A parent's read

  • Top feeder high schools: Princeton High School (17), The Hun School of Princeton (7), The Lawrenceville School (6), Jericho Senior High School (5), Brunswick School (4). Graduates per class year, from each high school's own published list. 182 high schools' lists name Princeton University; every one is ranked below.
  • The major moves the money more than the admit letter. Computer Science grads from here earn about $217,973 four years out; english language and literature grads about $61,323 — a 3.6× spread on the same diploma. Have the major conversation before you deposit, not after.
  • Built for the AI economy. About 1 in 8 degrees here is already in AI, computer science, or data fields; its AI research output ranks #30 among US universities. This campus is leaning into the shift, not waiting for it.
  • Almost everyone who starts here finishes. 98% graduate within six years — the standard federal measure. Nationally about a third of students who start a bachelor's never finish one, and an unfinished degree is the most expensive outcome in this decision: the debt stays, the credential doesn't.
  • Your price depends enormously on whether you qualify for aid — and this college says exactly how. It publishes tuition-free aid for families earning under $250,000. Families who receive aid average about $6,128/yr here; without aid it's the full ~$84,040/yr. The college's own net-price calculator turns all of this into your family's own estimate.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Get your child's odds at Princeton University Free Family Decision Report — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + your real net price. Princeton University starts already on the list. Start →

Feeder high schools

Which high schools send graduates to Princeton University?

The high schools sending the most graduates per class year to Princeton University, from each school's own published list: Princeton High School (17), The Hun School of Princeton (7), The Lawrenceville School (6), Jericho Senior High School (5), Brunswick School (4). 182 high schools' lists name Princeton University.

