By major · Social Science Teacher Education
Where can your student actually get into social science teacher education?
In 2022-23, 67 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in social science teacher education, none of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of Northern Iowa, with 26 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 67 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's social science teacher education program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Northern Iowa (26), University of Nebraska-Lincoln (24), Brigham Young University (22).
- No college in California offers this program in our data. California is the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into a major, so no page-level admit rate is available for this one.
- Lowest average net price with aid: Florida Atlantic University, $8,752 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (0 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of Northern Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
26 graduates
|
— | 94% | $15,901 | $22,278 | — |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
24 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
22 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
20 graduates
|
— | 87% | $14,305 | $19,652 | — |
|
Wright State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
20 graduates
|
— | 95% | $15,415 | $24,373 | — |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
18 graduates
|
— | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | — |
|
University of South Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
17 graduates
|
— | 41% | $9,812 | $22,859 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
14 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,559 | $20,079 | — |
|
Florida Atlantic University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
13 graduates
|
— | 73% | $8,752 | $21,522 | — |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
13 graduates
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | — |
|
Winona State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
13 graduates
|
— | 68% | $17,503 | $23,683 | — |
|
Northwest Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
12 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,244 | $24,945 | — |
|
Saginaw Valley State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
12 graduates
|
— | 73% | $10,775 | $24,936 | — |
|
Arkansas State University
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
8 graduates
|
— | 70% | $12,366 | $25,082 | — |
|
Montana State University
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
8 graduates
|
— | 87% | $22,499 | $25,905 | — |
|
Southern Utah University
UT · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | 80% | — | $19,416 | — |
|
Central Methodist University-College of Graduate and Extended Studies
MO · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | — | $14,601 | — | — |
|
DePaul University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 74% | $30,902 | $63,052 | — |
|
Saint Xavier University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 86% | $10,970 | $43,244 | — |
|
Elmhurst University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 76% | $24,185 | $54,679 | — |
|
Evangel University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 69% | $18,669 | $39,956 | — |
|
Peru State College
NE · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | — | $11,632 | — | — |
|
University of Mary
ND · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 78% | $17,770 | $33,672 | — |
|
Utah Tech University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Blue Mountain Christian University
MS · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 100% | $24,016 | $33,197 | — |
|
Chadron State College
NE · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | — | $12,549 | — | — |
|
Henderson State University
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 82% | $23,405 | $27,385 | — |
|
The University of Montana-Western
MT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | — | $16,558 | — | — |
|
Upper Iowa University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 93% | $20,942 | $34,022 | — |
|
Wayne State College
NE · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | — | $15,360 | — | — |
|
Wilmington University
DE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | — | $15,644 | — | — |
|
Bethany College
KS · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 79% | $27,686 | $53,738 | — |
|
Blackburn College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 80% | $18,460 | $37,916 | — |
|
Lewis-Clark State College
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,635 | $21,925 | — |
|
Lindsey Wilson College
KY · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | — | $15,070 | — | — |
|
Marywood University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 84% | $23,388 | $55,582 | — |
|
Millikin University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 54% | $21,989 | $57,475 | — |
|
Monmouth College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 87% | $17,133 | $57,157 | — |
|
Mount Mercy University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 79% | $20,168 | $55,054 | — |
|
Mount St. Mary's University
MD · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 72% | $22,655 | $63,731 | — |
|
Nebraska Wesleyan University
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 84% | $18,327 | $53,569 | — |
|
Rhode Island College
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $9,478 | $17,454 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Reno
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,927 | $25,786 | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Hawaii
HI · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 38% | $16,774 | $25,098 | — |
|
Dickinson State University
ND · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | $14,092 | — | — |
|
Florida Southern College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 59% | $28,551 | $60,768 | — |
|
Lincoln University
MO · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | $19,092 | — | — |
|
Oakwood University
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 50% | $25,669 | $40,176 | — |
|
Ohio Dominican University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $20,079 | $47,621 | — |
|
Southeastern University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 74% | $31,942 | $49,329 | — |
|
University of Mobile
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 72% | $22,382 | $41,115 | — |
|
Valley City State University
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 69% | $11,890 | $20,468 | — |
|
Boise State University
ID · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 84% | $21,610 | $28,224 | — |
|
Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 88% | $22,766 | $43,635 | — |
|
Concordia University-Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $18,436 | $45,383 | — |
|
Great Basin College
NV · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 82% | $22,866 | $44,776 | — |
|
Jackson State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $23,836 | $32,415 | — |
|
Mayville State University
ND · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | $11,456 | — | — |
|
Minot State University
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 72% | $12,703 | $19,339 | — |
|
Oklahoma Baptist University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 56% | $20,958 | $48,695 | — |
|
Olivet Nazarene University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $20,729 | $51,981 | — |
|
Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 89% | $11,704 | $57,380 | — |
|
Southwest Baptist University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 100% | $21,677 | $40,301 | — |
|
Union Adventist University
NE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | $23,716 | — | — |
|
University of Holy Cross
LA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Social Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | $15,635 | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/social-science-teacher-education, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a social science teacher education applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 67 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359