By major · Apparel and Textiles
Where can your student actually get into apparel and textiles?
In 2022-23, 57 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in apparel and textiles, 6 of them in California. The biggest program that year was California State University-Long Beach, with 102 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 57 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's apparel and textiles program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: California State University-Long Beach (102), Indiana University-Bloomington (76), Iowa State University (76).
- 6 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Fresno, $7,000 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (6 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
102 graduates
|
— | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
76 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | — |
|
Iowa State University
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
76 graduates
|
— | 89% | $18,589 | $24,018 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
71 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
71 graduates
|
— | 90% | $10,965 | $21,373 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
69 graduates
|
— | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | — |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
67 graduates
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | — |
|
University of Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
67 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,209 | $27,767 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
66 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
59 graduates
|
— | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
University of Kentucky
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
56 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,851 | $34,391 | — |
|
East Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
55 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,739 | $23,867 | — |
|
Georgia Southern University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
53 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,267 | $24,430 | — |
|
The University of Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
48 graduates
|
— | 76% | $22,420 | $33,382 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
48 graduates
|
— | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | — |
|
Washington State University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
46 graduates
|
— | 85% | $14,971 | $27,648 | — |
|
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
44 graduates
|
— | 77% | $21,440 | $34,321 | — |
|
Western Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
44 graduates
|
— | 97% | $10,990 | $24,188 | — |
|
Mississippi State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
43 graduates
|
— | 76% | $17,595 | $29,267 | — |
|
Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
42 graduates
|
— | 74% | $19,151 | $34,705 | — |
|
Liberty University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
35 graduates
|
— | 99% | $29,357 | $42,025 | — |
|
Framingham State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
32 graduates
|
— | 85% | $16,114 | $27,413 | — |
|
Missouri State University-Springfield
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
28 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,613 | $25,048 | — |
|
Illinois State University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
26 graduates
|
— | 89% | $19,398 | $34,309 | — |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
26 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | — |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
24 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | — |
|
Rhode Island School of Design
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
22 graduates
|
— | 14% | $50,507 | $81,727 | — |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
21 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | — |
|
Appalachian State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
20 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,836 | $23,169 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
20 graduates
|
— | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | — |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
18 graduates
|
— | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | — |
|
Northern Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
18 graduates
|
— | 70% | $13,391 | $28,851 | — |
|
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
18 graduates
|
— | 70% | $15,664 | $26,433 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
17 graduates
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | — |
|
Oregon State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
16 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,604 | $31,653 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
16 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
Kansas State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
15 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,406 | $27,402 | — |
|
University of North Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
13 graduates
|
— | 96% | $12,170 | $23,786 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stout
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
11 graduates
|
— | 85% | $17,490 | $22,797 | — |
|
Indiana State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
10 graduates
|
— | 92% | $10,873 | $24,535 | — |
|
North Dakota State University-Main Campus
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
8 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,543 | $23,716 | — |
|
University of Idaho
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
8 graduates
|
— | 79% | $14,831 | $23,738 | — |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
7 graduates
|
— | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | — |
|
University of Northern Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
7 graduates
|
— | 94% | $15,901 | $22,278 | — |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
6 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | — |
|
Lamar University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
5 graduates
|
— | 86% | $9,366 | $22,254 | — |
|
Academy of Art University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
4 graduates
|
— | — | $40,613 | — | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
Bradley University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
3 graduates
|
— | 77% | $22,719 | $54,730 | — |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
3 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | — |
|
Delaware State University
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
2 graduates
|
— | 62% | $13,910 | $27,939 | — |
|
Stephens College
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
2 graduates
|
— | 92% | $23,459 | $46,643 | — |
|
Tarleton State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
2 graduates
|
— | 94% | $20,783 | $24,100 | — |
|
Ohio University-Lancaster Campus
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Seattle Pacific University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $24,488 | $56,826 | — |
|
University of Akron Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $13,946 | $26,284 | — |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Apparel and Textiles, General
1 graduate
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/apparel-and-textiles, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a apparel and textiles applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 57 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359