By major · Photography
Where can your student actually get into photography?
In 2022-23, 101 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in photography, 8 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Southern New Hampshire University, with 130 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 103 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's photography program: 101 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a photography admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Southern New Hampshire University (130), Savannah College of Art and Design (93), School of Visual Arts (79).
- 10 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California State University-East Bay — Photography, Fall 2025: 105 applied, 91 admitted (86.7%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Sacramento — 93.2% (118 applied, 110 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Queens College, $4,195 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (10 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Photography, Fall 2025: 105 applied, 91 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Photography, Fall 2025: 118 applied, 110 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Photography
Fall 2025: 105 applied, 91 admitted
|
— | 86.7% | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Photography
Fall 2025: 118 applied, 110 admitted
|
Photography
23 graduates
|
93.2% | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | — |
|
Southern New Hampshire University
NH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
130 graduates
|
— | 96% | $36,708 | $40,918 | — |
|
Savannah College of Art and Design
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
93 graduates
|
— | 84% | $49,430 | $63,627 | — |
|
School of Visual Arts
NY · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
79 graduates
|
— | 91% | $57,914 | $78,051 | — |
|
Rochester Institute of Technology
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
58 graduates
|
— | 71% | $34,906 | $74,626 | — |
|
The New School
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
53 graduates
|
— | 62% | $58,741 | $88,284 | — |
|
Columbia College Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
44 graduates
|
— | 91% | $26,598 | $51,889 | — |
|
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
42 graduates
|
— | 93% | $23,433 | $38,954 | — |
|
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
39 graduates
|
— | 9% | $37,050 | $84,374 | — |
|
Pratt Institute-Main
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
35 graduates
|
— | 53% | $52,659 | $80,049 | — |
|
Academy of Art University
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
30 graduates
|
— | — | $40,613 | — | — |
|
Art Center College of Design
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
22 graduates
|
— | 75% | $48,661 | $75,649 | — |
|
Universidad del Sagrado Corazon
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
22 graduates
|
— | 53% | $12,924 | — | — |
|
Northern Arizona University
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
19 graduates
|
— | 91% | $14,158 | $29,933 | — |
|
Massachusetts College of Art and Design
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
17 graduates
|
— | 78% | $24,100 | $34,239 | — |
|
SUNY at Purchase College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
15 graduates
|
— | 73% | $18,913 | $29,043 | — |
|
Texas State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
15 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,805 | $28,073 | — |
|
California Institute of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
14 graduates
|
— | 26% | $46,080 | $77,560 | — |
|
California College of the Arts
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
13 graduates
|
— | 73% | $53,909 | $79,776 | — |
|
Drexel University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
13 graduates
|
— | 78% | $38,509 | $76,835 | — |
|
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
13 graduates
|
— | 83% | $28,198 | $40,903 | — |
|
University of Houston
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
13 graduates
|
— | 70% | $14,276 | $26,185 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
12 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
Syracuse University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
12 graduates
|
— | 42% | $38,793 | $84,517 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
11 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
University of Hartford
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
11 graduates
|
— | 83% | $30,282 | $64,729 | — |
|
Black Hills State University
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
10 graduates
|
— | 94% | $15,911 | $21,277 | — |
|
Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design
CO · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
10 graduates
|
— | — | $32,363 | — | — |
|
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
9 graduates
|
— | 68% | $4,195 | $14,367 | — |
|
Columbus College of Art & Design
OH · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
9 graduates
|
— | — | $29,439 | — | — |
|
Freed-Hardeman University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
9 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,574 | $38,315 | — |
|
John Brown University
AR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
9 graduates
|
— | 68% | $20,397 | $44,710 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
9 graduates
|
— | 92% | $20,927 | $33,485 | — |
|
University of the Arts
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
9 graduates
|
— | 78% | — | — | — |
|
Saint Edward's University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
8 graduates
|
— | 84% | $25,578 | $66,719 | — |
|
Barry University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
7 graduates
|
— | 59% | $22,613 | $50,778 | — |
|
College for Creative Studies
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
7 graduates
|
— | 93% | $34,617 | $66,014 | — |
|
Grand Valley State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
7 graduates
|
— | 95% | $16,317 | $28,367 | — |
|
Northeastern University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
7 graduates
|
— | 6% | $30,915 | $84,641 | — |
|
Pennsylvania College of Art and Design
PA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
7 graduates
|
— | — | $30,083 | — | — |
|
Point Park University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
7 graduates
|
— | 98% | $25,942 | $52,643 | — |
|
Sam Houston State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
7 graduates
|
— | 85% | $16,404 | $25,505 | — |
|
Indiana Wesleyan University-Marion
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
6 graduates
|
