At a glance · All states

  • 60 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's natural sciences program: 59 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a natural sciences admit rate in the UC/CSU data.
  • Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Daemen University (110), University of Puerto Rico at Cayey (69), Kansas State University (66).
  • 7 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
  • Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-San Diego — Natural Sciences, Fall 2025: 178 applied, 81 admitted (46%).
  • Lowest average net price with aid: California State University-Los Angeles, $3,967 per year.

Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (7 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →

Hardest reported gate

46%
University of California-San Diego
Natural Sciences, Fall 2025: 178 applied, 81 admitted

Lowest net price with aid

$3,967
California State University-Los Angeles
average for aid recipients, per year

Every college, one row each

Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.

College Gate into the program Degree awarded
· graduates 2022-23
Program
admit rate
Campus
admit rate
Net price
with aid
Full
price
Earnings
4 yrs out
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
Natural Sciences
Fall 2025: 178 applied, 81 admitted · admit GPA 4.14–4.29
— 46% 27% $12,470 $38,701 —
Daemen University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
110 graduates
— 76% $18,693 $45,192 —
University of Puerto Rico at Cayey
PR · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
69 graduates
— 96% $10,176 — —
Kansas State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
66 graduates
— 79% $19,406 $27,402 —
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
PR · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
45 graduates
— 53% $9,175 — —
California State University-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
42 graduates
— 92% $3,967 $18,403 —
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
42 graduates
— 40% $48,381 $83,943 —
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
34 graduates
— 9% $37,050 $84,374 —
Texas Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
34 graduates
— 43% $36,660 $76,604 —
Harvard University
MA · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
29 graduates
— 4% $19,066 $85,540 —
American Public University System
WV · Private for-profit
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
28 graduates
— — $9,597 — —
Dominican University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
28 graduates
— 80% $11,745 $43,891 —
Logan University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
28 graduates
— 90% $20,218 $26,928 —
Xavier University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
25 graduates
— 88% $32,997 $65,476 —
Universidad del Sagrado Corazon
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
24 graduates
— 53% $12,924 — —
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Metro
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
22 graduates
— 66% $9,788 — —
Excelsior University
NY · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
19 graduates
— — — — —
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
16 graduates
— 83% $28,198 $40,903 —
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
CO · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
15 graduates
— 90% $21,279 $31,642 —
Christian Brothers University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
14 graduates
— 88% $9,854 $48,038 —
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
14 graduates
— 36% $9,284 — —
Minerva University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
14 graduates
— 4% — — —
Harrisburg University of Science and Technology
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
13 graduates
— 82% $15,376 $35,893 —
Hofstra University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
11 graduates
— 71% $34,176 $70,624 —
College of Saint Benedict
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
9 graduates
— 91% $26,640 $68,453 —
Saint Johns University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
8 graduates
— 90% $25,672 $68,521 —
Saint Vincent College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
8 graduates
— 59% $23,510 $56,752 —
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
7 graduates
— 94% $14,480 $26,283 —
Johns Hopkins University
MD · Private nonprofit · Required
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
7 graduates
— 8% $18,809 $85,947 —
Mount Aloysius College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
7 graduates
— 90% $22,344 $40,435 —
Pepperdine University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
7 graduates
— 50% $58,098 $93,512 —
Universidad Central de Bayamon
PR · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
7 graduates
— — $4,827 — —
Mount St. Joseph University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
6 graduates
— 56% $16,530 $46,719 —
Bethel College-North Newton
KS · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
5 graduates
— — $32,917 — —
University of Nebraska at Omaha
NE · Public · Required
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
5 graduates
— 87% $13,441 $21,120 —
Colgate University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
4 graduates
— 12% $28,786 $87,070 —
Indiana University-East
IN · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
4 graduates
— 71% $8,134 $16,954 —
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
3 graduates
— 88% $5,652 $19,522 —
Duke University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
3 graduates
— 7% $29,612 $87,072 —
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Aguadilla
PR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
3 graduates
— 47% $8,742 — —
Judson University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
3 graduates
— 63% $18,558 $43,137 —
Georgian Court University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
2 graduates
— 70% $19,285 $50,671 —
Mount Saint Mary College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
2 graduates
— 82% $25,522 $55,014 —
Oglala Lakota College
SD · Public
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
2 graduates
— — — — —
Oklahoma Baptist University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
2 graduates
— 56% $20,958 $48,695 —
Shorter University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
2 graduates
— 97% $16,646 $35,726 —
St. Thomas Aquinas College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
2 graduates
— 82% $19,994 $53,370 —
St. Thomas University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
2 graduates
— 99% $26,312 $51,205 —
University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma
OK · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
2 graduates
— 56% $6,624 $20,662 —
Alverno College
WI · Private nonprofit
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— — $22,540 — —
Augustana University
SD · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— 59% $23,894 $55,159 —
Colorado State University Pueblo
CO · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— 100% $10,051 $23,937 —
Concordia College at Moorhead
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— 63% $24,902 $45,942 —
Concordia University-Nebraska
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— 90% $23,965 $53,292 —
Edgewood College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— 94% $26,113 $50,903 —
Ramapo College of New Jersey
NJ · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— 73% $18,173 $29,483 —
University of Hawaii at Hilo
HI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— 90% $11,856 $21,173 —
University of Hawaii-West Oahu
HI · Public · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— 96% $10,327 $18,410 —
University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— 75% $31,817 $54,802 —
York University
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
Not reported by the college system
Natural Sciences
1 graduate
— 48% $20,951 $34,268 —

Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.

Let an AI build the list from this page

Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT

It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.

Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/natural-sciences, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a natural sciences applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.

Other majors

AccountingAerospace EngineeringAfrican-American StudiesAgribusinessAgricultural Teacher EducationAgricultureAmerican StudiesAnimal ScienceAnimation and Visual EffectsAnthropologyApparel and TextilesArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryArt Teacher EducationAsian StudiesAthletic TrainingAviationBiblical StudiesBiochemistryBiological and Physical SciencesBiologyBiology Teacher EducationBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationBusiness AnalyticsChemical EngineeringChemistryChild DevelopmentChinese Language and LiteratureCivil EngineeringClassicsClinical Laboratory ScienceCognitive ScienceCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComparative LiteratureComputer EngineeringComputer ProgrammingComputer ScienceConstruction ManagementCriminal Justice and CriminologyDanceData ScienceDental HygieneDesign (graphic, interior, industrial)Diagnostic Medical SonographyDigital ArtsEast Asian StudiesEconomicsElectrical EngineeringElectrical Engineering TechnologyEmergency ManagementEngineering ManagementEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyEnglishEnglish/Language Arts Teacher EducationEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFamily and Consumer SciencesFashion MerchandisingFilm and TelevisionFinanceFood ScienceForeign Languages and LiteraturesForensic ScienceFrench Language and LiteratureGeneral EngineeringGeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGerman Language and LiteratureGlobal and International StudiesHealth Care AdministrationHealth ScienceHealth Teacher EducationHistoryHistory Teacher EducationHospitality ManagementHuman ServicesIndustrial EngineeringIndustrial TechnologyInformation SystemsItalian Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureJournalismKinesiologyLatin American StudiesLegal Studies (pre-law)Liberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMarine BiologyMarketingMaterials EngineeringMathematicsMathematics Teacher EducationMechanical EngineeringMechanical Engineering TechnologyMicrobiologyMissionary StudiesMusicMusic ManagementMusic Teacher EducationMusic TherapyNeuroscienceNursing (BSN)Nutrition and DieteticsParalegal StudiesParks and Recreation ManagementParks and Recreation StudiesPhilosophyPhotographyPhysical Education Teaching and CoachingPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyPublic AdministrationPublic HealthPublic Policy AnalysisRadiation TherapyRadiologic TechnologyReal EstateReligious StudiesRespiratory TherapyRussian Language and LiteratureSacred MusicScience Teacher EducationSocial Science Teacher EducationSocial Studies Teacher EducationSocial WorkSociologySpanishSpanish Language Teacher EducationSpecial EducationSport ManagementStatisticsTeaching English as a Second LanguageTheatreTheologyUrban StudiesWildlife Science and ManagementWomen's StudiesYouth Ministry All majors →

The list is where the work starts

With 59 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359