By major · Fashion Merchandising
Where can your student actually get into fashion merchandising?
In 2022-23, 60 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in fashion merchandising, one of them in California. The biggest program that year was Fashion Institute of Technology, with 406 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 60 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's fashion merchandising program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Fashion Institute of Technology (406), Kent State University at Kent (232), LIM College (109).
- 1 of them is in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY New York City College of Technology, $5,127 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (1 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Fashion Institute of Technology
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
406 graduates
|
— | 58% | — | $26,838 | — |
|
Kent State University at Kent
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
232 graduates
|
— | 87% | $20,787 | $30,567 | — |
|
LIM College
NY · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
109 graduates
|
— | 99% | $38,667 | $53,064 | — |
|
Marist College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
97 graduates
|
— | 65% | $41,544 | $67,574 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
82 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
Texas State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
67 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,805 | $28,073 | — |
|
University of North Texas
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
66 graduates
|
— | 72% | $15,649 | $26,243 | — |
|
Texas Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
58 graduates
|
— | 43% | $36,660 | $76,604 | — |
|
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
49 graduates
|
— | 77% | $20,268 | $31,713 | — |
|
Southern New Hampshire University
NH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
39 graduates
|
— | 96% | $36,708 | $40,918 | — |
|
CUNY New York City College of Technology
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
33 graduates
|
— | 81% | $5,127 | $14,110 | — |
|
Thomas Jefferson University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
27 graduates
|
— | 86% | $28,928 | $64,197 | — |
|
Ball State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
25 graduates
|
— | 72% | $14,940 | $26,146 | — |
|
Central Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
23 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,597 | $30,681 | — |
|
Lasell University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
22 graduates
|
— | 82% | $27,511 | $42,434 | — |
|
Sacred Heart University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
22 graduates
|
— | 68% | $46,174 | $69,289 | — |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
21 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | — |
|
Mercyhurst University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
17 graduates
|
— | 83% | $19,444 | $59,557 | — |
|
Johnson & Wales University-Providence
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
16 graduates
|
— | 84% | $31,027 | $60,314 | — |
|
Lynn University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
16 graduates
|
— | 74% | $44,089 | $67,880 | — |
|
Sam Houston State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
16 graduates
|
— | 85% | $16,404 | $25,505 | — |
|
Berkeley College-New York
NY · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
15 graduates
|
— | — | $34,124 | — | — |
|
University of Central Missouri
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
14 graduates
|
— | 69% | $14,462 | $22,947 | — |
|
Baylor University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
13 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,104 | $74,226 | — |
|
Berkeley College-Woodland Park
NJ · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
13 graduates
|
— | — | $27,100 | — | — |
|
Seattle Pacific University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
13 graduates
|
— | 91% | $24,488 | $56,826 | — |
|
Academy of Art University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
12 graduates
|
— | — | $40,613 | — | — |
|
Johnson & Wales University-Online
RI · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
10 graduates
|
— | — | $20,252 | — | — |
|
Meredith College
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
10 graduates
|
— | 75% | $22,488 | $57,313 | — |
|
Long Island University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
9 graduates
|
— | 90% | $33,062 | $55,424 | — |
|
Marymount Manhattan College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
9 graduates
|
— | 79% | $36,861 | $65,767 | — |
|
Texas Woman's University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
9 graduates
|
— | 95% | $11,963 | $22,234 | — |
|
High Point University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
8 graduates
|
— | 77% | $38,707 | $65,548 | — |
|
Mount Mary University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
8 graduates
|
— | 93% | $20,144 | $49,270 | — |
|
Northwood University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
8 graduates
|
— | 84% | $27,232 | $48,780 | — |
|
Stevenson University
MD · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
8 graduates
|
— | 83% | $26,505 | $58,394 | — |
|
Belmont University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
7 graduates
|
— | 96% | $33,147 | $62,570 | — |
|
Dominican University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
7 graduates
|
— | 80% | $11,745 | $43,891 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
7 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Lindenwood University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
7 graduates
|
— | 66% | $19,638 | $35,436 | — |
|
St Catherine University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
7 graduates
|
— | 94% | $19,764 | $60,476 | — |
|
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
7 graduates
|
— | 80% | $12,767 | $21,708 | — |
|
Fisher College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
6 graduates
|
— | 71% | $26,649 | $53,921 | — |
|
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
5 graduates
|
— | 75% | — | $58,022 | — |
|
Lipscomb University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
5 graduates
|
— | 67% | $24,739 | $55,117 | — |
|
University of Southern Mississippi
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
5 graduates
|
— | 99% | $21,708 | $26,566 | — |
|
Ashland University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
4 graduates
|
— | 81% | $21,988 | $43,434 | — |
|
Fontbonne University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
4 graduates
|
— | 95% | — | — | — |
|
Immaculata University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
4 graduates
|
— | 78% | $24,258 | $43,979 | — |
|
Marymount University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
4 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,137 | $57,184 | — |
|
Southeast Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
4 graduates
|
— | 78% | $15,882 | $25,177 | — |
|
Adrian College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
3 graduates
|
— | 68% | $25,368 | $56,003 | — |
|
Stephens College
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
3 graduates
|
— | 92% | $23,459 | $46,643 | — |
|
Carson-Newman University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
2 graduates
|
— | 68% | $20,251 | $49,024 | — |
|
Eastern Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
2 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,786 | $26,996 | — |
|
Eastern Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
2 graduates
|
— | 78% | $11,040 | $23,735 | — |
|
Harding University
AR · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
2 graduates
|
— | 100% | $22,130 | $39,534 | — |
|
Arcadia University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
1 graduate
|
— | 79% | $29,466 | $64,645 | — |
|
Central Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
1 graduate
|
— | 90% | $18,476 | $28,816 | — |
|
Ursuline College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Fashion Merchandising
1 graduate
|
— | 84% | $16,164 | $50,523 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/fashion-merchandising, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a fashion merchandising applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 60 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359