By major · General Engineering
Where can your student actually get into general engineering?
General engineering is a real degree rather than a holding pattern: students take the engineering core and then choose a concentration, which suits a student who is sure about engineering and unsure which kind. 172 colleges awarded a bachelor's in it in 2022-23. There are 17 colleges in California on this page and 5 of them publish an admit rate into the major. UC Davis reports the hardest door, 37%, with 2,035 students applying and 755 admitted.
At a glance · All states
- 186 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's general engineering program: 172 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 3 more report a general engineering admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 11 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Arizona State University Campus Immersion (160), Mercer University (138), Michigan State University (101).
- 17 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Davis — Engineering, Fall 2025: 2,035 applied, 755 admitted (37%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Bakersfield — 90.7% (389 applied, 353 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: Franklin W Olin College of Engineering, $135,136.
- Lowest average net price with aid: College of Staten Island CUNY, $5,579 per year.
This page counts the degrees colleges file as Engineering, Engineering Science, Applied Engineering and Pre-Engineering, which is the general engineering family in the federal data. Named engineering majors have pages of their own, and engineering technology is a different degree that is not counted here. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (17 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Engineering, Fall 2025: 2,035 applied, 755 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Engineering, Fall 2025: 389 applied, 353 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Engineering
Fall 2025: 2,035 applied, 755 admitted · admit GPA 4.04–4.28
|
— | 37% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $114,228 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Engineering Science
Fall 2025: 541 applied, 209 admitted
impacted
|
— | 38.6% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
|
California State University-Fullerton
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Engineering
Fall 2025: 618 applied, 527 admitted
impacted
|
— | 85.3% | 87% | $6,555 | $18,269 | — |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Engineering
Fall 2025: 82 applied, 71 admitted
impacted
|
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
86.6% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
California State University-Bakersfield
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Engineering
Fall 2025: 389 applied, 353 admitted
|
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
90.7% | 88% | $5,652 | $19,522 | — |
|
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
39 graduates
|
— | 22% | $25,171 | $86,474 | $135,136 |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
6 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | $128,207 |
|
Harvey Mudd College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
53 graduates
|
— | 13% | $35,924 | $90,165 | $122,845 |
|
Carnegie Mellon University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 11% | $31,944 | $83,654 | $110,208 |
|
Brown University
RI · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
73 graduates
|
— | 5% | $25,184 | $87,648 | $108,550 |
|
McNeese State University
LA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
32 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,493 | $22,810 | $107,319 |
|
Seattle Pacific University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $24,488 | $56,826 | $106,291 |
|
Lafayette College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
13 graduates
|
— | 32% | $34,433 | $83,133 | $104,222 |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
101 graduates
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | $102,301 |
|
University of Virginia-Main Campus
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 17% | $21,565 | $39,926 | $101,078 |
|
North Carolina State University at Raleigh
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
31 graduates
|
— | 40% | $17,303 | $26,425 | $99,838 |
|
Frostburg State University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
28 graduates
|
— | 89% | $16,715 | $27,056 | $99,671 |
|
Wentworth Institute of Technology
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
16 graduates
|
— | 85% | $34,170 | $61,096 | $96,695 |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
160 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | $94,332 |
|
Texas Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
51 graduates
|
— | 43% | $36,660 | $76,604 | $93,753 |
|
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 77% | $20,268 | $31,713 | $92,426 |
|
University of Southern Indiana
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 95% | — | $22,383 | $92,209 |
|
James Madison University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
66 graduates
|
— | 76% | $23,322 | $31,735 | $91,761 |
|
University of Alabama in Huntsville
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 74% | $18,796 | $27,392 | $91,645 |
|
George Fox University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 96% | $31,679 | $58,644 | $91,427 |
|
John Brown University
AR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 68% | $20,397 | $44,710 | $90,783 |
|
Mercer University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
138 graduates
|
— | 66% | $23,847 | $58,204 | $88,413 |
|
University of North Carolina Asheville
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
21 graduates
|
— | 94% | $12,250 | $21,685 | $88,346 |
|
Elizabethtown College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
35 graduates
|
— | 77% | $26,598 | $50,865 | $88,104 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Brandywine
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
9 graduates
|
— | 95% | $22,585 | $31,088 | $88,063 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State DuBois
