Research · Test policy · October 2026

Which Colleges Require the SAT or ACT for Fall 2027? 31 Publics, 12 Top Privates

As of October 2026: Of 226 public universities we checked, 31 require an SAT or ACT score, 180 are test-optional, and 15 are test-blind. Among the 50 most-applied-to private nonprofit colleges, 12 require a score for fall 2027, 37 are test-optional, and 1 (Fordham University) could not be confirmed.

A state-by-state and college-by-college look at who wants a score from the high school class applying in 2026-27, and who waits until fall 2028.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com), October 2026. Figures and the table may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

The findings, in plain English

Most public universities still do not require a score, but 31 do We checked 226 public universities. Of those, 31 require an SAT or ACT score, 180 are test-optional, and 15 are test-blind. The required group is not spread evenly. It clusters in Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Ohio, Indiana and a few single schools in other states. For most families, the question is not national. It is about the short list on the kitchen table.

Among the 50 most-applied-to private colleges, 12 require a score Of the 50 most-applied-to private nonprofit colleges, 12 require the SAT or ACT from fall 2027 first-year applicants, 37 are test-optional, and 1 could not be confirmed from the college's own page (Fordham University). The 12 include Harvard, Yale, Stanford, MIT, Brown, Cornell, Penn, Johns Hopkins, Dartmouth, Georgetown, Carnegie Mellon and the University of Miami.

Three famous names stay optional for fall 2027 and require scores later Columbia stays test-optional for fall 2027 and returns to requiring scores for students enrolling in fall 2028. Princeton and Notre Dame also return for the 2027-28 cycle, which means fall 2028 entry. Vanderbilt waits until fall 2029. A junior applying this coming year is not covered by those future rules, but a sophomore may be.

Which public universities require the SAT or ACT, state by state?

These are the first 60 rows of our public university review, covering flagships in every state plus every public that requires a score. The policy column uses three words: required, optional, and blind. The applies_to column copies what each university's own page says about which entering term the policy covers.

