By major · Asian Studies
Where can your student actually get into Asian studies?
In 2022-23, 85 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in Asian studies, 11 of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of Maryland Global Campus, with 49 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 86 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's Asian studies program: 85 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Maryland Global Campus (49), University of California-Los Angeles (27), Florida International University (21).
- 12 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): San Diego State University — Asian Studies, Fall 2025: 25 applied, 17 admitted (68.0%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Sacramento — 92.3% (13 applied, 12 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: Berea College, $6,106 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (12 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Asian Studies, Fall 2025: 25 applied, 17 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Asian Studies, Fall 2025: 13 applied, 12 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Asian Studies
Fall 2025: 25 applied, 17 admitted
impacted
|
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
68.0% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Asian Studies
Fall 2025: 22 applied, 16 admitted
impacted
|
Asian Studies/Civilization
17 graduates
|
72.7% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Asian Studies
Fall 2025: 93 applied, 82 admitted · admit GPA 3.46–4.00
|
Asian Studies/Civilization
6 graduates
|
88% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Asian Studies
Fall 2025: 13 applied, 12 admitted
|
Asian Studies/Civilization
8 graduates
|
92.3% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | — |
|
University of Maryland Global Campus
MD · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
49 graduates
|
— | — | $22,063 | — | — |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
27 graduates
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | — |
|
Florida International University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
21 graduates
|
— | 59% | $9,288 | $21,462 | — |
|
Dartmouth College
NH · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
17 graduates
|
— | 6% | $29,519 | $87,793 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
15 graduates
|
— | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | — |
|
Kennesaw State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
13 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,048 | $24,008 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
13 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
13 graduates
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | — |
|
Amherst College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
12 graduates
|
— | 10% | $23,367 | $87,640 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Boston
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
11 graduates
|
— | 83% | $17,707 | $30,544 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
11 graduates
|
— | 19% | $11,655 | $26,055 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
10 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
10 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | — |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
10 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | — |
|
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
9 graduates
|
— | 70% | $15,664 | $26,433 | — |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
9 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
9 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | — |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
8 graduates
|
— | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
8 graduates
|
— | 88% | $25,648 | $32,171 | — |
|
Vanderbilt University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
8 graduates
|
— | 6% | $15,846 | $89,590 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
7 graduates
|
— | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | — |
|
Barnard College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
6 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,800 | $89,538 | — |
|
Binghamton University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
6 graduates
|
— | 38% | $21,620 | $30,345 | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
6 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
5 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | — |
|
Furman University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
5 graduates
|
— | 53% | $30,308 | $76,798 | — |
|
Old Dominion University
VA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
5 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,638 | $29,446 | — |
|
State University of New York at New Paltz
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
5 graduates
|
— | 59% | $18,809 | $28,428 | — |
|
Stony Brook University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
5 graduates
|
— | 49% | $18,784 | $30,539 | — |
|
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
5 graduates
|
— | 83% | $28,198 | $40,903 | — |
|
University of Maryland-Baltimore County
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
5 graduates
|
— | 74% | $16,467 | $28,576 | — |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
4 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | — |
|
Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
4 graduates
|
— | 91% | $16,804 | $26,898 | — |
|
Carleton College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
3 graduates
|
— | 22% | $25,407 | $84,893 | — |
|
College of Saint Benedict
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
3 graduates
|
— | 91% | $26,640 | $68,453 | — |
|
Seattle University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
3 graduates
|
— | 76% | $34,662 | $72,124 | — |
|
St Olaf College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
3 graduates
|
— | 52% | $23,874 | $71,843 | — |
|
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
3 graduates
|
— | 83% | $25,346 | $37,684 | — |
|
University of Louisville
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
3 graduates
|
— | 80% | $17,988 | $32,941 | — |
|
Utah State University
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
3 graduates
|
— | 94% | — | $21,654 | — |
|
William Paterson University of New Jersey
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
3 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,745 | $28,476 | — |
|
Augustana College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 68% | $22,736 | $63,553 | — |
|
Berea College
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 33% | $6,106 | $60,718 | — |
|
Birmingham-Southern College
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 52% | — | — | — |
|
Bowdoin College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 8% | $14,398 | $85,100 | — |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | — |
|
Hobart William Smith Colleges
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 57% | $31,563 | $82,602 | — |
|
Knox College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $24,595 | $68,134 | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
Macalester College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 28% | $32,149 | $82,991 | — |
|
Northeastern University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 6% | $30,915 | $84,641 | — |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | — |
|
Pace University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 77% | $30,892 | $69,550 | — |
|
Rollins College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 41% | $34,732 | $76,108 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
Swarthmore College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 7% | $23,149 | $84,103 | — |
|
Tulane University of Louisiana
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 15% | $39,949 | $87,004 | — |
|
Union College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 44% | $34,561 | $84,561 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 96% | $10,359 | $19,638 | — |
|
University of Northern Colorado
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 86% | $17,760 | $29,254 | — |
|
University of Vermont
VT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
2 graduates
|
— | 60% | $19,343 | $35,649 | — |
|
American University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 47% | $41,943 | $76,058 | — |
|
Belmont University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $33,147 | $62,570 | — |
|
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 81% | $24,022 | $33,007 | — |
|
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 29% | $41,190 | $85,851 | — |
|
Hamilton College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 12% | $28,985 | $84,230 | — |
|
Lewis & Clark College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 74% | $36,013 | $79,987 | — |
|
Marietta College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 79% | $21,083 | $53,709 | — |
|
Randolph-Macon College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 83% | $27,866 | $63,985 | — |
|
Rice University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 8% | $13,370 | $79,788 | — |
|
Saint Johns University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $25,672 | $68,521 | — |
|
Seattle Pacific University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $24,488 | $56,826 | — |
|
Seton Hall University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 79% | $31,446 | $68,263 | — |
|
St. Mary's College of Maryland
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 75% | $18,441 | $31,865 | — |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of Illinois Chicago
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 78% | $10,974 | $27,521 | — |
|
University of San Francisco
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 51% | $41,431 | $80,141 | — |
|
Vassar College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 18% | $39,343 | $87,419 | — |
|
Western Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 97% | $10,990 | $24,188 | — |
|
Willamette University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Asian Studies/Civilization
1 graduate
|
— | 79% | $25,121 | $67,501 | — |
|
California State University-Dominguez Hills
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 91% | $8,615 | $23,191 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/asian-studies, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a Asian studies applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 85 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359