By major · Linguistics
Where can your student actually get into linguistics?
Linguistics is a small major, and how hard it is to get in depends far more on the campus than on the subject. UCLA had 261 students apply naming linguistics and admitted 34, a 13% rate; Cal State San Marcos had 183 applicants and admitted 173, 94.5%. Most UC campuses admit students to the campus rather than to the major, so a UC number here describes what happened to the students who named linguistics, not a decision made by the linguistics department. The 18 colleges in California below come from the college systems' own reporting and the federal earnings data, assembled in one place.
At a glance · All states
- 182 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's linguistics program: 139 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 5 more report a linguistics admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 38 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of California-Los Angeles (105), University of California-Santa Barbara (93), University of California-Santa Cruz (61).
- 23 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Linguistics, Fall 2025: 261 applied, 34 admitted (13%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-San Bernardino — 100.0% (23 applied, 23 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Duke University, $88,098.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Brooklyn College, $3,103 per year.
Every California public campus that reports a linguistics number reports it for first-year applicants, so this is not a major where a freshman enters as a pre-major and applies into the program later. A college with no row here is not an easier door; it means the system publishes no separate linguistics figure for it, and the campus decision is the one that applies. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (23 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Linguistics, Fall 2025: 261 applied, 34 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Linguistics, Fall 2025: 23 applied, 23 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 261 applied, 34 admitted · admit GPA 4.18–4.31
|
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services, Other +1
105 graduates
|
13% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $62,927 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 445 applied, 101 admitted · admit GPA 4.13–4.29
|
Linguistics
49 graduates
|
23% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $76,724 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 683 applied, 275 admitted · admit GPA 4.09–4.28
|
Linguistics +1
93 graduates
|
40% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $61,580 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 198 applied, 92 admitted · admit GPA 4.11–4.28
|
Linguistics
10 graduates
|
46% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $55,776 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Language Science
Fall 2025: 336 applied, 163 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.25
|
— | 49% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 316 applied, 225 admitted · admit GPA 4.00–4.25
|
Linguistics
40 graduates
|
71% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $58,443 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 143 applied, 111 admitted
impacted
Linguistics and Anthropology: 70.6%
|
Linguistics
16 graduates
|
77.6% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $42,922 |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 224 applied, 180 admitted · admit GPA 3.86–4.23
|
Linguistics +2
61 graduates
|
80% | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | $49,763 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 92 applied, 76 admitted
impacted
|
Linguistics
27 graduates
|
82.6% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $38,996 |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 79 applied, 68 admitted
impacted
|
Linguistics
12 graduates
|
86.1% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | $29,715 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 45 applied, 39 admitted
impacted
|
Linguistics
10 graduates
|
86.7% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 43 applied, 38 admitted
|
Linguistics
16 graduates
|
88.4% | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | $32,939 |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 21 applied, 19 admitted
|
— | 90.5% | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | $48,959 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 193 applied, 182 admitted · admit GPA 3.64–4.16
|
Linguistics
42 graduates
|
94% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $46,306 |
|
California State University-San Marcos
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 183 applied, 173 admitted
|
— | 94.5% | 96% | $10,229 | $21,649 | — |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 40 applied, 38 admitted
|
— | 95.0% | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 35 applied, 34 admitted
|
Linguistics
10 graduates
|
97.1% | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
California State University-San Bernardino
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Linguistics
Fall 2025: 23 applied, 23 admitted
|
— | 100.0% | 98% | $4,564 | $17,427 | $49,732 |
|
Duke University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,612 | $87,072 | $88,098 |
|
Brandeis University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
11 graduates
|
— | 35% | $35,736 | $86,448 | $78,746 |
|
Emory University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
7 graduates
|
— | 11% | $22,585 | $83,622 | $76,993 |
|
Virginia Military Institute
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 82% | $17,113 | $34,824 | $73,971 |
|
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 57% | $24,953 | $36,951 | $68,263 |
|
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 63% | $21,315 | $32,696 | $66,241 |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
7 graduates
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | $65,667 |
|
Georgetown University
