A parent's read

  • Top feeder high schools: New Trier Township High School Winnetka (25), Mira Costa High School (18), LASA High School (10), Colorado Academy (8), Greenwich High School (8). Graduates per class year, from each high school's own published list. 195 high schools' lists name University of Colorado Boulder; every one is ranked below.
  • The major moves the money more than the admit letter. Computer Science grads from here earn about $121,952 four years out; music grads about $38,701 — a 3.2× spread on the same diploma. Have the major conversation before you deposit, not after.
  • Built for the AI economy. About 1 in 12 degrees here is already in AI, computer science, or data fields; it offers a dedicated AI major; its AI research output ranks #44 among US universities. This campus is leaning into the shift, not waiting for it.
  • The payoff holds even at full price: roughly 5× over a decade. With no aid at all — the full in-state ~$37,684/yr — a decade of median earnings (~$69,738/yr) still runs about 5× the four-year cost. This payoff doesn't depend on qualifying for anything. (Out-of-state costs more.)
  • Ask the submit question deliberately. This college is test-optional — but at many such colleges, applicants who submit strong scores are admitted at meaningfully higher rates. “Optional” is a strategy decision, not a pass.

Composed from this page's data — every claim is backed by a number in the sections below.

Get your child's odds at University of Colorado Boulder Free Family Decision Report — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely + your real net price. University of Colorado Boulder starts already on the list. Start →

Feeder high schools

Which high schools send graduates to University of Colorado Boulder?

The high schools sending the most graduates per class year to University of Colorado Boulder, from each school's own published list: New Trier Township High School Winnetka (25), Mira Costa High School (18), LASA High School (10), Colorado Academy (8), Greenwich High School (8). 195 high schools' lists name University of Colorado Boulder.

