A parent's read

  • Top feeder high schools: Boston Latin School (32), Syosset Senior High School (11), Punahou School (8.2), Jericho Senior High School (8), Phillips Academy (Andover) (8). Graduates per class year, from each high school's own published list. 238 high schools' lists name Boston University; every one is ranked below.
  • The major moves the money more than the admit letter. Computer Science grads from here earn about $136,667 four years out; drama grads about $39,322 — a 3.5× spread on the same diploma. Have the major conversation before you deposit, not after.
  • There is merit money here, but you compete for it. Every named award at this college is competitive — the published GPA and score figures describe who tends to win them, not a bar that guarantees anything. Worth applying for; not worth counting on when you budget.
  • Almost everyone who starts here finishes. 89% graduate within six years — the standard federal measure. Nationally about a third of students who start a bachelor's never finish one, and an unfinished degree is the most expensive outcome in this decision: the debt stays, the credential doesn't.
  • Your price depends enormously on whether you qualify for aid — and this college says exactly how. It publishes tuition-free aid for families earning under $200,000. Families who receive aid average about $24,402/yr here; without aid it's the full ~$86,285/yr. The college's own net-price calculator turns all of this into your family's own estimate.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Get your child's odds at Boston University Free Family Decision Report — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + your real net price. Boston University starts already on the list. Start →

Feeder high schools

Which high schools send graduates to Boston University?

The high schools sending the most graduates per class year to Boston University, from each school's own published list: Boston Latin School (32), Syosset Senior High School (11), Punahou School (8.2), Jericho Senior High School (8), Phillips Academy (Andover) (8). 238 high schools' lists name Boston University.

