Hayfork High School

Hayfork · Trinity County · Mountain Valley Unified · Public

Public Trinity County Mountain Valley Unified → ~24 seniors CDS 5375028…
Shareable scorecard →

Top 10% ELA & Math · SBAC (CA) #1 Attendance (lowest chronic absenteeism) in Trinity

A parent's read

  • About 8 in 10 students read and write at grade level. On the state's own 11th-grade test, 85% met or exceeded the college-readiness bar — the top 10% of California high schools (statewide: 54%).
  • Kids actually show up. Only 10% of students are chronically absent, versus about 23% statewide — day-to-day engagement most schools would envy.
  • One question for any counselor: who should still test? Plenty of strong students skip the SAT/ACT now — but merit scholarships at dozens of colleges still key off scores. Ask how the school decides who should still sit for one.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

At a glance

Programs & features
  • 3 AP courses offered — Limited
Academic signals
  • AP rigor: Bottom 29% of US high schools
  • SAT/ACT participation: Bottom 11% by test-taker volume
  • 4-yr grad rate: 90% in 2019 (Bottom 49% of US high schools by 4-yr grad rate)

Composed from federal CRDC offerings, EDFacts graduation data, and other public data. Full breakdowns below.

Keep this page current

Work at Hayfork High School? If this page is missing your newest school profile, matriculation list, or college acceptances, send us the links. We read the document, copy the figures exactly as published, and cite it on this page.

Your badges. Hayfork High School has 3 badges it can post on its own site, free — each states one claim from this page and links back here. Get the badge code →

Send us links

Links only, please. We can't take file uploads, and we never publish a number without the document it came from.

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Where grads go — and what it costs & pays

UC Reach Score
12
Below the CA median below the state median
Top-6 UC admits per 100 seniors in the Class of 2025 — counts each campus admit, so a student admitted to several UCs counts more than once (which is why a strong school can score over 100).

UC admits by campus · Class of 2025

UCD
3 admitted
Net $14,741/yr avg
Grads earn $80,838 @10yr

Getting in is step one. The cost above is the average aid-receiving family's net price — yours depends on whether you qualify for aid — and your child's odds depend on their GPA + scores. See your family's real numbers at these campuses:

Get my child's odds + our real costs →

Sources: UC Office of the President (admits); IPEDS net price + College Scorecard 10-yr earnings (cost & payoff). Full campus-by-campus breakdown below.

California College-Going Rate

55% of the 2022-23 graduating class enrolled in college within a year.

The share of 2022-23 graduates who enrolled at a college anywhere in the U.S. within 12 months, per the National Student Clearinghouse match the California Department of Education publishes.

Within 12 months
55%
of 20 graduates

Give the same class four more months and 55% had enrolled — CDE publishes a 16-month window alongside the 12-month one, 11 students.

About the same as the 2021-22 class (54.5%).

Where the 2022-23 class enrolled

In California — 9 students (45.0%)

University of California 5.0% 1
California State University 15.0% 3
California Community College 25.0% 5
California private college 0.0% 0

Out of state — 2 students (10.0%)

Out-of-state 4-year 5.0% 1
Out-of-state 2-year 5.0% 1

CDE puts each graduate in one bucket only — whichever kind of college they were enrolled in longest — so these add up to the rate above. That is a different count from the UC Reach Score on this page, which counts a student at every UC campus that admitted them.

Source: California Department of Education, College-Going Rate (DataQuest) ↗, cohort 2022-23, posted 17-Sep-2025. Data file: cgr12mo23.txt ↗ (and the 16-month file ↗). CDE builds the rate by matching California high school completers to National Student Clearinghouse enrollment records; we publish CDE’s aggregates and hold no student-level data.

You've seen Hayfork High School. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How Hayfork High School compares for families

Real college outcomes data available below.

  • ▸ StatewideUC Reach Score of 12 — 7 points below the California median of 19.
  • ▸ Locally🎯 #1 in Trinity County on Attendance (lowest chronic absenteeism) — plus 2 more top-ranks.
  • ▸ vs Similar SchoolsRight at the peer median (UC Reach Score 9) across the 5 most similar nearby schools.

For Parents

Get alerts when Hayfork High School's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Academic rigor

AP + advanced-course offerings

Limited — narrow advanced curriculum

Bottom 29% of US high schools

50th 90th ↑ this school
Less rigorMore rigorMost rigor
AP courses offered
3
Subject breadth not reported
Students taking AP courses
10
≈10 per 100 students · uptake, not just offerings
Advanced math classes
1
0 calculus · 1 advanced
Lab science classes
1
0 physics · 1 chemistry
Other rigor signals
No dual-enrollment or gifted program reported

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). CRDC reports what's offered + enrolled — it doesn't collect AP exam pass rates (College Board owns that data and doesn't release it school-level).