StateUniversityPolicyApplies toFlagshipSource
Alabama Auburn University required fall 2027 first-year applicants Yes Source
Alabama University of Alabama optional fall 2027 first-year applicants Yes Source
Alaska University of Alaska Fairbanks optional 2026-2027 catalog (current policy, no end date stated) Yes Source
Arizona University of Arizona optional current first-year applicants (page did not state a specific entering term) Yes Source
Arkansas University of Arkansas optional current first-year applicants (no specific entering term stated on page) Yes Source
Arkansas Arkansas State University required current first-year applicants (automatic admission pathway) No Source
Arkansas University of Arkansas at Little Rock required current first-year applicants (no specific entering term stated on page) No Source
California University of California, Berkeley blind same as UC systemwide policy Yes Source
California University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) blind same as UC systemwide policy Yes Source
Colorado University of Colorado Boulder optional 2027 first-year application cycle Yes Source
Connecticut University of Connecticut optional fall 2026 admitted students (Class of 2030) Yes Source
Delaware University of Delaware optional current first-year admissions Yes Source
Florida Florida State University required current freshman admission cycle Yes Source
Florida University of Florida required current freshman admission cycle (per BOG Reg 6.002, binding on all SUS schools including UF) Yes Source
Florida Florida Atlantic University required Summer/Fall 2026 admitted students No Source
Florida Florida International University required first-time-in-college applicants, current cycle No Source
Florida University of Central Florida required Summer and Fall 2027 freshman admission No Source
Florida University of South Florida required Fall 2026 and other terms (Fall/Summer/Spring all reviewed under the Fall cycle) No Source
Georgia Georgia Institute of Technology required fall 2026 (AY 2026-27) and fall 2027 (AY 2027-28) Yes Source
Georgia University of Georgia required current first-year and dual-enrollment applicants (fall 2026 and fall 2027; UGA is one of the two USG schools excluded from the fall-2027 CLT substitution) Yes Source
Georgia Augusta University required fall 2026 (AY 2026-27) No Source
Georgia Georgia College & State University required fall 2026 (AY 2026-27); also required in AY2025-26 No Source
Georgia Georgia Southern University required fall 2026 (AY 2026-27) No Source
Georgia Georgia State University required fall 2026 (AY 2026-27) No Source
Georgia Kennesaw State University required fall 2026 (AY 2026-27) No Source
Hawaii University of Hawai'i at Manoa optional current first-year freshman applicants (page did not state a specific future entering term; snapshot data referenced was Fall 2025) Yes Source
Idaho University of Idaho optional Spring 2027 and Summer 2027+ first-year applicants Yes Source
Illinois University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign optional fall 2027 first-year applicants Yes Source
Indiana Purdue University (West Lafayette) required fall 2026 entering class and current cycle Yes Source
Indiana Indiana University Bloomington optional current first-year applicants Yes Source
Iowa University of Iowa optional current first-year (fall-semester) applicants Yes Source
Kansas University of Kansas optional freshman applicants for summer 2022 and later (current as of fall 2026/2027 cycles) Yes Source
Kentucky University of Kentucky optional through the 2028-29 academic year Yes Source
Louisiana Louisiana State University (LSU A&M) optional fall/summer 2027 first-year applicants Yes Source
Louisiana Southern University and A&M College required current cycle No Source
Maine University of Maine optional all applicants, current cycle Yes Source
Maryland University of Maryland, College Park optional Spring and Fall 2027 application cycles Yes Source
Massachusetts University of Massachusetts Amherst optional first-year applicants, all majors; no end date stated on the live policy page -- in effect for fall 2026 and fall 2027 applicants Yes Source
Michigan Michigan State University optional fall 2027 first-year applicants Yes Source
Michigan University of Michigan-Ann Arbor optional fall 2027 first-year applicants (and continuing from prior cycles) Yes Source
Minnesota University of Minnesota Twin Cities optional freshman applicants through the fall 2029 term (per the dedicated ACT/SAT policy page); a separate freshman checklist page on the same site states 'through fall 2027' Yes Source
Mississippi University of Mississippi (Ole Miss) optional fall 2027 freshman applicants, Mississippi residents and non-residents Yes Source
Missouri University of Missouri (Mizzou) optional fall 2027 freshman applicants (policy unchanged from the fall 2026 cycle -- no reinstatement of a testing requirement was found) Yes Source
Montana Montana State University optional page does not state a specific entering term; policy described as 'effective immediately and for the foreseeable future' Yes Source
Montana University of Montana optional fall 2027 first-year applicants (page shows 'Fall 2027 Application Open Now'; same policy covered fall 2026) Yes Source
Nebraska University of Nebraska-Lincoln optional Fall 2026 (per the Common Data Set page's own language) Yes Source
Nevada University of Nevada, Las Vegas optional fall 2026 and fall 2027 first-year applicants Yes Source
Nevada University of Nevada, Reno optional fall 2026 and fall 2027 first-year applicants (page shows Spring 2027/Fall 2027 deadlines) Yes Source
New Hampshire University of New Hampshire optional unknown - no entering term/class stated on the page; confirmed in effect as of check date 2026-10-08 Yes Source
New Jersey Rutgers University-New Brunswick optional through 2027 (per page: "maintains test-optional and test-blind policies through 2027") Yes Source
New Mexico University of New Mexico optional not specified on source page; current general freshman admission requirements as published Yes Source
New York Stony Brook University optional Fall 2027 and Spring 2027 entry terms, as stated on the source page Yes Source
New York University at Buffalo optional current policy as published, for fall and spring admission terms; no end date stated Yes Source
North Carolina University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill required 2026-2027 academic year and beyond Yes Source
North Carolina North Carolina State University required current policy as published; follows UNC System Policy 700.1.1 (fall 2026 and beyond) No Source
North Carolina University of North Carolina at Charlotte required Fall 2027 applicants, as stated on the source page No Source
North Dakota University of North Dakota optional current freshman admission requirements as published; no specific entering term stated Yes Source
Ohio The Ohio State University required 2026 admissions cycle and beyond (Columbus campus); current policy as published (regional campuses) Yes Source
Oklahoma University of Oklahoma optional first-time freshman admission (current page; no specific entering term stated) Yes Source
Oregon University of Oregon optional current first-year applicants (page does not state a specific entering term such as fall 2026 or fall 2027) Yes Source

Table trimmed to the first 60 of 81 rows for this page; the full table lives at /research/public-flagships-and-required.

