By major · Teaching English as a Second Language
Where can your student actually get into teaching English as a second language?
In 2022-23, 58 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in teaching English as a second language, one of them in California. The biggest program that year was Liberty University, with 35 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 58 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's teaching English as a second language program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Liberty University (35), Brigham Young University-Hawaii (23), University of Northern Iowa (15).
- 1 of them is in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Queens College, $4,195 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (1 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Liberty University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
35 graduates
|
— | 99% | $29,357 | $42,025 | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Hawaii
HI · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
23 graduates
|
— | 38% | $16,774 | $25,098 | — |
|
University of Northern Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
15 graduates
|
— | 94% | $15,901 | $22,278 | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
15 graduates
|
— | 53% | $9,175 | — | — |
|
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
14 graduates
|
— | 70% | $15,664 | $26,433 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
13 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-River Falls
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
9 graduates
|
— | 82% | $14,054 | $19,781 | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Metro
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
8 graduates
|
— | 66% | $9,788 | — | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-San German
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
8 graduates
|
— | 51% | $9,148 | — | — |
|
Kent State University at Kent
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
8 graduates
|
— | 87% | $20,787 | $30,567 | — |
|
The University of Texas at San Antonio
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
8 graduates
|
— | 88% | $10,836 | $22,352 | — |
|
State University of New York at Cortland
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
7 graduates
|
— | 51% | $22,345 | $28,108 | — |
|
Bethel University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
5 graduates
|
— | 91% | $28,556 | $58,569 | — |
|
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
5 graduates
|
— | 68% | $4,195 | $14,367 | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
5 graduates
|
— | — | $8,726 | — | — |
|
Molloy College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
5 graduates
|
— | 76% | $24,347 | $50,720 | — |
|
State University of New York at Oswego
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
5 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,236 | $27,052 | — |
|
American University of Puerto Rico
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
4 graduates
|
— | 38% | $9,217 | — | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Ponce
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
4 graduates
|
— | 70% | $9,026 | — | — |
|
Lee University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
4 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,878 | $35,688 | — |
|
Roberts Wesleyan University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
4 graduates
|
— | 78% | $23,130 | $52,919 | — |
|
Southwest Minnesota State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
4 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,291 | $24,757 | — |
|
University of Northwestern-St Paul
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
4 graduates
|
— | 92% | $27,705 | $51,325 | — |
|
Augsburg University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
3 graduates
|
— | 76% | $23,873 | $62,303 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Johnson University
TN · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
3 graduates
|
— | 54% | $22,063 | $34,244 | — |
|
Lancaster Bible College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
3 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,480 | $44,066 | — |
|
Minnesota State University Moorhead
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
3 graduates
|
— | 53% | $17,997 | $25,197 | — |
|
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
3 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,192 | — | — |
|
Southern Adventist University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
3 graduates
|
— | 67% | $24,345 | $38,618 | — |
|
Concordia University-Saint Paul
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | 75% | $18,462 | $37,239 | — |
|
Eastern Washington University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | 92% | $13,886 | $24,478 | — |
|
Emmaus Bible College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | 98% | — | $30,971 | — |
|
Great Northern University
WA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | — | $21,029 | — | — |
|
Hawaii Pacific University
HI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | 84% | $29,657 | $50,674 | — |
|
Hobe Sound Bible College
FL · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | — | $12,074 | — | — |
|
Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $22,866 | $44,776 | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | 47% | $8,742 | — | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Fajardo
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | — | $9,230 | — | — |
|
Niagara University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $17,248 | $51,632 | — |
|
Universidad Adventista de las Antillas
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
2 graduates
|
— | — | $9,919 | — | — |
|
American University of Puerto Rico
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
Cairn University-Langhorne
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 84% | $27,642 | $46,233 | — |
|
Carson-Newman University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $20,251 | $49,024 | — |
|
Concordia College at Moorhead
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 63% | $24,902 | $45,942 | — |
|
Concordia University-Nebraska
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $23,965 | $53,292 | — |
|
Goshen College
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 89% | $14,493 | $48,449 | — |
|
James Madison University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 76% | $23,322 | $31,735 | — |
|
Maryville College
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 66% | $19,360 | $54,622 | — |
|
Oklahoma Christian University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 97% | $21,872 | $39,106 | — |
|
Roanoke College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $24,503 | $54,283 | — |
|
Salisbury University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 89% | $17,743 | $28,310 | — |
|
The University of Findlay
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 86% | $27,221 | $54,580 | — |
|
Union University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 47% | $27,171 | $58,363 | — |
|
Universidad Central de Bayamon
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | — | $4,827 | — | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor
1 graduate
|
— | 87% | $14,305 | $19,652 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/teaching-english-as-a-second-language, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a teaching English as a second language applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 58 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359