The New School

Kennebunk · ME · Private independent

Private

A parent's read

  • Where graduates go, as the school itself publishes it. The New School publishes where its graduates go (not stated): 28 colleges, including Wheaton, Sarah Lawrence, Mt. Holyoke, Hampshire.
  • Worth asking admissions: the school profile. Reach doesn't yet show this school's SAT/ACT or AP results. Every private school produces a counselor's "school profile" for colleges, and most post it online — ask admissions for it. How a school answers says as much as the numbers.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Where graduates go — as published by the school

The New School publishes its college acceptances (not stated): 28 colleges. See the full list ↓

Their published college acceptances

College acceptances

The New School publishes the colleges that admitted its graduates. What follows is copied from that document — 28 colleges, in the document's own order.

The document does not state a class year for this list.

Out of state · 10

Sarah Lawrence · College of the Atlantic · Pratt Institute · Berklee College of Music · Maine Maritime Academy · Hawaii Pacific University · Montserrat College of Art · University of Southern Maine · University of New Hampshire · University of New England

Not matched to a college page · 18

Wheaton · Mt. Holyoke · Hampshire · Wheelock · Goddard · Marlboro · Colby Sawyer · Bennington · Green Mountain · Unity · Evergreen State · Massachusetts College of Art · Lyndon State · Keene State · and 4 more below

Is my kid's college on this list?

— Stanford University — New York University — University of Southern California — University of California, Los Angeles — University of California, Berkeley — University of Michigan — Cornell University — Boston University — Northeastern University — University of Texas at Austin — Georgetown University — Duke University

The school down the road: Thornton Academy

CollegeThe New SchoolThornton Academy
Boston College—✓ named
Boston University—✓ named
Brown University—✓ named
Carnegie Mellon University—✓ named
Columbia University—✓ named
Cornell University—✓ named
Dartmouth College—✓ named
Duke University—✓ named
Emory University—✓ named
Georgia Institute of Technology—✓ named
Harvard University—✓ named
Johns Hopkins University—✓ named

Both schools print names, not counts, so this shows which selective colleges each list names.

As the document prints them

Wheaton Sarah Lawrence Mt. Holyoke Hampshire Wheelock Goddard Marlboro Colby Sawyer Bennington Green Mountain College of the Atlantic Unity Evergreen State Massachusetts College of Art Pratt Institute Berklee College of Music Maine Maritime Academy Lyndon State Hawaii Pacific University Keene State Maine College of Art & Design Montserrat College of Art New England School of Communication Southern Maine Community College University of Glasgow University of Southern Maine University of New Hampshire University of New England

These graduates were admitted to the colleges above.

Check your kid's odds at these colleges →

We'll load 10 from the list above — add your name, email and your child's numbers and we'll see where your child lands at each.

Independently verified As published by The New School — College Preparation — "Colleges TNS Students Have Attended" ↗. Found at: "College Preparation" page, paragraph beginning "Our students have been accepted at over fifty colleges including...".

Keep this page current

Work at The New School? If this page is missing your newest school profile, matriculation list, or college acceptances, send us the links. We read the document, copy the figures exactly as published, and cite it on this page.

Send us links

Links only, please. We can't take file uploads, and we never publish a number without the document it came from.

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

You've seen The New School. What are your child's real college odds? Check any college in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + the real cost range for every college on their list. Check odds →

How The New School compares for families

What families should know about The New School.

  • ▸ LocallyME sits right at the US average on NAEP 8th-grade math — local school quality will set your kid apart.
  • ▸ vs Similar SchoolsThe closest comparables nearby: Thornton Academy, The School At Sweetser, Berwick Academy and 5 more. See the sidebar to compare side-by-side.

For Parents

Get alerts when The New School's numbers change

New admissions results, enrollment shifts, test scores — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

Your state's public flagship

University of Maine

96%
admit rate
$13,326
in-state tuition/yr · $36,756 out-of-state

The in-state tuition gap is the flagship's biggest draw — most in-state families pay far less than the out-of-state sticker. Average net price after aid runs about $17,510/yr. Admission odds depend on your student's GPA and test scores, not which high school they attend.

See the full University of Maine profile → Estimate your odds with your scores →

Source: IPEDS admissions, tuition & enrollment + College Scorecard net price. Flagship = the state's primary public research university.

Enrollment trend & projection

Why only 3 data points?

Private school enrollment comes from the NCES Private School Universe Survey (PSS), which is collected every other year — not annually like public-school data. The most recent published collection is 2021–22; NCES targeted spring 2026 for the 2023–24 release — we'll load it as soon as it's published.

Most similar nearby high schools

The schools most like this one — same type, blended on distance and size — and where their enrollment is heading. These are the schools families here weigh against each other.

SchoolTypeMilesHS enrollmentTrend
Thornton Academy
Saco
Private 10.1 1,520 -10.6%
The School At Sweetser
Saco
Private 10.9 41 —
Berwick Academy
South Berwick
Private 16.7 534 -6.8%
Morrison Center
Scarborough
Private 18.5 30 —
Nfi Buxton - Beacon House
Buxton
Private 20.3 8 —
Maplestone
Acton
Private 21.3 17 —
Aucocisco School
Cape Elizabeth
Private 22.2 23 —
Waynflete School
Portland
Private 22.9 548 +0.7%

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

The New School is a private high school in Kennebunk, ME, enrolling 20 students in grades 9-12 in 2022.

The New School publishes a college acceptances list for the not stated: 28 colleges. Source: College Preparation — "Colleges TNS Students Have Attended".

Sources: National Center for Education Statistics (enrollment), the federal Civil Rights Data Collection and EDFacts, state education agencies where named, and the school's own published documents where named.

Questions families ask

Where do The New School graduates go to college? The New School publishes a college acceptances list for the not stated: 28 colleges. Source: College Preparation — "Colleges TNS Students Have Attended".

How many students attend The New School? The New School is a private high school in Kennebunk, ME, enrolling 20 students in grades 9-12 in 2022.

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

What does AI tell parents about The New School?

When a parent asks an AI assistant about The New School, the answer is built from a handful of sources, and Reach is often one of them. We will send the admissions office a short report on what AI says about The New School and where it comes from. The first report is free.

Request the free report

By sending this you agree that we may email you about your request. We write by email only, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

For Parents

Researching colleges for your kid at The New School?

Check any college's odds in 10 seconds — no email needed — then get the free Family Decision Report: Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely with real admit odds and your real net price, for every college on their list.

Check your child's odds →
What are your child's odds? →

What families ask next