Enrolled — from the schools' matriculation lists

The ten largest, per class year Enrolled per class year
1 Boston Latin SchoolBoston, MA 32.0
2 Syosset Senior High SchoolSyosset, NY 11.0
3 Punahou SchoolHonolulu, HI 8.2
4 Jericho Senior High SchoolJericho, NY 8.0
5 Phillips Academy (Andover)Andover, MA 8.0
6 Boston University AcademyBoston, MA 7.3
7 Henry M. Gunn High SchoolPalo Alto, CA 7.0
8 Millburn High SchoolMillburn, NJ 7.0
9 Palo Alto Senior High SchoolPalo Alto, CA 7.0
10 Santa Margarita Catholic High SchoolRancho Santa Margarita, CA 7.0
All 238 schools, with the class years each list covers
Boston Latin School · Class of 2021 As published 32.0 · 32 over 1 class year
Syosset Senior High School · Class of 2025 11.0 · 11 over 1 class year
Punahou School · over the last four years: 2026, 2025, 2024, and 2023 As published 8.2 · 33 over 4 class years
Jericho Senior High School · Class of 2026 8.0 · 8 over 1 class year
Phillips Academy (Andover) · Class of 2024 8.0 · 8 over 1 class year
Boston University Academy · CLASSES 2016-2021 As published 7.3 · 44 over 6 class years
Henry M. Gunn High School · 2026 As published 7.0 · 7 over 1 class year
Millburn High School · Class of 2025 · counted column: CLASS OF 2025 ENROLLMENT 7.0 · 7 over 1 class year
Palo Alto Senior High School · 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026 · counted column: 2026 7.0 · 7 over 1 class year
Santa Margarita Catholic High School · Class of 2025 7.0 · 7 over 1 class year
Avenues the World School · CLASSES OF 2023–2026 · counted column: CLASS OF 2026 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
Harvard-Westlake School · BY THE CLASSES OF 2021-2025 · counted column: CLASS OF '25 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
Hopkins School · Class of 2026 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
Ridgewood High School · Class of 2023 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
The Webb Schools · Class of 2026 As published 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
Bergen County Academies · 2019-2022 · counted column: COLLEGE ENROLLMENTS 2019-2022 5.8 · 23 over 4 class years
Great Neck North High School · Classes of 2021–2025 5.6 · 28 over 5 class years
Choate Rosemary Hall · IN THE PAST FIVE YEARS, (CLASS OF 2022-2026) As published 5.0 · 25 over 5 class years
Northfield Mount Hermon · the past four years 5.0 · 20 over 4 class years
Berkeley Preparatory School · Class of 2026 5.0 · 5 over 1 class year
Greenwich High School · Class of 2026 5.0 · 5 over 1 class year
Marlborough School · Class of 2026 As published 5.0 · 5 over 1 class year
Orange County School of the Arts · Class of 2026 5.0 · 5 over 1 class year
Lynbrook High School · 2022-2025 As published 4.0 · 16 over 4 class years
Mira Costa High School · Class of 2026 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Princeton Day School · Class of 2026 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Princeton High School · Class of 2025 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
The Pennington School · Class of 2026 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Viewpoint School · Class of 2026 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Weston High · Class of 2025 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Palmer Trinity School · Classes of 2023–2026 As published 3.8 · 15 over 4 class years
Milton Academy · 2024-2026 3.7 · 11 over 3 class years
Sage Hill School · 2023-2025 3.7 · 11 over 3 class years
Beaver Country Day School · Five Year Summary 2022-2026 3.4 · 17 over 5 class years
Mountain View High School · CLASS of 2020, 2021, 2022 3.3 · 10 over 3 class years
Athenian School · In the past four years, (2023-2026) As published 3.0 · 12 over 4 class years
Kent School · College Matriculations 2023-2025 3.0 · 9 over 3 class years
Bishop Feehan · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Blair Academy · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Dana Hall School · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Dublin High School · Class of 2023 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Pomfret School · Class of 2022 As published 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Rye Country Day School · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Tabor Academy · Class of 2025 Matriculation 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
The Columbus Academy · Class of 2026 As published 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
The Masters School · Class of 2024 As published 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Wellesley Sr High · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Westwood High School · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Pine Crest School · 2022-26 2.8 · 14 over 5 class years
Thayer Academy · 2020-23 2.8 · 11 over 4 class years
Wheeler School · College Matriculation for the Classes of 2022-25 2.8 · 11 over 4 class years
Hathaway Brown School · 2022 - 2026 2.6 · 13 over 5 class years
Menlo School · Classes of 2023-2025 As published 2.3 · 7 over 3 class years
The Westminster Schools · Classes 2021-2025 2.2 · 11 over 5 class years
Lake Forest Academy · 2021 - 2024 As published 2.2 · 9 over 4 class years
The Derryfield School · 2022-2025 2.2 · 9 over 4 class years
The Hotchkiss School · Classes of 2023, 2024, 2025, and 2026 2.2 · 9 over 4 class years
Edina Senior High · CLASSES OF 2021-2025 · counted column: POST-SECONDARY PLANS, Classes of 2021-2025 (number of graduates) 2.0 · 10 over 5 class years
Oregon Episcopal School · Classes of 2022-26 2.0 · 10 over 5 class years
Pingree School · 2021–2025 2.0 · 10 over 5 class years
Ransom Everglades School · Classes of 2020-24 As published 2.0 · 10 over 5 class years
The Stony Brook School · Classes of 2021-2025 2.0 · 10 over 5 class years
Bentley School · College Matriculations 2022–2025 2.0 · 8 over 4 class years
Greenhill School · 2022 - 2025 2.0 · 8 over 4 class years
Holton-Arms School · College Matriculations 2017-2020 2.0 · 8 over 4 class years
St. John's School · Classes of 2018–2022 · counted column: Total number of St. John’s School students from the classes of 2020–2023 that enrolled at each institution 2.0 · 8 over 4 class years
Portsmouth Abbey School · 2024–2026 2.0 · 6 over 3 class years
The Harker School · Classes of 2023, 2024 & 2025 2.0 · 6 over 3 class years
The Hockaday School · 2024 – 2026 2.0 · 6 over 3 class years
Archer School for Girls · Class of '25 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Berkshire School · Class of 2021 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Bullis School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Isidore Newman School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
King School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Middlesex School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Paideia School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Peddie School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Regis High School · 2022-2025 · counted column: Class of 2025 (number of students who matriculated from the Class of 2025) 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
School of the Holy Child · Class of 2024 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Stevenson School · Class of 2025 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Suffield Academy · Class of 2025 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Bryn Mawr School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Haverford School · 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The International School of San Francisco · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Madeira School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Western Reserve Academy · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Woodside Priory School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Cambridge School of Weston · Classes of 2022-2026 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
The Lawrenceville School · the last five years 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
The Taft School · past five years (2020-2024) 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
Westtown School · 2022-2026 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
Saddle River Day School · 2021-2026 1.7 · 10 over 6 class years
Crossroads School · classes of 2023-25 As published 1.7 · 5 over 3 class years
Westridge School · 2021-2023 1.7 · 5 over 3 class years
Friends Central School · 2019-2023 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Friends Seminary · The Classes of 2022–2026 As published 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Greens Farms Academy · Class of 2022-2026 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
The Benjamin Private School, Inc. · Classes of 2022-2026 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
The Blake School · Classes 2021-2025 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
The John Cooper School · Class of 2022 - 2026 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
University Prep · 2022–2026 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Urban School of San Francisco · 2022-2026 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Wilbraham & Monson Academy · 2022-2026 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Lick Wilmerding High School · past four years 1.5 · 6 over 4 class years
The Pingry School · 2022-2025 1.5 · 6 over 4 class years
St. Paul's School (NH) · College Matriculation for the Forms of 2025 and 2026 (combined two-year TOTAL column) 1.5 · 3 over 2 class years
Germantown Academy · Classes of 2022-2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Greenwich Academy · 2022-2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
John Burroughs School · 2021-2025 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Loyola High School · 2020-24 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Moravian Academy · the last five years 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Packer Collegiate Institute · 2021 - 2025 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
St. Stephen's Episcopal School (Austin) · Classes of 2021-2025 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
The Rivers School · 2022-2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Waynflete School · Five-Year Matriculation (2021–2025) 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Marin Academy · CLASSES OF 2023–2025 1.3 · 4 over 3 class years