Enrolled — from the schools' matriculation lists

The ten largest, per class year Enrolled per class year
2 Mira Costa High SchoolManhattan Beach, CA 18.0
3 LASA High SchoolAustin, TX 10.0
4 Colorado AcademyDenver, CO 8.0
5 Greenwich High SchoolGreenwich, CT 8.0
6 Fenwick High SchoolOak Park, IL 7.0
7 Millburn High SchoolMillburn, NJ 7.0
8 Palo Alto Senior High SchoolPalo Alto, CA 7.0
9 Stevenson SchoolPebble Beach, CA 6.0
10 The Galloway SchoolAtlanta, GA 6.0
All 195 schools, with the class years each list covers
New Trier Township High School Winnetka · Class of 2025 25.0 · 25 over 1 class year
Mira Costa High School · Class of 2026 18.0 · 18 over 1 class year
LASA High School · Class of 2025 10.0 · 10 over 1 class year
Colorado Academy · Classes 2022-2025 8.0 · 32 over 4 class years
Greenwich High School · Class of 2026 8.0 · 8 over 1 class year
Fenwick High School · Class of 2025 7.0 · 7 over 1 class year
Millburn High School · Class of 2025 · counted column: CLASS OF 2025 ENROLLMENT 7.0 · 7 over 1 class year
Palo Alto Senior High School · 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026 · counted column: 2026 7.0 · 7 over 1 class year
Stevenson School · Class of 2025 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
The Galloway School · Class of 2025 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
Edina Senior High · CLASSES OF 2021-2025 · counted column: POST-SECONDARY PLANS, Classes of 2021-2025 (number of graduates) 5.0 · 25 over 5 class years
Ridgewood High School · Class of 2023 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
St Ignatius College Prep · CLASS OF 2026 As published 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Albuquerque Academy · The classes of 2023-26 have matriculated at the following colleges and universities As published 3.8 · 15 over 4 class years
Mountain View High School · CLASS of 2020, 2021, 2022 3.7 · 11 over 3 class years
St. Stephen's Episcopal School (Austin) · Classes of 2021-2025 3.6 · 18 over 5 class years
Notre Dame High School · 2022 - 2025 3.5 · 14 over 4 class years
The Blake School · Classes 2021-2025 3.2 · 16 over 5 class years
Crossroads School · classes of 2023-25 As published 3.0 · 9 over 3 class years
Chadwick School · Class of 2025 As published 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Dublin High School · Class of 2023 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Henry M. Gunn High School · 2026 As published 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Pace Academy · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
St. Paul Academy and Summit School · Class of 2025 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Syosset Senior High School · Class of 2025 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Tabor Academy · Class of 2025 Matriculation 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
The International School of San Francisco · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
The Pembroke Hill School - Wornall Campus · Class of 2026 3.0 · 3 over 1 class year
Francis Parker School · 2022-2025 2.8 · 11 over 4 class years
Poly Prep Country Day School · Classes of 2022-2026 · counted column: Classes of 2022-2026 (five-year matriculation total) As published 2.6 · 13 over 5 class years
University Prep · 2022–2026 2.6 · 13 over 5 class years
Urban School of San Francisco · 2022-2026 2.6 · 13 over 5 class years
St Andrew'S Episcopal School · CLASSES OF 2021-2025 2.2 · 11 over 5 class years
Francis W. Parker School · Classes of 2022-2025 2.2 · 9 over 4 class years
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy · Past 3 Years 2.0 · 6 over 3 class years
Academy-Notre Dame de Namur · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Berkshire School · Class of 2021 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Bishop Feehan · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Brentwood School · Class of 2024 As published 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Collegiate School · Class of 2026 College Enrollments / 2023-26 4-Year College Enrollments · counted column: Class of 2026 College Enrollments 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Fayetteville-Manlius Senior High School · 2025 F-M Graduates 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Friends School of Baltimore · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Georgetown Preparatory School · Class of 2025 As published 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Isidore Newman School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Little Red School House and Elisabeth Irwin High School · CLASS OF 2022 As published 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Oratory Preparatory School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Phillips Academy (Andover) · Class of 2024 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Santa Margarita Catholic High School · Class of 2025 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Bolles School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The Columbus Academy · Class of 2026 As published 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Wellesley Sr High · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Weston High · Class of 2025 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Westwood High School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
Greens Farms Academy · Class of 2022-2026 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
John Burroughs School · 2021-2025 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
Pine Crest School · 2022-26 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
Santa Fe Preparatory School · 2022-2026 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
The Taft School · past five years (2020-2024) 1.8 · 9 over 5 class years
Catlin Gabel School · last four years 1.8 · 7 over 4 class years
Northfield Mount Hermon · the past four years 1.8 · 7 over 4 class years
Marin Academy · CLASSES OF 2023–2025 1.7 · 5 over 3 class years
Menlo School · Classes of 2023-2025 As published 1.7 · 5 over 3 class years
Eastside Preparatory School · 2021-2025 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Phoenix Country Day School · Classes of 2021-25 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Pingree School · 2021–2025 1.6 · 8 over 5 class years
Episcopal School of Jacksonville · Classes of 2023-2026 1.5 · 6 over 4 class years
Landon School · College Admittance 2023-2026 1.5 · 6 over 4 class years
Thayer Academy · 2020-23 1.5 · 6 over 4 class years
The Rivers School · 2022-2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
La Jolla Country Day School · 2023-2025 1.3 · 4 over 3 class years
Gould Academy · Matches made by Gould students from 2020 to 2025 1.2 · 7 over 6 class years
Asheville School · Classes of 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Beaver Country Day School · Five Year Summary 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Germantown Academy · Classes of 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Montgomery Bell Academy · 2022 – 2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Severn School · Classes of 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
The Seven Hills School · 2021-2025 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
The Westminster Schools · Classes 2021-2025 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Trinity Hall · Classes of 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Westtown School · 2022-2026 1.2 · 6 over 5 class years
Fort Worth Country Day School · 2020-23 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
Lynbrook High School · 2022-2025 As published 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
Trinity Valley School · 2020 to 2023 As published 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
University School of Nashville · 2022-2025 1.2 · 5 over 4 class years
Mt Vernon Presbyterian School · 2014-2025 1.0 · 12 over 12 class years
Maret School · classes of 2022–2026 As published 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Oregon Episcopal School · Classes of 2022-26 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Portledge School · Classes of 2022–2026 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Ransom Everglades School · Classes of 2020-24 As published 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
The Lawrenceville School · the last five years 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
The Mountain School of Milton Academy · 2021-2025 As published 1.0 · 5 over 5 class years
Bentley School · College Matriculations 2022–2025 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Hawaii Preparatory Academy · The classes of 2017 to 2020 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Loyola School · 2023-2026 1.0 · 4 over 4 class years
