Black Mountain Academy

Black Mountain · NC · Private independent

Private

A parent's read

  • Where graduates go, as the school itself publishes it. Black Mountain Academy publishes where its graduates go (not stated): 24 colleges, including University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Vanderbilt University, Adelphi University, Texas Tech University.
  • Worth asking admissions: the school profile. Reach doesn't yet show this school's SAT/ACT or AP results. Every private school produces a counselor's "school profile" for colleges, and most post it online — ask admissions for it. How a school answers says as much as the numbers.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Where graduates go — as published by the school

Black Mountain Academy publishes where its graduates enrolled (not stated): 24 colleges. See the full list ↓

Their published matriculation list

Where their graduates enrolled

Black Mountain Academy publishes where its graduates enrolled. What follows is copied from that document — 24 colleges, in the document's own order.

The document does not state a class year for this list.

Out of state · 16

Adelphi University · University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill · Texas Tech University · The Citadel · Vanderbilt University · Montclair State University · Full Sail University · George Mason University · Pennsylvania College of Technology · Wright State University · University of South Carolina Aiken · Michigan Technological University · Florida Southwestern State College · Montreat College · and 2 more below

Not matched to a college page · 8

University of Tennessee – Chattanooga – graduated Magna Cum Laude · SUNY Purchase (2 graduates) · University of Vermont Burlington (3 graduates) · Lynn University (2 graduates) · Trident Technical College · Asheville Buncombe Technical Comm. College · Mass Bay Community College · Champlain Community College

Is my kid's college on this list?

— Stanford University — New York University — University of Southern California — University of California, Los Angeles — University of California, Berkeley — University of Michigan — Cornell University — Boston University — Northeastern University — University of Texas at Austin — Georgetown University — Duke University

As the document prints them

Adelphi University University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Texas Tech University The Citadel Vanderbilt University Montclair State University University of Tennessee – Chattanooga – graduated Magna Cum Laude SUNY Purchase (2 graduates) University of Vermont Burlington (3 graduates) Full Sail University George Mason University Pennsylvania College of Technology Wright State University Lynn University (2 graduates) University of South Carolina Aiken Michigan Technological University Trident Technical College Florida Southwestern State College Asheville Buncombe Technical Comm. College Montreat College Mass Bay Community College Champlain Community College Valencia College Curry College

These graduates went on to the colleges above.

Check your kid's odds at these colleges →

We'll load 10 from the list above — add your name, email and your child's numbers and we'll see where your child lands at each.

Independently verified As published by Black Mountain Academy — Academics page — "Where do Black Mountain Academy Graduates Go to College?" ↗. Found at: Academics page, alumni-colleges section (Universities; Community and Regional Colleges).

Keep this page current

Work at Black Mountain Academy? If this page is missing your newest school profile, matriculation list, or college acceptances, send us the links. We read the document, copy the figures exactly as published, and cite it on this page.

Send us links

Links only, please. We can't take file uploads, and we never publish a number without the document it came from.

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

You've seen Black Mountain Academy. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How Black Mountain Academy compares for families

What families should know about Black Mountain Academy.

  • ▸ LocallyNC sits right at the US average on NAEP 8th-grade math — local school quality will set your kid apart.

For Parents

Get alerts when Black Mountain Academy's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Your state's public flagship

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

19%
admit rate
$8,994
in-state tuition/yr · $41,203 out-of-state
1370–1530
SAT 25–75 · ACT 30–34

The in-state tuition gap is the flagship's biggest draw — most in-state families pay far less than the out-of-state sticker. Average net price after aid runs about $11,655/yr. Admission odds depend on your student's GPA and test scores, not which high school they attend.

See the full University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill profile → Estimate your odds with your scores →

Source: IPEDS admissions, tuition & enrollment + College Scorecard net price. Flagship = the state's primary public research university.

About this listing

Black Mountain Academy is listed by TABS. It has not reported to the federal Private School Survey, which is voluntary, so enrollment figures are not available here — many of the country's oldest independent schools are in the same position. The school's own site: theblackmountainacademy.com ↗

Not enough enrollment history on file to chart a trend for this school yet.

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Black Mountain Academy is a private high school in Black Mountain, NC.

Black Mountain Academy publishes a matriculation list (where its graduates enrolled) for the not stated: 24 colleges. Source: Academics page — "Where do Black Mountain Academy Graduates Go to College?".

Sources: National Center for Education Statistics (enrollment), the federal Civil Rights Data Collection and EDFacts, state education agencies where named, and the school's own published documents where named.

Questions families ask

Where do Black Mountain Academy graduates go to college? Black Mountain Academy publishes a matriculation list (where its graduates enrolled) for the not stated: 24 colleges. Source: Academics page — "Where do Black Mountain Academy Graduates Go to College?".

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

What does AI tell parents about Black Mountain Academy?

When a parent asks an AI assistant about Black Mountain Academy, the answer is built from a handful of sources, and Reach is often one of them. We will send the admissions office a short report on what AI says about Black Mountain Academy and where it comes from. The first report is free.

Request the free report

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at Black Mountain Academy?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →
What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next