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
7 graduates
|
— | 92% | — | $28,530 | $88,063 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 92% | $18,071 | $28,795 | $88,063 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Hazleton
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,597 | $29,677 | $88,063 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | $88,063 |
|
Stony Brook University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
11 graduates
|
— | 49% | $18,784 | $30,539 | $87,517 |
|
The University of Tennessee-Martin
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
8 graduates
|
— | 87% | $10,701 | $23,079 | $87,043 |
|
Loyola University Maryland
MD · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
38 graduates
|
— | 76% | $30,574 | $74,055 | $86,585 |
|
Robert Morris University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
62 graduates
|
— | 91% | $23,003 | $51,621 | $86,444 |
|
Wilkes University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 92% | $27,743 | $56,765 | $86,308 |
|
Smith College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 20% | $27,579 | $86,030 | $86,262 |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | $86,148 |
|
Northwest Nazarene University
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
10 graduates
|
— | 63% | $29,580 | $55,163 | $85,643 |
|
Messiah University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 78% | $26,502 | $55,875 | $84,927 |
|
East Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
76 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,739 | $23,867 | $84,847 |
|
Baylor University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
7 graduates
|
— | 51% | $41,104 | $74,226 | $84,689 |
|
Oral Roberts University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
17 graduates
|
— | 99% | $25,365 | $50,004 | $84,649 |
|
Saint Vincent College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
17 graduates
|
— | 59% | $23,510 | $56,752 | $84,180 |
|
Minnesota State University-Mankato
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
63 graduates
|
— | 91% | $19,139 | $23,995 | $82,903 |
|
Olivet Nazarene University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
31 graduates
|
— | 67% | $20,729 | $51,981 | $82,632 |
|
Hope College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
49 graduates
|
— | 76% | $27,182 | $55,646 | $82,513 |
|
Western Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
45 graduates
|
— | 87% | $13,315 | $19,992 | $82,500 |
|
Calvin University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
79 graduates
|
— | 71% | $22,992 | $54,222 | $82,326 |
|
The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 77% | $14,265 | $25,489 | $81,757 |
|
Swarthmore College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
33 graduates
|
— | 7% | $23,149 | $84,103 | $78,519 |
|
University of Hartford
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
9 graduates
|
— | 83% | $30,282 | $64,729 | $78,351 |
|
Fort Lewis College
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
26 graduates
|
— | 93% | $17,296 | $27,030 | $77,389 |
|
SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 83% | $18,952 | $28,133 | $74,307 |
|
Marshall University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 96% | $7,502 | $22,022 | $72,922 |
|
Savannah College of Art and Design
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Engineering
100 graduates
|
— | 84% | $49,430 | $63,627 | — |
|
Ohio University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Engineering
56 graduates
|
— | 85% | $21,637 | $30,586 | — |
|
Massachusetts Maritime Academy
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Engineering
46 graduates
|
— | 95% | $21,582 | $31,367 | — |
|
Daytona State College
FL · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Engineering
45 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Wake Forest University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
36 graduates
|
— | 22% | $28,719 | $87,499 | — |
|
Indiana University-Bloomington
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
30 graduates
|
— | 80% | $16,264 | $28,801 | — |
|
Millersville University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Applied Engineering
29 graduates
|
— | 89% | $20,787 | $26,913 | — |
|
College of Staten Island CUNY
NY · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
28 graduates
|
— | — | $5,579 | — | — |
|
Geneva College
PA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
28 graduates
|
— | — | $25,890 | — | — |
|
Campbell University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
27 graduates
|
— | 94% | $24,516 | $62,187 | — |
|
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
26 graduates
|
— | 83% | $25,346 | $37,684 | — |
|
Abilene Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
23 graduates
|
— | 64% | $26,182 | $59,256 | — |
|
University of the Incarnate Word
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
21 graduates
|
— | 93% | $22,775 | $48,681 | — |
|
Southern Arkansas University Main Campus
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
19 graduates
|
— | 67% | $14,027 | $24,951 | — |
|
Trinity College
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
18 graduates
|
— | 34% | $34,832 | $87,840 | — |
|
University of Mississippi
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
18 graduates
|
— | 98% | $13,314 | $28,660 | — |
|
Bob Jones University
SC · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
17 graduates
|
— | — | $16,641 | — | — |
|
Boise State University
ID · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
17 graduates
|
— | 84% | $21,610 | $28,224 | — |
|
Colorado School of Mines
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
17 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,690 | $40,560 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
17 graduates
|
— | 63% | $21,315 | $32,696 | — |
|
Andrews University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
16 graduates
|
— | 87% | $12,547 | $45,218 | — |
|
University of San Diego
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
16 graduates
|