DC · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
21 graduates
|
— | 13% | $40,815 | $88,741 | $65,574 |
|
Stony Brook University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
33 graduates
|
— | 49% | $18,784 | $30,539 | $64,547 |
|
James Madison University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 76% | $23,322 | $31,735 | $62,366 |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
16 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | $61,774 |
|
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
5 graduates
|
— | 77% | $20,268 | $31,713 | $61,080 |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
39 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | $60,883 |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics +1
51 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | $60,469 |
|
North Carolina State University at Raleigh
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 40% | $17,303 | $26,425 | $60,031 |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
26 graduates
|
— | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | $59,742 |
|
George Mason University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 89% | $17,915 | $28,604 | $58,931 |
|
Appalachian State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services, Other
21 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,836 | $23,169 | $55,778 |
|
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 90% | $21,279 | $31,642 | $55,647 |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
42 graduates
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | $55,540 |
|
University of Southern Maine
ME · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
18 graduates
|
— | 79% | $13,596 | $23,717 | $55,435 |
|
Montana State University
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 87% | $22,499 | $25,905 | $55,352 |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
17 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | $55,137 |
|
The University of Texas at Dallas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 66% | $18,267 | $29,807 | $54,985 |
|
Northern Arizona University
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 91% | $14,158 | $29,933 | $54,276 |
|
Binghamton University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
29 graduates
|
— | 38% | $21,620 | $30,345 | $54,215 |
|
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
15 graduates
|
— | 19% | $11,655 | $26,055 | $54,181 |
|
Christopher Newport University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 88% | $23,015 | $33,766 | $53,564 |
|
Gordon College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 59% | $24,883 | $42,446 | $53,475 |
|
Western Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 75% | $12,937 | $28,254 | $53,453 |
|
University of Mary Washington
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 86% | $20,667 | $31,137 | $53,282 |
|
Ramapo College of New Jersey
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 73% | $18,173 | $29,483 | $53,085 |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
24 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | $52,805 |
|
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 46% | $18,976 | $33,678 | $52,703 |
|
Clemson University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 38% | $22,253 | $35,015 | $52,044 |
|
Portland State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
16 graduates
|
— | 91% | $9,552 | $21,590 | $51,925 |
|
Stephen F Austin State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 88% | $14,260 | $25,791 | $51,494 |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
15 graduates
|
— | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | $51,416 |
|
Metropolitan State University of Denver
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
8 graduates
|
— | 99% | $15,327 | $24,622 | $50,926 |
|
Hofstra University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
4 graduates
|
— | 71% | $34,176 | $70,624 | $50,571 |
|
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 95% | $15,699 | $25,161 | $48,495 |
|
West Virginia University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 86% | $15,634 | $26,415 | $48,331 |
|
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
45 graduates
|
— | 24% | $6,541 | $22,523 | $48,198 |
|
Colorado State University Pueblo
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 100% | $10,051 | $23,937 | $47,362 |
|
Florida Atlantic University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 73% | $8,752 | $21,522 | $46,915 |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
21 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | $46,886 |
|
University of Nebraska at Omaha
NE · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 87% | $13,441 | $21,120 | $46,595 |
|
Towson University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 83% | $17,413 | $28,535 | $46,447 |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
11 graduates
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | $46,081 |
|
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 93% | $23,433 | $38,954 | $45,607 |
|
University of Kentucky
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services, Other +1
29 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,851 | $34,391 | $45,148 |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
30 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | $44,941 |
|
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
19 graduates
|
— | 69% | $20,995 | $30,785 | $44,841 |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
27 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | $44,615 |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics +1
22 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | $44,336 |
|
University of South Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 41% | $9,812 | $22,859 | $43,813 |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | $43,666 |
|
East Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 90% | $15,739 | $23,867 | $43,012 |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
