By major · Biological and Physical Sciences
Where can your student actually get into biological and physical sciences?
In 2022-23, 89 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in biological and physical sciences, one of them in California. The biggest program that year was Florida International University, with 133 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 89 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's biological and physical sciences program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Florida International University (133), Portland State University (112), University of Georgia (98).
- 1 of them is in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Hunter College, $2,984 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (1 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Florida International University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
133 graduates
|
— | 59% | $9,288 | $21,462 | — |
|
Portland State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
112 graduates
|
— | 91% | $9,552 | $21,590 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
98 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
The Evergreen State College
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
95 graduates
|
— | 97% | $24,319 | $28,477 | — |
|
University of Oregon
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
94 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,182 | $34,793 | — |
|
Bard College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
90 graduates
|
— | 52% | $34,649 | $84,553 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
89 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
81 graduates
|
— | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | — |
|
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
72 graduates
|
— | 93% | $23,433 | $38,954 | — |
|
Florida Atlantic University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
71 graduates
|
— | 73% | $8,752 | $21,522 | — |
|
Thomas Edison State University
NJ · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
69 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
67 graduates
|
— | 54% | $2,984 | $13,905 | — |
|
University of Notre Dame
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
61 graduates
|
— | 12% | $26,780 | $83,271 | — |
|
Palmer College of Chiropractic
IA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
51 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Whitworth University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
50 graduates
|
— | 87% | $26,534 | $68,516 | — |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
49 graduates
|
— | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | — |
|
New College of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
45 graduates
|
— | 74% | $7,195 | $24,449 | — |
|
University of Alaska Anchorage
AK · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
37 graduates
|
— | 66% | $15,301 | $24,096 | — |
|
Georgetown University
DC · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
32 graduates
|
— | 13% | $40,815 | $88,741 | — |
|
Washington State University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
28 graduates
|
— | 85% | $14,971 | $27,648 | — |
|
Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
25 graduates
|
— | 91% | $16,804 | $26,898 | — |
|
University of Houston-Downtown
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
25 graduates
|
— | 91% | $10,542 | $20,749 | — |
|
University of Puget Sound
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
25 graduates
|
— | 76% | $38,394 | $78,378 | — |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
22 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | — |
|
Fordham University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
21 graduates
|
— | 56% | $44,338 | $82,762 | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
20 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
Grand Valley State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
18 graduates
|
— | 95% | $16,317 | $28,367 | — |
|
Indiana University-Kokomo
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
17 graduates
|
— | 85% | $3,968 | $11,837 | — |
|
University of Virginia's College at Wise
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
17 graduates
|
— | 94% | $9,210 | $26,593 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
16 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,071 | $28,795 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
16 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Berks
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
14 graduates
|
— | 97% | $24,356 | $32,242 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
14 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,559 | $20,079 | — |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
13 graduates
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | — |
|
Adelphi University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
12 graduates
|
— | 78% | $30,783 | $63,189 | — |
|
Dominican University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
12 graduates
|
— | 80% | $11,745 | $43,891 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Harrisburg
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
12 graduates
|
— | 96% | $23,330 | $32,521 | — |
|
Regent University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
12 graduates
|
— | 41% | $19,923 | $32,838 | — |
|
Spalding University
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
11 graduates
|
— | 99% | $25,491 | $45,530 | — |
|
The University of Texas at San Antonio
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
11 graduates
|
— | 88% | $10,836 | $22,352 | — |
|
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
10 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,167 | $91,250 | — |
|
Pennsylvania Western University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
10 graduates
|
— | 94% | $18,256 | $26,916 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
10 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | — |
|
Alaska Pacific University
AK · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
9 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Virginia Wesleyan University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
9 graduates
|
— | 71% | $19,676 | $51,255 | — |
|
Delta State University
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
8 graduates
|
— | 100% | $13,540 | $22,445 | — |
|
Texas Tech University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
8 graduates
|
— | 71% | $19,070 | $27,443 | — |
|
University of Denver
CO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
8 graduates
|
— | 71% | $36,131 | $78,476 | — |
|
University of Northern Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
8 graduates
|
— | 94% | $15,901 | $22,278 | — |
|
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
7 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,404 | $50,305 | — |
|
Peru State College
NE · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
7 graduates
|
— | — | $11,632 | — | — |
|
Saint Anselm College
NH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
7 graduates
|
— | 78% | $34,779 | $67,213 | — |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Greensburg
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
7 graduates
|
— | 98% | $17,945 | $30,141 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
7 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,032 | $21,266 | — |
|
Saint Norbert College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
6 graduates
|
— | 92% | $26,172 | $59,422 | — |
|
University of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
6 graduates
|
— | 6% | $28,699 | $89,028 | — |
|
Elmira College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
5 graduates
|
— | 91% | $22,386 | $52,449 | — |
|
Bluefield State University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
4 graduates
|
— | 87% | $13,684 | $21,839 | — |
|
Calumet College of Saint Joseph
IN · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
4 graduates
|
— | — | $22,451 | — | — |
|
Saint Xavier University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
4 graduates
|
— | 86% | $10,970 | $43,244 | — |
|
Sam Houston State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
4 graduates
|
— | 85% | $16,404 | $25,505 | — |
|
University of South Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
4 graduates
|
— | 41% | $9,812 | $22,859 | — |
|
Cottey College
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
3 graduates
|
— | 66% | $13,805 | $39,269 | — |
|
Maryville University of Saint Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
3 graduates
|
— | 94% | $22,066 | $41,959 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Scranton
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
3 graduates
|
— | 95% | $17,910 | $27,862 | — |
|
Stony Brook University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
3 graduates
|
— | 49% | $18,784 | $30,539 | — |
|
University of West Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
3 graduates
|
— | 87% | $12,684 | $22,758 | — |
|
Alvernia University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
2 graduates
|
— | 62% | $28,138 | $57,565 | — |
|
Cambridge College
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
2 graduates
|
— | — | $31,072 | — | — |
|
Duke University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
2 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,612 | $87,072 | — |
|
Mississippi State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
2 graduates
|
— | 76% | $17,595 | $29,267 | — |
|
Northwest Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
2 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,244 | $24,945 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State York
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
2 graduates
|
— | 92% | $19,047 | $27,826 | — |
|
University of Central Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
2 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,511 | $25,029 | — |
|
University of Southern Indiana
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
2 graduates
|
— | 95% | — | $22,383 | — |
|
University of West Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
2 graduates
|
— | 57% | $9,364 | $19,947 | — |
|
Alfred University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 48% | $25,620 | $57,445 | — |
|
Bennington College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 48% | $30,947 | $87,284 | — |
|
Colorado Christian University
CO · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | — | $29,500 | — | — |
|
Concordia University-Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $18,436 | $45,383 | — |
|
Indiana University-Indianapolis
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 81% | $11,668 | $23,316 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-World Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 80% | $19,550 | $27,678 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
St Catherine University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 94% | $19,764 | $60,476 | — |
|
The New School
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 62% | $58,741 | $88,284 | — |
|
University of Alaska Fairbanks
AK · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | — | $10,892 | — | — |
|
University of Arkansas at Monticello
AR · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Superior
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 94% | $12,220 | $19,860 | — |
|
Wesleyan University
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biological and Physical Sciences
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $30,177 | $89,020 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/biological-and-physical-sciences, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a biological and physical sciences applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 89 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359