By major · Comparative Literature
Where can your student actually get into comparative literature?
In 2022-23, 61 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in comparative literature, 16 of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of California-Santa Cruz, with 83 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 61 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's comparative literature program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Santa Cruz (83), Columbia University in the City of New York (42), The University of Texas at Dallas (37).
- 16 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Comparative Literature, Fall 2025: 199 applied, 32 admitted (16%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: San Francisco State University — 100.0% (14 applied, 14 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Hunter College, $2,984 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (16 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Comparative Literature, Fall 2025: 199 applied, 32 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Comparative Literature, Fall 2025: 14 applied, 14 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Comparative Literature
Fall 2025: 199 applied, 32 admitted · admit GPA 4.14–4.30
|
Comparative Literature
14 graduates
|
16% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | — |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Comparative Literature
Fall 2025: 226 applied, 97 admitted · admit GPA 4.05–4.26
|
Comparative Literature
22 graduates
|
43% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Comparative Literature
Fall 2025: 159 applied, 68 admitted · admit GPA 4.11–4.28
|
Comparative Literature
22 graduates
|
43% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Comparative Literature
Fall 2025: 15 applied, 12 admitted
impacted
|
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
80.0% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Comparative Literature
Fall 2025: 101 applied, 82 admitted · admit GPA 3.94–4.21
|
Comparative Literature
3 graduates
|
81% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Comparative Literature
Fall 2025: 14 applied, 13 admitted
impacted
|
Comparative Literature
13 graduates
|
92.9% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Comparative Literature
Fall 2025: 14 applied, 14 admitted
|
Comparative Literature
4 graduates
|
100.0% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
83 graduates
|
— | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | — |
|
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
42 graduates
|
— | 4% | $21,590 | $89,472 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Dallas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
37 graduates
|
— | 66% | $18,267 | $29,807 | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
25 graduates
|
— | 53% | $9,175 | — | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
22 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
Yale University
CT · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
14 graduates
|
— | 4% | $23,777 | $88,300 | — |
|
Princeton University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
13 graduates
|
— | 4% | $6,128 | $84,040 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
12 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Brown University
RI · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
11 graduates
|
— | 5% | $25,184 | $87,648 | — |
|
Williams College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
11 graduates
|
— | 10% | $17,716 | $84,860 | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
10 graduates
|
— | 52% | $17,936 | — | — |
|
Reed College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
9 graduates
|
— | 27% | $33,013 | $86,376 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
9 graduates
|
— | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
9 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
8 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | — |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | — |
|
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 9% | $37,050 | $84,374 | — |
|
Harvard University
MA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 4% | $19,066 | $85,540 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
Middlebury College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 10% | $31,483 | $85,880 | — |
|
Oberlin College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 33% | $38,645 | $87,404 | — |
|
Smith College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 20% | $27,579 | $86,030 | — |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | — |
|
Barnard College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,800 | $89,538 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | — |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | — |
|
Binghamton University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 38% | $21,620 | $30,345 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
University of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 6% | $28,699 | $89,028 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 54% | $2,984 | $13,905 | — |
|
CUNY Lehman College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 55% | $3,148 | $14,121 | — |
|
Clark University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 42% | $28,714 | $68,432 | — |
|
Dartmouth College
NH · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 6% | $29,519 | $87,793 | — |
|
Emory University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 11% | $22,585 | $83,622 | — |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | — |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | — |
|
University of Dallas
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 54% | $22,610 | $68,583 | — |
|
Wellesley College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 14% | $25,496 | $86,290 | — |
|
Boston University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 11% | $24,402 | $86,285 | — |
|
Brandeis University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 35% | $35,736 | $86,448 | — |
|
Bryn Mawr College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 31% | $31,759 | $83,250 | — |
|
CUNY Brooklyn College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $3,103 | $14,151 | — |
|
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $4,195 | $14,367 | — |
|
College of the Holy Cross
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 21% | $38,782 | $80,334 | — |
|
Colorado College
CO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 20% | $33,375 | $86,921 | — |
|
Fordham University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 56% | $44,338 | $82,762 | — |
|
Haverford College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 13% | $25,314 | $90,382 | — |
|
Hofstra University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $34,176 | $70,624 | — |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | — |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | — |
|
University of Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 5% | $14,860 | $90,360 | — |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Comparative Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/comparative-literature, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a comparative literature applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 61 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359