Enrolled — from the schools' matriculation lists

The ten largest, per class year Enrolled per class year
1 Princeton High SchoolPrinceton, NJ 17.0
2 The Hun School of PrincetonPrinceton, NJ 7.0
3 The Lawrenceville SchoolLawrenceville, NJ 6.0
4 Jericho Senior High SchoolJericho, NY 5.0
5 Brunswick SchoolGreenwich, CT 4.0
6 Harvard-Westlake SchoolStudio City, CA 4.0
7 The Hotchkiss SchoolLakeville, CT 3.8
8 Noble and Greenough SchoolDedham, MA 3.6
9 Milton AcademyMilton, MA 3.3
10 Riverdale Country SchoolBronx, NY 3.0
All 182 schools, with the class years each list covers
Princeton High School · Class of 2025 17.0 · 17 over 1 class year
The Hun School of Princeton · CLASS OF 2026 MATRICULATION As published 7.0 · 7 over 1 class year
The Lawrenceville School · the last five years 6.0 · 30 over 5 class years
Jericho Senior High School · Class of 2026 5.0 · 5 over 1 class year
Brunswick School · Class of 2026 Matriculation; Composite Matriculation List of 2022-2026 · counted column: Class of 2026 Matriculation 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Harvard-Westlake School · BY THE CLASSES OF 2021-2025 · counted column: CLASS OF '25 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
The Hotchkiss School · Classes of 2023, 2024, 2025, and 2026 3.8 · 15 over 4 class years
Noble and Greenough School · 2021–2025 3.6 · 18 over 5 class years
Milton Academy · 2024-2026 3.3 · 10 over 3 class years
Riverdale Country School · Higher Ed Enrollment 2021-2026 3.0 · 18 over 6 class years
Choate Rosemary Hall · IN THE PAST FIVE YEARS, (CLASS OF 2022-2026) As published 3.0 · 15 over 5 class years
Bergen County Academies · 2019-2022 · counted column: COLLEGE ENROLLMENTS 2019-2022 3.0 · 12 over 4 class years
The Pingry School · 2022-2025 3.0 · 12 over 4 class years
Phillips Academy (Andover) · Class of 2024 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Princeton Day School · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
The Pembroke Hill School - Wornall Campus · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Dalton School · 2019-2024 2.7 · 16 over 6 class years
Horace Mann School · Class of 2024 - 2026 Graduates 2.7 · 8 over 3 class years
Ethical Culture Fieldston School · Classes of 2022–2026 2.6 · 13 over 5 class years
St. John's School · Over the past five (2022-2026) graduating classes 2.6 · 13 over 5 class years
Groton School · 2022–2026 2.2 · 11 over 5 class years
Polytechnic School · Class of 2022-2026 2.2 · 11 over 5 class years
The Brearley School · 2022–2026 2.2 · 11 over 5 class years
University of Chicago Lab School · In the past four years 2.2 · 9 over 4 class years
Packer Collegiate Institute · 2021 - 2025 2.0 · 10 over 5 class years
Branson School · Branson Classes of 2024-2026 2.0 · 6 over 3 class years
St. Paul's School (NH) · College Matriculation for the Forms of 2025 and 2026 (combined two-year TOTAL column) 2.0 · 4 over 2 class years
Avenues the World School · CLASSES OF 2023–2026 · counted column: CLASS OF 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Blair Academy · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Boston Latin School · Class of 2021 As published 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
California Academy of Mathematics & Science · Class of 2023 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
McDonogh School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Peddie School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Regis High School · 2022-2025 · counted column: Class of 2025 (number of students who matriculated from the Class of 2025) 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
St. Luke's School (New Canaan) · Class of 2026 / Classes 2021-2025 · counted column: Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Suffield Academy · Class of 2025 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Greenwich Country Day School · 2021-2025 · counted column: Class of 2025 Matriculation 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Madeira School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Pennington School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Westlake High School · Class of 2025 As published 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Lick Wilmerding High School · past four years 1.8 · 7 over 4 class years
Newark Academy · 2023-2026 1.8 · 7 over 4 class years
Germantown Friends School · 2023-25 1.7 · 5 over 3 class years
Loyola High School · 2020-24 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Spence School · Classes of 2021 - 2025 As published 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
The Chapin School · 2022-2026 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Westtown School · 2022-2026 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
The Potomac School · past four years 1.5 · 6 over 4 class years
Montgomery Bell Academy · 2022 – 2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
San Francisco University High School · 2021-2025 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Crossroads School · classes of 2023-25 As published 1.3 · 4 over 3 class years
Menlo School · Classes of 2023-2025 As published 1.3 · 4 over 3 class years
Collegiate School · 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Greens Farms Academy · Class of 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Greenwich Academy · 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Hathaway Brown School · 2022 - 2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Lakeside School · 2021-2025 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Maret School · classes of 2022–2026 As published 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Pine Crest School · 2022-26 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
The Taft School · past five years (2020-2024) 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Nightingale-Bamford School · 2022–2025 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
Friends Seminary · The Classes of 2022–2026 As published 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
John Burroughs School · 2021-2025 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Norfolk Academy · 2021 - 2025 As published 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Ransom Everglades School · Classes of 2020-24 As published 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
The Westminster Schools · Classes 2021-2025 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Holton-Arms School · College Matriculations 2017-2020 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Kent Place School · 2022-2025 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Lycee Francais de New York · Class of 2022-2025 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Wheeler School · College Matriculation for the Classes of 2022-25 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Winsor School · 2022–2025 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Sage Hill School · 2023-2025 1.0 · 3 over 3 class years
Shattuck-St. Marys School · Classes of 2024 and 2025 1.0 · 2 over 2 class years
Academy-Notre Dame de Namur · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Brentwood School · Class of 2024 As published 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Bullis School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Cape Henry Collegiate School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Chadwick School · Class of 2025 As published 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Dublin High School · Class of 2023 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Dwight-Englewood School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Fayetteville-Manlius Senior High School · 2025 F-M Graduates 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Heathwood Hall Episcopal School · class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Hopkins School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Marlborough School · Class of 2026 As published 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Millburn High School · Class of 2025 · counted column: CLASS OF 2025 ENROLLMENT 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Mira Costa High School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Oak Knoll School of the Holy Child · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Orange County School of the Arts · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Prestonwood Christian Academy · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Providence Day School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Ridgewood High School · Class of 2023 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Rowland Hall · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Rye Country Day School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Saint Joseph-Notre Dame High School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
