By major · Chemical Engineering
Where can your student actually get into chemical engineering?
Chemical engineering is one degree with very different doors. At UCLA, 1,520 students applied and 183 were admitted, a rate of 12%; at UC Merced the rate is 96%. A UC admits to the campus rather than to the major at most programs, so those rates tell you how a campus answered students who named chemical engineering, not what a department decided. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · All states
- 179 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's chemical engineering program: 173 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more report a chemical engineering admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 5 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Texas A & M University-College Station (234), Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus (170), The University of Texas at Austin (155).
- 15 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Los Angeles — Chemical Engineering, Fall 2025: 1,520 applied, 183 admitted (12%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: University of California-Merced — 96% (354 applied, 339 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Massachusetts Institute of Technology, $122,093.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY City College, $3,776 per year.
At the CSU campuses here a student applies to chemical engineering by name, so the row is the rate into the major itself: 82.0% at San Jose State, 82.1% at Cal State Long Beach, 94.6% at Cal Poly Pomona. Where a college shows earnings but no admit rate, it reports outcomes in the federal data without publishing admissions by major, and that gap is not a sign of an open door. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (15 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Chemical Engineering, Fall 2025: 1,520 applied, 183 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Chemical Engineering, Fall 2025: 354 applied, 339 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,520 applied, 183 admitted · admit GPA 4.25–4.33
|
Chemical Engineering
75 graduates
|
12% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $108,066 |
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,529 applied, 204 admitted · admit GPA 4.22–4.32
|
Chemical Engineering
149 graduates
|
13% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | $121,027 |
|
University of California-Santa Barbara
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 8,056 applied, 1,277 admitted · admit GPA 4.23–4.32
|
Chemical Engineering
41 graduates
|
16% | 44% | $16,109 | $41,573 | $113,317 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,113 applied, 636 admitted · admit GPA 4.18–4.30
|
Chemical Engineering
99 graduates
|
57% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $96,798 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 907 applied, 550 admitted · admit GPA 4.13–4.29
|
Chemical Engineering
58 graduates
|
61% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $97,656 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 784 applied, 490 admitted · admit GPA 4.04–4.28
Biochemical Engineering: 77%
|
Chemical Engineering +1
76 graduates
|
63% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $102,649 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 339 applied, 278 admitted
impacted
|
Chemical Engineering
27 graduates
|
82.0% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 459 applied, 377 admitted
impacted
|
Chemical Engineering
34 graduates
|
82.1% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $92,523 |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 439 applied, 393 admitted · admit GPA 3.80–4.25
|
Chemical Engineering
50 graduates
|
90% | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | $91,457 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 594 applied, 562 admitted
|
Chemical Engineering
96 graduates
|
94.6% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $102,849 |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Chemical Engineering
Fall 2025: 354 applied, 339 admitted · admit GPA 3.86–4.25
Biochemical And Biomolecular Engineering: 99%
|
— | 96% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | — |
|
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
MA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering +1
38 graduates
|
— | 5% | $20,111 | $82,730 | $122,093 |
|
Vanderbilt University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
35 graduates
|
— | 6% | $15,846 | $89,590 | $121,641 |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
41 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | $116,165 |
|
Lafayette College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
22 graduates
|
— | 32% | $34,433 | $83,133 | $115,726 |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
155 graduates
|
— | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | $115,423 |
|
Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
74 graduates
|
— | 74% | $19,151 | $34,705 | $114,226 |
|
University of Notre Dame
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
70 graduates
|
— | 12% | $26,780 | $83,271 | $113,614 |
|
Rice University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
29 graduates
|
— | 8% | $13,370 | $79,788 | $113,605 |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biochemical Engineering
24 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | $111,951 |
|
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
234 graduates
|
— | 63% | $21,315 | $32,696 | $111,073 |
|
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
34 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,167 | $91,250 | $111,040 |
|
Carnegie Mellon University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
41 graduates
|
— | 11% | $31,944 | $83,654 | $110,378 |
|
University of Houston
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
89 graduates
|
— | 70% | $14,276 | $26,185 | $110,184 |
|
University of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
36 graduates
|
— | 6% | $28,699 | $89,028 | $109,884 |
|
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
110 graduates
|
— | 24% | $6,541 | $22,523 | $109,607 |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering +1
69 graduates
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | $109,551 |
|
North Carolina A & T State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
32 graduates
|
— | 46% | $10,846 | $20,427 | $109,537 |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
97 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | $109,405 |
|
Washington University in St Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