Sage Hill School · 2023-2025 1.0 · 3 over 3 class years
The Hockaday School · 2024 – 2026 1.0 · 3 over 3 class years
Avenues the World School · CLASSES OF 2023–2026 · counted column: CLASS OF 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Berkeley Preparatory School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Brunswick School · Class of 2026 Matriculation; Composite Matriculation List of 2022-2026 · counted column: Class of 2026 Matriculation 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
California School of the Arts — San Gabriel Valley · Class of 2026 · counted column: Matriculation (Class of 2026) 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Cape Henry Collegiate School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Dana Hall School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Dwight-Englewood School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Falmouth Academy · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Marlborough School · Class of 2026 As published 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
McDonogh School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Middlesex School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Millbrook School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Nichols School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Notre Dame School of Manhattan · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Oak Knoll School of the Holy Child · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Orange County School of the Arts · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Paideia School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Prestonwood Christian Academy · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Princeton High School · Class of 2025 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Regis High School · 2022-2025 · counted column: Class of 2025 (number of students who matriculated from the Class of 2025) 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Saint Joseph-Notre Dame High School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Bryn Mawr School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Hun School of Princeton · CLASS OF 2026 MATRICULATION As published 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
The Tatnall School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Virginia Episcopal School · Class of 2024 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Western Reserve Academy · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Woodside Priory School · Class of 2026 1.0 · 1 over 1 class year
Key School · 2021 - 2026 0.8 · 5 over 6 class years
Cate School · 2022-2026 As published 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Durham Academy · 2021–2025 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Gilman School · classes of 2020-2024 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Hathaway Brown School · 2022 - 2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
The John Cooper School · Class of 2022 - 2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
William Penn Charter School · 2022-2026 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Athenian School · In the past four years, (2023-2026) As published 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Dublin School · 2023-2026 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Malvern Preparatory School · Classes of 2022-2025 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
University of Chicago Lab School · In the past four years 0.8 · 3 over 4 class years
Dalton School · 2019-2024 0.7 · 4 over 6 class years
Germantown Friends School · 2023-25 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
St Ignatius High School · CLASSES OF 2024-2025-2026 As published 0.7 · 2 over 3 class years
Kamehameha Schools Kapalama Campus · the last seven years, 2017-2023 0.6 · 4 over 7 class years
Berwick Academy · past five graduating classes (2022 – 2026) As published 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Episcopal High School · Classes of 2022 through 2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Norfolk Academy · 2021 - 2025 As published 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Packer Collegiate Institute · 2021 - 2025 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Polytechnic School · Class of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
San Francisco University High School · 2021-2025 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Santa Catalina School · Classes of 2021-2025 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
St. George's School · Classes of 2022-2026 As published 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Benjamin Private School, Inc. · Classes of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Berkeley Carroll School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Head-Royce School · (2021–25) 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Northwest School · classes of 2021-2025 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Waynflete School · Five-Year Matriculation (2021–2025) 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
The Bush School · 2020-2025 0.5 · 3 over 6 class years
Greenhill School · 2022 - 2025 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
The Potomac School · past four years 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Washington International School · 2022–2025 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Wheeler School · College Matriculation for the Classes of 2022-25 0.5 · 2 over 4 class years
Albany Academies · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Archmere Academy · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Dunn School · 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Friends Central School · 2019-2023 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Greenwich Academy · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Lakeside School · 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Springside Chestnut Hill Academy · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
St. Christopher's School · 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Agnes Irwin School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
The Barstow School · 2021-2025 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Tilton School · 2019-2023 0.4 · 2 over 5 class years
Canterbury School · 2019-2024 0.3 · 2 over 6 class years
York School · Classes of 2021-2026 0.3 · 2 over 6 class years
Branson School · Branson Classes of 2024-2026 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
St. Mark's School of Texas · Classes of 2023-2025 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
The Harker School · Classes of 2023, 2024 & 2025 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
The Putney School · (2023-2025) 0.3 · 1 over 3 class years
Bergen County Academies · 2019-2022 · counted column: COLLEGE ENROLLMENTS 2019-2022 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Charles Wright Academy · Class of 2021-2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Concord Academy · 2021 to 2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart (Houston) · 2021 - 2024 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Ethical Culture Fieldston School · Classes of 2022–2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Foxcroft School · CLASSES OF 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Great Neck North High School · Classes of 2021–2025 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
Holton-Arms School · College Matriculations 2017-2020 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Kent Place School · 2022-2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Lycee Francais de New York · Class of 2022-2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
North Shore Country Day School · 2023-2026 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Parker School · 2022-2026 As published 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Bishop's School · the Class of 2025 as well as the Classes of 2022-2025 As published 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
The Cambridge School of Weston · Classes of 2022-2026 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Derryfield School · 2022-2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
The Linsly School · 2020-24 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Meadows School · Over the past five years (2020 to 2024) As published 0.2 · 1 over 5 class years
The Pingry School · 2022-2025 0.2 · 1 over 4 class years
Vermont Academy · Matriculation List (2021-2026) 0.2 · 1 over 6 class years

