By major · Health Teacher Education
Where can your student actually get into health teacher education?
In 2022-23, 51 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in health teacher education, none of them in California. The biggest program that year was Virginia Commonwealth University, with 313 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 51 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's health teacher education program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Virginia Commonwealth University (313), Indiana University-Bloomington (63), Utah State University (59).
- No college in California offers this program in our data. California is the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into a major, so no page-level admit rate is available for this one.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY York College, $4,456 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (0 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
313 graduates
|
— | 93% | $23,433 | $38,954 | — |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
63 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | — |
|
Utah State University
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
59 graduates
|
— | 94% | — | $21,654 | — |
|
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
56 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,489 | $21,259 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
42 graduates
|
— | 96% | $10,359 | $19,638 | — |
|
Illinois State University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
31 graduates
|
— | 89% | $19,398 | $34,309 | — |
|
Bridgewater State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
26 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,383 | $26,160 | — |
|
George Mason University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
22 graduates
|
— | 89% | $17,915 | $28,604 | — |
|
Eastern Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
19 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,786 | $26,996 | — |
|
SUNY Brockport
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
19 graduates
|
— | 71% | $16,353 | $26,046 | — |
|
Eastern Washington University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
18 graduates
|
— | 92% | $13,886 | $24,478 | — |
|
Central Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
16 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,597 | $30,681 | — |
|
Utah Valley University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
16 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Kentucky
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
13 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,851 | $34,391 | — |
|
Morehead State University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
12 graduates
|
— | 82% | $9,793 | $21,961 | — |
|
Minnesota State University Moorhead
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
10 graduates
|
— | 53% | $17,997 | $25,197 | — |
|
Rhode Island College
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
10 graduates
|
— | 81% | $9,478 | $17,454 | — |
|
Saint Cloud State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
10 graduates
|
— | 95% | $13,529 | $21,116 | — |
|
New Mexico Highlands University
NM · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | — | $14,838 | — | — |
|
Bemidji State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 71% | $15,261 | $22,744 | — |
|
Minnesota State University-Mankato
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 91% | $19,139 | $23,995 | — |
|
Murray State University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 86% | $9,096 | $23,485 | — |
|
State University of New York at Cortland
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 51% | $22,345 | $28,108 | — |
|
Morgan State University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,985 | $25,413 | — |
|
Kent State University at Kent
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 87% | $20,787 | $30,567 | — |
|
The University of Findlay
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 86% | $27,221 | $54,580 | — |
|
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 82% | $12,766 | $27,350 | — |
|
University of Northwestern-St Paul
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 92% | $27,705 | $51,325 | — |
|
Western Connecticut State University
CT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $17,604 | $24,877 | — |
|
CUNY York College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 59% | $4,456 | $14,330 | — |
|
Concordia College at Moorhead
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 63% | $24,902 | $45,942 | — |
|
Doane University
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 90% | $26,364 | $57,836 | — |
|
Elon University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 67% | $41,555 | $62,266 | — |
|
Lewis-Clark State College
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,635 | $21,925 | — |
|
Lindsey Wilson College
KY · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | $15,070 | — | — |
|
Linfield University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 88% | $26,536 | $65,935 | — |
|
Maryville College
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 66% | $19,360 | $54,622 | — |
|
Mayville State University
ND · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | $11,456 | — | — |
|
Otterbein University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 83% | $19,237 | $48,321 | — |
|
University of Jamestown
ND · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 94% | $19,567 | $38,013 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Reno
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,927 | $25,786 | — |
|
Alverno College
WI · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | $22,540 | — | — |
|
East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $18,134 | $27,917 | — |
|
Ithaca College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $33,926 | $68,699 | — |
|
Lee University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 72% | $18,878 | $35,688 | — |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | — |
|
State University of New York at Oswego
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $16,236 | $27,052 | — |
|
University of Maine at Farmington
ME · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 98% | $16,857 | $25,822 | — |
|
University of Mount Union
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $23,280 | $49,276 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 73% | $16,210 | $19,593 | — |
|
Winona State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Health Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $17,503 | $23,683 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/health-teacher-education, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a health teacher education applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 51 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359