Weed High School

Weed · Siskiyou County · Siskiyou Union High · Public

Public Siskiyou County Siskiyou Union High → ~48 seniors CDS 4770466…
Shareable scorecard →

95% 4-yr grad rate

At a glance

Programs & features
  • 1 AP courses offered — Limited
Academic signals
  • AP rigor: Bottom 25% of US high schools
  • 4-yr grad rate: 95% in 2019 (75th percentile nationally)

Composed from federal CRDC offerings, EDFacts graduation data, and other public data. Full breakdowns below.

Where grads go — and what it costs & pays

UC Reach Score
15
Below the CA median below the state median
Top-6 UC admits per 100 seniors in the Class of 2025 — counts each campus admit, so a student admitted to several UCs counts more than once (which is why a strong school can score over 100).

UC admits by campus · Class of 2025

UCB
3 admitted
Net $13,481/yr avg
Grads earn $92,446 @10yr
UCD
4 admitted
Net $14,741/yr avg
Grads earn $80,838 @10yr

Getting in is step one. The cost above is the average aid-receiving family's net price — yours depends on whether you qualify for aid — and your child's odds depend on their GPA + scores. See your family's real numbers at these campuses:

Get my child's odds + our real costs →

Sources: UC Office of the President (admits); IPEDS net price + College Scorecard 10-yr earnings (cost & payoff). Full campus-by-campus breakdown below.

California College-Going Rate

39.1% of the 2022-23 graduating class enrolled in college within a year.

The share of 2022-23 graduates who enrolled at a college anywhere in the U.S. within 12 months, per the National Student Clearinghouse match the California Department of Education publishes.

Within 12 months
39.1%
of 46 graduates

Give the same class four more months and 45.7% had enrolled — CDE publishes a 16-month window alongside the 12-month one, 21 students.

Down 6 points from the 2021-22 class (45.1%).

Where the 2022-23 class enrolled

In California — 16 students (34.8%)

University of California 4.3% 2
California State University 0.0% 0
California Community College 30.4% 14
California private college 0.0% 0

Out of state — 2 students (4.3%)

Out-of-state 4-year 4.3% 2
Out-of-state 2-year 0.0% 0

CDE puts each graduate in one bucket only — whichever kind of college they were enrolled in longest — so these add up to the rate above. That is a different count from the UC Reach Score on this page, which counts a student at every UC campus that admitted them.

Source: California Department of Education, College-Going Rate (DataQuest) ↗, cohort 2022-23, posted 17-Sep-2025. Data file: cgr12mo23.txt ↗ (and the 16-month file ↗). CDE builds the rate by matching California high school completers to National Student Clearinghouse enrollment records; we publish CDE’s aggregates and hold no student-level data.

You've seen Weed High School. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How Weed High School compares for families

Mid-pack college outcomes within California.

  • StatewideUC Reach Score of 15 — right around the California median of 19.
  • vs Similar SchoolsBeats the peer median (UC Reach Score 15 vs a 10 median) across the 5 most similar nearby schools.

For Parents

Get alerts when Weed High School's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Academic rigor

AP + advanced-course offerings

Limited — narrow advanced curriculum

Bottom 25% of US high schools

50th 90th ↑ this school
Less rigorMore rigorMost rigor
AP courses offered
1
Subject breadth not reported
Students taking AP courses
33
≈18 per 100 students · uptake, not just offerings
Lab science classes
3
1 physics · 2 chemistry
Other rigor signals
No dual-enrollment or gifted program reported

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). CRDC reports what's offered + enrolled — it doesn't collect AP exam pass rates (College Board owns that data and doesn't release it school-level).

SAT / ACT participation

CRDC federal data · 2020-21
SAT/ACT test-takers
0
11th-12th graders who took 1+ college admissions test
Test-taking intensity
0.0
takers per 100 students in grades 9-12

Source: federal Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC 2020-21). Volume — not score — is what's reported here. A higher count means more students at this school are entering the college admissions pipeline. Note: 2020-21 was COVID-disrupted; some districts (especially those that stayed remote longer) report unusually low or zero takers.

4-year graduation rate · federal EDFacts

What % of students graduate on time?

75th percentile nationally

50th 90th
4-year graduation rate
95%
Range: 90–100%
4-year cohort size
33
Students in the 9th-grade entry class tracked over 4 years
Compared against
17,988
US high schools reporting 4-year ACGR

Source: federal EDFacts ACGR (Adjusted Cohort Graduation Rate), 2019 vintage via Urban Institute. EDFacts publishes a range (low-high) to preserve privacy on small cohorts; we display the midpoint.