Published, but not ranked — these schools name University of Colorado Boulder on a list of where their graduates enrolled whose class years we cannot read ("Since 2023", or no class year printed), so their totals are shown rather than divided: Yorba Linda High School (3, not stated); Garrison Forest School (1, Three-Year Survey); The Lovett School (1, List as of 5/1/2026 (no class year printed on the list itself; page 2 header reads "College Acceptance and Matriculation" and links this file as the "Class of 2026 matriculation list")).

How this is counted

195 high schools publish a numbered matriculation list — where their graduates actually enrolled, counted, in the school's own School Profile — and name University of Colorado Boulder on it. Between them they printed 828 enrolled graduates. Ranked by graduates per class year enrolling at University of Colorado Boulder, from each school's own published list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, so a one-year list and a five-year list can sit on the same page. A list whose class years we cannot read is not divided by a guess — it is listed below with its total instead.

Is my high school on this list?

Admitted — from the schools' acceptance lists

The ten largest, per class year Admitted per class year
1 Mira Costa High SchoolManhattan Beach, CA 151.0
2 Archbishop Mitty High SchoolSan Jose, CA 57.0
3 Chaminade College PreparatoryWest Hills, CA 48.0
7 Canterbury School-Fort MyersFort Myers, FL 6.0
8 Bishop Garcia Diego High SchoolSanta Barbara, CA 5.4
9 Jack M Barrack Hebrew AcademyBryn Mawr, PA 5.0
10 Mt Vernon Presbyterian SchoolAtlanta, GA 4.6
All 22 schools, with the class years each list covers
Mira Costa High School · 2022-2026 College Admission Data · counted column: The first column represents the number of students admitted from the Class of 2026 151.0 · 151 over 1 class year
Archbishop Mitty High School · Class of 2026 As published 57.0 · 57 over 1 class year
Chaminade College Preparatory · Class of 2026 48.0 · 48 over 1 class year
St Andrews School of Boca Raton Inc · Class of 2026 22.0 · 22 over 1 class year
Bronx High School of Science (The) · 2025 19.0 · 19 over 1 class year
California School of the Arts — San Gabriel Valley · Class of 2026 · counted column: Acceptances (Class of 2026) 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
Canterbury School-Fort Myers · Class of 2026 6.0 · 6 over 1 class year
Bishop Garcia Diego High School · (2021-2025) 5.4 · 27 over 5 class years
Jack M Barrack Hebrew Academy · Class of 2026 5.0 · 5 over 1 class year
Mt Vernon Presbyterian School · 2014-2025 · counted column: Number of Acceptances 4.6 · 55 over 12 class years
Middlesex School · Class of 2026 · counted column: accepted 4.0 · 4 over 1 class year
Key School · 2021 - 2026 · counted column: Acceptances 3.0 · 18 over 6 class years
The Altamont School · Classes of 2021-2025 3.0 · 15 over 5 class years
Lycée Français de San Francisco · Classes 2022, 2023, 2024 2.3 · 7 over 3 class years
Professional Childrens School · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
The TASIS School in Dorado · Class of 2026 2.0 · 2 over 1 class year
St Anselm'S Abbey School · 2022-2026 1.4 · 7 over 5 class years
Sage Hill School · 2023-2025 1.0 · 3 over 3 class years
Ranney School · Class of 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019 and 2018 As published 0.8 · 4 over 5 class years
Laguna Blanca School · Classes of 2022-2026 0.6 · 3 over 5 class years
Wilmington Friends School · 2023 & 2024 0.5 · 1 over 2 class years

Published, but not ranked — these schools name University of Colorado Boulder on a list of the colleges that admitted their graduates whose class years we cannot read ("Since 2023", or no class year printed), so their totals are shown rather than divided: Seven Lakes High School (4, not stated).