— | 47% | $30,365 | $78,720 | — |
|
Doane University
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
15 graduates
|
— | 90% | $26,364 | $57,836 | — |
|
Loras College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
15 graduates
|
— | 92% | $20,716 | $50,537 | — |
|
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
15 graduates
|
— | 95% | $26,106 | $46,874 | — |
|
Hampton University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
14 graduates
|
— | 48% | $25,319 | $46,027 | — |
|
Elon University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
13 graduates
|
— | 67% | $41,555 | $62,266 | — |
|
Rowan University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
12 graduates
|
— | 78% | $22,408 | $35,842 | — |
|
United States Naval Academy
MD · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
12 graduates
|
— | 9% | — | — | — |
|
University of Northwestern-St Paul
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
12 graduates
|
— | 92% | $27,705 | $51,325 | — |
|
College of the Ozarks
MO · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
11 graduates
|
— | 15% | $6,100 | $33,734 | — |
|
Cornell College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
11 graduates
|
— | 81% | $23,634 | $66,249 | — |
|
Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
11 graduates
|
— | 73% | $42,513 | $77,890 | — |
|
The University of Texas at El Paso
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
11 graduates
|
— | 100% | $9,403 | $19,836 | — |
|
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
11 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,338 | $25,941 | — |
|
Endicott College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
10 graduates
|
— | 72% | $40,654 | $59,328 | — |
|
Gonzaga University
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
10 graduates
|
— | 76% | $35,119 | $73,178 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
10 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
Azusa Pacific University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
9 graduates
|
— | 80% | $22,212 | $56,313 | — |
|
Indiana State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
9 graduates
|
— | 92% | $10,873 | $24,535 | — |
|
Taylor University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
9 graduates
|
— | 76% | $24,865 | $53,405 | — |
|
Washington and Lee University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
9 graduates
|
— | 17% | $23,781 | $87,000 | — |
|
Eastern Mennonite University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
8 graduates
|
— | 100% | $24,588 | $56,756 | — |
|
Temple University
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
8 graduates
|
— | 83% | $28,198 | $40,903 | — |
|
University of Detroit Mercy
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
8 graduates
|
— | 80% | $15,232 | $42,211 | — |
|
Bryan College-Dayton
TN · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
7 graduates
|
— | — | $20,614 | — | — |
|
Florida International University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
7 graduates
|
— | 59% | $9,288 | $21,462 | — |
|
Grand Canyon University
AZ · Private for-profit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
7 graduates
|
— | 60% | $22,472 | $32,702 | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
7 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
|
Baldwin Wallace University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
6 graduates
|
— | 77% | $27,603 | $55,606 | — |
|
Bethel University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
6 graduates
|
— | 99% | $18,610 | $43,885 | — |
|
Central College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
6 graduates
|
— | 79% | $23,377 | $37,773 | — |
|
Houston Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
6 graduates
|
— | 85% | $20,629 | $50,082 | — |
|
Saint Francis University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
6 graduates
|
— | 77% | $23,526 | $59,815 | — |
|
The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
6 graduates
|
— | 19% | $13,269 | $64,190 | — |
|
DePauw University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 54% | $22,264 | $74,320 | — |
|
Hanover College
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 84% | $21,829 | $58,821 | — |
|
Henderson State University
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 82% | $23,405 | $27,385 | — |
|
Old Dominion University
VA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,638 | $29,446 | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
Randolph-Macon College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 83% | $27,866 | $63,985 | — |
|
United States Air Force Academy
CO · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 14% | — | — | — |
|
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 69% | $20,995 | $30,785 | — |
|
University of New Haven
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 80% | $34,192 | $66,962 | — |
|
Whitman College
WA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
5 graduates
|
— | 50% | $33,313 | $78,092 | — |
|
Charleston Southern University
SC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 76% | $21,666 | $44,558 | — |
|
Cornerstone University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 73% | $20,301 | $42,043 | — |
|
Drexel University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 78% | $38,509 | $76,835 | — |
|
East Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,983 | $27,042 | — |
|
Michigan Technological University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,182 | $34,152 | — |
|
New Jersey Institute of Technology
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 67% | $16,504 | $32,859 | — |
|
Nova Southeastern University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 73% | $30,371 | $56,692 | — |
|
Schreiner University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 88% | $21,507 | $48,004 | — |
|
Siena Heights University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 67% | $17,124 | $44,449 | — |
|
Tennessee Technological University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,246 | $25,663 | — |
|
University of Vermont
VT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 60% | $19,343 | $35,649 | — |
