Private high schools
Best private high schools in the Boston area, ranked by published college outcomes
95 private high schools in the Boston area have a profile page on Reach. 16 of them publish a college list with a count beside each college; those are ranked below by graduates enrolling at the Ivy+ twelve per class year, from each school's own list. 16 more publish a college list without counts. Tuition and entrance-exam data are held for California private schools only, so this page does not print them.
Which private high schools in the Boston area have the strongest published college outcomes?
Among the 16 private high schools in the Boston area with a counted college list, Phillips Academy (Andover) sends the most graduates to the Ivy+ twelve, 83 per class year (83 over 1 class year), followed by Noble and Greenough School (39.8) and Middlesex School (21).
| # | School | City | Grades | Ivy+ enrollments per class year |
Students on the list per class year |
Different colleges on the list |
Class years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Phillips Academy (Andover) Boarding | Andover | 9–12 | 83.0 | 309.0 | 100 | Class of 2024 | School's list |
| 2 | Noble and Greenough School | Dedham | 7–12 | 39.8 | 126.0 | 66 | 2021–2025 | School's list |
| 3 | Middlesex School Boarding | Concord | 9–12 | 21.0 | 99.0 | 58 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 4 | Winsor School | Boston | 5–12 | 16.2 | 45.5 | 33 | 2022–2025 | School's list |
| 5 | Belmont Hill School | Belmont | 7–12 | 15.6 | 63.6 | 90 | 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 6 | The Roxbury Latin School | West Roxbury | 7–12 | 14.7 | 42.5 | 69 | 2021-2026 | School's list |
| 7 | Boston University Academy | Boston | 9–12 | 10.2 | 33.2 | 34 | CLASSES 2016-2021 | School's list |
| 8 | The Rivers School | Weston | 6–12 | 10.0 | 84.4 | 74 | 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 9 | St. Sebastian's School | Needham | 7–12 | 6.6 | 64.2 | 93 | past five years | School's list |
| 10 | Thayer Academy | Braintree | 5–12 | 6.2 | 153.2 | 181 | 2020-23 | School's list |
| 11 | Brooks School Boarding | North Andover | 9–12 | 6.0 | 84.0 | 51 | Class of 2024 | School's list |
| 12 | Beaver Country Day School | Chestnut Hill | 6–12 | 5.4 | 84.4 | 125 | Five Year Summary 2022-2026 | School's list |
| 13 | Commonwealth School | Boston | 9–12 | 5.0 | 30.0 | 24 | Class of 2022 | School's list |
| 14 | Dana Hall School Boarding | Wellesley | 5–12 | 4.0 | 75.0 | 48 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
| 15 | Pingree School | South Hamilton | 9–12 | 2.6 | 91.0 | 140 | 2021–2025 | School's list |
| 16 | The Cambridge School of Weston Boarding | Weston | 9–12 | 1.8 | 74.6 | 127 | Classes of 2022-2026 | School's list |
Private high schools in the Boston area that publish a counted acceptances list
An acceptances list counts every college that admitted a graduate, so one student admitted to three of the twelve counts three times. It is a different document from a matriculation list and is never added to the table above.
| # | School | City | Grades | Ivy+ admits per class year |
Students on the list per class year |
Different colleges on the list |
Class years | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Middlesex School Boarding | Concord | 9–12 | 24.0 | 213.0 | 58 | Class of 2026 | School's list |
How many private high schools in the Boston area publish a college list?
16 of the 95 private high schools in the Boston area publish a college list with counts, 16 publish a list without counts, and 63 publish no list we have read.
