By major · Parks and Recreation Studies
Where can your student actually get into parks and recreation studies?
In 2022-23, 80 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in parks and recreation studies, 11 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Brigham Young University, with 123 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 80 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's parks and recreation studies program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Brigham Young University (123), California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo (102), University of Missouri-Columbia (89).
- 11 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Lehman College, $3,148 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (11 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
123 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
102 graduates
|
— | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
|
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
89 graduates
|
— | 77% | $20,268 | $31,713 | — |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
87 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | — |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
81 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | — |
|
Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
70 graduates
|
— | 95% | $21,331 | $29,866 | — |
|
University of Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
58 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,209 | $27,767 | — |
|
California State University-Sacramento
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
56 graduates
|
— | 94% | $9,338 | $22,945 | — |
|
Northern Arizona University
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
55 graduates
|
— | 91% | $14,158 | $29,933 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
46 graduates
|
— | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
46 graduates
|
— | 90% | $10,965 | $21,373 | — |
|
University of Nebraska at Kearney
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
45 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,242 | $25,808 | — |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
43 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
42 graduates
|
— | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
42 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
39 graduates
|
— | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
39 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | — |
|
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
37 graduates
|
— | 81% | $24,022 | $33,007 | — |
|
Arizona State University Digital Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
35 graduates
|
— | 64% | — | — | — |
|
Jacksonville State University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
35 graduates
|
— | 76% | $14,279 | $24,257 | — |
|
California State University-East Bay
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
33 graduates
|
— | 97% | $9,320 | $22,850 | — |
|
Oregon State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
29 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,604 | $31,653 | — |
|
Radford University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
29 graduates
|
— | 91% | $14,578 | $28,405 | — |
|
Winona State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
29 graduates
|
— | 68% | $17,503 | $23,683 | — |
|
Northwest Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
27 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,244 | $24,945 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
26 graduates
|
— | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
|
University of Northern Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
26 graduates
|
— | 94% | $15,901 | $22,278 | — |
|
Shepherd University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
25 graduates
|
— | 96% | $11,363 | $19,601 | — |
|
University of South Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
24 graduates
|
— | 66% | $17,648 | $25,476 | — |
|
Georgia Southern University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
23 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,267 | $24,430 | — |
|
Grambling State University
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
23 graduates
|
— | 24% | $19,809 | $25,367 | — |
|
Pittsburg State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
22 graduates
|
— | 88% | — | $22,099 | — |
|
Oklahoma State University-Main Campus
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
20 graduates
|
— | 71% | $17,447 | $28,290 | — |
|
Northern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
18 graduates
|
— | 70% | $14,085 | $27,841 | — |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
18 graduates
|
— | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | — |
|
Western Colorado University
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
17 graduates
|
— | 98% | $16,425 | $25,736 | — |
|
San Francisco State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
16 graduates
|
— | 96% | $12,278 | $26,488 | — |
|
East Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
15 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,739 | $23,867 | — |
|
Missouri State University-Springfield
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
15 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,613 | $25,048 | — |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
15 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | — |
|
Southern Utah University
UT · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
15 graduates
|
— | 80% | — | $19,416 | — |
|
University of Mount Olive
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
13 graduates
|
— | 78% | $18,853 | $38,569 | — |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
12 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | — |
|
CUNY Lehman College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
11 graduates
|
— | 55% | $3,148 | $14,121 | — |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
11 graduates
|
— | 99% | $13,171 | $25,170 | — |
|
Houghton University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
11 graduates
|
— | 93% | $20,519 | $31,143 | — |
|
Paul Smiths College of Arts and Science
NY · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
11 graduates
|
— | — | $26,683 | — | — |
|
University of Central Oklahoma
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
11 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,309 | $26,392 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Duluth
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
11 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,743 | $27,680 | — |
|
Shaw University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
10 graduates
|
— | 30% | $16,512 | $30,861 | — |
|
SUNY College at Plattsburgh
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 75% | $17,156 | $28,244 | — |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
9 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | — |
|
Southern Oregon University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
8 graduates
|
— | 83% | $16,732 | $27,636 | — |
|
Emporia State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
7 graduates
|
— | 98% | $16,261 | $21,967 | — |
|
Alaska Pacific University
AK · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
6 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Mars Hill University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
6 graduates
|
— | 78% | $19,910 | $50,099 | — |
|
Midwestern State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 87% | $11,656 | $22,652 | — |
|
Southeast Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 78% | $15,882 | $25,177 | — |
|
York College of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
5 graduates
|
— | 94% | $18,556 | $37,319 | — |
|
Alcorn State University
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 25% | $13,265 | $23,751 | — |
|
Eastern Washington University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 92% | $13,886 | $24,478 | — |
|
Ferrum College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 100% | $20,082 | $54,526 | — |
|
Metropolitan State University of Denver
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 99% | $15,327 | $24,622 | — |
|
North Greenville University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 63% | $21,063 | $42,034 | — |
|
Salem State University
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,996 | $28,291 | — |
|
Carson-Newman University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 68% | $20,251 | $49,024 | — |
|
Ithaca College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 70% | $33,926 | $68,699 | — |
|
Newberry College
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 75% | $21,656 | $46,442 | — |
|
State University of New York at Cortland
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 51% | $22,345 | $28,108 | — |
|
University of Maine
ME · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
3 graduates
|
— | 96% | $17,510 | $27,328 | — |
|
Central State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 46% | $13,096 | $21,929 | — |
|
Montana State University Billings
MT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
2 graduates
|
— | — | $16,524 | — | — |
|
West Virginia University Institute of Technology
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
2 graduates
|
— | 61% | $9,337 | $18,907 | — |
|
Baker University
KS · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 92% | $25,301 | $50,918 | — |
|
DePaul University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 74% | $30,902 | $63,052 | — |
|
Gordon College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 59% | $24,883 | $42,446 | — |
|
Indiana Institute of Technology
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 57% | $23,206 | $45,879 | — |
|
Lindenwood University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 66% | $19,638 | $35,436 | — |
|
Messiah University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
1 graduate
|
— | 78% | $26,502 | $55,875 | — |
|
Simpson University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies
1 graduate
|
— | — | $27,817 | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/parks-and-recreation-studies, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a parks and recreation studies applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 80 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359