SAT / ACT participation

CRDC federal data · 2020-21

Bottom 11% by test-taker volume

50th 90th
SAT/ACT test-takers
7
11th-12th graders who took 1+ college admissions test
Test-taking intensity
7.3
takers per 100 students in grades 9-12
Compared against
18,426
US high schools reporting SAT/ACT participation

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). Volume — not score — is what's reported here. A higher count means more students at this school are entering the college admissions pipeline. Note: 2020-21 was COVID-disrupted; some districts (especially those that stayed remote longer) report unusually low or zero takers.

4-year graduation rate · federal EDFacts

What % of students graduate on time?

Bottom 49% of US high schools by 4-yr grad rate

50th 90th
4-year graduation rate
90%
Range: 80–100%
4-year cohort size
16
Students in the 9th-grade entry class tracked over 4 years
Compared against
17,988
US high schools reporting 4-year ACGR

Source: federal EDFacts ACGR (Adjusted Cohort Graduation Rate), 2019 vintage via Urban Institute. EDFacts publishes a range (low-high) to preserve privacy on small cohorts; we display the midpoint.

Federal Title I context

High-poverty school

Title I Schoolwide eligible

78.1%
FRPL rate — % of students who qualify for the federal Free or Reduced-Price Lunch program. This is the underlying federal income-eligibility signal Title I designations are computed from (ESEA Sec. 1113).
0% (no FRPL) 35% TA · 40% Schoolwide 100% (universal FRPL)

≥75% of students qualify for free/reduced lunch. These schools qualify for the highest tier of federal Title I funding and typically receive extra wraparound services. Academic outcomes vary widely — check the state assessment + grad-rate tiles.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, free/reduced-price lunch eligibility. The actual Title I designation is a district decision and may differ from eligibility — but the federal eligibility math is what we show here. We don't claim to assert whether the district formally chose to enroll this school in Title I.

SBAC academic outcomes — grade 11, 2025

Share of grade-11 students meeting or exceeding the California standard on Smarter Balanced ELA and Math. This is the academic-readiness signal that pairs with UC Reach (post-grad outcomes), stability (retention), and absenteeism (engagement). Note: statewide median Math is only ~20% — a school at 20% isn't an outlier; one at 45%+ genuinely is.

About 8 in 10 students read and write at grade level — the top 10% of California high schools.
About 2 in 3 students do math at grade level — the top 10% of California high schools.
ELA — met or exceeded
n = 20
85.0%
incl. 55.0% exceeded
★ Top 10% CA
+58.0 pts above Trinity County median (27.0%) · CA median 54.5% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 79.4%
Math — met or exceeded
n = 20
70.0%
incl. 30.0% exceeded
★ Top 10% CA
+58.8 pts above Trinity County median (11.2%) · CA median 21.4% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 53.6%

Source: California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) Smarter Balanced research files. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥30 tested students.

Student composition — 2025-26

HS grades 9–12 racial/ethnic composition and program subgroups, from CDE Census Day Enrollment. Two-year shift shown when ≥1 pt — surfaces how the community served has changed since 2023-24.

Race / ethnicity

White 53% -1.4
Asian 32% +5.9
Two or more 7%
Hispanic / Latino 4% -6.1
Black / African Am. 1%
American Indian 1%
Not reported 1%

Program subgroups

Socioeconomically disadv. 73% -13.0

Source: California Department of Education, Census Day Enrollment 2025-26 (HS grades 9–12). Δ shown when shift is ≥1 pt since 2023-24. Categories below 0.5% omitted.

Chronic absenteeism — 2024-25

Share of students missing 10% or more of expected attendance — the leading indicator that often precedes the demand decline shown above. Families disengaging tend to raise absenteeism first, then formally leave. Basis: grades 9–12.

Kids show up: 10% are chronically absent versus about 23% statewide — engagement most schools would envy.
Chronic absent
10.2%
10 of 98 students

Low and stable absenteeism — students are engaged and showing up. The leading indicator is healthy.

Trinity County median
60.3% · school is better than 100% of 2 HS
Statewide median
22.8%

Source: California Department of Education, Chronic Absenteeism 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 eligible students. CDE didn't publish a usable 2019-20 file (COVID).

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment (9–12)
76 (2018) → 90 (2026)
+18.4%
Grade 12 (graduating class)
16 (2018) → 22 (2026)
+37.5%

If this trend holds (+3.3%/yr, Total enrollment)

At per-pupil funding of $ / student:

Horizon Projected Total enrollment Change Funding impact / yr
1 yr (2027) ~93 +3 $0
3 yr (2029) ~99 +9 $0
5 yr (2031) ~106 +16 $0

Straight-line extrapolation of the recent annual rate — a what-if, not a forecast of intent. Default = California's LCFF base grant for grades 9–12 ($12,423/ADA). Edit the figure to match your school.