Which private colleges require a score for fall 2027?

These are the 50 most-applied-to private nonprofit colleges. The changed column copies what each college said about a past or future switch. Read the applies_to column closely, because a few colleges name a future cycle rather than this one.

CollegePolicyApplies toChange notedSource
New York University optional the upcoming application term (current cycle, fall 2027 entry) — Source
Northeastern University optional the foreseeable future (includes fall 2027) — Source
University of Southern California optional first-year applicants to the 2027-28 academic year — Source
Boston University optional fall 2028 and spring 2029 (covers fall 2027) — Source
Cornell University required first-year applicants, fall 2026 and beyond (covers fall 2027) reinstated beginning fall 2026 entry after a test-optional pandemic-era period Source
University of Pennsylvania required 2026-2027 admissions cycle (fall 2027 entry) reinstated for the 2025-26 cycle after a test-optional period Source
Columbia University in the City of New York optional fall 2027 applicants (2026-2027 cycle) required from the 2027-2028 cycle (students enrolling fall 2028) Source
Harvard University required Class of 2029 applicants (fall 2025 entry) and continuing reinstated for the Class of 2029 after a test-optional pandemic-era period Source
Stanford University required current first-year applicants (fall 2027 entry) required again starting with Class of 2030 applicants (fall 2026 entry) after Class of 2029 was test-optional Source
Yale University required current first-year and transfer applicants narrowed from a test-flexible (SAT/ACT/AP/IB) policy to SAT-or-ACT-only starting the 2026-2027 cycle Source
Northwestern University optional current application cycle (2026-27, fall 2027 entry) — Source
Brown University required first-year applicants beginning with the 2024-25 admission cycle (covers fall 2027) reinstated beginning with the 2024-25 admission cycle Source
University of Miami required fall 2026 undergraduate admission and beyond (covers fall 2027) reinstated starting fall 2026 entry Source
Duke University optional 2026-2027 admissions cycle (fall 2027 entry) — Source
Vanderbilt University optional fall 2027 and fall 2028 applicants testing will be required starting with applicants for fall 2029 entry Source
Southern New Hampshire University optional general undergraduate admission (ongoing) — Source
Fordham University unknown — secondary sources describe Fordham as test-optional for the foreseeable future, but Fordham's own admissions pages are gated behind a CAS login wall and could not be read directly Source
Syracuse University optional fall 2027 admission (named explicitly) — Source
Loyola University Chicago optional current application cycle — Source
Drexel University optional fall entry (current) — Source
Baylor University optional 2027-2028 application process — Source
Princeton University optional fall 2027 entry (2026-27 admission cycle) standardized testing will be required beginning with the 2027-28 admission cycle (fall 2028 entry) Source
Case Western Reserve University optional current application cycle — Source
Johns Hopkins University required fall 2026 and beyond (covers fall 2027) reinstated for fall 2026 after a test-optional period Source
University of Chicago optional current application cycle (all applicants) — Source
Liberty University optional general undergraduate resident program admission — Source
Boston College optional current application cycle — Source
The University of Tampa optional current application cycle — Source
Tufts University optional all undergraduate applicants (current cycle, fall 2027) — Source
Carnegie Mellon University required fall 2026 applicants and beyond (covers fall 2027); College of Fine Arts remains test optional most colleges moved from test optional to 'test flexible' (a score from some accepted exam is mandatory) starting fall 2026; School of Computer Science requires SAT or ACT specifically Source
Washington University in St Louis optional current application cycle — Source
DePaul University optional current application cycle (permanent policy since 2016) — Source
Emory University optional 2026-2027 application cycle (fall 2027 entry) — Source
Rice University optional current application cycle (recommended, not required, since the 2024-25 cycle) — Source
Howard University optional 2026-27 admission cycle (fall 2027 entry) — Source
Dartmouth College required Class of 2029 applicants (fall 2025 entry) and continuing reactivated the testing requirement beginning with the Class of 2029 after a test-optional pandemic-era period Source
Pace University optional the foreseeable future (includes fall 2027) — Source
University of Notre Dame optional fall 2027 applicants Notre Dame will reinstate a standardized testing requirement beginning with the 2027-2028 admissions cycle (fall 2028 entry) Source
Tulane University of Louisiana optional Fall 2027 first-year and transfer admission (named explicitly) — Source
Clark Atlanta University optional Spring 2027 and Fall 2027 application cycle — Source
George Washington University optional current application cycle (policy in place since 2015) — Source
Massachusetts Institute of Technology required current and future admissions cycles (since fall 2022 entrants) reinstated after a two-cycle pandemic-era suspension (fall 2021 and fall 2022 applications were test-optional) Source
University of San Francisco optional current application cycle — Source
Georgetown University required current application cycle (Georgetown never adopted test-optional admissions) — Source
St. John's University-New York optional current application cycle — Source
Rochester Institute of Technology optional current application cycle (since fall 2021) — Source
Seton Hall University optional through the Fall 2029 admissions cycle (covers fall 2027) — Source
Loyola Marymount University optional current application cycle — Source
Villanova University optional 2026-27 admission cycle, Class of 2031 (fall 2027 entrants) — Source
Hofstra University optional current application cycle — Source