| School | City | Grades | What the school published | Class years | Colleges named | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chapel Hill Chauncy Hall School | Waltham | 9–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | 2022-2026 | 316 | School's list |
| Malden Catholic High School | Malden | 9–12 | College acceptances | 2026 | 215 | School's list |
| Catholic Memorial | West Roxbury | 7–12 | College acceptances | Class of 2025 | 154 | School's list |
| Waring School | Beverly | 6–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | 2021-2026 | 154 | School's list |
| Brimmer & May School | Chestnut Hill | — | Colleges attended, unlabeled | Class of 2026 | 144 | School's list |
| Buckingham Browne & Nichols School | Cambridge | — | Where graduates enrolled | Classes of 2021-2024 | 141 | School's list |
| Meridian Academy | Jamaica Plain | 6–12 | College acceptances | not stated | 114 | School's list |
| St Mark'S School Boarding | Southborough | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2023-2025 | 109 | School's list |
| Montrose School | Medfield | 6–12 | College acceptances | Class of 2026 | 104 | School's list |
| Xaverian Brothers High School | Westwood | 7–12 | Where graduates enrolled | 2025 | 93 | School's list |
| Boston Trinity Academy | Boston | 6–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | Acceptances, 2020-2024 | 91 | School's list |
| Walnut Hill School for the Arts Boarding | Natick | 9–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 52 | School's list |
| Lexington Christian Academy Boarding | Lexington | 6–12 | College acceptances | Class of 2025 | 48 | School's list |
| Tremont School | Concord | 5–12 | Colleges attended, unlabeled | 2012-2026 | 34 | School's list |
| Newton Country Day School | Newton | 5–12 | Where graduates enrolled | Class of 2026 | 29 | School's list |
| The Woodward School | Quincy | 6–12 | Where graduates enrolled | not stated | 24 | School's list |
Which private high schools in the Boston area are boarding schools?
8 of the 95 private high schools in the Boston area are listed as boarding schools by the TABS member directory: Brooks School, Dana Hall School, Lexington Christian Academy, Middlesex School, Phillips Academy, St Mark'S School, The Cambridge School Of Weston, and Walnut Hill School For The Arts.
Which private high schools in the Boston area are religiously affiliated?
On the federal Private School Survey, 18 of the 95 private high schools in the Boston area are Catholic, 11 have another religious affiliation and 66 are nonsectarian.
What families are also choosing at a private school
Parents are not only shopping for college outcomes. The tables above count where graduates enrolled, and a high school is also four years of a teenager's days: who they spend them with, what the school asks them to value, and whether the adults know them.
- Community and values fit. A private school sets its own mission and expectations, and the application, the entrance exam and the interview work as a fit signal in both directions. On the federal Private School Survey, 18 of these schools are Catholic, 11 have another religious affiliation and 66 are nonsectarian.
- Residential life. 8 of these schools offer boarding, per the TABS member directory, so living on campus is part of what they offer.
- Class size. Class size is a fair question for each school's admissions office; we hold no student–teacher ratio for the schools listed here.
- Advising. Each private school builds its own college-advising model, so the useful question is how many students each counselor carries and how early the work starts.
- Arts and athletics access. A smaller school can mean more students on each team and in each production; ask each school what participation looks like.
Public schools are a great choice when a family cannot afford a private school, and a published college list is one of the few outcome measures a private school and a public school can be read on side by side.
Every other private high school in the Boston area with a page on Reach (63)
Listed alphabetically. These schools publish no college list we have read; that is all their absence from the tables above means.