How this is counted

22 high schools publish a numbered list of college acceptances — where their graduates were admitted, not where they enrolled — and name University of Colorado Boulder on it. Between them they printed 466 admissions. Ranked by admissions per class year to University of Colorado Boulder, from each school's own published acceptances list: the number that school printed, divided by the class years its list covers. Admits are counted at each college a student was admitted to, the same way the UC Reach Score counts a student admitted to three UC campuses three times — so this is a count of admissions, not of students. The published total and the school's own years label are shown beside every school, and a list whose class years we cannot read is listed below with its total rather than divided by a guess.

All 211 feeder schools, ranked →

Counted from each school's own published document, linked on that school's page. A high school that is not here does not publish a numbered list we could read — that is all absence means, and it says nothing about its graduates. Where a school publishes both, the two lists are shown separately: an acceptances list is not a list of enrollments, and the two are never added together.

Odds at University of Colorado Boulder

Put in your child's GPA and score — we'll show where they land here. Free, and nothing to sign up for.

Most families report the weighted one — it's the higher number, with honors and AP credit in it.

—

This reads the numbers — admit rate, scores, GPA. The real decision also weighs essays, recommendations, activities, and course rigor.

Get their full list — free Family Decision Report →

The free report adds every college on your list — Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds, your real net price, and merit-scholarship eligibility. About a minute.

Live odds from each college's own published admissions data.

Parent/student verdict

Accessible

Accessible for most applicants.

Best for

  • Strong academic profiles — students here cluster in the top test and GPA tiers (bands above)
  • Research-oriented students (R1 — top tier of federal research funding)
  • Students who thrive in a large, programmatic environment

The reality

  • You'd be near the bottom of their admitted class if: SAT below 1230, or ACT below 28, or unweighted GPA below 3.57 (test bands are the school's own; the 3.57 line is our estimate, not a published figure)
  • Out-of-state tuition is 2.9× the in-state rate

Verdict is composed from this college's structured data (admit rate, SAT bands, net price with aid and at full price, Carnegie classification, scholarship grids) using transparent rule thresholds — not a chat-bot's opinion.

What are your child's odds here?

Enter their numbers once — this and every college page shows their verdict, and the UC campus cards on California school pages light up with it too. Free, no email.

Weighted is the higher GPA, with honors/AP credit in it — pick whichever your school reports. PSAT scores work in the SAT box.

Institutional snapshot

What kind of college is this?

Carnegie classification
R1: Doctoral - Very High Research Activity
Undergraduates
31,939
20,000 and above including graduate students
In-state tuitionThe published full price before any aid. Families who don't qualify for need-based aid at a given college pay this, minus any merit scholarships — whether you qualify depends on the college's price and policies, not on any fixed income line.
$15,666
sticker, before aid
Out-of-state tuition
$44,918
+$29,252 vs in-state
Admit rateThe share of applicants a college accepts. Useful context, but your student's odds depend on their own grades and scores, not the average.
83.3%
Accepts the majority
SAT middle 50%The middle half of the enrolled first-years who sent this test scored in this range — a quarter of them scored BELOW the low end and still got in, and a quarter scored above the high end. At a test-optional college the students who submitted are often a minority of the class, so the range describes them rather than everyone who enrolled. Above the top number is a genuine strength; below the bottom isn't automatic rejection.
1230–1420
EBRW + Math composite
ACT middle 50%The middle half of the enrolled first-years who sent this test scored in this range — a quarter of them scored BELOW the low end and still got in, and a quarter scored above the high end. At a test-optional college the students who submitted are often a minority of the class, so the range describes them rather than everyone who enrolled. Above the top number is a genuine strength; below the bottom isn't automatic rejection.
28–33
composite
Test policyApplicants choose whether to send SAT/ACT scores. At many such colleges, students who submit strong scores are still admitted at higher rates.
Test-optional
2023
10-yr earningsMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$69,738
median, after entry

20% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score, 8% an ACT — these ranges describe students who submitted, not the whole class.