St Ann'S School · CLASS OF 2024 As published 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
St. Margaret's Episcopal School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
St. Paul Academy and Summit School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Stevenson School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Syosset Senior High School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Bolles School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Columbus Academy · Class of 2026 As published 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Haverford School · 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Tower Hill School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Virginia Episcopal School · Class of 2024 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Western Reserve Academy · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Weston High · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Belmont Hill School · 2022-2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
College Preparatory School · the last five years 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Concord Academy · 2021 to 2025 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Durham Academy · 2021–2025 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Edina Senior High · CLASSES OF 2021-2025 · counted column: POST-SECONDARY PLANS, Classes of 2021-2025 (number of graduates) 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Friends Select School · Classes of 2020-2024 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Stuart Country Day School of the Sacred Heart · the past five years 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Trinity Hall · Classes of 2022-2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Albuquerque Academy · The classes of 2023-26 have matriculated at the following colleges and universities As published 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Proof School · Classes of 2023–2026 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
St. John's School · Classes of 2018–2022 · counted column: Total number of St. John’s School students from the classes of 2020–2023 that enrolled at each institution 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
University School of Nashville · 2022-2025 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Washington International School · 2022–2025 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Kent School · College Matriculations 2023-2025 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
St. Mark's School of Texas · Classes of 2023-2025 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
The Harker School · Classes of 2023, 2024 & 2025 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
Cate School · 2022-2026 As published 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Episcopal High School · Classes of 2022 through 2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Gilman School · classes of 2020-2024 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Great Neck North High School · Classes of 2021–2025 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Severn School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Springside Chestnut Hill Academy · 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
St. Sebastian's School · past five years 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Blake School · Classes 2021-2025 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Head-Royce School · (2021–25) 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Rivers School · 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Urban School of San Francisco · 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
William Penn Charter School · 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Roxbury Latin School · 2021-2026 0.5 · 3 over 6 class years
Francis Parker School · 2022-2025 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Punahou School · over the last four years: 2026, 2025, 2024, and 2023 As published 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Thayer Academy · 2020-23 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
The Bishop's School · the Class of 2025 as well as the Classes of 2022-2025 As published 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Archmere Academy · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Convent of the Sacred Heart · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Dunn School · 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Lancaster Country Day School · 2020-2024 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Laurel School · 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Marymount School of New York · 2020-2024 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Phoenix Country Day School · Classes of 2021-25 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Pingree School · 2021–2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Agnes Irwin School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Benjamin Private School, Inc. · Classes of 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Meadows School · Over the past five years (2020 to 2024) As published 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Wilbraham & Monson Academy · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
La Jolla Country Day School · 2023-2025 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
The Hockaday School · 2024 – 2026 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
Westridge School · 2021-2023 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
Albany Academies · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Athenian School · In the past four years, (2023-2026) As published 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Beaver Country Day School · Five Year Summary 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Canterbury School · 2019-2024 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
Catlin Gabel School · last four years 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Charles Wright Academy · Class of 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Emma Willard School · Classes of 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Greenhill School · 2022 - 2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Harrisburg Academy · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Hawaii Preparatory Academy · The classes of 2017 to 2020 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Keystone School · 2020-2025 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
Landon School · College Admittance 2023-2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Loyola School · 2023-2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Malvern Preparatory School · Classes of 2022-2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Northwood School · Classes of 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Oregon Episcopal School · Classes of 2022-26 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Santa Fe Preparatory School · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
St. Christopher's School · 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Berkeley Carroll School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Browning School · Classes of 2022-26 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Bush School · 2020-2025 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
The Seven Hills School · 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
University Prep · 2022–2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Ysc Academy · 2015-2025 0.1 · 1 over 11 class years