Fordham's own admissions pages sit behind a login wall, so its policy is recorded as unknown rather than guessed.

Which colleges are test-blind for fall 2027?

Test-blind means a score is not read even if a student sends it. This table also names the schools we checked that turned out to be test-optional instead, plus two that are neither.

College or systemStatePolicySource
University of California (systemwide: Berkeley, Davis, Irvine, Los Angeles, Merced, Riverside, San Diego, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz) CA blind Source
California State University (systemwide, 23 campuses) CA blind Source
Pitzer College CA blind (through fall 2027 entrants; college has announced a return to test-optional for fall 2028 entrants) Source
Washington State University WA blind Source
Northern Illinois University IL blind Source
Reed College OR blind -- RESOLVED this session. Reed's own first-year applicant checklist lists self-reported scores as something it will not use in evaluation, settling the prior ambiguity in favor of test-blind rather than merely test-optional. Source
Hampshire College MA blind Source
Lewis & Clark College OR blind (test-free, starting with the fall 2025 entering class) Source
Augsburg University MN blind (test-free, since the 2021/fall 2022 cycle) Source
California State University Maritime Academy (Cal Maritime) -- now operating as Cal Poly Maritime Academy after its 2026 merger into Cal Poly, and still a CSU/Cal Poly campus CA blind Source
Dickinson College PA optional (not blind -- test-optional since 1994) Source
Catholic University of America DC optional (not blind -- was test-blind 2020 through the pandemic era, reverted to test-optional) Source
Loyola University New Orleans LA optional (not blind -- was briefly test-blind in 2020 per contemporaneous press, current own page is test-optional) Source
University of Washington (Seattle) WA optional (not blind) Source
Western Washington University WA optional (not blind; permanently test-optional starting fall 2021) Source
Eastern Washington University WA optional (not blind) Source
Central Washington University WA optional (not blind) Source
The Evergreen State College WA optional (not blind) Source
Antioch College OH optional (not blind) Source
Sarah Lawrence College NY optional (not blind) Source
Whitman College WA optional (not blind) Source
Southern Oregon University OR optional (not blind) Source
University of Idaho ID conditional -- optional at GPA 3.00+; at GPA 2.60-2.99 a test score (or the Vandal Gateway Program) is required; not test-blind at any GPA tier Source
Cornell University (all 8 undergraduate colleges) NY required -- no Cornell college remains score-free for fall 2026 or fall 2027 applicants Source

College of the Atlantic blocked every attempt to read its admissions pages, so its policy is not listed here.