Gould Academy · Matches made by Gould students from 2020 to 2025 1.2 · 7 over 6 class years
Albany Academies · 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Berwick Academy · past five graduating classes (2022 – 2026) As published 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Concord Academy · 2021 to 2025 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Noble and Greenough School · 2021–2025 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Polytechnic School · Class of 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Portledge School · Classes of 2022–2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
San Francisco University High School · 2021-2025 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Springside Chestnut Hill Academy · 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
The Agnes Irwin School · Classes of 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
The Chapin School · 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
The Head-Royce School · (2021–25) 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Newark Academy · 2023-2026 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
Dalton School · 2019-2024 1.0 · 6 over 6 class years
Vermont Academy · Matriculation List (2021-2026) 1.0 · 6 over 6 class years
Charles Wright Academy · Class of 2021-2025 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
College Preparatory School · the last five years 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Ethical Culture Fieldston School · Classes of 2022–2026 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Marymount School of New York · 2020-2024 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Moorestown Friends School · Classes of 2021-2025 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
St. George's School · Classes of 2022-2026 As published 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Trinity Hall · Classes of 2022-2026 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
William Penn Charter School · 2022-2026 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
BASIS Independent Brooklyn · 2022−2025 As published 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Catlin Gabel School · last four years 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Francis Parker School · 2022-2025 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Lycee Francais de New York · Class of 2022-2025 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
The Potomac School · past four years 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
University School of Nashville · 2022-2025 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Winsor School · 2022–2025 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Germantown Friends School · 2023-25 1.0 · 3 over 3 class years
La Jolla Country Day School · 2023-2025 1.0 · 3 over 3 class years
Shattuck-St. Marys School · Classes of 2024 and 2025 1.0 · 2 over 2 class years
Brentwood School · Class of 2024 As published 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Brunswick School · Class of 2026 Matriculation; Composite Matriculation List of 2022-2026 · counted column: Class of 2026 Matriculation 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Chadwick School · Class of 2025 As published 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Dwight-Englewood School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Ethel Walker School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Falmouth Academy · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Millbrook School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Notre Dame School of Manhattan · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Oak Knoll School of the Holy Child · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Pace Academy · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Rowland Hall · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Saint Augustine High School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Saint Joseph-Notre Dame High School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
St George'S School · 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
St. Luke's School (New Canaan) · Class of 2026 / Classes 2021-2025 · counted column: Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
St. Margaret's Episcopal School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
St. Paul Academy and Summit School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Greenwich Country Day School · 2021-2025 · counted column: Class of 2025 Matriculation 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Tower Hill School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Kamehameha Schools Kapalama Campus · the last seven years, 2017-2023 0.9 · 6 over 7 class years
Key School · 2021 - 2026 0.8 · 5 over 6 class years
Cate School · 2022-2026 As published 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Friends Select School · Classes of 2020-2024 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Phoenix Country Day School · Classes of 2021-25 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Severn School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
The Linsly School · 2020-24 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
The Northwest School · classes of 2021-2025 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Colorado Academy · Classes 2022-2025 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Emma Willard School · Classes of 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Trinity Valley School · 2020 to 2023 As published 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Branson School · Branson Classes of 2024-2026 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
St Ignatius High School · CLASSES OF 2024-2025-2026 As published 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
Archmere Academy · 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Convent of the Sacred Heart · 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Durham Academy · 2021–2025 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Episcopal High School · Classes of 2022 through 2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Gilman School · classes of 2020-2024 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Norfolk Academy · 2021 - 2025 As published 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Sage Ridge School · 2021 - 2025 As published 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Santa Catalina School · Classes of 2021-2025 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
St Andrew'S Episcopal School · CLASSES OF 2021-2025 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Berkeley Carroll School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Browning School · Classes of 2022-26 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Kew-Forest School · 2020-2024 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Meadows School · Over the past five years (2020 to 2024) As published 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Leigh High School · 2017–2026 As published 0.5 · 5 over 10 class years
The Bush School · 2020-2025 0.5 · 3 over 6 class years
The Roxbury Latin School · 2021-2026 0.5 · 3 over 6 class years
Albuquerque Academy · The classes of 2023-26 have matriculated at the following colleges and universities As published 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Loyola School · 2023-2026 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Notre Dame High School · 2022 - 2025 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Asheville School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Eastside Preparatory School · 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Ellis School · 2019–2023 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Laurel School · 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Poly Prep Country Day School · Classes of 2022-2026 · counted column: Classes of 2022-2026 (five-year matriculation total) As published 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
St. John's School · Over the past five (2022-2026) graduating classes 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Stuart Country Day School of the Sacred Heart · the past five years 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Barstow School · 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Wakefield School · 2022 - 2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Keystone School · 2020-2025 0.3 · 2 over 6 class years
York School · Classes of 2021-2026 0.3 · 2 over 6 class years
The Putney School · (2023-2025) 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
Belmont Hill School · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Canterbury School · 2019-2024 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
Dublin School · 2023-2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart (Houston) · 2021 - 2024 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Dunn School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Episcopal School of Jacksonville · Classes of 2023-2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Foxcroft School · CLASSES OF 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Francis W. Parker School · Classes of 2022-2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Harrisburg Academy · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Hawaii Preparatory Academy · The classes of 2017 to 2020 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Lakeside School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Landon School · College Admittance 2023-2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Malvern Preparatory School · Classes of 2022-2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Maret School · classes of 2022–2026 As published 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Nightingale-Bamford School · 2022–2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
North Shore Country Day School · 2023-2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Santa Fe Preparatory School · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
St. Sebastian's School · past five years 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Seven Hills School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Mt Vernon Presbyterian School · 2014-2025 0.1 · 1 over 12 class years
York Country Day School · The Classes of 2015-2024 0.1 · 1 over 10 class years
Ysc Academy · 2015-2025 0.1 · 1 over 11 class years

