By major · German Language and Literature
Where can your student actually get into German language and literature?
In 2022-23, 148 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in German language and literature, 8 of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, with 25 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 148 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's German language and literature program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Michigan-Ann Arbor (25), University of Rhode Island (17), University of Arkansas (13).
- 8 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Hunter College, $2,984 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (8 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
25 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | — |
|
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
17 graduates
|
— | 77% | $21,440 | $34,321 | — |
|
University of Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
13 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,209 | $27,767 | — |
|
Oregon State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
12 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,604 | $31,653 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
12 graduates
|
— | 80% | $15,435 | $23,010 | — |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
10 graduates
|
— | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
10 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
10 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | — |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
8 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | — |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
8 graduates
|
— | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | — |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | — |
|
College of Charleston
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,960 | $32,362 | — |
|
Kalamazoo College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 76% | $19,072 | $74,208 | — |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | — |
|
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 54% | $2,984 | $13,905 | — |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 73% | $16,210 | $19,593 | — |
|
Boise State University
ID · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 84% | $21,610 | $28,224 | — |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | — |
|
Grinnell College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 13% | $17,648 | $83,440 | — |
|
Princeton University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 4% | $6,128 | $84,040 | — |
|
Susquehanna University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 79% | $28,819 | $75,410 | — |
|
The University of Montana
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $16,784 | $23,570 | — |
|
University of Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 5% | $14,860 | $90,360 | — |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | — |
|
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 82% | $12,766 | $27,350 | — |
|
Belmont University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 96% | $33,147 | $62,570 | — |
|
Boston College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 16% | $41,704 | $89,493 | — |
|
Centre College
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 54% | $20,781 | $67,787 | — |
|
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 4% | $21,590 | $89,472 | — |
|
Converse University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 64% | $23,283 | $38,838 | — |
|
Furman University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 53% | $30,308 | $76,798 | — |
|
Lawrence University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 63% | $23,401 | $69,849 | — |
|
Lewis & Clark College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 74% | $36,013 | $79,987 | — |
|
Montclair State University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,566 | $28,305 | — |
|
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,167 | $91,250 | — |
|
Oakland University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 70% | $9,120 | $25,182 | — |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | — |
|
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 70% | $15,664 | $26,433 | — |
|
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 77% | $20,268 | $31,713 | — |
|
University of North Texas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 72% | $15,649 | $26,243 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Wofford College
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 59% | $18,732 | $72,441 | — |
|
Agnes Scott College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 67% | $24,754 | $63,283 | — |
|
Berea College
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 33% | $6,106 | $60,718 | — |
|
Binghamton University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 38% | $21,620 | $30,345 | — |
|
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 81% | $24,022 | $33,007 | — |
|
Bryn Mawr College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 31% | $31,759 | $83,250 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
Calvin University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $22,992 | $54,222 | — |
|
Central Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,597 | $30,681 | — |
|
Colgate University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 12% | $28,786 | $87,070 | — |
|
Dartmouth College
NH · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 6% | $29,519 | $87,793 | — |
|
Dickinson College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 43% | $37,607 | $82,902 | — |
|
Hamline University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 90% | $20,744 | $58,110 | — |
|
Lipscomb University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 67% | $24,739 | $55,117 | — |
|
Macalester College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 28% | $32,149 | $82,991 | — |
|
Miami University-Oxford
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $28,384 | $38,757 | — |
|
Middlebury College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 10% | $31,483 | $85,880 | — |
|
Northern Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 96% | $8,191 | $19,725 | — |
|
Portland State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 91% | $9,552 | $21,590 | — |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
St Olaf College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 52% | $23,874 | $71,843 | — |
|
Syracuse University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 42% | $38,793 | $84,517 | — |
|
United States Military Academy
NY · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 14% | — | — | — |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of New Hampshire-Main Campus
NH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 87% | $23,805 | $35,537 | — |
|
University of South Carolina-Columbia
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,811 | $31,638 | — |
|
University of Southern Indiana