Which public universities accept the Classic Learning Test?

Some families ask about the CLT, a third exam that a growing group of public universities will read. These are the public universities we confirmed accept it, with the policy each one applies.

StateUniversityPolicyAccepts CLTSource
Arkansas University of Arkansas optional yes Source
Arkansas University of Arkansas at Little Rock required yes Source
Arkansas Arkansas Tech University optional yes Source
Arkansas University of Central Arkansas optional yes Source
Florida Florida State University required yes Source
Florida University of Florida required yes Source
Florida Florida Atlantic University required yes Source
Florida Florida International University required yes Source
Florida University of Central Florida required yes Source
Florida University of South Florida required yes Source
Georgia Augusta University required yes (beginning fall 2027) Source
Georgia Georgia College & State University required yes (beginning fall 2027) Source
Georgia Georgia Southern University required yes (beginning fall 2027) Source
Georgia Georgia State University required yes (beginning fall 2027, per usg's clt-substitution policy) Source
Georgia Kennesaw State University required yes (beginning fall 2027) Source
Georgia University of West Georgia optional yes (beginning fall 2027) Source
Georgia Valdosta State University optional yes (beginning fall 2027) Source
Indiana Purdue University (West Lafayette) required yes Source
Indiana Ball State University optional yes Source
Iowa University of Iowa optional yes Source
Iowa Iowa State University optional yes Source
New Mexico University of New Mexico optional yes Source
Oklahoma University of Oklahoma optional yes Source

23 rows, drawn from the same review of 226 public universities.

How many colleges require the SAT or ACT for fall 2027?

We checked 226 public universities, and 31 require an SAT or ACT score, while 180 are test-optional and 15 are test-blind. On the private side, 12 of the 50 most-applied-to private nonprofit colleges require a score from fall 2027 first-year applicants, 37 are test-optional, and 1 could not be confirmed.

Those two counts answer the headline question, but they hide how lopsided the map is. Testing requirements are not sprinkled evenly across the country. They sit in a few states and a few very selective private colleges. A family in Oregon and a family in Florida face different rules.

The honest way to read this is school by school. A list of 31 required publics sounds small next to 180 optional ones. But if your child wants the University of Florida, Georgia Tech or UNC Chapel Hill, the count that matters is one.

Our advice is simple. Write down the eight or ten colleges your child names most often. Find each one in the tables on this page. Then decide about testing based on that short list, not on a national average.

Which public flagships require a score for fall 2027?

Among the flagships in our table, the ones marked required include Auburn University, Florida State University, the University of Florida, Georgia Institute of Technology, the University of Georgia, Purdue University, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and The Ohio State University. Every other flagship in the first 60 rows is optional or blind.

Auburn is the one that often surprises people. Its row names fall 2027 first-year applicants directly. The University of Alabama, in the same state, is optional for the same term. Two big schools, one state, two different answers.

Florida is the clearest block. Florida State, the University of Florida, Florida Atlantic, Florida International, the University of Central Florida and the University of South Florida all sit in the required column. The University of Florida row points to a statewide rule that binds every school in the system.

Georgia looks similar. Georgia Tech's row names fall 2026 and fall 2027. The University of Georgia's row names current first-year and dual-enrollment applicants for both of those terms. Augusta, Georgia College and State, Georgia Southern, Georgia State and Kennesaw State are all required as well.

For families in these states, the test is simply part of the plan. There is no version of the application where a score is skipped.

Which private colleges require the SAT or ACT for fall 2027?

Twelve of the 50 most-applied-to private colleges require a score: Cornell, the University of Pennsylvania, Harvard, Stanford, Yale, Brown, the University of Miami, Johns Hopkins, Carnegie Mellon, Dartmouth, MIT and Georgetown. The other 37 are test-optional, and Fordham could not be confirmed.

