Research · Scholarships · October 2026

Scholarships in Louisiana: the 5 state programs and what each asks for

As of October 2026: Louisiana has 5 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table says what each one pays, who qualifies, and when it closes, in the state's own words.

The table holds every state-funded award we could confirm for a Louisiana high school graduate going to college. It does not hold federal aid, or a scholarship that comes from one college rather than from the state.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com), October 2026. Figures and the table may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

The findings, in plain English

Louisiana runs 5 awards that turn on grades or scores. TOPS Opportunity is one of them. 5 of the 5 programs we could read name a GPA, and 5 name a test score. A need-based award asks about family income instead, through the FAFSA.

The state's own pages are the only place these rules live. Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.

What this table does not tell you. Every figure on the table was read off the state's own page for that program. Nothing is estimated and nothing is carried over from an earlier year.

Every state scholarship in Louisiana

Read the row, then open the state's own page before you count on a figure.

ProgramMerit or needWhat it paysGPA it asks forTest score it asks forWho qualifiesDeadlineRenewableOfficial page
TOPS Opportunity Merit Public-college tuition 2.50 core GPA ACT equal to the prior year's state average, but never less than 20 (SAT/CLT equivalent accepted) — — Minimum 2.30 GPA at the end of the first academic year; 2.50 GPA at the end of all other years Source
TOPS Performance Merit Tuition + $400/yr stipend 3.25 core GPA SAT 1130 / ACT 23 — — — Source
TOPS Honors Merit Tuition + $800/yr stipend 3.50 core GPA SAT 1260 / ACT 27 — — — Source
TOPS Excellence Merit Tuition & fees up to $12,000/yr (public) or $8,500/yr (LAICU private) 3.50 core GPA SAT 1390 / ACT 31 TOPS does not accept an ACT Superscore — — Source
TOPS Tech Merit Up to 2 years of technical / vocational tuition 2.50 core GPA SAT 920 / ACT 17 (or Silver-level ACT WorkKeys) For non-academic / career-technical programs — — Source

Every row is a state-funded or state-administered award for a Louisiana high school graduate going to an undergraduate program, as of October 2026. A scholarship from a single college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all left out. A blank cell means the state's own page does not state it. Dollar figures and GPA floors change every year.

How to read a state scholarship

State awards come in two shapes. A merit award asks about grades, a course list, or a test score, and it does not care what a family earns. A need-based award asks about income and assets through the FAFSA, and it does not care about grades. Some awards ask about both, and the table calls those merit and need.

The deadline column is the one families miss. For most need-based state aid the deadline is really the FAFSA deadline, and it falls months before a college asks for a decision. A merit award more often has no application at all: the state or the high school nominates the student from records it already holds.

What a family should do with this

Open the official page in the last column for the one or two programs your student plausibly qualifies for, and write down two dates: the state aid deadline and the FAFSA deadline. Those are the two that close. The Louisiana pages on this table post no date, so file the FAFSA as early as you can and check the program page again in the spring.

Then look past the state. A state award is usually the smaller half of an offer. The college's own merit grid and its net price for your family income move more money than any state program on this page, and both are published.

Questions parents ask

What scholarships does Louisiana offer?

Louisiana has 5 state scholarship programs for students who graduate from its own high schools. The table says what each one pays, who qualifies, and when it closes, in the state's own words.

Does Louisiana have a merit scholarship?

Louisiana runs 5 awards that turn on grades or scores, and TOPS Opportunity is one of them.

How do I find the rules for a Louisiana scholarship?

Every row links to the page the state publishes for that program. The rules and the dollar figures move from year to year, so the page is the thing to read, not a summary of it.

Method & sources: Programs come from the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA) and the agency's own program pages, read in October 2026. The population is a student who graduates from a Louisiana high school and enrolls as an undergraduate. A scholarship offered by one college, a private foundation award, a federal program and a graduate-only award are all out of scope. A value the agency's own page does not state is left blank rather than filled from elsewhere, and a page that could not be read drops every figure.

This brief as data: /research/scholarships-in-louisiana.json. Free for editorial use with attribution to Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach).

For parents · free

Where does your student stand?

The free Family Decision Report reads your student's GPA and scores against every college on their list.

Build your free Family Decision Report →

Related: Merit scholarships by college · State scholarships in every state · High schools in Louisiana · Scholarship deadlines