Published, but not ranked — these schools name Princeton University on a list of where their graduates enrolled whose class years we cannot read ("Since 2023", or no class year printed), so their totals are shown rather than divided: St Andrew'S School (9, Since 2023); Pierrepont School (2, not stated); Woodlawn School (2, not stated); Garrison Forest School (1, Three-Year Survey).

How this is counted

182 high schools publish a numbered matriculation list — where their graduates actually enrolled, counted, in the school's own School Profile — and name Princeton University on it. Between them they printed 694 enrolled graduates. Ranked by graduates per class year enrolling at Princeton University, from each school's own published list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, so a one-year list and a five-year list can sit on the same page. A list whose class years we cannot read is not divided by a guess — it is listed below with its total instead.

Is my high school on this list?

Admitted — from the schools' acceptance lists

The ten largest, per class year Admitted per class year
1 Princeton High SchoolPrinceton, NJ 19.0
3 Westlake High SchoolAustin, TX 2.0
4 The Chapin SchoolNew York, NY 1.8
5 Sage Hill SchoolNewport Coast, CA 1.0
6 Arcadia High SchoolArcadia, CA 1.0
7 Chaminade College PreparatoryWest Hills, CA 1.0
8 Mira Costa High SchoolManhattan Beach, CA 1.0
9 Professional Childrens SchoolNew York, NY 1.0
10 Wilmington Friends SchoolWilmington, DE 0.5
All 13 schools, with the class years each list covers
Princeton High School · Class of 2025 · counted column: Number of Acceptances 19.0 · 19 over 1 class year
Bronx High School of Science (The) · 2025 14.0 · 14 over 1 class year
Westlake High School · Class of 2025 · counted column: # Admitted As published 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Chapin School · 2022-2026 · counted column: Admitted 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
Sage Hill School · 2023-2025 1.0 · 3 over 3 class years
Arcadia High School · Class of 2026 · counted column: Accepted 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Chaminade College Preparatory · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Mira Costa High School · 2022-2026 College Admission Data · counted column: The first column represents the number of students admitted from the Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Professional Childrens School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Wilmington Friends School · 2023 & 2024 0.5 · 1 over 2 class years
Lycée Français de San Francisco · Classes 2022, 2023, 2024 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
Key School · 2021 - 2026 · counted column: Acceptances 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years
The Altamont School · Classes of 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
How this is counted

13 high schools publish a numbered list of college acceptances — where their graduates were admitted, not where they enrolled — and name Princeton University on it. Between them they printed 55 admissions. Ranked by admissions per class year to Princeton University, from each school's own published acceptances list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. Admits are counted at each college a student was admitted to, the same way the UC Reach Score counts a student admitted to three UC campuses three times — so this is a count of admissions, not of students. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, and a list whose class years we cannot read is listed below with its total rather than divided by a guess.

All 190 feeder schools, ranked →

Counted from each school's own published document, linked on that school's page. A high school that is not here does not publish a numbered list we could read — that is all absence means, and it says nothing about its graduates. Where a school publishes both, the two lists are shown separately: an acceptances list is not a list of enrollments, and the two are never added together.

Odds at Princeton University

Put in your child's GPA and score — we'll show where they land here. Free, and nothing to sign up for.

Most families report the weighted one — it's the higher number, with honors and AP credit in it.

—

This reads the numbers — admit rate, scores, GPA. The real decision also weighs essays, recommendations, activities, and course rigor.

Get their full list — free Family Decision Report →

The free report adds every college on your list — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds, your real net price, and merit-scholarship eligibility. About a minute.

Live odds from each college's own published admissions data.

Parent/student verdict

Highly selective

Highly selective reach for nearly every applicant. Heavy discounting — among aid recipients average ~$6,128/yr net; strong students should also check the merit grid.

