Research · College applications · October 2026

The Common App gives 10 activity slots, with 50, 100 and 150 character fields

As of October 2026: The Common App activities list takes up to 10 entries, and each entry is three short fields: 50 characters for the position or role, 100 for the organization name, and 150 for the description. For 2026-2027 the section is called Activities and experiences, the position field is optional, and none of the three character limits changed.

The tables hold the kinds of activities the Common App names, the fields it asks for, and the limit on each field. They do not hold the full dropdown list of activity types, because the Common App does not state that list on a page we can quote.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com), October 2026. Figures and the table may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

The findings, in plain English

Ten entries is a ceiling, not a target. The Common App says a student can add up to 10 activities, and says in the same breath that nobody has to enter ten. Blank slots are allowed. A short, true list is a normal application, not a thin one.

Each entry is three short fields. The role gets 50 characters. The organization name gets 100. The description of the activity, the honors won and the accomplishments share 150 characters. That last field is shorter than this paragraph, and it carries the most.

Paid work and family care are on the Common App's own list. The Common App's instructions for the renamed section name employment or work and family responsibilities alongside clubs, sports, arts, volunteering and hobbies. Nothing there says an activity has to be run by a school. A job and the hours spent caring for a sibling go in the same 10 slots as a club.

What each activity entry asks for, and the limit on it

One row per field in a single activity entry.

FieldLimitSource
Activity type N/A -- selected from a dropdown menu; 'other club/activity' is offered if the student's activity type is not listed Source
Position/Leadership description 50 characters Source
Organization name 100 characters Source
Please describe this activity (activity details, honors won, accomplishments) 150 characters Source
Hours spent per week Not character-limited; a numeric field. No specific numeric cap was stated on the fetchable page. Source
Weeks spent per year Not character-limited; a numeric field. No specific numeric cap was stated on the fetchable page. Source

These are the fields and limits on the Common App first-year application for 2026-2027, the one used by high school seniors in the 2026-27 school year, who start college in fall 2027. The limits are per entry, not per application. The hours and weeks fields take numbers, and no cap on those numbers is stated on a Common App page we can quote. Transfer applicants and colleges with their own application, such as the University of California, are not covered.

The kinds of activities the Common App names

One row per category, in the Common App's own wording for the 2026-2027 section.

CategorySource
Arts or music Source
Clubs Source
Community engagement or volunteering Source
Employment or work Source
Family responsibilities Source
Hobbies Source
Sports Source
Other experiences that have been meaningful to you Source

This is the Common App's own list of what a student might report in the Activities and experiences section of the 2026-2027 first-year application. It is not the dropdown menu of activity types inside the form, which has more options and which the Common App does not state on a page we can quote. The last row is the Common App's own catch-all wording.

What the form allows, per application

One row per rule, with the Common App page that states it.

RuleAs statedSource
Activity entries per application Up to 10 Source
The three character limits, for 2026-2027 Unchanged from the season before Source
The Position/Leadership field, for 2026-2027 Optional; the section is renamed Activities and experiences Source
More space than the 150 characters allow The Additional Information question in the Writing section. No word or character limit for it is stated on a Common App page we can quote. Source
When the first-year application opens August 1 each year Source

These are the rules the Common App states for its 2026-2027 first-year application. The population is first-year applicants. The table holds no deadline, because deadlines are set by each college, not by the Common App.

What changed for 2026-2027, and what did not

Two things changed and one did not. The section has a new name, Activities and experiences. The Position/Leadership field is now optional, so an activity with no title is no longer an awkward blank. The Common App states plainly that the character limits for activity names, roles and descriptions do not change.

That matters for a family that started early. A list typed last spring still fits this year's form. The 50, 100 and 150 character limits are the same ones families have been writing against for years.

What this brief does not tell you

Four things a parent might reasonably ask are not here, because the Common App does not state them on a page we can quote. The full dropdown list of activity types is one. The widely repeated instruction to list activities in order of importance is another, and it appears nowhere in the Common App's own activities guidance. The word limit on the Additional Information question is a third. The grade levels and timing choices a student marks for each activity are the fourth.

Numbers for some of those circulate on other sites. They are not in these tables because they are not on a Common App page. When a figure matters that much, we would rather print the gap than a guess.

What a family should do with this

Write the list against the real limits before the form is open on screen. Put each activity on one line: the role in 50 characters, the organization in 100, what the student actually did in 150. The last one is the hard one, so draft it long and cut it.

Then leave the slots that have nothing true in them empty. Ten is the most the form takes, not the number a student needs. Count the job, count the hours spent on a younger sibling, count the thing done at home for four years, because the Common App counts them.

Questions parents ask

How many activities can you put on the Common App?

The Common App says a student can add up to 10 activities, and says in the same breath that nobody has to enter ten.

How many characters does the Common App give for each activity?

The role gets 50 characters. The organization name gets 100. The description of the activity, the honors won and the accomplishments share 150 characters.

Does an activity have to be a school club?

The Common App's instructions for the renamed section name employment or work and family responsibilities alongside clubs, sports, arts, volunteering and hobbies.

Method & sources: The fields, limits and category list come from the Common App's own first-year resource on the activities section and from its published 2026-2027 first-year update deck for counselors. The year is the 2026-2027 application cycle; the population is first-year applicants using the Common App. Transfer applicants, and colleges that read their own application instead, are excluded. Rows are listed in the order the Common App lists them, not ranked. The dropdown list of activity types, the Additional Information limit, and the grade-level and timing choices are not stated on a Common App page we can quote, so they are absent rather than estimated.

This brief as data: /research/common-app-activities-list.json. Free for editorial use with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach).

For parents · free

Where does your student stand?

The free Family Decision Report reads your student's GPA and scores against every college on their list.

Build your free Family Decision Report →

Related: The seven Common App essay prompts for 2026-2027 · College application deadlines for fall 2027 · Early decision versus regular decision · Which colleges require the SAT or ACT