28 graduates
|
— | 12% | $21,786 | $88,488 | $107,843 |
|
Northeastern University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
124 graduates
|
— | 6% | $30,915 | $84,641 | $107,767 |
|
University of Mississippi
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
15 graduates
|
— | 98% | $13,314 | $28,660 | $107,548 |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
76 graduates
|
— | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | $106,726 |
|
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
88 graduates
|
— | 57% | $24,953 | $36,951 | $106,011 |
|
University of Virginia-Main Campus
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
42 graduates
|
— | 17% | $21,565 | $39,926 | $105,724 |
|
North Carolina State University at Raleigh
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
131 graduates
|
— | 40% | $17,303 | $26,425 | $104,705 |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
147 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | $104,514 |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
122 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | $104,317 |
|
Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
170 graduates
|
— | 16% | $12,116 | $28,167 | $104,104 |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
67 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | $103,910 |
|
Kettering University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
17 graduates
|
— | 79% | $34,660 | $61,250 | $103,868 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
139 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | $103,728 |
|
Villanova University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
50 graduates
|
— | 25% | $43,756 | $84,793 | $103,601 |
|
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
26 graduates
|
— | 77% | $21,440 | $34,321 | $103,525 |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
104 graduates
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | $102,223 |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
56 graduates
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | $102,149 |
|
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
34 graduates
|
— | 89% | $13,530 | $24,884 | $102,119 |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
68 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | $101,815 |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
68 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | $101,726 |
|
Lehigh University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
42 graduates
|
— | 29% | $36,931 | $80,856 | $101,720 |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
93 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | $101,676 |
|
University of Tulsa
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
28 graduates
|
— | 58% | $15,000 | $64,459 | $101,626 |
|
University of Louisville
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
46 graduates
|
— | 80% | $17,988 | $32,941 | $101,068 |
|
Lamar University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
50 graduates
|
— | 86% | $9,366 | $22,254 | $101,018 |
|
The University of Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
101 graduates
|
— | 76% | $22,420 | $33,382 | $100,857 |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
94 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | $100,729 |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
41 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $100,646 |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
9 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,559 | $20,079 | $100,375 |
|
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
51 graduates
|
— | 58% | $43,071 | $78,679 | $100,199 |
|
The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
21 graduates
|
— | 19% | $13,269 | $64,190 | $100,191 |
|
Texas Tech University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
89 graduates
|
— | 71% | $19,070 | $27,443 | $99,747 |
|
Bucknell University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
23 graduates
|
— | 32% | $40,766 | $83,756 | $99,536 |
|
Washington State University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
35 graduates
|
— | 85% | $14,971 | $27,648 | $99,506 |
|
Drexel University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
76 graduates
|
— | 78% | $38,509 | $76,835 | $99,338 |
|
Florida Institute of Technology
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
23 graduates
|
— | 62% | $35,639 | $62,440 | $99,312 |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
155 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | $98,851 |
|
Stevens Institute of Technology
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
51 graduates
|
— | 43% | $41,346 | $79,790 | $98,782 |
|
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
61 graduates
|
— | 58% | $36,228 | $82,404 | $98,679 |
|
Oklahoma State University-Main Campus
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
64 graduates
|
— | 71% | $17,447 | $28,290 | $98,557 |
|
Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
26 graduates
|
— | 73% | $42,513 | $77,890 | $98,341 |
|
University of South Carolina-Columbia
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
58 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,811 | $31,638 | $98,244 |
|
Louisiana Tech University
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
32 graduates
|
— | 73% | $11,864 | $24,280 | $98,240 |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
46 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | $98,215 |
|
University of Kentucky
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
83 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,851 | $34,391 | $98,003 |
|
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
61 graduates
|
— | 58% | $22,383 | $34,549 | $97,990 |
|
Texas A & M University-Kingsville
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
29 graduates
|
— | 92% | $12,090 | $24,060 | $97,811 |
|
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
46 graduates
|
— | 93% | $23,433 | $38,954 | $97,781 |
|
New Jersey Institute of Technology
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
51 graduates
|
— | 67% | $16,504 | $32,859 | $97,371 |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
39 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | $97,329 |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
73 graduates
|
— | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | $97,324 |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
16 graduates
|
— | 96% | $18,202 | $30,349 | $97,324 |
|
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