Best for

  • Strong academic profiles — students here cluster in the top test and GPA tiers (bands above)
  • Students drawn to Social Sciences or Engineering (the two biggest majors)
  • Research-oriented students (R1 — top tier of federal research funding)

The reality

  • You'd be near the bottom of their admitted class if: SAT below 1500, or ACT below 34, or unweighted GPA below 3.75 (test bands are the school's own; the 3.75 line is our estimate, not a published figure)
  • With selective universities, build a balanced college list of Reaches, Targets, and Safeties ⓘ
  • Big sticker, but don't rule it out on price — this school publishes tuition-free aid for families earning under $250,000. Without aid the full price is ~$84,040/yr; aid-receiving families average ~$6,128/yr — run the school's own net price calculator for your real number

Verdict is composed from this college's structured data (admit rate, SAT bands, net price with aid and at full price, Carnegie classification, scholarship grids) using transparent rule thresholds — not a chat-bot's opinion.

What are your child's odds here?

Enter their numbers once — this and every college page shows their verdict, and the UC campus cards on California school pages light up with it too. Free, no email.

Weighted is the higher GPA, with honors/AP credit in it — pick whichever your school reports. PSAT scores work in the SAT box.

Institutional snapshot

What kind of college is this?

Carnegie classification
R1: Doctoral - Very High Research Activity
Undergraduates
5,709
5,000 - 9,999 including graduate students
TuitionThe published full price before any aid. Families who don't qualify for need-based aid at a given college pay this, minus any merit scholarships — whether you qualify depends on the college's price and policies, not on any fixed income line.
$62,688
flat rate (no in/out-of-state split) · 2023–24 federal figure
Admit rateThe share of applicants a college accepts. Useful context, but your student's odds depend on their own grades and scores, not the average.
4.5%
Hyper-selective
SAT middle 50%The middle half of the enrolled first-years who sent this test scored in this range — a quarter of them scored BELOW the low end and still got in, and a quarter scored above the high end. At a test-optional college the students who submitted are often a minority of the class, so the range describes them rather than everyone who enrolled. Above the top number is a genuine strength; below the bottom isn't automatic rejection.
1500–1580
EBRW + Math composite
ACT middle 50%The middle half of the enrolled first-years who sent this test scored in this range — a quarter of them scored BELOW the low end and still got in, and a quarter scored above the high end. At a test-optional college the students who submitted are often a minority of the class, so the range describes them rather than everyone who enrolled. Above the top number is a genuine strength; below the bottom isn't automatic rejection.
34–35
composite
Test policy
Required
2023
10-yr earningsMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$110,066
median, after entry

Source: federal IPEDS Admissions 2023 for scores + admit rate; federal College Scorecard (20260606 vintage) for earnings + outcomes. SAT/ACT bands are the 25th–75th percentile of enrolled submitters.

High-school GPA

3.95 avg unweightedGPA on the plain 4.0 scale, no honors/AP bonus. When a college publishes an "average admitted GPA of 3.9," it's often this scale — don't compare it to a weighted 4.3. GPA, enrolled first-years

Enrolled first-years by GPA band: 4.00 72.9% · 3.75-3.99 23.3% · 3.50-3.74 2.7% · 3.25-3.49 0.7% · 3.00-3.24 0.3% · 2.50-2.99 0.1%

unweighted 4.0 scale. Princeton University Common Data Set 2024-2025, Section C11/C12 (enrolled first-year HS GPA) — accessed via secondary extractions (collegeadvisorhub.com, gradgpt.com, koppelmangroup.com) because the official ir.princeton.edu PDF was WAF-blocked (HTTP 403) to automated fetching ↗

As published by the college in its Common Data Set / admissions data (2024-25) (source linked above). GPA basis (weighted vs. unweighted vs. 4.0-scale) varies by college and is labeled above.

Outcomes & cost

What graduates actually earn, finish, and owe.

Federal College Scorecard data. Earnings are median annual income measured years after entering. Debt is for federal-aid borrowers only (cash-pay students aren't counted).

Earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$87,815
Earnings, 10 yrs after entryMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$110,066
Graduate within 6 yrsThe share of students who start here and finish a bachelor's within six years — the standard federal measure, and the one College Scorecard publishes. It is not a four-year rate. Read it as the odds of finishing at all: nationally about a third of students who start never do, and an unfinished degree is the most expensive outcome in this decision.
98%
Median debt (completers)The federal-loan balance of the typical graduating borrower. Families who pay cash aren't counted, so read it as "among those who borrowed."
$10,320

The real cost

What Princeton University actually costs

If you qualify for need aidGrant money based on your family's finances (via FAFSA and the college's own forms), not your student's stats.
$6,128/yr
average among aid-receiving families, all incomes — your number depends on your finances
If you don't
$84,040/yr
the full published price

Which side your family lands on isn't set by any national income line — it's set by Princeton University's own aid decision: the gap between its price and your family's finances.

Princeton University's own published aid policy · as published for 2025-26

Everything free under $150,000 income Tuition-free under $250,000 No loans in aid packages Meets 100% of demonstrated needThe gap between a college's full cost and what its formula says your family can afford to pay. "Meets 100% of need" means grants and work-study cover that entire gap — as the college calculates it, which may differ from what feels affordable to you.

Financial aid covers the full cost of attendance -- including tuition, housing, food, books and personal expenses -- for most families with incomes up to $150,000 a year. ... Most undergraduate families with incomes up to $250,000 will pay no tuition.

Income thresholds assume typical assets. Policy independently verified against the college's financial-aid pages ↗.

Get your family's number — Princeton University's Net Price Calculator ↗ 10–15 minutes; have a tax return handy. It's still an estimate — but it's this college's own, built from your family's numbers, not anyone's average.
Start your Family Decision Report →

Your odds + estimated cost across your whole college list, side by side.

The payoffTen years of typical graduate pay minus four years of cost — how many dollars ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten. Check both the full-price and with-aid versions to see which applies to you; median pay reflects who a college admits and what they study as much as the college itself., both ways

+$764K ahead at full price +$1.1M with aid
Full price, no aidThe all-in yearly price — tuition, housing, food, books, fees — before any aid. This is the real "full price," not just the tuition line. (4 yrs)
$336,160
~$84,040/yr all-in
Aid recipients pay (4 yrs)
$24,512
$6,128/yr average
10-yr earnings total
$1,100,660
$110,066/yr median, 10 yrs out
Years to recoup the cost
3.1 yrs
at full price (0.2 with aid), at the median earnings rate

Source: College Scorecard (average net price among Title IV first-time, full-time undergraduates who received aid) and each college's published cost of attendance. We don't show the federal net-price-by-income brackets: their categories were fixed in 2008 and never adjusted, and none of the averages is your family's own number — the full story. Payoff = (10-yr median earnings × 10) − (4 years of cost), in dollars — how far ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten; medians travel with the students a college admits and the majors they choose as much as with the college itself. Full price is the published cost of attendance; earnings are 10 years after enrollment, all majors combined.

What students study here

Most popular majors at Princeton University

Top 5 fields of study by bachelor's degrees awarded (most recent IPEDS Completions). Use this to see what Princeton University actually graduates — not just what it markets.

1. Social Sciences
253 degrees · 28.3%
Economics + poli sci sub-disciplines pay much more than sociology + anthropology.
2. Engineering
211 degrees · 23.6%
Engineering majors land high-paying technical roles. Top-earning sub-disciplines: petroleum, chemical, computer engineering.
3. Computer & Information Sciences
201 degrees · 22.5%
High-paying tech roles dominate. Median software roles cluster in the $90k-$130k range.
4. Biological & Biomedical Sciences
115 degrees · 12.9%
Many bio majors → med school / grad school. Direct-employment bio roles are lower-paid than that pipeline.
5. Public Administration & Social Services
114 degrees · 12.8%
Government, nonprofit, social work. Mission-driven; lower wages than private sector but stable.

What those majors earn here

Median earnings 4 years after entry, by major — Princeton University's own graduates, not national averages.

