By major · Agriculture
Where can your student actually get into agriculture?
In 2022-23, 73 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in agriculture, 4 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Tarleton State University, with 113 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 74 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's agriculture program: 73 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Tarleton State University (113), Illinois State University (101), Western Illinois University (79).
- 5 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo — Agriculture, Fall 2025: 192 applied, 105 admitted (54.7%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: California State University-Stanislaus — 97.5% (79 applied, 77 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus, $4,904 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (5 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Agriculture, Fall 2025: 192 applied, 105 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Agriculture, Fall 2025: 79 applied, 77 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Agriculture
Fall 2025: 192 applied, 105 admitted
impacted
|
Agriculture, General
31 graduates
|
54.7% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
|
California State University-Stanislaus
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Agriculture
Fall 2025: 79 applied, 77 admitted
|
Agriculture, General
23 graduates
|
97.5% | 98% | $6,067 | $19,739 | — |
|
Tarleton State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
113 graduates
|
— | 94% | $20,783 | $24,100 | — |
|
Illinois State University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
101 graduates
|
— | 89% | $19,398 | $34,309 | — |
|
Western Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
79 graduates
|
— | 75% | $12,937 | $28,254 | — |
|
The University of Tennessee-Martin
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
67 graduates
|
— | 87% | $10,701 | $23,079 | — |
|
Western Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
66 graduates
|
— | 97% | $10,990 | $24,188 | — |
|
Stephen F Austin State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
64 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,260 | $25,791 | — |
|
Oregon State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
62 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,604 | $31,653 | — |
|
Prairie View A & M University
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
58 graduates
|
— | 75% | $13,570 | $26,362 | — |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
57 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | — |
|
Tennessee Technological University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
52 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,246 | $25,663 | — |
|
California State University-Chico
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
50 graduates
|
— | 94% | $14,480 | $26,283 | — |
|
McNeese State University
LA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
49 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,493 | $22,810 | — |
|
Texas State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
47 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,805 | $28,073 | — |
|
South Dakota State University
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
45 graduates
|
— | 99% | $19,841 | $24,636 | — |
|
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
43 graduates
|
— | 77% | $20,268 | $31,713 | — |
|
Fort Hays State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
41 graduates
|
— | 92% | $12,569 | $19,909 | — |
|
North Carolina State University at Raleigh
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
40 graduates
|
— | 40% | $17,303 | $26,425 | — |
|
Austin Peay State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
37 graduates
|
— | 96% | $9,735 | $22,233 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
36 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
Southern University and A & M College
LA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
32 graduates
|
— | 50% | $20,077 | $26,341 | — |
|
West Texas A & M University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
31 graduates
|
— | 97% | $19,487 | $23,482 | — |
|
Northwest Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
29 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,244 | $24,945 | — |
|
North Carolina A & T State University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
27 graduates
|
— | 46% | $10,846 | $20,427 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-Commerce
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
26 graduates
|
— | 93% | $11,841 | $23,438 | — |
|
Delaware State University
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
25 graduates
|
— | 62% | $13,910 | $27,939 | — |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
25 graduates
|
— | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | — |
|
Southern Utah University
UT · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
25 graduates
|
— | 80% | — | $19,416 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
24 graduates
|
— | 63% | $21,315 | $32,696 | — |
|
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
23 graduates
|
— | 21% | $13,739 | $23,970 | — |
|
Sam Houston State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
23 graduates
|
— | 85% | $16,404 | $25,505 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-Kingsville
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
20 graduates
|
— | 92% | $12,090 | $24,060 | — |
|
Alcorn State University
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
19 graduates
|
— | 25% | $13,265 | $23,751 | — |
|
University of Hawaii at Hilo
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
18 graduates
|
— | 90% | $11,856 | $21,173 | — |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
17 graduates
|
— | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | — |
|
Cameron University
OK · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
17 graduates
|
— | — | $10,912 | — | — |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
17 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | — |
|
Truman State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
16 graduates
|
— | 80% | $12,780 | $25,115 | — |
|
Dickinson State University
ND · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
15 graduates
|
— | — | $14,092 | — | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
15 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
Berea College
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
14 graduates
|
— | 33% | $6,106 | $60,718 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Reno
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
14 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,927 | $25,786 | — |
|
Virginia State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
14 graduates
|
— | 89% | $15,840 | $27,661 | — |
|
Warner University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
14 graduates
|
— | 48% | $19,748 | $41,044 | — |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
13 graduates
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | — |
|
Ferrum College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
12 graduates
|
— | 100% | $20,082 | $54,526 | — |
|
Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
12 graduates
|
— | 93% | $15,796 | $25,637 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
12 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
12 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | — |
|
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
12 graduates
|
— | 57% | $24,953 | $36,951 | — |
|
Langston University
OK · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
11 graduates
|
— | — | $11,504 | — | — |
|
Lincoln University
MO · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
11 graduates
|
— | — | $19,092 | — | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
11 graduates
|
— | 52% | $17,936 | — | — |
|
University of Guam
GU · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
10 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
10 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,338 | $25,941 | — |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
9 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | — |
|
Angelo State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
8 graduates
|
— | 79% | $15,091 | $23,441 | — |
|
North Dakota State University-Main Campus
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
8 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,543 | $23,716 | — |
|
Emmanuel University
GA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
7 graduates
|
— | — | $20,925 | — | — |
|
Missouri State University-Springfield
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
7 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,613 | $25,048 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
6 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
5 graduates
|
— | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | — |
|
Dordt University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
4 graduates
|
— | 71% | $25,807 | $51,733 | — |
|
Concordia University-Nebraska
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
3 graduates
|
— | 90% | $23,965 | $53,292 | — |
|
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
3 graduates
|
— | 55% | $4,904 | $18,940 | — |
|
Kentucky State University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
3 graduates
|
— | 93% | $8,040 | $21,727 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-River Falls
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
3 graduates
|
— | 82% | $14,054 | $19,781 | — |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
2 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | — |
|
University of Maine at Presque Isle
ME · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
2 graduates
|
— | — | $7,035 | — | — |
|
Washington State University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $14,971 | $27,648 | — |
|
Buena Vista University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
1 graduate
|
— | 72% | $18,846 | $54,222 | — |
|
Pitzer College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Agriculture, General
1 graduate
|
— | 17% | $34,191 | $86,466 | — |
|
California State University-Fresno
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 96% | $7,000 | $20,095 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/agriculture, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a agriculture applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 73 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359