Published, but not ranked — these schools name Boston University on a list of where their graduates enrolled whose class years we cannot read ("Since 2023", or no class year printed), so their totals are shown rather than divided: Pierrepont School (3, not stated); The Lovett School (2, List as of 5/1/2026 (no class year printed on the list itself; page 2 header reads "College Acceptance and Matriculation" and links this file as the "Class of 2026 matriculation list")); Yorba Linda High School (2, not stated); Garrison Forest School (1, Three-Year Survey).

How this is counted

238 high schools publish a numbered matriculation list — where their graduates actually enrolled, counted, in the school's own School Profile — and name Boston University on it. Between them they printed 1250 enrolled graduates. Ranked by graduates per class year enrolling at Boston University, from each school's own published list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, so a one-year list and a five-year list can sit on the same page. A list whose class years we cannot read is not divided by a guess — it is listed below with its total instead.

Is my high school on this list?

Admitted — from the schools' acceptance lists

The ten largest, per class year Admitted per class year
2 Archbishop Mitty High SchoolSan Jose, CA 32.0
3 Mira Costa High SchoolManhattan Beach, CA 15.0
4 Chaminade College PreparatoryWest Hills, CA 13.0
5 Millburn High SchoolMillburn, NJ 13.0
6 Middlesex SchoolConcord, MA 8.0
7 The Baldwin SchoolBryn Mawr, PA 7.0
8 Quarry Lane SchoolDublin, CA 6.0
10 Wheatley SchoolOld Westbury, NY 5.5
All 27 schools, with the class years each list covers
Bronx High School of Science (The) · 2025 56.0 · 56 over 1 class year
Archbishop Mitty High School · Class of 2026 As published 32.0 · 32 over 1 class year
Mira Costa High School · 2022-2026 College Admission Data · counted column: The first column represents the number of students admitted from the Class of 2026 15.0 · 15 over 1 class year
Chaminade College Preparatory · Class of 2026 13.0 · 13 over 1 class year
Millburn High School · Class of 2025 · counted column: ACC=Accepted 13.0 · 13 over 1 class year
Middlesex School · Class of 2026 · counted column: accepted 8.0 · 8 over 1 class year
The Baldwin School · Class of 2026 As published 7.0 · 7 over 1 class year
Quarry Lane School · past 5 years · counted column: # of Acceptances (past 5 years) 6.0 · 30 over 5 class years
St Andrews School of Boca Raton Inc · Class of 2026 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
Wheatley School · 2025-2026 College Admissions Cycle 5.5 · 11 over 2 class years
Canterbury School-Fort Myers · Class of 2026 5.0 · 5 over 1 class year
The Chapin School · 2022-2026 · counted column: Admitted 4.8 · 24 over 5 class years
California School of the Arts — San Gabriel Valley · Class of 2026 · counted column: Acceptances (Class of 2026) 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
The TASIS School in Dorado · Class of 2026 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Sage Hill School · 2023-2025 3.7 · 11 over 3 class years
Jack M Barrack Hebrew Academy · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
LASA High School · Class of 2025 · counted column: Accept 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Pacifica Christian High School · The Class of 2026 · counted column: acceptances As published 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Key School · 2021 - 2026 · counted column: Acceptances 1.7 · 10 over 6 class years
The Altamont School · Classes of 2021-2025 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Wilmington Friends School · 2023 & 2024 1.5 · 3 over 2 class years
Laguna Blanca School · Classes of 2022-2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
South Hills Academy · Classes of 2023–2026 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
St Anselm'S Abbey School · 2022-2026 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Mt Vernon Presbyterian School · 2014-2025 · counted column: Number of Acceptances 0.7 · 8 over 12 class years
Lycée Français de San Francisco · Classes 2022, 2023, 2024 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
Ranney School · Class of 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019 and 2018 As published 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
How this is counted

27 high schools publish a numbered list of college acceptances — where their graduates were admitted, not where they enrolled — and name Boston University on it. Between them they printed 297 admissions. Ranked by admissions per class year to Boston University, from each school's own published acceptances list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. Admits are counted at each college a student was admitted to, the same way the UC Reach Score counts a student admitted to three UC campuses three times — so this is a count of admissions, not of students. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, and a list whose class years we cannot read is listed below with its total rather than divided by a guess.