The dates behind those rows differ a lot. Dartmouth and Harvard name the Class of 2029, which entered in fall 2025. MIT's row reaches back to fall 2022 entrants. Cornell, Johns Hopkins, Stanford and the University of Miami all point to fall 2026 and beyond, which covers fall 2027 too.

Georgetown is the odd one out. Its row says Georgetown never adopted test-optional admissions at all. There was no pause and no return. A score has always been part of the file there.

Carnegie Mellon needs a careful read. Its row says most colleges require a score of some kind, the School of Computer Science requires the SAT or ACT, and the College of Fine Arts stays test-optional. One university, three answers, depending on the program.

If any of those twelve names sit on your child's list, plan for a test date. The rest of the list does not change that.

Is Columbia test-optional for fall 2027 or not?

Columbia stays test-optional for fall 2027 and returns to requiring scores for students enrolling in fall 2028. Its row names the 2026-2027 cycle as the optional one and the 2027-2028 cycle as the first required one.

This is the single most confusing line in the whole data set, because headlines about Columbia's return ran well before the change takes effect. A student applying in the fall of 2026 for fall 2027 entry is not covered by the new rule.

Princeton and Notre Dame are in the same position. Princeton's row says testing is required beginning with the 2027-28 admission cycle, which means fall 2028 entry. Notre Dame's row uses the same cycle and the same entry year.

Vanderbilt stretches further out. Its row covers fall 2027 and fall 2028 applicants as optional, with testing required starting for fall 2029 entry. That is three full application years away from this one.

So the rule for parents is to match the announcement to your child's entry year. A current junior and a current sophomore can face opposite rules at the same college.

Which colleges brought back the SAT after dropping it?

At least 20 selective US colleges have reinstated an SAT or ACT requirement after a pandemic-era pause. The wave ran from MIT, through Dartmouth, Yale, Brown, Harvard and Caltech for fall 2025, to UT Austin, Ohio State, the University of Miami and most of Florida's publics, and then Cornell, Penn, Johns Hopkins and Stanford for fall 2026.

The order matters less than the pattern. Most of these are highly selective schools that found they wanted the score back. They did not all move together, and a few, like Georgetown, Purdue, Georgia Tech and the University of Georgia, never really left.

The University of Georgia's own row explains its short pause: fall 2022 came after a single test-optional cycle in fall 2021. That is why Georgia feels different from, say, Michigan, where no reinstatement has been announced.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville is the newest name on the list. Its row names fall 2027 as the first required class, with a self-report deadline of January 20, 2027. That is a live deadline for this year's seniors.

Watching this wave is useful for younger students. A college that is optional today may not be optional when a current ninth grader applies.

Which big-name colleges are still test-optional with no return announced?

For fall 2027, none of the schools we re-checked this round have reinstated a requirement: Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois and Washington University in St. Louis remain test-optional with no announced return date. Duke, Northwestern, Rice, Emory and the University of Chicago are also still optional with no reinstatement announced.

Michigan's own page says the 2027 application cycle is test-optional and that students will not be penalized for leaving a score out. That is about as plain as these pages get.

Wisconsin ties its policy to a board authorization that runs through the spring 2028 term, with an application deadline of October 1, 2027. Illinois is optional partly because state law makes every Illinois public university test-optional, so it is not purely the campus's choice.

UNC Chapel Hill is the exception that breaks the yes-or-no frame. Its policy is optional but tied to grades: a student with a weighted GPA of 2.8 or above does not have to submit a score, and a student below that line does.

We could not confirm the University of Virginia from its own site, since the admissions pages blocked every attempt to read them. We leave that one open rather than guess.

What does test-blind mean, and which colleges are test-blind?

Test-blind means the college will not read a score even if your child sends one, and 15 of the 226 public universities we checked are blind. The confirmed list includes all 9 University of California undergraduate campuses and all 23 California State University campuses.

Outside California, the blind list is short: Washington State University, Northern Illinois University, Reed College, Hampshire College, Lewis and Clark College and Augsburg University. Pitzer College is blind for fall 2027 entrants and plans to return to test-optional for fall 2028.