52 graduates
|
— | 90% | $21,279 | $31,642 | $97,271 |
|
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
123 graduates
|
— | 88% | $25,648 | $32,171 | $97,220 |
|
University of Dayton
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
62 graduates
|
— | 62% | $29,533 | $65,881 | $97,184 |
|
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
27 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,489 | $21,259 | $96,810 |
|
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
50 graduates
|
— | 29% | $41,190 | $85,851 | $96,533 |
|
West Virginia University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
42 graduates
|
— | 86% | $15,634 | $26,415 | $96,503 |
|
West Virginia University Institute of Technology
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
3 graduates
|
— | 61% | $9,337 | $18,907 | $96,503 |
|
Manhattan College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
21 graduates
|
— | 78% | $27,256 | $64,348 | $96,134 |
|
Miami University-Oxford
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
39 graduates
|
— | 82% | $28,384 | $38,757 | $96,025 |
|
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
42 graduates
|
— | 77% | $20,268 | $31,713 | $95,989 |
|
Mississippi State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
89 graduates
|
— | 76% | $17,595 | $29,267 | $95,968 |
|
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Biochemical Engineering +1
106 graduates
|
— | 83% | $25,346 | $37,684 | $95,780 |
|
Rowan University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
38 graduates
|
— | 78% | $22,408 | $35,842 | $95,769 |
|
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
46 graduates
|
— | 69% | $20,995 | $30,785 | $95,424 |
|
University of Massachusetts-Lowell
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
67 graduates
|
— | 85% | $17,163 | $30,786 | $94,972 |
|
University of Maine
ME · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
30 graduates
|
— | 96% | $17,510 | $27,328 | $94,964 |
|
Missouri University of Science and Technology
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
86 graduates
|
— | 73% | $16,298 | $29,231 | $94,686 |
|
Johns Hopkins University
MD · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
80 graduates
|
— | 8% | $18,809 | $85,947 | $94,671 |
|
Rochester Institute of Technology
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
35 graduates
|
— | 71% | $34,906 | $74,626 | $94,641 |
|
Colorado School of Mines
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
149 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,690 | $40,560 | $94,598 |
|
Michigan Technological University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
78 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,182 | $34,152 | $94,478 |
|
University of South Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
73 graduates
|
— | 41% | $9,812 | $22,859 | $94,387 |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
44 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | $94,291 |
|
University of Toledo
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
58 graduates
|
— | 95% | $17,249 | $26,512 | $94,065 |
|
University of South Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
36 graduates
|
— | 66% | $17,648 | $25,476 | $93,943 |
|
University of New Hampshire-Main Campus
NH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
17 graduates
|
— | 87% | $23,805 | $35,537 | $93,711 |
|
University of Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
60 graduates
|
— | 72% | $18,209 | $27,767 | $93,641 |
|
Clarkson University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
52 graduates
|
— | 77% | $30,305 | $79,022 | $93,614 |
|
University of Kansas
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
78 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,059 | $26,751 | $93,391 |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
124 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | $93,264 |
|
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
26 graduates
|
— | 82% | $12,766 | $27,350 | $93,047 |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
106 graduates
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | $92,946 |
|
Iowa State University
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
94 graduates
|
— | 89% | $18,589 | $24,018 | $92,773 |
|
Oregon State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
86 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,604 | $31,653 | $92,741 |
|
Oregon State University-Cascades Campus
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 68% | $18,048 | $29,798 | $92,741 |
|
Prairie View A & M University
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
35 graduates
|
— | 75% | $13,570 | $26,362 | $92,591 |
|
The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
24 graduates
|
— | 77% | $14,265 | $25,489 | $92,511 |
|
University of Rochester
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
29 graduates
|
— | 36% | $29,278 | $85,962 | $92,102 |
|
Clemson University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
66 graduates
|
— | 38% | $22,253 | $35,015 | $92,098 |
|
Kansas State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
50 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,406 | $27,402 | $92,068 |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
42 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | $91,777 |
|
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
66 graduates
|
— | 46% | $18,976 | $33,678 | $91,643 |
|
Tennessee Technological University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
34 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,246 | $25,663 | $91,580 |
|
University of Maryland-Baltimore County
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
56 graduates
|
— | 74% | $16,467 | $28,576 | $91,547 |
|
Widener University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
12 graduates
|
— | 84% | $25,759 | $70,621 | $91,145 |
|
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
42 graduates
|
— | 85% | $20,183 | $25,385 | $90,845 |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
27 graduates
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | $90,815 |
|
University of Alabama in Huntsville
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
35 graduates
|
— | 74% | $18,796 | $27,392 | $90,681 |
|
University of Akron Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
50 graduates
|
— | 71% | $13,946 | $26,284 | $90,279 |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
25 graduates
|
— | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | $90,091 |
|
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
43 graduates
|
