At a glance · All states

  • 57 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's materials engineering program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (92), University of Florida (58), Purdue University-Main Campus (56).
  • 9 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
  • Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Materials Engineering, Fall 2025: 825 applied, 91 admitted (11%).
  • Highest reported admit rate into the program: San Jose State University — 87.8% (172 applied, 151 admitted, Fall 2025).
  • Lowest average net price with aid: University of Florida, $6,541 per year.

Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (9 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →

Hardest reported gate

11%
University of California-Los Angeles
Materials Engineering, Fall 2025: 825 applied, 91 admitted

Highest reported admit rate

87.8%
San Jose State University
Materials Engineering, Fall 2025: 172 applied, 151 admitted

Lowest net price with aid

$6,541
University of Florida
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Materials Engineering
Fall 2025: 825 applied, 91 admitted · admit GPA 4.24–4.30
Materials Engineering
29 graduates
11% 11% $12,548 $38,614 —
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
Materials Engineering
Fall 2025: 359 applied, 167 admitted
impacted
Materials Engineering
46 graduates
46.5% 30% $16,665 $32,265 —
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
Materials Engineering
Fall 2025: 172 applied, 151 admitted
impacted
Materials Engineering
7 graduates
87.8% 80% $13,760 $26,593 —
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
92 graduates
— 44% $14,355 $33,642 —
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
58 graduates
— 24% $6,541 $22,523 —
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
56 graduates
— 50% $14,600 $24,591 —
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
54 graduates
— 51% $17,339 $30,305 —
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
53 graduates
— 57% $24,953 $36,951 —
Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus
GA · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
52 graduates
— 16% $12,116 $28,167 —
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
48 graduates
— 63% $21,315 $32,696 —
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
44 graduates
— 18% $13,138 $34,654 —
North Carolina State University at Raleigh
NC · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
39 graduates
— 40% $17,303 $26,425 —
Iowa State University
IA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
37 graduates
— 89% $18,589 $24,018 —
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
35 graduates
— 42% $14,091 $32,446 —
Clemson University
SC · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
31 graduates
— 38% $22,253 $35,015 —
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
28 graduates
— 77% $16,778 $30,061 —
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
27 graduates
— 87% $16,200 $25,557 —
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
26 graduates
— 46% $14,741 $41,238 —
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
MA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
24 graduates
— 5% $20,111 $82,730 —
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
23 graduates
— 84% $19,680 $32,198 —
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
23 graduates
— 30% $14,251 $38,632 —
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
22 graduates
— 90% $14,967 $30,111 —
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
22 graduates
— 45% $15,678 $29,299 —
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
22 graduates
— 50% $30,434 $38,105 —
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
22 graduates
— 43% $17,354 $28,679 —
Michigan Technological University
MI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
21 graduates
— 88% $14,182 $34,152 —
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
TN · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
20 graduates
— 46% $18,976 $33,678 —
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
19 graduates
— 88% $14,304 $38,942 —
Drexel University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
18 graduates
— 78% $38,509 $76,835 —
Winona State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
17 graduates
— 68% $17,503 $23,683 —
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
16 graduates
— 8% $28,690 $88,140 —
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
16 graduates
— 54% $25,097 $39,426 —
Boise State University
ID · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
15 graduates
— 84% $21,610 $28,224 —
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
15 graduates
— 7% $29,167 $91,250 —
University of Kentucky
KY · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
15 graduates
— 92% $18,851 $34,391 —
University of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
15 graduates
— 6% $28,699 $89,028 —
Washington State University
WA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
15 graduates
— 85% $14,971 $27,648 —
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
14 graduates
— 58% $36,228 $82,404 —
University of Alabama at Birmingham
AL · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
14 graduates
— 88% $18,749 $28,145 —
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
WI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
14 graduates
— 76% $16,550 $21,705 —
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
NM · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
12 graduates
— 54% $9,873 $24,967 —
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
12 graduates
— 4% $13,807 $87,833 —
University of North Texas
TX · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
12 graduates
— 72% $15,649 $26,243 —
Johns Hopkins University
MD · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
11 graduates
— 8% $18,809 $85,947 —
University of Central Florida
FL · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
11 graduates
— 40% $10,411 $23,133 —
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
10 graduates
— 50% $24,323 $34,919 —
Lehigh University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
9 graduates
— 29% $36,931 $80,856 —
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
8 graduates
— 95% $11,983 $39,665 —
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
WI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
8 graduates
— 88% $15,014 $22,756 —
Alfred University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
7 graduates
— 48% $25,620 $57,445 —
University of Virginia-Main Campus
VA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
7 graduates
— 17% $21,565 $39,926 —
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
6 graduates
— 3% $16,075 $86,886 —
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
6 graduates
— 29% $41,190 $85,851 —
Wright State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
5 graduates
— 95% $15,415 $24,373 —
Illinois Institute of Technology
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
4 graduates
— 55% $18,425 $68,164 —
University of Nevada-Reno
NV · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
4 graduates
— 85% $15,927 $25,786 —
University of Idaho
ID · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Materials Engineering
2 graduates
— 79% $14,831 $23,738 —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/materials-engineering, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a materials engineering applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

AccountingAerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChemistryChild DevelopmentChinese Language and LiteratureCivil EngineeringClassicsClinical Laboratory ScienceCognitive ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDental HygieneDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMarketingMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical EngineeringMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNatural SciencesNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

With 57 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359