Source: federal IPEDS Admissions 2023 for scores + admit rate; federal College Scorecard (20260606 vintage) for earnings + outcomes. SAT/ACT bands are the 25th–75th percentile of enrolled submitters.

High-school GPA

3.77 avg unweightedGPA on the plain 4.0 scale, no honors/AP bonus. When a college publishes an "average admitted GPA of 3.9," it's often this scale — don't compare it to a weighted 4.3. GPA, enrolled first-years

unweighted 4.0 scale. Common Data Set 2025-2026 ↗

As published by the college in its Common Data Set / admissions data (2025-26) — independently verified 2026-07-23 (source linked above). GPA basis (weighted vs. unweighted vs. 4.0-scale) varies by college and is labeled above.

Outcomes & cost

What graduates actually earn, finish, and owe.

Federal College Scorecard data. Earnings are median annual income measured years after entering. Debt is for federal-aid borrowers only (cash-pay students aren't counted).

Earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$54,939
Earnings, 10 yrs after entryMedian yearly pay of former students ten years after they STARTED here — not ten years after graduating — all majors combined. The broadest single outcome number a college reports.
$69,738
Graduate within 6 yrsThe share of students who start here and finish a bachelor's within six years — the standard federal measure, and the one College Scorecard publishes. It is not a four-year rate. Read it as the odds of finishing at all: nationally about a third of students who start never do, and an unfinished degree is the most expensive outcome in this decision.
74%
Median debt (completers)The federal-loan balance of the typical graduating borrower. Families who pay cash aren't counted, so read it as "among those who borrowed."
$19,500

The real cost

What University of Colorado Boulder actually costs

If you qualify for need aidGrant money based on your family's finances (via FAFSA and the college's own forms), not your student's stats.
$25,346/yr
average among aid-receiving families, all incomes — your number depends on your finances
If you don't
$37,684/yr
the full published price for in-state students — out-of-state runs higher

Which side your family lands on isn't set by any national income line — it's set by University of Colorado Boulder's own aid decision: the gap between its price and your family's finances.

University of Colorado Boulder's own published aid policy · as published when we checked, August 2026

Tuition-free under $65,000

Who qualifies: CO residents; covers tuition + fees, not housing.

The CU Promise is a combination of grants that cover tuition and fees for students with significant financial need. Families who are eligible typically have an adjusted gross income of $65,000 or less

Income thresholds assume typical assets. Policy independently verified against the college's financial-aid pages ↗.

Get your family's number — University of Colorado Boulder's Net Price Calculator ↗ 10–15 minutes; have a tax return handy. It's still an estimate — but it's this college's own, built from your family's numbers, not anyone's average.
Start your Family Decision Report →

Your odds + estimated cost across your whole college list, side by side.

The payoffTen years of typical graduate pay minus four years of cost — how many dollars ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten. Check both the full-price and with-aid versions to see which applies to you; median pay reflects who a college admits and what they study as much as the college itself., both ways

+$547K ahead at full price +$596K with aid
Full price, no aidThe all-in yearly price — tuition, housing, food, books, fees — before any aid. This is the real "full price," not just the tuition line. (4 yrs, in-state)
$150,736
~$37,684/yr all-in (out-of-state runs higher)
Aid recipients pay (4 yrs)
$101,384
$25,346/yr average
10-yr earnings total
$697,380
$69,738/yr median, 10 yrs out
Years to recoup the cost
2.2 yrs
at full price (1.5 with aid), at the median earnings rate

Source: College Scorecard (average net price among Title IV first-time, full-time undergraduates who received aid) and each college's published cost of attendance. We don't show the federal net-price-by-income brackets: their categories were fixed in 2008 and never adjusted, and none of the averages is your family's own number — the full story. Payoff = (10-yr median earnings × 10) − (4 years of cost), in dollars — how far ahead a typical graduate runs by year ten; medians travel with the students a college admits and the majors they choose as much as with the college itself. Full price is the published cost of attendance, largely in-state for publics; earnings are 10 years after enrollment, all majors combined.

What students study here

Most popular majors at University of Colorado Boulder

Top 5 fields of study by bachelor's degrees awarded (most recent IPEDS Completions). Use this to see what University of Colorado Boulder actually graduates — not just what it markets.