7 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | $42,905 |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
19 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | $42,321 |
|
The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 77% | $14,265 | $25,489 | $42,031 |
|
Montclair State University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
55 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,566 | $28,305 | $42,017 |
|
The University of Texas at San Antonio
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 88% | $10,836 | $22,352 | $41,778 |
|
Missouri State University-Springfield
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 91% | $17,613 | $25,048 | $41,766 |
|
University of Vermont
VT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
7 graduates
|
— | 60% | $19,343 | $35,649 | $41,124 |
|
University of Missouri-St Louis
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 57% | $15,071 | $31,199 | $40,768 |
|
Iowa State University
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
16 graduates
|
— | 89% | $18,589 | $24,018 | $40,726 |
|
University of South Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 66% | $17,648 | $25,476 | $40,641 |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | $40,432 |
|
Georgia State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
29 graduates
|
— | 62% | $15,931 | $28,241 | $40,310 |
|
The University of Texas at El Paso
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
25 graduates
|
— | 100% | $9,403 | $19,836 | $39,907 |
|
University of Memphis
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 93% | $12,397 | $25,169 | $39,001 |
|
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
8 graduates
|
— | 82% | $12,766 | $27,350 | $38,926 |
|
University of Central Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
9 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,511 | $25,029 | $38,631 |
|
University of North Texas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
22 graduates
|
— | 72% | $15,649 | $26,243 | $37,441 |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 53% | $9,175 | — | $31,930 |
|
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,489 | $21,259 | $31,036 |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
37 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
34 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
24 graduates
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | — |
|
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
23 graduates
|
— | 83% | $25,346 | $37,684 | — |
|
Boston University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics +1
19 graduates
|
— | 11% | $24,402 | $86,285 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
16 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
Oakland University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
15 graduates
|
— | 70% | $9,120 | $25,182 | — |
|
William & Mary
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
15 graduates
|
— | 33% | $19,096 | $43,035 | — |
|
Dartmouth College
NH · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
14 graduates
|
— | 6% | $29,519 | $87,793 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Arlington
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
14 graduates
|
— | 81% | $13,951 | $25,261 | — |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
14 graduates
|
— | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | — |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
14 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | — |
|
University of Rochester
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
14 graduates
|
— | 36% | $29,278 | $85,962 | — |
|
University of Kansas
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
13 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,059 | $26,751 | — |
|
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
12 graduates
|
— | 68% | $4,195 | $14,367 | — |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
12 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | — |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
12 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics +1
12 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
Northeastern University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
11 graduates
|
— | 6% | $30,915 | $84,641 | — |
|
Rowan University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services, Other
11 graduates
|
— | 78% | $22,408 | $35,842 | — |
|
Saint Joseph's University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
11 graduates
|
— | 86% | $29,689 | $67,954 | — |
|
Bryn Mawr College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
10 graduates
|
— | 31% | $31,759 | $83,250 | — |
|
Reed College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
10 graduates
|
— | 27% | $33,013 | $86,376 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
10 graduates
|
— | 88% | $15,014 | $22,756 | — |
|
CUNY Lehman College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
9 graduates
|
— | 55% | $3,148 | $14,121 | — |
|
Rice University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
9 graduates
|
— | 8% | $13,370 | $79,788 | — |
|
University of Hawaii at Hilo
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
9 graduates
|
— | 90% | $11,856 | $21,173 | — |
|
University of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
9 graduates
|
— | 6% | $28,699 | $89,028 | — |
|
Yale University
CT · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
9 graduates
|
— | 4% | $23,777 | $88,300 | — |
|
Carleton College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
8 graduates
|
— | 22% | $25,407 | $84,893 | — |
|
Harvard University
MA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
8 graduates
|
— | 4% | $19,066 | $85,540 | — |
|
Miami University-Oxford
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
8 graduates
|
— | 82% | $28,384 | $38,757 | — |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Linguistics
8 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
8 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