All 258 feeder schools, ranked →

Counted from each school's own published document, linked on that school's page. A high school that is not here does not publish a numbered list we could read — that is all absence means, and it says nothing about its graduates. Where a school publishes both, the two lists are shown separately: an acceptances list is not a list of enrollments, and the two are never added together.

Odds at Boston University

Put in your child's GPA and score — we'll show where they land here. Free, and nothing to sign up for.

Most families report the weighted one — it's the higher number, with honors and AP credit in it.

—

This reads the numbers — admit rate, scores, GPA. The real decision also weighs essays, recommendations, activities, and course rigor.

Get their full list — free Family Decision Report →

The free report adds every college on your list — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds, your real net price, and merit-scholarship eligibility. About a minute.

Live odds from each college's own published admissions data.

Parent/student verdict

Highly selective

Highly selective reach for nearly every applicant.

Best for

  • Strong academic profiles — students here cluster in the top test and GPA tiers (bands above)
  • Strong test/GPA students chasing merit aid — Trustee Scholarship or Presidential Scholarship on offer (see merit-scholarship tab below)
  • Research-oriented students (R1 — top tier of federal research funding)

The reality

  • You'd be near the bottom of their admitted class if: SAT below 1400, or ACT below 32, or unweighted GPA below 3.70 (test bands are the school's own; the 3.70 line is our estimate, not a published figure)
  • With selective universities, build a balanced college list of Reaches, Targets, and Safeties ⓘ
  • Big sticker, but don't rule it out on price — this school publishes tuition-free aid for families earning under $200,000. Without aid the full price is ~$86,285/yr; aid-receiving families average ~$24,402/yr — run the school's own net price calculator for your real number

Verdict is composed from this college's structured data (admit rate, SAT bands, net price with aid and at full price, Carnegie classification, scholarship grids) using transparent rule thresholds — not a chat-bot's opinion.

What are your child's odds here?

Enter their numbers once — this and every college page shows their verdict, and the UC campus cards on California school pages light up with it too. Free, no email.

Weighted is the higher GPA, with honors/AP credit in it — pick whichever your school reports. PSAT scores work in the SAT box.

Institutional snapshot

What kind of college is this?

Carnegie classification
R1: Doctoral - Very High Research Activity
Undergraduates
18,248
20,000 and above including graduate students
TuitionThe published full price before any aid. Families who don't qualify for need-based aid at a given college pay this, minus any merit scholarships — whether you qualify depends on the college's price and policies, not on any fixed income line.
$68,102
flat rate (no in/out-of-state split) · 2023–24 federal figure
Admit rateThe share of applicants a college accepts. Useful context, but your student's odds depend on their own grades and scores, not the average.
10.8%
Highly selective
SAT middle 50%The middle half of the enrolled first-years who sent this test scored in this range — a quarter of them scored BELOW the low end and still got in, and a quarter scored above the high end. At a test-optional college the students who submitted are often a minority of the class, so the range describes them rather than everyone who enrolled. Above the top number is a genuine strength; below the bottom isn't automatic rejection.
1400–1520
EBRW + Math composite
ACT middle 50%The middle half of the enrolled first-years who sent this test scored in this range — a quarter of them scored BELOW the low end and still got in, and a quarter scored above the high end. At a test-optional college the students who submitted are often a minority of the class, so the range describes them rather than everyone who enrolled. Above the top number is a genuine strength; below the bottom isn't automatic rejection.
32–34
composite
Test policyApplicants choose whether to send SAT/ACT scores. At many such colleges, students who submit strong scores are still admitted at higher rates.
Test-optional
2023
10-yr earningsMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$83,238
median, after entry

28% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score, 10% an ACT — these ranges describe students who submitted, not the whole class.

Source: federal IPEDS Admissions 2023 for scores + admit rate; federal College Scorecard (20260606 vintage) for earnings + outcomes. SAT/ACT bands are the 25th–75th percentile of enrolled submitters.

High-school GPA

3.90 avg unweightedGPA on the plain 4.0 scale, no honors/AP bonus. When a college publishes an "average admitted GPA of 3.9," it's often this scale — don't compare it to a weighted 4.3. GPA, enrolled first-years

Enrolled first-years by GPA band: 4.00 41% · 3.75-3.99 37% · 3.50-3.74 22%

unweighted 4.0 scale. Boston University Common Data Set 2024-2025, Section C (C11 GPA distribution, C12 average HS GPA), Analytical Services & Institutional Research ↗

As published by the college in its Common Data Set / admissions data (2024-25) (source linked above). GPA basis (weighted vs. unweighted vs. 4.0-scale) varies by college and is labeled above.

