By major · Music Therapy
Where can your student actually get into music therapy?
In 2022-23, 60 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in music therapy, one of them in California. The biggest program that year was Berklee College of Music, with 42 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 60 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's music therapy program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Berklee College of Music (42), University of Louisville (19), Montclair State University (17).
- 1 of them is in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: Florida State University, $11,297 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (1 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Berklee College of Music
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
42 graduates
|
— | 50% | $49,465 | $72,700 | — |
|
University of Louisville
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
19 graduates
|
— | 80% | $17,988 | $32,941 | — |
|
Montclair State University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
17 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,566 | $28,305 | — |
|
Sam Houston State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
16 graduates
|
— | 85% | $16,404 | $25,505 | — |
|
SUNY at Fredonia
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
15 graduates
|
— | 79% | $15,897 | $25,879 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
14 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
14 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
13 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | — |
|
Cleveland State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
12 graduates
|
— | 96% | $14,764 | $27,159 | — |
|
Maryville University of Saint Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
12 graduates
|
— | 94% | $22,066 | $41,959 | — |
|
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
12 graduates
|
— | 83% | $28,198 | $40,903 | — |
|
Loyola University New Orleans
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
11 graduates
|
— | 88% | $23,696 | $64,157 | — |
|
Nazareth University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
11 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,357 | $58,254 | — |
|
Utah State University
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
11 graduates
|
— | 94% | — | $21,654 | — |
|
Appalachian State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
10 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,836 | $23,169 | — |
|
Belmont University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
10 graduates
|
— | 96% | $33,147 | $62,570 | — |
|
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
10 graduates
|
— | 75% | $19,608 | $25,537 | — |
|
University of Kansas
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
10 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,059 | $26,751 | — |
|
Wartburg College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
10 graduates
|
— | 99% | $32,908 | $64,359 | — |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | — |
|
Georgia College & State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | 88% | $20,686 | $30,258 | — |
|
Molloy College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | 76% | $24,347 | $50,720 | — |
|
University of Dayton
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | 62% | $29,533 | $65,881 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
University of the Incarnate Word
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | 93% | $22,775 | $48,681 | — |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
8 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | — |
|
Duquesne University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
8 graduates
|
— | 79% | $37,730 | $67,776 | — |
|
Florida Gulf Coast University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
8 graduates
|
— | 77% | $12,568 | $20,807 | — |
|
Marywood University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
8 graduates
|
— | 84% | $23,388 | $55,582 | — |
|
Queens University of Charlotte
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
8 graduates
|
— | 68% | $30,857 | $65,742 | — |
|
University of Miami
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
8 graduates
|
— | 18% | $37,244 | $86,078 | — |
|
Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
7 graduates
|
— | 82% | $22,866 | $44,776 | — |
|
Shenandoah University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
7 graduates
|
— | 78% | $30,298 | $51,928 | — |
|
Anna Maria College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
6 graduates
|
— | 90% | $28,333 | $61,888 | — |
|
Charleston Southern University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
6 graduates
|
— | 76% | $21,666 | $44,558 | — |
|
Seattle Pacific University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
6 graduates
|
— | 91% | $24,488 | $56,826 | — |
|
University of Indianapolis
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
6 graduates
|
— | 73% | $21,602 | $52,590 | — |
|
Alverno College
WI · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | — | $22,540 | — | — |
|
Augsburg University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 76% | $23,873 | $62,303 | — |
|
Drury University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 59% | $20,831 | $48,846 | — |
|
Elizabethtown College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 77% | $26,598 | $50,865 | — |
|
Purdue University Fort Wayne
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 86% | $13,171 | $22,183 | — |
|
West Chester University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 79% | $23,331 | $28,394 | — |
|
Carroll University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 58% | $15,193 | $52,639 | — |
|
Mercyhurst University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 83% | $19,444 | $59,557 | — |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | — |
|
Pacific University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 92% | $35,273 | $72,374 | — |
|
The College of Wooster
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 54% | $23,458 | $75,656 | — |
|
University of Evansville
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 78% | $18,499 | $57,451 | — |
|
Indiana University-Indianapolis
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $11,668 | $23,316 | — |
|
Immaculata University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
2 graduates
|
— | 78% | $24,258 | $43,979 | — |
|
Oral Roberts University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
2 graduates
|
— | 99% | $25,365 | $50,004 | — |
|
Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
2 graduates
|
— | 76% | $31,872 | $49,512 | — |
|
Southern Methodist University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
2 graduates
|
— | 61% | $40,892 | $85,606 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
2 graduates
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | — |
|
William Carey University
MS · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
2 graduates
|
— | 58% | $14,258 | $29,651 | — |
|
Baldwin Wallace University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
1 graduate
|
— | 77% | $27,603 | $55,606 | — |
|
Converse University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
1 graduate
|
— | 64% | $23,283 | $38,838 | — |
|
Marietta College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
1 graduate
|
— | 79% | $21,083 | $53,709 | — |
|
Seton Hill University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Music Therapy/Therapist
1 graduate
|
— | 76% | $22,204 | $56,183 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/music-therapy, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a music therapy applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 60 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359