass rates (College Board owns that data and doesn't release it school-level).

SAT / ACT participation

CRDC federal data · 2020-21
SAT/ACT test-takers
0
11th-12th graders who took 1+ college admissions test
Test-taking intensity
0.0
takers per 100 students in grades 9-12

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). Volume — not score — is what's reported here. A higher count means more students at this school are entering the college admissions pipeline. Note: 2020-21 was COVID-disrupted; some districts (especially those that stayed remote longer) report unusually low or zero takers.

4-year graduation rate · federal EDFacts

What % of students graduate on time?

Bottom 21% of US high schools by 4-yr grad rate

50th 90th
4-year graduation rate
75%
Range: 50–100%
4-year cohort size
9
Students in the 9th-grade entry class tracked over 4 years
Compared against
17,988
US high schools reporting 4-year ACGR

Source: federal EDFacts ACGR (Adjusted Cohort Graduation Rate), 2019 vintage via Urban Institute. EDFacts publishes a range (low-high) to preserve privacy on small cohorts; we display the midpoint.

Federal Title I context

Title I Targeted Assistance eligible

35-39% FRPL — qualifies for Title I Targeted Assistance

38.0%
FRPL rate — % of students who qualify for the federal Free or Reduced-Price Lunch program. This is the underlying federal income-eligibility signal Title I designations are computed from (ESEA Sec. 1113).
0% (no FRPL) 35% TA · 40% Schoolwide 100% (universal FRPL)

35-39% of students qualify for free/reduced lunch. The school can receive Title I funds targeted to identified students (not schoolwide).

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, free/reduced-price lunch eligibility. The actual Title I designation is a district decision and may differ from eligibility — but the federal eligibility math is what we show here. We don't claim to assert whether the district formally chose to enroll this school in Title I.

SBAC academic outcomes — grade 11, 2025

Share of grade-11 students meeting or exceeding the California standard on Smarter Balanced ELA and Math. This is the academic-readiness signal that pairs with UC Reach (post-grad outcomes), stability (retention), and absenteeism (engagement). Note: statewide median Math is only ~20% — a school at 20% isn't an outlier; one at 45%+ genuinely is.

About 6 in 10 students read and write at grade level — above the state norm.
About 1 in 5 students do math at grade level — about the state norm.
ELA — met or exceeded
n = 21
61.9%
incl. 28.6% exceeded
-5.9 pts vs. El Dorado County median (67.8%) · CA median 54.5% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 79.4%
Math — met or exceeded
n = 21
19.1%
incl. 9.5% exceeded
-11.8 pts vs. El Dorado County median (30.9%) · CA median 21.4% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 53.6%

Source: California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) Smarter Balanced research files. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥30 tested students.

Student composition — 2025-26

HS grades 9–12 racial/ethnic composition and program subgroups, from CDE Census Day Enrollment. Two-year shift shown when ≥1 pt — surfaces how the community served has changed since 2023-24.

Race / ethnicity

White 76% -12.7
Hispanic / Latino 9% +5.1
Not reported 7% +5.7
Two or more 6% +3.4
Black / African Am. 1%

Program subgroups

Socioeconomically disadv. 12% -4.0

Source: California Department of Education, Census Day Enrollment 2025-26 (HS grades 9–12). Δ shown when shift is ≥1 pt since 2023-24. Categories below 0.5% omitted.

Chronic absenteeism — 2024-25

Share of students missing 10% or more of expected attendance — the leading indicator that often precedes the demand decline shown above. Families disengaging tend to raise absenteeism first, then formally leave. Basis: grades 9–12.

Kids show up: 3% are chronically absent versus about 23% statewide — engagement most schools would envy.
Chronic absent
3.3%
3 of 90 students

Absenteeism is up 3.3 pp since 2016-17. A rising absenteeism trend often precedes formal departure — worth investigating which subgroups are driving it.

El Dorado County median
16.9% · school is better than 80% of 10 HS
Statewide median
22.8%
Chronic absenteeism by year (raw %)

Source: California Department of Education, Chronic Absenteeism 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 eligible students. CDE didn't publish a usable 2019-20 file (COVID).

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment (9–12)
186 (2018) → 274 (2026)
+47.3%
Grade 12 (graduating class)
7 (2018) → 20 (2026)
+185.7%

If this trend holds (+3.6%/yr, Total enrollment)

At per-pupil funding of $ / student:

Horizon Projected Total enrollment Change Funding impact / yr
1 yr (2027) ~284 +10 $0
3 yr (2029) ~305 +31 $0
5 yr (2031) ~327 +53 $0

Straight-line extrapolation of the recent annual rate — a what-if, not a forecast of intent. Default = California's LCFF base grant for grades 9–12 ($12,423/ADA). Edit the figure to match your school.

How does American River Charter really compare on getting kids to college?

Unlock a head-to-head snapshot of American River Charter against its 10 most similar nearby schools — matched on size, location, type. See exactly where it stands on the college pipeline.