8 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Tulane University of Louisiana
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
8 graduates
|
— | 15% | $39,949 | $87,004 | — |
|
University of Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
8 graduates
|
— | 5% | $14,860 | $90,360 | — |
|
Macalester College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
7 graduates
|
— | 28% | $32,149 | $82,991 | — |
|
Princeton University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
7 graduates
|
— | 4% | $6,128 | $84,040 | — |
|
The University of Montana
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
7 graduates
|
— | 96% | $16,784 | $23,570 | — |
|
Truman State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
7 graduates
|
— | 80% | $12,780 | $25,115 | — |
|
Boise State University
ID · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 84% | $21,610 | $28,224 | — |
|
CUNY Brooklyn College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 54% | $3,103 | $14,151 | — |
|
Cedarville University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 63% | $24,468 | $49,320 | — |
|
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,167 | $91,250 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
University at Albany
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 70% | $17,167 | $28,802 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
University of New Hampshire-Main Campus
NH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
6 graduates
|
— | 87% | $23,805 | $35,537 | — |
|
Ashford University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Linguistics
5 graduates
|
— | — | $31,266 | — | — |
|
Cleveland State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
5 graduates
|
— | 96% | $14,764 | $27,159 | — |
|
Haverford College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
5 graduates
|
— | 13% | $25,314 | $90,382 | — |
|
University of Mississippi
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
5 graduates
|
— | 98% | $13,314 | $28,660 | — |
|
Bucknell University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
4 graduates
|
— | 32% | $40,766 | $83,756 | — |
|
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
4 graduates
|
— | 4% | $21,590 | $89,472 | — |
|
Swarthmore College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
4 graduates
|
— | 7% | $23,149 | $84,103 | — |
|
Washington University in St Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
4 graduates
|
— | 12% | $21,786 | $88,488 | — |
|
Bennington College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
3 graduates
|
— | 48% | $30,947 | $87,284 | — |
|
Carnegie Mellon University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
3 graduates
|
— | 11% | $31,944 | $83,654 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Syracuse University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
3 graduates
|
— | 42% | $38,793 | $84,517 | — |
|
Union University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
3 graduates
|
— | 47% | $27,171 | $58,363 | — |
|
Baylor University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
2 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,104 | $74,226 | — |
|
Boston College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
2 graduates
|
— | 16% | $41,704 | $89,493 | — |
|
Cornerstone University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $20,301 | $42,043 | — |
|
Lawrence University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
2 graduates
|
— | 63% | $23,401 | $69,849 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Duluth
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,743 | $27,680 | — |
|
Bard College at Simon's Rock
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Brown University
RI · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 5% | $25,184 | $87,648 | — |
|
Calvin University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $22,992 | $54,222 | — |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | — |
|
Gallaudet University
DC · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services, Other
1 graduate
|
— | 61% | $15,845 | $40,374 | — |
|
Hampshire College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $24,034 | $74,195 | — |
|
Johnson University
TN · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $22,063 | $34,244 | — |
|
Johnson University Florida
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 23% | — | — | — |
|
Lubbock Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 73% | $24,456 | $41,944 | — |
|
Murray State University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services, Other
1 graduate
|
— | 86% | $9,096 | $23,485 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Seattle Pacific University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $24,488 | $56,826 | — |
|
State University of New York at Oswego
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $16,236 | $27,052 | — |
|
University of Alaska Fairbanks
AK · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | — | $10,892 | — | — |
|
University of Michigan-Flint
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $7,007 | $20,915 | — |
|
Wichita State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Linguistics
1 graduate
|
— | 95% | $13,194 | $21,780 | — |
|
Kansas State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 79% | $19,406 | $27,402 | — |
|
University of Maryland-Baltimore County
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 74% | $16,467 | $28,576 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 90% | $10,965 | $21,373 | — |
|
University of North Georgia
GA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 72% | $9,823 | $18,177 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/linguistics, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a linguistics applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A linguistics list needs the rate reported for the major where a campus publishes one, the price after aid next to each name, and the department's own course list, because the same word covers programs that study very different things. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359