Federal Title I context

Title I Schoolwide eligible

≥40% FRPL — qualifies for Title I Schoolwide program

59.9%
FRPL rate — % of students who qualify for the federal Free or Reduced-Price Lunch program. This is the underlying federal income-eligibility signal Title I designations are computed from (ESEA Sec. 1113).
0% (no FRPL) 35% TA · 40% Schoolwide 100% (universal FRPL)

40-74% of students qualify for free/reduced lunch. The district can use Title I funds across the whole school under federal Schoolwide Program rules.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, free/reduced-price lunch eligibility. The actual Title I designation is a district decision and may differ from eligibility — but the federal eligibility math is what we show here. We don't claim to assert whether the district formally chose to enroll this school in Title I.

SBAC academic outcomes — grade 11, 2025

Share of grade-11 students meeting or exceeding the California standard on Smarter Balanced ELA and Math. This is the academic-readiness signal that pairs with UC Reach (post-grad outcomes), stability (retention), and absenteeism (engagement). Note: statewide median Math is only ~20% — a school at 20% isn't an outlier; one at 45%+ genuinely is.

About 4 in 10 students read and write at grade level — below the state norm — worth asking what extra support looks like.
About 1 in 10 students do math at grade level — below the state norm — worth asking what extra support looks like.
ELA — met or exceeded
n = 35
40.0%
incl. 14.3% exceeded
-6.2 pts vs. Siskiyou County median (46.2%) · CA median 54.5% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 79.4%
Math — met or exceeded
n = 35
8.6%
incl. 2.9% exceeded
-7.9 pts vs. Siskiyou County median (16.5%) · CA median 21.4% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 53.6%

Source: California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) Smarter Balanced research files. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥30 tested students.

Student composition — 2025-26

HS grades 9–12 racial/ethnic composition and program subgroups, from CDE Census Day Enrollment. Two-year shift shown when ≥1 pt — surfaces how the community served has changed since 2023-24.

Race / ethnicity

White 45% -1.4
Two or more 22% +3.0
Hispanic / Latino 22% +2.5
Black / African Am. 6%
Asian 3%
American Indian 2%
Not reported 1% -2.1

Program subgroups

Socioeconomically disadv. 63% -9.3

Source: California Department of Education, Census Day Enrollment 2025-26 (HS grades 9–12). Δ shown when shift is ≥1 pt since 2023-24. Categories below 0.5% omitted.

Chronic absenteeism — 2024-25

Share of students missing 10% or more of expected attendance — the leading indicator that often precedes the demand decline shown above. Families disengaging tend to raise absenteeism first, then formally leave. Basis: grades 9–12.

35% of students miss 10%+ of school days — above the state's ~23%. Ask what the school is doing about engagement.
Chronic absent
35.2%
68 of 193 students

Absenteeism is up 12.5 pp since 2016-17. A rising absenteeism trend often precedes formal departure — worth investigating which subgroups are driving it.

Siskiyou County median
22.4% · school is worse than 83% of 6 HS
Statewide median
22.8%
Chronic absenteeism by year (raw %)

Source: California Department of Education, Chronic Absenteeism 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 eligible students. CDE didn't publish a usable 2019-20 file (COVID).

Enrollment trend & projection

Total enrollment (9–12)
161 (2018)177 (2026)
+9.9%
Grade 12 (graduating class)
33 (2018)40 (2026)
+21.2%

If this trend holds (+0.6%/yr, Total enrollment)

At per-pupil funding of $ / student:

Horizon Projected Total enrollment Change Funding impact / yr
1 yr (2027) ~178 +1 $0
3 yr (2029) ~180 +3 $0
5 yr (2031) ~182 +5 $0

Straight-line extrapolation of the recent annual rate — a what-if, not a forecast of intent. Default = California's LCFF base grant for grades 9–12 ($12,423/ADA). Edit the figure to match your school.

How does Weed High School really compare on getting kids to college?

We've ranked it #1 of 5 most similar nearby schools on UC Reach. Unlock the full snapshot to see the head-to-head — who's ahead, by how much, and where it's heading.

The full head-to-head table — every peer school's UC Reach, side by side.
Enrollment trend + 3-year projection — is this school growing or quietly shrinking?
The plain-English read on what it all means for your family.

Your similar-school group includes

Golden Eagle Charter School · Mount Shasta High School · Etna Union High School · Northern United - Siskiyou Charter · California Heritage Youthbuild Academy Ii · Pioneer Continuation High · +4 more

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement. We'll email you the snapshot and a few alerts a year. Unsubscribe anytime.