A lot of colleges get called test-blind when they are only test-optional. We checked a long second tier and found that Dickinson, Catholic University, Loyola New Orleans, the University of Washington, Western Washington, Eastern Washington, Central Washington, Evergreen State, Antioch, Sarah Lawrence, Whitman and Southern Oregon are all optional, not blind.

The difference is practical. At a blind school, a strong score adds nothing to the admission file. At an optional school, a strong score can still help. Sending a score to Berkeley or UCLA will not move the decision.

One warning: blind for admission does not always mean blind for placement or scholarships. Read what each school says about those two uses separately.

Does a test-optional college still use scores for scholarships?

Yes at some schools, and Liberty University states it plainly: scores from the CLT, SAT or ACT are not required for admission but may be used in consideration for merit-based aid. That split between admission and money is common.

Eastern Washington University's page says students may still submit scores and that all applicants get the same consideration either way. Drexel calls its review a No Harm Test-Optional review, which means a score that does not help is not held against the student.

Arkansas Tech University shows a third use. Its page says first-time students admitted without test scores must still submit ACT, SAT, CLT or ACCUPLACER scores for placement before they register. The test moves from the admission file to the course schedule.

Central Washington University says something similar: scores are not required for admission, but a student can send them for class placement. So the exam does not vanish just because admission does not ask for it.

For a family deciding whether to test, this is the honest middle ground. Even at an optional school, a score can shape aid offers or first-semester courses. That is a real reason to sit for one test date.

Which public universities accept the Classic Learning Test?

We confirmed 23 public universities that accept the Classic Learning Test, including all six Florida publics in our table, four Arkansas schools, seven Georgia schools, Purdue, Ball State, the University of Iowa, Iowa State, the University of New Mexico and the University of Oklahoma.

Florida is the most direct. The University of Florida's page says it has no test preference and superscores the SAT, ACT and CLT. The University of South Florida asks for at least one college entrance exam, naming all three.

Georgia's rows are dated. The Georgia schools in our CLT table are marked yes beginning fall 2027, which means the CLT becomes an accepted substitute that year. The University of Georgia is one of two system schools left out of that substitution.

Several optional schools accept it too. The University of Oklahoma says submitting ACT, SAT or CLT scores is optional. Iowa State says students may choose whether to self-report ACT, SAT or CLT scores. The University of New Mexico says scores are not required but may help in some cases.

If your child already sits for the CLT at school, this list tells you where that score can count. It is still a short list, so the SAT or ACT remains the safer default for most families.

Do the same rules apply if my child applies for spring instead of fall?

Often yes, and a few pages say so directly. The University of South Florida's row says fall, summer and spring applicants are all reviewed under the fall cycle, so the same requirement applies.

Stony Brook University names both Fall 2027 and Spring 2027 entry terms on the same page. Syracuse University's quote covers Fall 2026, Spring 2027, Fall 2027 and Spring 2028 in one sentence. The University of Maryland names Spring and Fall 2027 cycles together.

The University of Central Florida names Summer and Fall 2027 freshman admission. Clark Atlanta names the Spring 2027 and Fall 2027 cycle. The University of Idaho names Spring 2027 and Summer 2027 and later.

The lesson is to read the term names, not just the year. Colleges write these pages one entering term at a time, and a spring start sometimes falls under a different sentence.

When a page does not name your child's term at all, treat that as a blank, not as a no. Several rows in our table say plainly that no entering term was stated on the page.

How do I tell if a college changed its policy since last year?

Look at the change column in our private college table, which names 12 colleges with a past or future switch. Cornell, Penn, Harvard, Stanford, Brown, Johns Hopkins, the University of Miami, MIT and Dartmouth all list a past reinstatement.

Yale's row describes a narrower change. It moved from a test-flexible policy that took AP or IB scores to an SAT-or-ACT-only rule starting with the 2026-2027 cycle. A family that planned on sending AP scores instead now needs a different test.

Carnegie Mellon's change line says most of its colleges moved from test-optional to test-flexible starting fall 2026, meaning some accepted score is required. The School of Computer Science asks for the SAT or ACT in particular.