The full head-to-head table — every peer school's UC Reach, side by side.
Enrollment trend + 3-year projection — is this school growing or quietly shrinking?
The plain-English read on what it all means for your family.

Your similar-school group includes

Golden Sierra Junior Senior High · Foresthill High School · Charter Community School Home Study Academy · Forest Charter School · Sky Mountain Charter School · Colfax High School · +4 more

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement. We'll email you the snapshot and a few alerts a year. Unsubscribe anytime.

Enrollment stability & demand — 2024-25

Two complementary signals: retention (do students stay once enrolled?) and demand (are families choosing the school?). Read against the El Dorado County baseline — the demographic tide is moving every CA HS, so a school's gap vs. county is the actionable signal.

88% of students who start the year here finish it here.
Mixed signal
Outperforming on demand; some mid-year churn to look at.

American River Charter is recruiting families faster than El Dorado County is shrinking (school +185.7% vs. county +8.6%), but 11 students didn't make it to year-end. The recruitment engine works; the mid-year exits are worth understanding.

+185.7%  senior class, grade 12 (2018–2026)
+8.6%  El Dorado County baseline
+177.1pp  gap vs. county
87.8%  retention (county median 89.2%)
Senior class (grade 12) — indexed to 100 at 2018
Stability rate by year (raw %)
Stability rate
87.8%
79 of 90 students

11 of 90 students who enrolled at American River Charter this year didn't maintain continuous enrollment (12.2% non-stability). Mid-year transfers, dropouts, and other exits are all counted.

El Dorado County median
89.2% · school is in the 30th percentile of 10 HS
Statewide median
87.3% · in the 53rd percentile of 1,734 HS

Stability by student group

White (221) 79.6%
Socio. disadvantaged (117) 85.5%
Students w/ disabilities (26) 73.1%
Hispanic / Latino (24) 87.5%

Nearest peer high schools

Golden Sierra Junior Senior High 85.7% Foresthill High School 88.1% Charter Community School Home Study Academy 74.8% Forest Charter School 74.8% Sky Mountain Charter School 89.7%

Source: California Department of Education, Stability Rate 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 cumulative enrollees so by-design-high-churn continuation schools don't dominate the bottom of the distribution. Cumulative enrollment counts every student on the rolls during the year, so it can exceed peak-day enrollment.

District financial profile — Black Oak Mine Unified (FY2020)

From 4 years of NCES F-33 filings (the federally-mandated district finance survey). Public schools don't have their own books — the district does. These figures show the financial scale, revenue dependence, instruction-vs-overhead mix, and long-term debt that shape what a school can sustain.

Total revenue
$17.7M
+14.1% since FY2017
Per-pupil revenue
$13,760
1,284 students enrolled
Revenue mix
State: 38.5%
Local: 49.3%
Federal: 12.2%
Instruction share
53.9%
of current spending · $6,869/pupil
Long-term debt
$5.1M
-15.9% since FY2017
Total revenue by year ($M)
Total expenditure by year ($M)

Source: NCES F-33 Annual Survey of School System Finances (Urban Institute Education Data API). Latest year currently published: FY2020. F-33 is a district-level federal filing — it reflects the Black Oak Mine Unified as a whole, not this individual school's books. Revenue mix shows where the district's dollars come from (state aid dominates in CA via LCFF). Instruction share is current expenditure on instruction ÷ total current expenditure (national benchmark ~60%). Long-term debt is end-of-year outstanding (mostly facilities bonds).

For School Admins

The full Reach Report for American River Charter

A board- and LCAP-ready intelligence brief: your enrollment retention and college outcomes, benchmarked against your closest competitors, with a 5-year forecast, concrete steps to act on, and the rigor + outcomes story you can share with your families. Built from primary public data — prepared for you, not auto-generated.

  • ✓Your 5-year enrollment forecast (currently 3.6%/yr) with the revenue at stake
  • ✓Student-retention benchmarking vs your county median — and the LCAP evidence to back your goals
See a sample report →

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

American River Charter is a public high school in Georgetown, El Dorado County, California.

31% of its 2022-23 graduates enrolled in college within 12 months (California Department of Education College-Going Rate).

Enrollment was 274 students in 2026, up 47% since 2018.

Sources: University of California Office of the President (admissions), California Department of Education (enrollment, A-G, college-going), and the school's own published documents where named.

Questions families ask

What percentage of American River Charter graduates go to college? 31% of its 2022-23 graduates enrolled in college within 12 months (California Department of Education College-Going Rate).

How many students attend American River Charter? Enrollment was 274 students in 2026, up 47% since 2018.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

What does AI tell parents about American River Charter?

When a parent asks an AI assistant about American River Charter, the answer is built from a handful of sources, and Reach is often one of them. We will send your school a short report on what AI says about American River Charter and where it comes from. The first report is free.

Request the free report

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at American River Charter?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →

For School Admins looking at enrollment trends: request a Reach Report →

What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next