|
Viterbo University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
4 graduates
|
— | 73% | $21,260 | $45,558 | — |
|
Greenville University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 95% | $19,533 | $45,091 | — |
|
Maryville College
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 66% | $19,360 | $54,622 | — |
|
Miami University-Oxford
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 82% | $28,384 | $38,757 | — |
|
Milwaukee School of Engineering
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 60% | $22,453 | $62,648 | — |
|
Monmouth College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 87% | $17,133 | $57,157 | — |
|
Rollins College
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
3 graduates
|
— | 41% | $34,732 | $76,108 | — |
|
Saint Mary's College of California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 89% | $30,378 | $77,659 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
3 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
Southern Utah University
UT · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 80% | — | $19,416 | — |
|
Washington University in St Louis
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 12% | $21,786 | $88,488 | — |
|
Winona State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 68% | $17,503 | $23,683 | — |
|
Asbury University
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
2 graduates
|
— | 64% | $21,401 | $47,459 | — |
|
Bard College at Simon's Rock
MA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Birmingham-Southern College
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
2 graduates
|
— | 52% | — | — | — |
|
California Baptist University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 74% | $26,285 | $54,038 | — |
|
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 29% | $41,190 | $85,851 | — |
|
Dordt University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $25,807 | $51,733 | — |
|
Eastern Nazarene College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 59% | $25,381 | $42,179 | — |
|
Freed-Hardeman University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
2 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,574 | $38,315 | — |
|
Grand Valley State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 95% | $16,317 | $28,367 | — |
|
Louisiana Christian University
LA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
2 graduates
|
— | — | $13,113 | — | — |
|
Muskingum University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $19,532 | $44,658 | — |
|
Norwich University
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 74% | $22,257 | $67,357 | — |
|
Ottawa University-Ottawa
KS · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $27,963 | $51,856 | — |
|
Piedmont University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 93% | $20,599 | $46,801 | — |
|
Providence College
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
2 graduates
|
— | 49% | $48,523 | $80,466 | — |
|
Saint Anselm College
NH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
2 graduates
|
— | 78% | $34,779 | $67,213 | — |
|
Saint Michael's College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 92% | $25,239 | $69,079 | — |
|
University of Alabama at Birmingham
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,749 | $28,145 | — |
|
University of Indianapolis
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $21,602 | $52,590 | — |
|
Beloit College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 57% | $21,526 | $71,365 | — |
|
Binghamton University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 38% | $21,620 | $30,345 | — |
|
California Institute of Technology
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 3% | $16,075 | $86,886 | — |
|
George Washington University
DC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 44% | $36,586 | $83,856 | — |
|
Johns Hopkins University
MD · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 8% | $18,809 | $85,947 | — |
|
Kettering University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 79% | $34,660 | $61,250 | — |
|
Lee University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
1 graduate
|
— | 72% | $18,878 | $35,688 | — |
|
Manchester University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $18,805 | $49,993 | — |
|
Northern Arizona University
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $14,158 | $29,933 | — |
|
Northwestern University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 7% | $29,167 | $91,250 | — |
|
Pomona College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
1 graduate
|
— | 7% | $19,285 | $85,300 | — |
|
Purdue University Fort Wayne
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 86% | $13,171 | $22,183 | — |
|
Roger Williams University
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 88% | $37,999 | $61,950 | — |
|
SUNY Polytechnic Institute
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 78% | $14,164 | $23,741 | — |
|
Saint Augustine's University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 59% | $24,313 | $33,179 | — |
|
Spelman College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 34% | — | $50,952 | — |
|
Thomas Jefferson University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 86% | $28,928 | $64,197 | — |
|
Utah Tech University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Webster University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Pre-Engineering
1 graduate
|
— | 58% | $27,047 | $51,188 | — |
|
Western Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering, General
1 graduate
|
— | 75% | $12,937 | $28,254 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/general-engineering, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a general engineering applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
General engineering works best where the concentrations are strong, so the question at each campus is which specialties it actually runs. Pick campuses across that admit range and look at what the degree pays: in California the highest median four years out is $122,845, at Harvey Mudd. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359