Research · Scholarships · October 2026

Scholarships in Rhode Island: the 1 state program and what each asks for

As of October 2026: Rhode Island has 1 state scholarship program for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table says what each one pays, who qualifies, and when it closes, in the state's own words.

The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a Rhode Island high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com), October 2026. Figures and the table may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

The findings, in plain English

Rhode Island state aid is need-based, not merit-based. None of the state programs on this table turns on a GPA or a test score. They ask about family income instead, through the FAFSA. Rhode Island Promise is the exception.

The state's own pages are the only place these rules live. Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.

What this table does not tell you. Every figure on the table was read off the state's own page for that program. Nothing is estimated and nothing is carried over from an earlier year.

Every state scholarship in Rhode Island

Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.

ProgramMerit or needWhat it paysGPA it asks forTest score it asks forWho qualifiesDeadlineRenewableOfficial page
Rhode Island Promise State award Tuition-free enrollment in an associate degree program at the Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) for up to two years Must maintain at least a 2.5 GPA to keep the scholarship — Rhode Island resident; graduate from high school (public, private, or homeschooled) or earn a GED; 18 years old or younger at graduation; must complete the FAFSA; must enroll at CCRI the term immediately following high school graduation with a minimum of 6 or more credits each Fall and Spring semester Students graduating in spring 2027 would complete the 2027/2028 FAFSA and enroll for Fall 2027; the program's own page referenced completing 'the 2026/2027 FAFSA' for the current cycle Renewable for the second year if the student earns at least 24 credits in the first year, stays on track to graduate in two years, and maintains continuous full-time enrollment and the 2.5 GPA Source

Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a Rhode Island high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.

How to read a state scholarship

State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.

The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds.

What a family should do with this

Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. In Rhode Island the earliest date on this table is the one to put on the calendar first.

Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published.

Questions parents ask

What scholarships does Rhode Island offer?

Rhode Island has 1 state scholarship program for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table says what each one pays, who qualifies, and when it closes, in the state's own words.

Does Rhode Island have a merit scholarship?

None of the state programs on this table turns on a GPA or a test score.

How do I find the rules for a Rhode Island scholarship?

Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.

Method & sources: Programs come from the Rhode Island Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner (RIOPC), administering Rhode Island Promise through the Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a Rhode Island high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.

This brief as data: /research/scholarships-in-rhode-island.json. Free for editorial use with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach).

For parents · free

Where does your student stand?

The free Family Decision Report reads your student's GPA and scores against every college on their list.

Build your free Family Decision Report →

Related: Merit scholarships by college · State scholarships in every state · High schools in Rhode Island · Scholarship deadlines