How does Hayfork High School really compare on getting kids to college?

We've ranked it #2 of 3 most similar nearby schools on UC Reach. Unlock the full snapshot to see the head-to-head — who's ahead, by how much, and where it's heading.

The full head-to-head table — every peer school's UC Reach, side by side.
Enrollment trend + 3-year projection — is this school growing or quietly shrinking?
The plain-English read on what it all means for your family.

Your similar-school group includes

Laytonville High School · Agnes J. Johnson Charter · Salisbury High (continuation) · Six Rivers Charter School · Shasta Collegiate Academy · North Valley High · +4 more

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement. We'll email you the snapshot and a few alerts a year. Unsubscribe anytime.

Enrollment stability & demand — 2024-25

Two complementary signals: retention (do students stay once enrolled?) and demand (are families choosing the school?). Read against the Trinity County baseline — the demographic tide is moving every CA HS, so a school's gap vs. county is the actionable signal.

90% of students who start the year here finish it here.
Healthy
Best in class — winning on demand and retention.

Hayfork High School outperformed Trinity County on enrollment (school +37.5% vs. county -21.6%) AND maintains 89.9% stability. Replicable model — worth documenting what's working.

+37.5%  senior class, grade 12 (2018–2026)
-21.6%  Trinity County baseline
+59.1pp  gap vs. county
89.9%  retention (county median 68.6%)
Senior class (grade 12) — indexed to 100 at 2018
Stability rate
89.9%
89 of 99 students

10 of 99 students who enrolled at Hayfork High School this year didn't maintain continuous enrollment (10.1% non-stability). Mid-year transfers, dropouts, and other exits are all counted.

Trinity County median
68.6% · school is in the 100th percentile of 2 HS
Statewide median
87.3% · in the 64th percentile of 1,734 HS

Stability by student group

Socio. disadvantaged (78) 88.5%
White (48) 87.5%
Asian (26) 96.2%

Nearest peer high schools

Laytonville High School 91.3% Agnes J. Johnson Charter 50.0% Salisbury High (continuation) 26.1% Six Rivers Charter School 91.5% Shasta Collegiate Academy 38.1%

Source: California Department of Education, Stability Rate 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 cumulative enrollees so by-design-high-churn continuation schools don't dominate the bottom of the distribution. Cumulative enrollment counts every student on the rolls during the year, so it can exceed peak-day enrollment.

District financial profile — Mountain Valley Unified (FY2020)

From 4 years of NCES F-33 filings (the federally-mandated district finance survey). Public schools don't have their own books — the district does. These figures show the financial scale, revenue dependence, instruction-vs-overhead mix, and long-term debt that shape what a school can sustain.

Total revenue
$6.8M
-62.3% since FY2017
Per-pupil revenue
$22,207
308 students enrolled
Revenue mix
State: 54.0%
Local: 31.4%
Federal: 14.7%
Instruction share
47.4%
of current spending · $8,724/pupil
Total revenue by year ($M)
Total expenditure by year ($M)

Source: NCES F-33 Annual Survey of School System Finances (Urban Institute Education Data API). Latest year currently published: FY2020. F-33 is a district-level federal filing — it reflects the Mountain Valley Unified as a whole, not this individual school's books. Revenue mix shows where the district's dollars come from (state aid dominates in CA via LCFF). Instruction share is current expenditure on instruction ÷ total current expenditure (national benchmark ~60%). Long-term debt is end-of-year outstanding (mostly facilities bonds).

Key takeaway · Class of 2025

Hayfork High School sent 11 applications to the six most selective University of California campuses and 27.3% were admitted, producing a UC Reach Score of 12 (top-6 UC admits per 100 seniors, counting a student at each campus that admitted them) — 7 points below the California median of 19, higher than 28% of California high schools..

UC Reach Score 12 ⓘ 3 admits (counted at each UC) / 24 seniors +3 pts above peer median (9) · #2 of 3 similar schools methodology
Where this sits on the California curve
CA median
19
Peer median
9
Top 10%
53
This school
12
050100
CA median 19 Top 10% ≥ 53 This school 12

Higher than 28% of California high schools (1105 ranked, ≥50 seniors)

What this number means

Hayfork High School's UC Reach Score of 12 is below the California median (19). The top 10% of CA schools achieve 53 or higher.

Overall, Hayfork High School's UC Reach is higher than 28% of California high schools (1105 ranked).