Major (CIP) Credential Cohort 1-yr earnings 4-yr earnings
Computer Science. Bachelor's Degree 172 $146,624 $217,973
Computer Engineering. Bachelor's Degree — — $214,274
Economics. Bachelor's Degree 122 $103,041 $160,763
Mechanical Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 53 $85,328 $115,927
Public Policy Analysis. Bachelor's Degree 120 $73,630 $107,792
Political Science and Government. Bachelor's Degree 48 $63,317 $88,576
History. Bachelor's Degree 68 $45,363 $80,347
Research and Experimental Psychology. Bachelor's Degree 36 $47,050 $63,216
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology. Bachelor's Degree 37 $53,038 $62,344
English Language and Literature, General. Bachelor's Degree 40 $35,178 $61,323

Sources: IPEDS Completions (C2023_a; bachelor's-level first majors, 2-digit CIP family — share is of the top 5 only) · College Scorecard program-level outcomes (PP-FOS). Full college-vs-major comparison: /college-outcomes →

Student body & economic mobility

Who attends here — and what the campus adds.

Opportunity Insights data. It measures two things at once: how many lower-income students a college enrols, and how many of them reach the top earnings quintile later. A high rate says the college does both — it does not establish that the campus caused the earnings, because the students it admits differ from the students it doesn't. Read it as a signal about access and destination, not as proof of value added.

Top-1% access
20.1%
from top-1% households
Mobility rateThe share of ALL students who arrived from the bottom 20% of family incomes AND reached the top 20% themselves by their early 30s — access and lift in one number, and a sign the campus itself adds earnings power.
1.4%
bottom 20% → top 20% by age 32
Upward rate
65.9%
of lower-income students who reach the top 20%
Pell recipientsStudents receiving federal Pell grants, which go to lower- and middle-income families — the standard shorthand for a college's economic mix.
19%
on federal need grants — context for these numbers

Full leaderboards: /college-mobility →

Alternatives to Princeton University

Matched not just by selectivity, but by strategic goal — what a family actually decides on.

Better merit-aid options
These similar-selectivity schools publish merit scholarships your family can plan around — your kid’s stats could unlock real scholarship dollars.
University of Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit
1 stats-based + 1 competitive scholarships
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit
5 competitive merit scholarships
Vanderbilt University
TN · Private nonprofit
4 competitive merit scholarships
Lower full price
Similar selectivity, but a meaningfully lower full sticker price — the comparison that matters most for families who won't qualify for much need-based aid.
University of Florida
FL · Public
$22,523/yr full price (in-state) · $61,517 less before aid for FL residents
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit
$22,690/yr full price · $61,350 less before aid
University of Missouri-Kansas City
MO · Public
$25,320/yr full price (in-state) · $58,720 less before aid for MO residents
Safer in-state options
Same state and similar selectivity, but with a more forgiving admit rate — useful safety / match anchors.
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public
65% admit rate (vs 4% here)
More students move up here
Per Opportunity Insights, a larger share of these campuses' lower-income students reach the top earnings quintile than at Princeton University. That reflects who they admit as well as what they do, so read it as a destination signal rather than proof of value added.
Stony Brook University
NY · Public
8.4% mobility rate (vs 1.4% here)
Binghamton University
NY · Public
5.1% mobility rate (vs 1.4% here)
Stevens Institute of Technology
NJ · Private nonprofit
4.3% mobility rate (vs 1.4% here)

Or compare any college side-by-side

Deciding on Princeton University?

Get the full picture in one free report — your child's Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds and your real net price, for Princeton University and every other college on your list.

Get your child's odds at Princeton University →

Score-odds calculator · Improve the score first · Find merit aid

For Parents

Get alerts when Princeton University's numbers change

New admit rates, costs, and outcomes — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

Princeton University is a private nonprofit four-year college in NJ. It admitted 4% of applicants (39,644 applied, 2023). Test policy: Required.

Middle 50% of enrolled first-years who submitted that test: SAT 1500–1580, ACT 34–35. Average enrolled GPA 3.95 (unweighted, 2024-25, as published by the college).

Cost: about $6,128 a year on average with aid, $84,040 a year at full price.

Median earnings ten years after entry: $110,066 a year. Payoff, meaning ten years of that pay minus four years of cost: $1,076,148 ahead with aid, $764,500 ahead at full price.