Enrollment stability & demand — 2024-25

Two complementary signals: retention (do students stay once enrolled?) and demand (are families choosing the school?). Read against the Siskiyou County baseline — the demographic tide is moving every CA HS, so a school's gap vs. county is the actionable signal.

84% of students who start the year here finish it here.
Action needed
Watch — engagement collapsing under a stable surface.

On the surface Weed High School looks fine — enrollment is +21.2% vs. Siskiyou County +14.3%, and 84.3% of students stay through year-end. But chronic absenteeism is at 35.2%, up +12.5 pts since 2016-17 (county median 21.2%). Disengagement leads departure — families pull back from the day-to-day before they formally leave. The demand signal usually follows within 2–3 years.

+21.2%  senior class, grade 12 (2018–2026)
+14.3%  Siskiyou County baseline
+6.9pp  gap vs. county
84.3%  retention (county median 85.6%)
Senior class (grade 12) — indexed to 100 at 2018
Stability rate by year (raw %)
Stability rate
84.3%
167 of 198 students

31 of 198 students who enrolled at Weed High School this year didn't maintain continuous enrollment (15.7% non-stability). Mid-year transfers, dropouts, and other exits are all counted.

Siskiyou County median
85.6% · school is in the 43rd percentile of 7 HS
Statewide median
87.3% · in the 38th percentile of 1,734 HS

Stability by student group

Socio. disadvantaged (133) 79.7%
White (91) 81.3%
Hispanic / Latino (43) 88.4%
Two or more races (42) 81.0%
Students w/ disabilities (20) 75.0%

Nearest peer high schools

Golden Eagle Charter School 74.6% Mount Shasta High School 85.6% Etna Union High School 89.6% Northern United - Siskiyou Charter 62.8% California Heritage Youthbuild Academy Ii 50.4%

Source: California Department of Education, Stability Rate 2024-25. Benchmarks limited to non-virtual public & charter HS with ≥100 cumulative enrollees so by-design-high-churn continuation schools don't dominate the bottom of the distribution. Cumulative enrollment counts every student on the rolls during the year, so it can exceed peak-day enrollment.

District financial profile — Siskiyou Union High (FY2020)

From 4 years of NCES F-33 filings (the federally-mandated district finance survey). Public schools don't have their own books — the district does. These figures show the financial scale, revenue dependence, instruction-vs-overhead mix, and long-term debt that shape what a school can sustain.

Total revenue
$12.3M
+21.2% since FY2017
Per-pupil revenue
$22,817
537 students enrolled
Revenue mix
State: 37.2%
Local: 46.9%
Federal: 15.8%
Instruction share
49.8%
of current spending · $8,486/pupil
Long-term debt
$9.6M
-4.1% since FY2017
Total revenue by year ($M)
Total expenditure by year ($M)

Source: NCES F-33 Annual Survey of School System Finances (Urban Institute Education Data API). Latest year currently published: FY2020. F-33 is a district-level federal filing — it reflects the Siskiyou Union High as a whole, not this individual school's books. Revenue mix shows where the district's dollars come from (state aid dominates in CA via LCFF). Instruction share is current expenditure on instruction ÷ total current expenditure (national benchmark ~60%). Long-term debt is end-of-year outstanding (mostly facilities bonds).

Key takeaway · Class of 2025

Weed High School sent 31 applications to the six most selective University of California campuses and 22.6% were admitted, producing a UC Reach Score of 15 (top-6 UC admits per 100 seniors, counting a student at each campus that admitted them) — 4 points below the California median of 19, higher than 38% of California high schools. The school produces 6.2 UCLA + UC Berkeley admits per 100 seniors.

UC Reach Score 15 7 admits (counted at each UC) / 48 seniors +4 pts above peer median (10) · #1 of 5 similar schools methodology
Where this sits on the California curve
CA median
19
Peer median
10
Top 10%
53
This school
15
050100
CA median 19 Top 10% ≥ 53 This school 15

Higher than 38% of California high schools (1107 ranked, ≥50 seniors)

What this number means

Weed High School's UC Reach Score of 15 is below the California median (19). The top 10% of CA schools achieve 53 or higher.

Overall, Weed High School's UC Reach is higher than 38% of California high schools (1107 ranked).