1. Business, Management, & Marketing
1,201 degrees · 27.8%
Broad set of corporate roles. Finance + consulting pay top, accounting + HR pay middle, sales spread is wide.
2. Engineering
865 degrees · 20.0%
Engineering majors land high-paying technical roles. Top-earning sub-disciplines: petroleum, chemical, computer engineering.
3. Biological & Biomedical Sciences
825 degrees · 19.1%
Many bio majors → med school / grad school. Direct-employment bio roles are lower-paid than that pipeline.
4. Communication, Journalism, & Related
732 degrees · 16.9%
Media, PR, marketing communications. Salary spread is wide.
5. Social Sciences
699 degrees · 16.2%
Economics + poli sci sub-disciplines pay much more than sociology + anthropology.

What those majors earn here

Median earnings 4 years after entry, by major — University of Colorado Boulder's own graduates, not national averages.

Major (CIP) Credential Cohort 1-yr earnings 4-yr earnings
Computer Science. Bachelor's Degree 473 $77,385 $121,952
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 199 $81,835 $116,350
Computer Engineering. Bachelor's Degree — $86,211 $115,181
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 26 $88,957 $100,631
Chemical Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 47 $70,359 $95,780
Civil Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 81 $73,033 $94,960
Mechanical Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 235 $66,089 $93,073
Mathematics. Bachelor's Degree 117 $41,176 $90,635
Architectural Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 44 $72,567 $89,797
Biochemical Engineering. Bachelor's Degree 72 $70,668 $89,262

Sources: IPEDS Completions (C2023_a; bachelor's-level first majors, 2-digit CIP family — share is of the top 5 only) · College Scorecard program-level outcomes (PP-FOS). Full college-vs-major comparison: /college-outcomes →

Alternatives to University of Colorado Boulder

Matched not just by selectivity, but by strategic goal — what a family actually decides on.

Better merit-aid options
These similar-selectivity schools publish merit scholarships your family can plan around — your kid’s stats could unlock real scholarship dollars.
University of Alabama in Huntsville
AL · Public
39 stats-based merit scholarships
Texas Tech University
TX · Public
30 stats-based + 1 competitive scholarships
The University of Alabama
AL · Public
21 stats-based + 2 competitive scholarships
Lower full price
Similar selectivity, but a meaningfully lower full sticker price — the comparison that matters most for families who won't qualify for much need-based aid.
United States Merchant Marine Academy
NY · Public
$9,168/yr full price (in-state) · $28,516 less before aid for NY residents
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public
$13,905/yr full price (in-state) · $23,779 less before aid for NY residents
CUNY Brooklyn College
NY · Public
$14,151/yr full price (in-state) · $23,533 less before aid for NY residents
Safer in-state options
Same state and similar selectivity, but with a more forgiving admit rate — useful safety / match anchors.
University of Colorado Colorado Springs
CO · Public
97% admit rate (vs 83% here)

Or compare any college side-by-side

Deciding on University of Colorado Boulder?

Get the full picture in one free report — your child's Reach / Competitive / Match / Likely odds and your real net price, for University of Colorado Boulder and every other college on your list.

Get your child's odds at University of Colorado Boulder →

Score-odds calculator · Improve the score first · Find merit aid

For Parents

Get alerts when University of Colorado Boulder's numbers change

New admit rates, costs, and outcomes — a few alerts a year, no spam. Your email also saves your list across devices.

Objective, government-grade data — no school pays us for placement.

At a glance

JSON · Using this page with an AI assistant

University of Colorado Boulder is a public four-year college in CO. It admitted 83% of applicants (56,069 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-optional.

Middle 50% of enrolled first-years who submitted that test: SAT 1230–1420, ACT 28–33. 20% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score, 8% an ACT — these ranges describe students who submitted, not the whole class. Average enrolled GPA 3.77 (unweighted, 2025-26, as published by the college).

Cost: about $25,346 a year on average with aid, $37,684 a year at full price for in-state students.

Median earnings ten years after entry: $69,738 a year. Payoff, meaning ten years of that pay minus four years of cost: $595,996 ahead with aid, $546,644 ahead at full price.

Highest median earnings four years after the degree, by program: Computer Science ($121,952); Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($116,350); Computer Engineering ($115,181).

Aid pledge published by the college: families earning under $65,000 pay no tuition (CO residents; covers tuition + fees, not housing).