| School | City | Grades | Affiliation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Archbishop Williams High School | Braintree | 7–12 | Catholic |
| Arlington Catholic High School | Arlington | 9–12 | Catholic |
| Arlington School | Belmont | 9–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Austin Preparatory School | Reading | 6–12 | Catholic |
| Bay Cove Academy | Brookline | 7–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Beacon Scholastic Academy | Millbury | 3–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Beverly School For The Deaf | Beverly | — | Nonsectarian |
| Bishop Fenwick High School | Peabody | 9–12 | Catholic |
| Boston Higashi School | Randolph | — | Nonsectarian |
| Brandon School & Residental Treatment | Natick | 5–12 | Nonsectarian |
| British International School Of Boston | Boston | — | Nonsectarian |
| Cardinal Cushing Centers | Hanover | 7–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Cardinal Spellman High School | Brockton | 9–12 | Catholic |
| Cats Academy | Braintree | 8–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Clark School | Rowley | — | Nonsectarian |
| Clearway School | Newton | 7–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Clifford Academy | East Walpole | 7–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Cns/Pathways Academy | Belmont | 4–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Cotting School | Lexington | — | Nonsectarian |
| Covenant Christian Academy | Peabody | — | Other religious |
| Cristo Rey Boston High School | Dorchester | 9–12 | Catholic |
| Dearborn Academy | Newton | 4–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Fontbonne Academy | Milton | 7–12 | Catholic |
| Fusion Academy Burlington | Burlington | 6–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Fusion Academy Newton | Newton | 6–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Fusion Hingham | Hingham | 6–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Gann Academy-The New Jewish High School | Waltham | 9–12 | Other religious |
| German International School Boston | Boston | — | Nonsectarian |
| Gifford School | Weston | 5–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Glenhaven Academy | Marlborough | 6–12 | Nonsectarian |
| High Road School Of Ma | East Bridgewater | 6–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Hopeful Journeys Educational Center | Beverly | 1–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Ivy Street School | Brookline | 9–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Landmark High School | Prides Crossing | 2–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Learning Prep School | West Newton | 5–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Maimonides | Brookline | — | Other religious |
| Meadowridge Pelham Academy | Lexington | 8–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Mesivta High School Of Greater Boston | Brighton | 9–12 | Other religious |
| Milestones Day School | Waltham | 4–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Mt Alvernia High School | Newton | 7–12 | Catholic |
| Nashoba Learning Group | Bedford | — | Nonsectarian |
| Ne Pediatric School | North Billerica | 2–12 | Nonsectarian |
| New Beginnings Academy | Hyde Park | — | Other religious |
| New England Academy | Beverly | 7–12 | Nonsectarian |
| North American Hockey Academy | Wellesley | 9–12 | Nonsectarian |
| North Shore Recovery High School | Beverly | 9–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Notre Dame Academy | Hingham | 7–12 | Catholic |
| Perkins School For The Blind | Watertown | — | Nonsectarian |
| Rcs Learning Center | Natick | 6–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Riverside School | Needham | 9–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Seaport Academy | Chelsea | 9–12 | Nonsectarian |
| South Shore Christian Academy | Weymouth | — | Other religious |
| St Joseph Preparatory High School | Boston | 9–12 | Catholic |
| The Academy At Penguin Hall | Wenham | 9–12 | Nonsectarian |
| The Cambridge Matignon School | Cambridge | 9–12 | Catholic |
| The Guild For Human Services | Concord | 4–12 | Nonsectarian |
| The Learning Center For The Deaf | Framingham | — | Nonsectarian |
| The Newman School | Boston | 7–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Ursuline Academy | Dedham | 7–12 | Catholic |
| Waldorf High School Of Massachusetts Bay | Belmont | 9–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Wayside Academy | Framingham | 7–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Willow Hill School | Sudbury | 6–12 | Nonsectarian |
| Yeshiva Ohr Yisrael High School For Boys | Chestnut Hill | 8–12 | Other religious |
Other metros are on the private high schools by metro index. The same arithmetic across every state is the Ivy+ enrollment board; for one college at a time, see which private schools send the most students to each college.
Ivy+ means these twelve: Harvard University, Yale University, Princeton University, Columbia University in the City of New York, University of Pennsylvania, Brown University, Dartmouth College, Cornell University, Stanford University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Chicago, Duke University. A graduate is counted once, at the college the school says they enrolled at; the per-class-year figure is the published total divided by the class years the school's own document covers, and both are shown. A school that is not on this page did not publish a numbered matriculation list we could read — that is all absence means here. It is never a statement about a school's graduates. Lists of acceptances (where students were admitted, not where they enrolled) are never counted in this ranking: an acceptances list runs about three times an enrollment list, so counting the two together would compare different things. Those lists are ranked on their own, separately. Grades and religious affiliation are from the National Center for Education Statistics' Private School Survey. Boarding is read from the TABS member directory — The Association of Boarding Schools' 2026 list of its US member schools — matched onto our school pages by exact or town-confirmed name (173 of them). A school that directory does not list is not called a boarding school on a guess, so it waits for the next directory pass rather than appearing here. A school is listed here when its NCES coordinates fall within 25 miles of the metro's center and it is in MA, NH.