Four rows point forward rather than back: Columbia, Princeton, Notre Dame and Vanderbilt. Each names the future cycle when testing starts. None of those four requires a score for fall 2027.

Policies move, and they move at odd times of year. We date this page so you can see how fresh it is, and we name the schools whose pages we could not read instead of filling the blank with a guess.

What should our family actually do about testing this year?

Start by sorting your child's list into the three buckets in our tables: required, optional and blind. With 31 required publics and 12 required private colleges, most lists have at least one school that asks for a score.

If even one required school is on the list, the decision is made. Pick a test date, prepare for it, and send the score everywhere it helps. There is no way around a required score at Florida, Georgia Tech, UNC Chapel Hill, Harvard or MIT.

If the list is all optional, the choice is about strength. A score that sits above a college's usual range helps. A score that sits well below it can sit at home at a true optional school. Watch for the aid and placement uses we described earlier.

If the list is all blind, such as a California-only list of UC and CSU campuses, the test does not shape admission. Those families can spend the time on grades, course rigor and essays instead.

Keep one more thing in mind for younger students. Columbia, Princeton and Notre Dame return for fall 2028, and Vanderbilt for fall 2029. A current sophomore or freshman should plan to test even if today's page says optional.

Questions parents ask

How many colleges require the SAT or ACT for fall 2027?

We checked 226 public universities, and 31 require an SAT or ACT score, while 180 are test-optional and 15 are test-blind.

Is Columbia test-optional for fall 2027?

Columbia stays test-optional for fall 2027 and returns to requiring scores for students enrolling in fall 2028.

Which private colleges require a score for fall 2027?

Twelve of the 50 most-applied-to private colleges require a score: Cornell, the University of Pennsylvania, Harvard, Stanford, Yale, Brown, the University of Miami, Johns Hopkins, Carnegie Mellon, Dartmouth, MIT and Georgetown.

What does test-blind mean?

Test-blind means the college will not read a score even if your child sends one, and 15 of the 226 public universities we checked are blind.

Do test-optional colleges still use scores for scholarships?

Yes at some schools, and Liberty University states it plainly: scores from the CLT, SAT or ACT are not required for admission but may be used in consideration for merit-based aid.

Which public flagships require a score for fall 2027?

Among the flagships in our table, the ones marked required include Auburn University, Florida State University, the University of Florida, Georgia Institute of Technology, the University of Georgia, Purdue University, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and The Ohio State University.

Which public universities accept the Classic Learning Test?

We confirmed 23 public universities that accept the Classic Learning Test, including all six Florida publics in our table, four Arkansas schools, seven Georgia schools, Purdue, Ball State, the University of Iowa, Iowa State, the University of New Mexico and the University of Oklahoma.

Are big-name colleges like Michigan and Duke still test-optional?

For fall 2027, none of the schools we re-checked this round have reinstated a requirement: Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois and Washington University in St. Louis remain test-optional with no announced return date.

Method & sources: The policy for each college comes from that college's own admissions or catalog page, read in October 2026 for the fall 2027 application cycle. The public tables cover 226 public universities, shown here as the first 60 of 81 rows plus a 23-row list of schools that accept the Classic Learning Test; the private table covers the 50 most-applied-to private nonprofit colleges. Community colleges, graduate programs and transfer-only rules are not included, and policies for international applicants may differ. Rows are grouped by state or by college name, not ranked, and the policy labels copy each page's own wording. Three gaps stand: Fordham University's admissions pages sit behind a login wall and its policy is recorded as unknown, the University of Virginia's pages blocked every read attempt, and College of the Atlantic's site did the same, so none of the three is listed as optional or required here.

This brief as data: /research/which-colleges-require-sat-act-fall-2027.json. Free for editorial use with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach).

For parents · free

Where does your student stand?

The free Family Decision Report reads your student's GPA and scores against every college on their list.

Build your free Family Decision Report →

Related: The 2026 Public University Test Policy Report · Do test scores still matter? · SAT vs ACT · Private colleges' test policies