By major · Japanese Language and Literature
Where can your student actually get into Japanese language and literature?
In 2022-23, 77 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in Japanese language and literature, 14 of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of Hawaii at Manoa, with 32 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 77 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's Japanese language and literature program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Hawaii at Manoa (32), University of North Carolina at Charlotte (18), University of California-Los Angeles (17).
- 14 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (14 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
32 graduates
|
— | 70% | $15,664 | $26,433 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
18 graduates
|
— | 80% | $15,435 | $23,010 | — |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
17 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | — |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
17 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
16 graduates
|
— | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
University of North Texas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
15 graduates
|
— | 72% | $15,649 | $26,243 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
12 graduates
|
— | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | — |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
11 graduates
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | — |
|
Portland State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
9 graduates
|
— | 91% | $9,552 | $21,590 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
9 graduates
|
— | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
9 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
9 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
8 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
8 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Gustavus Adolphus College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
8 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,900 | $67,613 | — |
|
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 92% | $3,967 | $18,403 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | — |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | — |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | — |
|
Oakland University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 70% | $9,120 | $25,182 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
Boston University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 11% | $24,402 | $86,285 | — |
|
California State University-Monterey Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 95% | $13,663 | $26,987 | — |
|
Carthage College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 84% | $26,565 | $50,822 | — |
|
Central Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 90% | $18,476 | $28,816 | — |
|
Lehigh University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 29% | $36,931 | $80,856 | — |
|
Macalester College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 28% | $32,149 | $82,991 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 83% | $25,346 | $37,684 | — |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | — |
|
University of Puget Sound
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 76% | $38,394 | $78,378 | — |
|
Ball State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 72% | $14,940 | $26,146 | — |
|
George Washington University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 44% | $36,586 | $83,856 | — |
|
Kenyon College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 31% | $38,512 | $87,590 | — |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | — |
|
St Olaf College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 52% | $23,874 | $71,843 | — |
|
The University of Montana
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $16,784 | $23,570 | — |
|
University of Alaska Fairbanks
AK · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | — | $10,892 | — | — |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | — |
|
Washington State University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 85% | $14,971 | $27,648 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
Elizabethtown College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 77% | $26,598 | $50,865 | — |
|
Middlebury College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 10% | $31,483 | $85,880 | — |
|
Northern Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 96% | $8,191 | $19,725 | — |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | — |
|
University of Rochester
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 36% | $29,278 | $85,962 | — |
|
Beloit College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 57% | $21,526 | $71,365 | — |
|
Bennington College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 48% | $30,947 | $87,284 | — |
|
Hamilton College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 12% | $28,985 | $84,230 | — |
|
University of Mount Union
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $23,280 | $49,276 | — |
|
Vassar College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 18% | $39,343 | $87,419 | — |
|
Wake Forest University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 22% | $28,719 | $87,499 | — |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | — |
|
William & Mary
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 33% | $19,096 | $43,035 | — |
|
Bates College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 13% | $29,351 | $83,532 | — |
|
Calvin University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $22,992 | $54,222 | — |
|
Carleton College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 22% | $25,407 | $84,893 | — |
|
Colgate University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 12% | $28,786 | $87,070 | — |
|
Georgetown University
DC · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 13% | $40,815 | $88,741 | — |
|
Guilford College
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 84% | $22,270 | $55,689 | — |
|
North Central College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 58% | $21,044 | $57,219 | — |
|
Pacific University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 92% | $35,273 | $72,374 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
Swarthmore College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 7% | $23,149 | $84,103 | — |
|
Tufts University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $39,998 | $88,300 | — |
|
University at Albany
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $17,167 | $28,802 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | — |
|
University of Vermont
VT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 60% | $19,343 | $35,649 | — |
|
Washington University in St Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 12% | $21,786 | $88,488 | — |
|
Whitman College
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Japanese Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 50% | $33,313 | $78,092 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/japanese, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a Japanese language and literature applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 77 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359