Outcomes & cost

What graduates actually earn, finish, and owe.

Federal College Scorecard data. Earnings are median annual income measured years after entering. Debt is for federal-aid borrowers only (cash-pay students aren't counted).

Earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$65,655
Earnings, 10 yrs after entryMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$83,238
Graduate within 6 yrsThe share of students who start here and finish a bachelor's within six years — the standard federal measure, and the one College Scorecard publishes. It is not a four-year rate. Read it as the odds of finishing at all: nationally about a third of students who start never do, and an unfinished degree is the most expensive outcome in this decision.
89%
Median debt (completers)The federal-loan balance of the typical graduating borrower. Families who pay cash aren't counted, so read it as "among those who borrowed."
$23,250

The real cost

What Boston University actually costs

If you qualify for need aidGrant money based on your family's finances (via FAFSA and the college's own forms), not your student's stats.
$24,402/yr
average among aid-receiving families, all incomes — your number depends on your finances
If you don't
$86,285/yr
the full published price

Which side your family lands on isn't set by any national income line — it's set by Boston University's own aid decision: the gap between its price and your family's finances.

Boston University's own published aid policy · 2026-27

Everything free under $75,000 income Tuition-free under $200,000 No loans in aid packages Meets 100% of demonstrated needThe gap between a college's full cost and what its formula says your family can afford to pay. "Meets 100% of need" means grants and work-study cover that entire gap — as the college calculates it, which may differ from what feels affordable to you.

Under the BU Promise, admitted domestic first-year, first-time students from families earning less than $200,000 annually, with typical assets, can expect financial aid to cover full tuition—roughly two-thirds of BU's total cost of attendance—plus a portion of housing and dining costs, with a parent contribution capped at $20,000 per year. Families with household incomes of $75,000 or less, with typical assets, can expect to pay nothing … While families may still choose to borrow as part of their own financial planning, BU Promise no longer includes loans as part of meeting demonstrated financial need. … BU Promise builds on the University's longstanding commitment to meeting 100 percent of demonstrated financial need while making financial aid easier to understand and more predictable.

Income thresholds assume typical assets — and this college uses the CSS Profile, which can count home equity and business value the federal form ignores. Policy independently verified against the college's financial-aid pages ↗.

Get your family's number — Boston University's Net Price Calculator ↗ 10–15 minutes; have a tax return handy. It's still an estimate — but it's this college's own, built from your family's numbers, not anyone's average.
Start your Family Decision Report →

Your odds + estimated cost across your whole college list, side by side.

The payoffTen years of typical graduate pay minus four years of cost — how many dollars ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten. Check both the full-price and with-aid versions to see which applies to you; median pay reflects who a college admits and what they study as much as the college itself., both ways

+$487K ahead at full price +$735K with aid
Full price, no aidThe all-in yearly price — tuition, housing, food, books, fees — before any aid. This is the real "full price," not just the tuition line. (4 yrs)
$345,140
~$86,285/yr all-in
Aid recipients pay (4 yrs)
$97,608
$24,402/yr average
10-yr earnings total
$832,380
$83,238/yr median, 10 yrs out
Years to recoup the cost
4.1 yrs
at full price (1.2 with aid), at the median earnings rate

Source: College Scorecard (average net price among Title IV first-time, full-time undergraduates who received aid) and each college's published cost of attendance. We don't show the federal net-price-by-income brackets: their categories were fixed in 2008 and never adjusted, and none of the averages is your family's own number — the full story. Payoff = (10-yr median earnings × 10) − (4 years of cost), in dollars — how far ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten; medians travel with the students a college admits and the majors they choose as much as with the college itself. Full price is the published cost of attendance; earnings are 10 years after enrollment, all majors combined.

What students study here

Most popular majors at Boston University

Top 5 fields of study by bachelor's degrees awarded (most recent IPEDS Completions). Use this to see what Boston University actually graduates — not just what it markets.

1. Business, Management, & Marketing
745 degrees · 25.0%
Broad set of corporate roles. Finance + consulting pay top, accounting + HR pay middle, sales spread is wide.
2. Social Sciences
681 degrees · 22.9%
Economics + poli sci sub-disciplines pay much more than sociology + anthropology.
3. Communication, Journalism, & Related
626 degrees · 21.0%
Media, PR, marketing communications. Salary spread is wide.
4. Biological & Biomedical Sciences
535 degrees · 18.0%
Many bio majors → med school / grad school. Direct-employment bio roles are lower-paid than that pipeline.
5. Engineering
390 degrees · 13.1%
Engineering majors land high-paying technical roles. Top-earning sub-disciplines: petroleum, chemical, computer engineering.

