Research · Scholarships · October 2026

Scholarships in West Virginia: the 1 state program and what each asks for

As of October 2026: West Virginia has 1 state scholarship program for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with PROMISE Scholarship: Up to $5,500/yr toward tuition & fees.

The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a West Virginia high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com), October 2026. Figures and the table may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

The findings, in plain English

West Virginia runs 1 award that turn on grades or scores. PROMISE Scholarship is one of them. 1 of the 1 programs we could read name a GPA, and 1 name a test score. A need-based award asks about family income instead, through the FAFSA.

PROMISE Scholarship is the award to read first. What PROMISE Scholarship pays: Up to $5,500/yr toward tuition & fees. The table carries the deadline and the renewal rule for each one.

What this table does not tell you. Every figure on the table was read off the state's own page for that program. Nothing is estimated and nothing is carried over from an earlier year.

Every state scholarship in West Virginia

Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.

ProgramMerit or needWhat it paysGPA it asks forTest score it asks forWho qualifiesDeadlineRenewableOfficial page
PROMISE Scholarship Merit Up to $5,500/yr toward tuition & fees 3.0 (both core and overall) SAT 1080 / ACT 21 WV public or private HS grads; full-time first-year enrollment; 12 consecutive months WV residency Promise Scholarship Application and FAFSA due March 1, 2027 — Source

Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a West Virginia high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.

How to read a state scholarship

State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.

The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds.

What a family should do with this

Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. In West Virginia the earliest date on this table is the one to put on the calendar first.

Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published.

Questions parents ask

What scholarships does West Virginia offer?

West Virginia has 1 state scholarship program for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table starts with PROMISE Scholarship: Up to $5,500/yr toward tuition & fees.

Does West Virginia have a merit scholarship?

West Virginia runs 1 award that turn on grades or scores, and PROMISE Scholarship is one of them.

How do I find the rules for a West Virginia scholarship?

Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.

Method & sources: Programs come from the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission / CFWV.com and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a West Virginia high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.

This brief as data: /research/scholarships-in-west-virginia.json. Free for editorial use with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach).

For parents · free

Where does your student stand?

The free Family Decision Report reads your student's GPA and scores against every college on their list.

Build your free Family Decision Report →

Related: Merit scholarships by college · State scholarships in every state · High schools in West Virginia · Scholarship deadlines