High schools that publish a numbered matriculation list and name University of Colorado Boulder: 195, 828 enrolled students between them — ranked by graduates per class year, most often New Trier Township High School Winnetka (25.0 per class year, 25 over 1 class year, Class of 2025); Mira Costa High School (18.0 per class year, 18 over 1 class year, Class of 2026); LASA High School (10.0 per class year, 10 over 1 class year, Class of 2025). Each figure is the number that school printed divided by the class years its own list covers; the totals and years are shown. These are the schools that publish such a list, not every school that sends students; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/university-of-colorado-boulder.

High schools that publish a numbered list of college acceptances naming University of Colorado Boulder: 22, 466 admissions between them — ranked by admissions per class year, most often Mira Costa High School (151.0 per class year, 151 over 1 class year, 2022-2026 College Admission Data, counted column "The first column represents the number of students admitted from the Class of 2026"); Archbishop Mitty High School (57.0 per class year, 57 over 1 class year, Class of 2026); Chaminade College Preparatory (48.0 per class year, 48 over 1 class year, Class of 2026). Admits are counted at each college, so this counts admissions, not students. These are a different set of documents from the matriculation lists above and the two are never added together; full list: https://highschoolreach.com/leaderboards/feeder-schools/university-of-colorado-boulder.

Machine-readable version of this page: https://highschoolreach.com/colleges/university-of-colorado-boulder.json

Questions families ask

What is University of Colorado Boulder's acceptance rate? University of Colorado Boulder is a public four-year college in CO. It admitted 83% of applicants (56,069 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-optional.

Does University of Colorado Boulder require the SAT or ACT? University of Colorado Boulder is a public four-year college in CO. It admitted 83% of applicants (56,069 applied, 2023). Test policy: Test-optional.

What SAT or ACT scores do University of Colorado Boulder students have? Middle 50% of enrolled first-years who submitted that test: SAT 1230–1420, ACT 28–33. 20% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score, 8% an ACT — these ranges describe students who submitted, not the whole class. Average enrolled GPA 3.77 (unweighted, 2025-26, as published by the college).

How much does University of Colorado Boulder cost? Cost: about $25,346 a year on average with aid, $37,684 a year at full price for in-state students.

What do University of Colorado Boulder graduates earn? Median earnings ten years after entry: $69,738 a year. Payoff, meaning ten years of that pay minus four years of cost: $595,996 ahead with aid, $546,644 ahead at full price.

Which majors at University of Colorado Boulder pay the most? Highest median earnings four years after the degree, by program: Computer Science ($121,952); Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering ($116,350); Computer Engineering ($115,181).

Does University of Colorado Boulder offer free tuition or meet full need? Aid pledge published by the college: families earning under $65,000 pay no tuition (CO residents; covers tuition + fees, not housing).

Which high schools send the most graduates to University of Colorado Boulder? The high schools sending the most graduates per class year to University of Colorado Boulder, from each school's own published list: New Trier Township High School Winnetka (25), Mira Costa High School (18), LASA High School (10), Colorado Academy (8), Greenwich High School (8). 195 high schools' lists name University of Colorado Boulder.

By major: Aerospace EngineeringAnthropologyArchitectureArt (Studio)Art HistoryBiochemistryBiologyBiomedical Engineering and BioengineeringBusiness AdministrationChemical EngineeringChemistryCivil EngineeringCommunicationCommunication Sciences and DisordersComputer EngineeringComputer ScienceDanceEconomicsElectrical EngineeringEnglishEnvironmental EngineeringEnvironmental ScienceFilm and TelevisionGeneral Engineering
+30 more programs
GeographyGeology and Earth ScienceGlobal and International StudiesHistoryInformation SystemsJournalismLiberal Studies (teacher preparation)LinguisticsMathematicsMechanical EngineeringMusicNeurosciencePhilosophyPhysicsPolitical SciencePsychologyReligious StudiesSociologySpanishStatisticsTheatreAsian StudiesChinese Language and LiteratureClassicsEngineering PhysicsEngineering TechnologyFrench Language and LiteratureJapanese Language and LiteratureMusic Teacher EducationWomen's Studies

Analysis: Test Prep Gurus (High School Reach, highschoolreach.com). These figures may be quoted with attribution to Test Prep Gurus.

Get your child's odds →

What families ask next