What those majors earn here

Median earnings 4 years after entry, by major — Boston University's own graduates, not national averages.

Major (CIP) Credential Cohort 1-yr earnings 4-yr earnings
Computer Science. Bachelor's Degree 294 $90,050 $136,667
Computer Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 122 $93,995 $135,394
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other. Bachelor's Degree 60 $54,456 $110,622
Business Administration, Management and Operations. Bachelor's Degree 678 $71,545 $108,412
Biomedical/Medical Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 126 $69,209 $99,024
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 50 $80,528 $98,953
Economics. Bachelor's Degree 305 $55,733 $96,723
Mechanical Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 149 $76,337 $95,757
Mathematics. Bachelor's Degree 135 $64,604 $84,784
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other. Bachelor's Degree 41 — $83,413

Sources: IPEDS Completions (C2023_a; bachelor's-level first majors, 2-digit CIP family — share is of the top 5 only) · College Scorecard program-level outcomes (PP-FOS). Full college-vs-major comparison: /college-outcomes →

Merit aidScholarship money awarded for grades or test scores, not financial need — at many colleges it's automatic at certain GPA/score levels.

What your test score unlocks at Boston University

Score-or-merit-based scholarships published by the institution. Stackable in most cases — confirm with the financial aid office.

Award Annual award Score gate GPA gate Renewable
Trustee Scholarship
Trustee · any
$67,000/yr
as published, checked 2026-06-06 · source ↗
1500+ SAT — Yes
Presidential Scholarship
Presidential · any
$25,000/yr
as published, checked 2026-06-06 · source ↗
1400+ SAT — Yes

See all merit scholarships across colleges + 13 national awards on /merit-scholarships →

See which merit tiers your child already clears — free Family Decision Report Start →

Student body & economic mobility

Who attends here — and what the campus adds.

Opportunity Insights data. It measures two things at once: how many lower-income students a college enrols, and how many of them reach the top earnings quintile later. A high rate says the college does both — it does not establish that the campus caused the earnings, because the students it admits differ from the students it doesn't. Read it as a signal about access and destination, not as proof of value added.

Top-1% access
7.6%
from top-1% households
Mobility rateThe share of ALL students who arrived from the bottom 20% of family incomes AND reached the top 20% themselves by their early 30s — access and lift in one number, and a sign the campus itself adds earnings power.
2.0%
bottom 20% → top 20% by age 32
Upward rate
50.4%
of lower-income students who reach the top 20%
Pell recipientsStudents receiving federal Pell grants, which go to lower- and middle-income families — the standard shorthand for a college's economic mix.
19%
on federal need grants — context for these numbers

Full leaderboards: /college-mobility →

AI program signal

AI + computing education at Boston University

AI degrees (annual)
22
CIP 11.0102
CS degrees (annual)
532
CIP 11.0701 + 11.0101

Full multi-lens comparison: /ai-colleges →

Alternatives to Boston University

Matched not just by selectivity, but by strategic goal — what a family actually decides on.

Better merit-aid options
These similar-selectivity schools publish merit scholarships your family can plan around — your kid’s stats could unlock real scholarship dollars.
University of Alabama in Huntsville
AL · Public
39 stats-based merit scholarships
The University of Alabama
AL · Public
21 stats-based + 2 competitive scholarships
University of Alabama at Birmingham
AL · Public
17 stats-based + 2 competitive scholarships
Lower full price
Similar selectivity, but a meaningfully lower full sticker price — the comparison that matters most for families who won't qualify for much need-based aid.
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public
$13,905/yr full price (in-state) · $72,380 less before aid for NY residents
CUNY Brooklyn College
NY · Public
$14,151/yr full price (in-state) · $72,134 less before aid for NY residents
CUNY Bernard M Baruch College
NY · Public
$14,170/yr full price (in-state) · $72,115 less before aid for NY residents
Safer in-state options
Same state and similar selectivity, but with a more forgiving admit rate — useful safety / match anchors.
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public
58% admit rate (vs 11% here)
University of Massachusetts-Lowell
MA · Public
85% admit rate (vs 11% here)
More students move up here
Per Opportunity Insights, a larger share of these campuses' lower-income students reach the top earnings quintile than at Boston University. That reflects who they admit as well as what they do, so read it as a destination signal rather than proof of value added.
CUNY Bernard M Baruch College
NY · Public
12.9% mobility rate (vs 2.0% here)
CUNY City College
NY · Public
11.7% mobility rate (vs 2.0% here)
Stony Brook University
NY · Public
8.4% mobility rate (vs 2.0% here)

Or compare any college side-by-side

Deciding on Boston University?

Get the full picture in one free report — your child's Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds and your real net price, for Boston University and every other college on your list.

Get your child's odds at Boston University →

Score-odds calculator · Improve the score first

Read next on Test Prep Gurus

What SAT or ACT score do you need for Boston University?