— | 82% | $22,866 | $44,776 | — |
|
Ringling College of Art and Design
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
6 graduates
|
— | 67% | $57,742 | $80,276 | — |
|
Seattle University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
6 graduates
|
— | 76% | $34,662 | $72,124 | — |
|
State University of New York at New Paltz
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
6 graduates
|
— | 59% | $18,809 | $28,428 | — |
|
University of La Verne
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
6 graduates
|
— | 48% | $20,161 | $62,278 | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
5 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
Minneapolis College of Art and Design
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
5 graduates
|
— | 48% | $29,926 | $59,972 | — |
|
Villa Maria College
NY · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
5 graduates
|
— | — | $13,494 | — | — |
|
Weber State University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
5 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Webster University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
5 graduates
|
— | 58% | $27,047 | $51,188 | — |
|
Art Academy of Cincinnati
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | 33% | $34,253 | $53,879 | — |
|
Cleveland Institute of Art
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | 56% | $29,208 | $64,587 | — |
|
Ferris State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | 81% | $8,624 | $27,048 | — |
|
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-San German
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | 51% | $9,148 | — | — |
|
Maine College of Art & Design
ME · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | — | $38,338 | — | — |
|
Maryville University of Saint Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | 94% | $22,066 | $41,959 | — |
|
Moore College of Art and Design
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | 60% | $43,086 | $71,327 | — |
|
New York Film Academy
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Rhode Island School of Design
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | 14% | $50,507 | $81,727 | — |
|
St. John's University-New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,999 | $65,527 | — |
|
University of Akron Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | 71% | $13,946 | $26,284 | — |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
4 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | — |
|
Carroll University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
3 graduates
|
— | 58% | $15,193 | $52,639 | — |
|
Eastern Mennonite University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
3 graduates
|
— | 100% | $24,588 | $56,756 | — |
|
Endicott College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
3 graduates
|
— | 72% | $40,654 | $59,328 | — |
|
Fitchburg State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
3 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,262 | $25,555 | — |
|
Lesley University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
3 graduates
|
— | 94% | $31,152 | $51,538 | — |
|
Marymount Manhattan College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
3 graduates
|
— | 79% | $36,861 | $65,767 | — |
|
SUNY at Fredonia
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
3 graduates
|
— | 79% | $15,897 | $25,879 | — |
|
American Academy of Art College
IL · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Andrews University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 87% | $12,547 | $45,218 | — |
|
Arcadia University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 79% | $29,466 | $64,645 | — |
|
Bradley University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 77% | $22,719 | $54,730 | — |
|
Kansas City Art Institute
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 60% | $27,650 | $57,410 | — |
|
Maryland Institute College of Art
MD · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 77% | $42,729 | $76,860 | — |
|
Morningside University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $31,320 | $52,577 | — |
|
Pacific Northwest College of Art
OR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | — | $35,785 | — | — |
|
Paier College
CT · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Rhode Island College
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 81% | $9,478 | $17,454 | — |
|
SUNY Buffalo State University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 76% | $11,346 | $24,279 | — |
|
Salem State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,996 | $28,291 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-Commerce
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 93% | $11,841 | $23,438 | — |
|
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $12,767 | $21,708 | — |
|
American University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 47% | $41,943 | $76,058 | — |
|
Aquinas College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $16,626 | $51,652 | — |
|
Belmont University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $33,147 | $62,570 | — |
|
Bennington College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 48% | $30,947 | $87,284 | — |
|
Carson-Newman University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $20,251 | $49,024 | — |
|
Eastern Washington University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 92% | $13,886 | $24,478 | — |
|
Grace College and Theological Seminary
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 81% | $19,932 | $41,838 | — |
|
Grand View University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 98% | $21,774 | $48,522 | — |
|
Loyola University Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 81% | $36,079 | $67,408 | — |
|
Montserrat College of Art
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | — | $33,216 | — | — |
|
New England College
NH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $26,972 | $59,350 | — |
|
Oakland University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $9,120 | $25,182 | — |
|
Spelman College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 34% | — | $50,952 | — |
|
University of Central Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 40% | $10,411 | $23,133 | — |
|
University of Dayton
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 62% | $29,533 | $65,881 | — |
|
University of Southern Maine
ME · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Photography
1 graduate
|
— | 79% | $13,596 | $23,717 | — |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/photography, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a photography applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 101 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359