UC Application Reach Score ⓘ
46
11 applications
In context: CA median 81 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 240 · higher than 23% of CA HS.
UC Admit Rate ⓘ
27.3%
3 / 11 applications
In context: CA median 26.1% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 40.4% · higher than 57% of CA HS.
UC Yield Rate ⓘ
N/A
— enrolled of 3 admitted
Yield vs. Enrollment Reach: Yield answers "of UC admits, what % chose UC?" — denominator is just the admits. A small admitted cohort can post a low yield even when the school sends a healthy share of its class to UC.
UC Enrollment Reach Score ⓘ
N/A
— enrollees / 24 seniors
Enrollment Reach vs. Yield: Reach answers "of the whole senior class, what share ended up at UC?" — denominator is everyone. High Yield with low Enrollment Reach is common at elite privates: most admits matriculate, but the school sends most of its class to non-UC selective colleges.
Selective UC Reach (UCB, UCLA, UCSD, UCSB, UCI — incl. the Elite two) ⓘ
N/A
Elite UC Reach (UCB + UCLA) ⓘ
N/A
Senior Class Size ⓘ
24
CDE grade 12 (exact)
Total School Enrollment ⓘ
96
All grades · CDE Census Day
Avg. Applicant GPA · top-6 UCs ⓘ
3.86

Campus Breakdown — 2025

Campus Applicants Admits Enrollees Admit Rate UC Reach Score Yield Avg GPA (App) Avg GPA (Adm)
UC Berkeley → Elite 6 —† —† —† —† — 3.87 —†
UC Davis → 5 3 —† 60.0% 12 — 3.84 —†
† = UCOP-suppressed (count below 3 students, hidden for privacy — actual value is 0, 1, or 2, not necessarily zero). Campus-level totals may count one student admitted to multiple UC campuses more than once; Admit Volume metrics are not the same as UC Reach, which is measured against the whole senior class. See methodology →

What This Means

A large share of the senior class applies to UC, indicating strong college-going culture and UC pipeline development.
A large share of the class applies to UC, so the admit rate runs lower than the application volume alone might suggest — expected when many students apply broadly, including to reach campuses. UC Reach (which credits every admit relative to the class) is the truer read of how the class fares: a strong Reach alongside a moderate admit rate is healthy, not a contradiction.
Fewer than 15% of seniors are earning UC admission. This may reflect a high non-UC college-going rate, significant A-G completion gaps, or an early-stage UC pipeline. A deeper review of A-G readiness and counseling capacity is warranted.
Note: the UC Reach Score sums campus-level admits across the top-six UC campuses, so a student admitted to both UCLA and UCSD is counted at each. It reflects competitive admit volume relative to class size — admit-events, not distinct students — which is why a Score can exceed 100.
Compare with other schools → See Trinity County rankings →

For School Admins

The full Reach Report for Hayfork High School

A board- and LCAP-ready intelligence brief: your enrollment retention and college outcomes, benchmarked against your closest competitors, with a 5-year forecast, concrete steps to act on, and the rigor + outcomes story you can share with your families. Built from primary public data — prepared for you, not auto-generated.

  • ✓Your UC Reach Score (12) ranked head-to-head against your closest competitor schools
  • ✓Your 5-year enrollment forecast (currently 3.3%/yr) with the revenue at stake
  • ✓Student-retention benchmarking vs your county median — and the LCAP evidence to back your goals
See a sample report →

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Hayfork High School is a public high school in Hayfork, Trinity County, California with 24 seniors in the Class of 2025.

Its UC Reach Score is 12 (Below the CA median, below the state median): 3 UC admits (counted at each UC) from a senior class of 24, so a student admitted to several campuses counts at each. That is higher than 28% of California high schools.

In 2025 its students filed 11 UC applications and received 3 offers, a UC admit rate of 27.3% (counted at each campus).

55% of its 2022-23 graduates enrolled in college within 12 months (California Department of Education College-Going Rate).

Enrollment was 90 students in 2026, up 18% since 2018.

Sources: University of California Office of the President (admissions), California Department of Education (enrollment, A-G, college-going), and the school's own published documents where named.

Questions families ask

What is Hayfork High School's UC Reach Score? Hayfork High School's UC Reach Score is 12 (Below the CA median, below the state median): 3 UC admits (counted at each UC) from a senior class of 24, so a student admitted to several campuses counts at each. That is higher than 28% of California high schools.

How many students from Hayfork High School got into a UC? In 2025 its students filed 11 UC applications and received 3 offers, a UC admit rate of 27.3% (counted at each campus).

What percentage of Hayfork High School graduates go to college? 55% of its 2022-23 graduates enrolled in college within 12 months (California Department of Education College-Going Rate).

How many students attend Hayfork High School? Enrollment was 90 students in 2026, up 18% since 2018.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

What does AI tell parents about Hayfork High School?

When a parent asks an AI assistant about Hayfork High School, the answer is built from a handful of sources, and Reach is often one of them. We will send your school a short report on what AI says about Hayfork High School and where it comes from. The first report is free.

Request the free report

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at Hayfork High School?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →

For School Admins looking at enrollment trends: request a Reach Report →

What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next