Highest median earnings four years after the degree, by program: Computer Science ($217,973); Computer Engineering ($214,274); Economics ($160,763).

Economic mobility (Opportunity Insights): 2% of students came from families in the bottom fifth of income, and 66% of those reached the top fifth as adults.

Aid pledge published by the college for 2025-26: families earning under $150,000 pay nothing; families earning under $250,000 pay no tuition; aid packages carry no loans; the college meets full demonstrated need.

High schools that publish a numbered matriculation list and name Princeton University: 182, 694 enrolled students between them — ranked by graduates per class year, most often Princeton High School (17.0 per class year, 17 over 1 class year, Class of 2025); The Hun School of Princeton (7.0 per class year, 7 over 1 class year, CLASS OF 2026 MATRICULATION); The Lawrenceville School (6.0 per class year, 30 over 5 class years, the last five years). Each figure is the number that school printed divided by the class years its own list covers; the totals and years are shown. These are the schools that publish such a list, not every school that sends students; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/princeton-university.

High schools that publish a numbered list of college acceptances naming Princeton University: 13, 55 admissions between them — ranked by admissions per class year, most often Princeton High School (19.0 per class year, 19 over 1 class year, Class of 2025, counted column "Number of Acceptances"); Bronx High School of Science (The) (14.0 per class year, 14 over 1 class year, 2025); Westlake High School (2.0 per class year, 2 over 1 class year, Class of 2025, counted column "# Admitted"). Admits are counted at each college, so this counts admissions, not students. These are a different set of documents from the matriculation lists above and the two are never added together; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/princeton-university.

Machine-readable version of this page: https://highschoolreach.com/colleges/princeton-university.json

Questions families ask

What is Princeton University's acceptance rate? Princeton University is a private nonprofit four-year college in NJ. It admitted 4% of applicants (39,644 applied, 2023). Test policy: Required.

Does Princeton University require the SAT or ACT? Princeton University is a private nonprofit four-year college in NJ. It admitted 4% of applicants (39,644 applied, 2023). Test policy: Required.

What SAT or ACT scores do Princeton University students have? Middle 50% of enrolled first-years who submitted that test: SAT 1500–1580, ACT 34–35. Average enrolled GPA 3.95 (unweighted, 2024-25, as published by the college).

How much does Princeton University cost? Cost: about $6,128 a year on average with aid, $84,040 a year at full price.

What do Princeton University graduates earn? Median earnings ten years after entry: $110,066 a year. Payoff, meaning ten years of that pay minus four years of cost: $1,076,148 ahead with aid, $764,500 ahead at full price.

Which majors at Princeton University pay the most? Highest median earnings four years after the degree, by program: Computer Science ($217,973); Computer Engineering ($214,274); Economics ($160,763).

Does Princeton University offer free tuition or meet full need? Aid pledge published by the college for 2025-26: families earning under $150,000 pay nothing; families earning under $250,000 pay no tuition; aid packages carry no loans; the college meets full demonstrated need.

Which high schools send the most graduates to Princeton University? The high schools sending the most graduates per class year to Princeton University, from each school's own published list: Princeton High School (17), The Hun School of Princeton (7), The Lawrenceville School (6), Jericho Senior High School (5), Brunswick School (4). 182 high schools' lists name Princeton University.

By major: AnthropologyArchitectureArt HistoryBiochemistryBiologyChemical EngineeringChemistryCivil EngineeringComputer EngineeringComputer ScienceEconomicsElectrical EngineeringEnglishGeology and Earth ScienceHistoryIndustrial EngineeringLinguisticsMathematicsMechanical EngineeringMusicNeurosciencePhilosophyPhysicsPolitical Science
+10 more programs
PsychologyReligious StudiesSociologyAfrican-American StudiesClassicsComparative LiteratureEast Asian StudiesFrench Language and LiteratureGerman Language and LiteraturePublic Policy Analysis

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

Get your child's odds →

What families ask next