UC Application Reach Score
65
31 applications
In context: CA median 81 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 240 · higher than 39% of CA HS.
UC Admit Rate
22.6%
7 / 31 applications
In context: CA median 26.0% · Top 10% statewide ≥ 40.4% · higher than 30% of CA HS.
UC Yield Rate
N/A
— enrolled of 7 admitted
Yield vs. Enrollment Reach: Yield answers "of UC admits, what % chose UC?" — denominator is just the admits. A small admitted cohort can post a low yield even when the school sends a healthy share of its class to UC.
UC Enrollment Reach Score
N/A
— enrollees / 48 seniors
Enrollment Reach vs. Yield: Reach answers "of the whole senior class, what share ended up at UC?" — denominator is everyone. High Yield with low Enrollment Reach is common at elite privates: most admits matriculate, but the school sends most of its class to non-UC selective colleges.
Student-Counselor Ratio
Counseling here is unusually well-staffed — about 177 students per counselor, near what experts recommend.
177:1
1.0 FTE counselors · 177 students
In context: CA median 337:1 · 160 fewer students per counselor · ASCA target 250:1.
A-G Completion
Only 1 in 4 graduates finish the courses UC and CSU require — below the state norm. Worth asking how course access and planning work here.
30%
13 of 44 graduates · 2024-25 cohort
In context: CA median 55.9% · -26.4 pp vs. median · Siskiyou Co. 35.7%.
Selective UC Reach (UCB, UCLA, UCSD, UCSB, UCI — incl. the Elite two)
6.2
per 100 seniors · campus-level total
In context: CA median 15.9 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 42.2 · higher than 7% of CA HS.
Elite UC Reach (UCB + UCLA)
6.2
per 100 seniors · campus-level total
In context: CA median 3.4 · Top 10% statewide ≥ 10.2 · higher than 72% of CA HS.
Senior Class Size
48
CDE grade 12 (exact)
Total School Enrollment
187
All grades · CDE Census Day
Economic Connectedness
0.68
17th percentile in CA · cross‑class friendships
Avg. Applicant GPA · top-6 UCs
4.00

UC Outcomes Trend — 2018–2025

UC Admit Rate %
UC Reach Score (where available)
UC Admits (count, right axis)

Class size from CDE grade 12 enrollment. Campus-level data: applicant and admit totals count a student once at EACH campus. A senior admitted to UCLA and UC San Diego adds 2 to the admit total, so the total can exceed the senior class — that is the metric working as defined, not an error. The admit RATE is unaffected: both its numerator and denominator are campus-level.

Campus Breakdown — 2025

Campus Applicants Admits Enrollees Admit Rate UC Reach Score Yield Avg GPA (App) Avg GPA (Adm)
UC Berkeley → Elite 6 3 50.0% 6 3.95
UCLA → Elite 6 4.03
UC San Diego → Selective 7 4.04
UC Irvine → Selective 5 4.02
UC Davis → 7 4 57.1% 8 3.99
= UCOP-suppressed (count below 3 students, hidden for privacy — actual value is 0, 1, or 2, not necessarily zero). Campus-level totals may count one student admitted to multiple UC campuses more than once; Admit Volume metrics are not the same as UC Reach, which is measured against the whole senior class. See methodology →

What This Means

A large share of the senior class applies to UC, indicating strong college-going culture and UC pipeline development.
A large share of the class applies to UC, so the admit rate runs lower than the application volume alone might suggest — expected when many students apply broadly, including to reach campuses. UC Reach (which credits every admit relative to the class) is the truer read of how the class fares: a strong Reach alongside a moderate admit rate is healthy, not a contradiction.
Fewer than 15% of seniors are earning UC admission. This may reflect a high non-UC college-going rate, significant A-G completion gaps, or an early-stage UC pipeline. A deeper review of A-G readiness and counseling capacity is warranted.
Note: the UC Reach Score sums campus-level admits across the top-six UC campuses, so a student admitted to both UCLA and UCSD is counted at each. It reflects competitive admit volume relative to class size — admit-events, not distinct students — which is why a Score can exceed 100.
Compare with other schools → See Siskiyou County rankings →

For School Admins

The full Reach Report for Weed High School

A board- and LCAP-ready intelligence brief: your enrollment retention and college outcomes, benchmarked against your closest competitors, with a 5-year forecast, concrete steps to act on, and the rigor + outcomes story you can share with your families. Built from primary public data — prepared for you, not auto-generated.

  • Your UC Reach Score (15) ranked head-to-head against your closest competitor schools
  • Your 5-year enrollment forecast (currently 0.6%/yr) with the revenue at stake
  • Student-retention benchmarking vs your county median — and the LCAP evidence to back your goals
See a sample report →

Related reading

The data Newsom asked for already exists — school by school

UC testing review · August 25, 2026

Nursing at NYU is harder to get into than Brown

College admissions · August 21, 2026

All stories from the data →

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at Weed High School?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →

For School Admins looking at enrollment trends: request a Reach Report →

What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next