By major · East Asian Studies
Where can your student actually get into East Asian studies?
In 2022-23, 50 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in East Asian studies, 6 of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of Arizona, with 24 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 50 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's East Asian studies program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Arizona (24), Columbia University in the City of New York (15), Miami University-Oxford (10).
- 6 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Davis — East Asian Studies, Fall 2025: 240 applied, 169 admitted (70%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Long Beach — 86.7% (15 applied, 13 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Queens College, $4,195 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (6 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
East Asian Studies, Fall 2025: 240 applied, 169 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
East Asian Studies, Fall 2025: 15 applied, 13 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
East Asian Studies
Fall 2025: 240 applied, 169 admitted · admit GPA 3.89–4.16
|
East Asian Studies
6 graduates
|
70% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
East Asian Studies
Fall 2025: 15 applied, 13 admitted
impacted
|
East Asian Studies
7 graduates
|
86.7% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
24 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | — |
|
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
15 graduates
|
— | 4% | $21,590 | $89,472 | — |
|
Miami University-Oxford
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
10 graduates
|
— | 82% | $28,384 | $38,757 | — |
|
Mount Holyoke College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
10 graduates
|
— | 38% | $26,441 | $84,926 | — |
|
University at Albany
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 70% | $17,167 | $28,802 | — |
|
Harvard University
MA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 4% | $19,066 | $85,540 | — |
|
Oberlin College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 33% | $38,645 | $87,404 | — |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | — |
|
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 9% | $37,050 | $84,374 | — |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | — |
|
Wesleyan University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 17% | $30,177 | $89,020 | — |
|
Yale University
CT · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 4% | $23,777 | $88,300 | — |
|
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 82% | $12,766 | $27,350 | — |
|
Brandeis University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 35% | $35,736 | $86,448 | — |
|
Bryn Mawr College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 31% | $31,759 | $83,250 | — |
|
Princeton University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 4% | $6,128 | $84,040 | — |
|
University of North Georgia
GA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 72% | $9,823 | $18,177 | — |
|
Brown University
RI · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 5% | $25,184 | $87,648 | — |
|
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 68% | $4,195 | $14,367 | — |
|
Haverford College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 13% | $25,314 | $90,382 | — |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | — |
|
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,489 | $21,259 | — |
|
Colby College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 7% | $17,180 | $85,420 | — |
|
Johns Hopkins University
MD · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 8% | $18,809 | $85,947 | — |
|
Kalamazoo College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 76% | $19,072 | $74,208 | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Ursinus College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 87% | $30,536 | $76,815 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Austin College
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 47% | $21,107 | $61,607 | — |
|
Denison University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 17% | $40,007 | $81,900 | — |
|
Lawrence University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 63% | $23,401 | $69,849 | — |
|
Ohio Wesleyan University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 51% | $20,897 | $68,424 | — |
|
University of Rochester
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 36% | $29,278 | $85,962 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
Wellesley College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 14% | $25,496 | $86,290 | — |
|
Bates College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 13% | $29,351 | $83,532 | — |
|
Bucknell University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 32% | $40,766 | $83,756 | — |
|
Connecticut College
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 38% | $36,175 | $84,623 | — |
|
Davidson College
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 14% | $17,379 | $79,475 | — |
|
Dickinson College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 43% | $37,607 | $82,902 | — |
|
Eckerd College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 79% | $38,071 | $68,944 | — |
|
Minnesota State University Moorhead
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 53% | $17,997 | $25,197 | — |
|
North Central College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 58% | $21,044 | $57,219 | — |
|
Rhodes College
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 50% | $28,585 | $71,136 | — |
|
The College of Wooster
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $23,458 | $75,656 | — |
|
Washington University in St Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
East Asian Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 12% | $21,786 | $88,488 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/east-asian-studies, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a East Asian studies applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 50 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359