BU is test optional for first-year applicants through fall 2028. Enrolled first-years who submitted scored 1400-1520 SAT and 32-34 ACT (IPEDS 2023). When to send a score.

For Parents

Get alerts when Boston University's numbers change

New admit rates, costs, and outcomes — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Boston University is a private nonprofit four-year college in MA. It admitted 11% of applicants (80,495 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-optional.

Middle 50% of enrolled first-years who submitted that test: SAT 1400–1520, ACT 32–34. 28% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score, 10% an ACT — these ranges describe students who submitted, not the whole class. Average enrolled GPA 3.9 (unweighted, 2024-25, as published by the college).

Cost: about $24,402 a year on average with aid, $86,285 a year at full price.

Median earnings ten years after entry: $83,238 a year. Payoff, meaning ten years of that pay minus four years of cost: $734,772 ahead with aid, $487,240 ahead at full price.

Highest median earnings four years after the degree, by program: Computer Science ($136,667); Computer Engineering ($135,394); Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other ($110,622).

Economic mobility (Opportunity Insights): 4% of students came from families in the bottom fifth of income, and 50% of those reached the top fifth as adults.

Aid pledge published by the college for 2026-27: families earning under $75,000 pay nothing; families earning under $200,000 pay no tuition; aid packages carry no loans; the college meets full demonstrated need.

High schools that publish a numbered matriculation list and name Boston University: 238, 1250 enrolled students between them — ranked by graduates per class year, most often Boston Latin School (32.0 per class year, 32 over 1 class year, Class of 2021); Syosset Senior High School (11.0 per class year, 11 over 1 class year, Class of 2025); Punahou School (8.2 per class year, 33 over 4 class years, over the last four years: 2026, 2025, 2024, and 2023). Each figure is the number that school printed divided by the class years its own list covers; the totals and years are shown. These are the schools that publish such a list, not every school that sends students; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/boston-university.

High schools that publish a numbered list of college acceptances naming Boston University: 27, 297 admissions between them — ranked by admissions per class year, most often Bronx High School of Science (The) (56.0 per class year, 56 over 1 class year, 2025); Archbishop Mitty High School (32.0 per class year, 32 over 1 class year, Class of 2026); Mira Costa High School (15.0 per class year, 15 over 1 class year, 2022-2026 College Admission Data, counted column "The first column represents the number of students admitted from the Class of 2026"). Admits are counted at each college, so this counts admissions, not students. These are a different set of documents from the matriculation lists above and the two are never added together; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/boston-university.

Machine-readable version of this page: https://highschoolreach.com/colleges/boston-university.json

Questions families ask

What is Boston University's acceptance rate? Boston University is a private nonprofit four-year college in MA. It admitted 11% of applicants (80,495 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-optional.

Does Boston University require the SAT or ACT? Boston University is a private nonprofit four-year college in MA. It admitted 11% of applicants (80,495 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-optional.

What SAT or ACT scores do Boston University students have? Middle 50% of enrolled first-years who submitted that test: SAT 1400–1520, ACT 32–34. 28% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score, 10% an ACT — these ranges describe students who submitted, not the whole class. Average enrolled GPA 3.9 (unweighted, 2024-25, as published by the college).

How much does Boston University cost? Cost: about $24,402 a year on average with aid, $86,285 a year at full price.

What do Boston University graduates earn? Median earnings ten years after entry: $83,238 a year. Payoff, meaning ten years of that pay minus four years of cost: $734,772 ahead with aid, $487,240 ahead at full price.

Which majors at Boston University pay the most? Highest median earnings four years after the degree, by program: Computer Science ($136,667); Computer Engineering ($135,394); Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other ($110,622).

Does Boston University offer free tuition or meet full need? Aid pledge published by the college for 2026-27: families earning under $75,000 pay nothing; families earning under $200,000 pay no tuition; aid packages carry no loans; the college meets full demonstrated need.

Which high schools send the most graduates to Boston University? The high schools sending the most graduates per class year to Boston University, from each school's own published list: Boston Latin School (32), Syosset Senior High School (11), Punahou School (8.2), Jericho Senior High School (8), Phillips Academy (Andover) (8). 238 high schools' lists name Boston University.

By major: AnthropologyArt (Studio)Art HistoryBiochemistryBiologyBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationChemistryClinical Laboratory ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComputer EngineeringComputer ScienceCriminal Justice and CriminologyDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)EconomicsElectrical EngineeringEnglishEnvironmental ScienceFilm and TelevisionHealth ScienceHistoryHospitality ManagementJournalism
+31 more programs
Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMathematicsMechanical EngineeringMusicNeuroscienceNutrition and DieteticsPhilosophyPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyReligious StudiesSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpecial EducationTheatreAmerican StudiesArt Teacher EducationChinese Language and LiteratureComparative LiteratureEngineering PhysicsEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationFrench Language and LiteratureGerman Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureLatin American StudiesMathematics Teacher EducationMusic Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher Education

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

Get your child's odds →

What families ask next