— | 9% | $37,050 | $84,374 | $89,744 |
|
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
24 graduates
|
— | 80% | $12,767 | $21,708 | $89,150 |
|
CUNY City College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
37 graduates
|
— | 58% | $3,776 | $14,403 | $88,659 |
|
Stony Brook University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
31 graduates
|
— | 49% | $18,784 | $30,539 | $88,593 |
|
Trine University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
23 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,355 | $51,109 | $88,192 |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
41 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | $88,067 |
|
Montana State University
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
69 graduates
|
— | 87% | $22,499 | $25,905 | $87,590 |
|
Syracuse University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
18 graduates
|
— | 42% | $38,793 | $84,517 | $87,529 |
|
University of Illinois Chicago
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
51 graduates
|
— | 78% | $10,974 | $27,521 | $87,407 |
|
University of North Dakota
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
29 graduates
|
— | 77% | $18,551 | $25,605 | $87,309 |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
62 graduates
|
— | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | $87,267 |
|
University of Connecticut-Avery Point
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 86% | $13,807 | $23,337 | $87,267 |
|
University of Connecticut-Hartford Campus
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 86% | $16,403 | $26,946 | $87,267 |
|
University of Connecticut-Stamford
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 80% | $16,798 | $30,122 | $87,267 |
|
University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 87% | $10,875 | $22,933 | $87,267 |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering +1
27 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | $85,990 |
|
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
NM · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
20 graduates
|
— | 54% | $9,873 | $24,967 | $85,900 |
|
University of Minnesota-Duluth
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
43 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,743 | $27,680 | $85,667 |
|
University of New Haven
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
9 graduates
|
— | 80% | $34,192 | $66,962 | $85,269 |
|
University of Nevada-Reno
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
20 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,927 | $25,786 | $84,965 |
|
Illinois Institute of Technology
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
30 graduates
|
— | 55% | $18,425 | $68,164 | $84,876 |
|
Milwaukee School of Engineering
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
18 graduates
|
— | 60% | $22,453 | $62,648 | $81,935 |
|
University of Wyoming
WY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
34 graduates
|
— | 97% | $13,599 | $24,818 | $81,629 |
|
Cleveland State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
32 graduates
|
— | 96% | $14,764 | $27,159 | $81,185 |
|
University of Idaho
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
12 graduates
|
— | 79% | $14,831 | $23,738 | $80,558 |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
77 graduates
|
— | 52% | $17,936 | — | $74,254 |
|
University of Chicago
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
38 graduates
|
— | 5% | $14,860 | $90,360 | — |
|
Tufts University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
28 graduates
|
— | 10% | $39,998 | $88,300 | — |
|
The University of Texas at San Antonio
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
25 graduates
|
— | 88% | $10,836 | $22,352 | — |
|
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto Rico
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
24 graduates
|
— | — | $17,540 | — | — |
|
Princeton University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
23 graduates
|
— | 4% | $6,128 | $84,040 | — |
|
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
20 graduates
|
— | 4% | $21,590 | $89,472 | — |
|
McNeese State University
LA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
18 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,493 | $22,810 | — |
|
Howard University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
15 graduates
|
— | 35% | $50,539 | $54,630 | — |
|
Tulane University of Louisiana
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
14 graduates
|
— | 15% | $39,949 | $87,004 | — |
|
Tuskegee University
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
14 graduates
|
— | 31% | $35,013 | $43,454 | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
13 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
United States Military Academy
NY · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
13 graduates
|
— | 14% | — | — | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
10 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Hampton University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
8 graduates
|
— | 48% | $25,319 | $46,027 | — |
|
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
7 graduates
|
— | 3% | $16,075 | $86,886 | — |
|
The University of Texas Permian Basin
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
6 graduates
|
— | 84% | $12,723 | $23,886 | — |
|
Yale University
CT · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
6 graduates
|
— | 4% | $23,777 | $88,300 | — |
|
Benedictine College
KS · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
5 graduates
|
— | 76% | $27,891 | $52,206 | — |
|
Christian Brothers University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
4 graduates
|
— | 88% | $9,854 | $48,038 | — |
|
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
4 graduates
|
— | 21% | $13,739 | $23,970 | — |
|
The University of Texas at Tyler
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
4 graduates
|
— | 92% | $13,323 | $24,505 | — |
|
Dordt University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Chemical Engineering
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $25,807 | $51,733 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/chemical-engineering, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a chemical engineering applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A chemical engineering list needs campuses at both ends of that range with the money in view next to them, since the highest reported earnings here are $121,027 at UC Berkeley and the lowest average net price is $10,440 per year at Cal State Long Beach. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359