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 95% | — | $22,383 | — |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | — |
|
University of Vermont
VT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 60% | $19,343 | $35,649 | — |
|
Utah State University
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 94% | — | $21,654 | — |
|
Vassar College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 18% | $39,343 | $87,419 | — |
|
Wabash College
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 63% | $24,336 | $65,144 | — |
|
Washington & Jefferson College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $25,002 | $42,972 | — |
|
William & Mary
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 33% | $19,096 | $43,035 | — |
|
Albion College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 83% | $14,301 | $69,986 | — |
|
Amherst College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $23,367 | $87,640 | — |
|
Aquinas College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $16,626 | $51,652 | — |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | — |
|
Ball State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 72% | $14,940 | $26,146 | — |
|
Berry College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 62% | $22,320 | $56,697 | — |
|
Boston University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 11% | $24,402 | $86,285 | — |
|
Bowdoin College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 8% | $14,398 | $85,100 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
California Lutheran University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 89% | $30,109 | $68,426 | — |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 29% | $41,190 | $85,851 | — |
|
Colorado College
CO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 20% | $33,375 | $86,921 | — |
|
DePauw University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $22,264 | $74,320 | — |
|
Duke University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 7% | $29,612 | $87,072 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Franklin and Marshall College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 32% | $36,425 | $85,776 | — |
|
George Washington University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 44% | $36,586 | $83,856 | — |
|
Georgia State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 62% | $15,931 | $28,241 | — |
|
Gettysburg College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 48% | $31,490 | $81,960 | — |
|
Guilford College
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 84% | $22,270 | $55,689 | — |
|
Haverford College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 13% | $25,314 | $90,382 | — |
|
Hillsdale College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 21% | — | — | — |
|
Hope College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 76% | $27,182 | $55,646 | — |
|
Illinois State University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 89% | $19,398 | $34,309 | — |
|
Indiana University-South Bend
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 86% | $8,653 | $17,364 | — |
|
Kent State University at Kent
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 87% | $20,787 | $30,567 | — |
|
Knox College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $24,595 | $68,134 | — |
|
Lehigh University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 29% | $36,931 | $80,856 | — |
|
Luther College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 73% | $23,097 | $65,461 | — |
|
Minnesota State University-Mankato
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $19,139 | $23,995 | — |
|
Moravian University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $30,670 | $65,601 | — |
|
Northern State University
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $15,812 | $22,077 | — |
|
Pacific Lutheran University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $19,589 | $62,459 | — |
|
Reed College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 27% | $33,013 | $86,376 | — |
|
Rhodes College
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 50% | $28,585 | $71,136 | — |
|
Saint Johns University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $25,672 | $68,521 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
South Dakota State University
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 99% | $19,841 | $24,636 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Texas State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $16,805 | $28,073 | — |
|
Tufts University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $39,998 | $88,300 | — |
|
Union College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 44% | $34,561 | $84,561 | — |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | — |
|
University of Central Oklahoma
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 82% | $18,309 | $26,392 | — |
|
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 88% | $25,648 | $32,171 | — |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Duluth
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 82% | $18,743 | $27,680 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Morris
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $8,837 | $27,039 | — |
|
University of Mount Union
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $23,280 | $49,276 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $10,359 | $19,638 | — |
|
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $15,489 | $21,259 | — |
|
University of North Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $12,170 | $23,786 | — |
|
University of Notre Dame
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 12% | $26,780 | $83,271 | — |
|
University of Puget Sound
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 76% | $38,394 | $78,378 | — |
|
University of Rochester
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 36% | $29,278 | $85,962 | — |
|
University of Toledo
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 95% | $17,249 | $26,512 | — |
|
University of Tulsa
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 58% | $15,000 | $64,459 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $14,559 | $20,079 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 83% | $14,158 | $18,719 | — |
|
Valparaiso University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 92% | $18,578 | $58,437 | — |
|
Weber State University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Webster University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 58% | $27,047 | $51,188 | — |
|
Wheaton College (Massachusetts)
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $29,822 | $79,311 | — |
|
Whitman College
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 50% | $33,313 | $78,092 | — |
|
Wright State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
German Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 95% | $15,415 | $24,373 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/german, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a German language and literature applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 148 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359