By major · Science Teacher Education
Where can your student actually get into science teacher education?
In 2022-23, 103 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in science teacher education, one of them in California. The biggest program that year was Central Michigan University, with 19 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 103 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's science teacher education program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Central Michigan University (19), Western Governors University (18), North Carolina State University at Raleigh (14).
- 1 of them is in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: Western New Mexico University, $8,522 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (1 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Central Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
19 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,597 | $30,681 | — |
|
Western Governors University
UT · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
18 graduates
|
— | — | $12,548 | — | — |
|
North Carolina State University at Raleigh
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
14 graduates
|
— | 40% | $17,303 | $26,425 | — |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Eastern Washington University
WA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | 92% | $13,886 | $24,478 | — |
|
Miami University-Oxford
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | 82% | $28,384 | $38,757 | — |
|
Montana State University
MT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | 87% | $22,499 | $25,905 | — |
|
University of Mississippi
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | 98% | $13,314 | $28,660 | — |
|
Wayne State College
NE · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
7 graduates
|
— | — | $15,360 | — | — |
|
Central Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 90% | $18,476 | $28,816 | — |
|
Florida Atlantic University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 73% | $8,752 | $21,522 | — |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
6 graduates
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Bemidji State University
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 71% | $15,261 | $22,744 | — |
|
Kent State University at Kent
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 87% | $20,787 | $30,567 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Dearborn
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
5 graduates
|
— | 59% | $9,492 | $24,040 | — |
|
Clemson University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 38% | $22,253 | $35,015 | — |
|
East Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,739 | $23,867 | — |
|
Eastern Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,786 | $26,996 | — |
|
Northern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 70% | $14,085 | $27,841 | — |
|
Southeast Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 78% | $15,882 | $25,177 | — |
|
University of California-Santa Cruz
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 82% | $17,890 | $41,179 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 53% | $9,175 | — | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 87% | $14,305 | $19,652 | — |
|
Western Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
4 graduates
|
— | 87% | $13,315 | $19,992 | — |
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
Calvin University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 71% | $22,992 | $54,222 | — |
|
Cornerstone University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 73% | $20,301 | $42,043 | — |
|
Martin Luther College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 83% | $18,463 | $29,250 | — |
|
Montana State University Billings
MT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | — | $16,524 | — | — |
|
Rhode Island College
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $9,478 | $17,454 | — |
|
University of Akron Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 71% | $13,946 | $26,284 | — |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | — |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | — |
|
University of South Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 41% | $9,812 | $22,859 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 76% | $16,550 | $21,705 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Stout
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 85% | $17,490 | $22,797 | — |
|
Walsh University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 78% | $20,493 | $47,575 | — |
|
York College of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 94% | $18,556 | $37,319 | — |
|
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
3 graduates
|
— | 80% | $12,767 | $21,708 | — |
|
Alice Lloyd College
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 86% | $18,600 | $31,200 | — |
|
Bethel University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 91% | $28,556 | $58,569 | — |
|
Brigham Young University-Idaho
ID · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 97% | — | $15,246 | — |
|
Capital University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $22,576 | $57,130 | — |
|
Chadron State College
NE · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | $12,549 | — | — |
|
Hardin-Simmons University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 96% | $19,555 | $45,904 | — |
|
Hope College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 76% | $27,182 | $55,646 | — |
|
Lake Superior State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,822 | $27,154 | — |
|
Lewis-Clark State College
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,635 | $21,925 | — |
|
Saginaw Valley State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $10,775 | $24,936 | — |
|
Southern New Hampshire University
NH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 96% | $36,708 | $40,918 | — |
|
Southern Utah University
UT · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | — | $19,416 | — |
|
Texas Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 43% | $36,660 | $76,604 | — |
|
The University of Findlay
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 86% | $27,221 | $54,580 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Duluth
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,743 | $27,680 | — |
|
University of North Dakota
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 77% | $18,551 | $25,605 | — |
|
University of Puerto Rico at Cayey
PR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 96% | $10,176 | — | — |
|
University of Vermont
VT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 60% | $19,343 | $35,649 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $16,210 | $19,593 | — |
|
Utah State University
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 94% | — | $21,654 | — |
|
Utah Tech University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Viterbo University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | 73% | $21,260 | $45,558 | — |
|
Weber State University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Western New Mexico University
NM · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
2 graduates
|
— | — | $8,522 | — | — |
|
Abilene Christian University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 64% | $26,182 | $59,256 | — |
|
Adrian College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $25,368 | $56,003 | — |
|
Albion College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 83% | $14,301 | $69,986 | — |
|
Aquinas College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $16,626 | $51,652 | — |
|
Ashland University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 81% | $21,988 | $43,434 | — |
|
Baylor University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 51% | $41,104 | $74,226 | — |
|
Black Hills State University
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 94% | $15,911 | $21,277 | — |
|
Bowie State University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 84% | $19,298 | $25,220 | — |
|
Chipola College
FL · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Concordia University-Wisconsin
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $36,201 | $53,315 | — |
|
East Texas Baptist University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 60% | $23,911 | $44,211 | — |
|
Eastern Florida State College
FL · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Elmhurst University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 76% | $24,185 | $54,679 | — |
|
Gustavus Adolphus College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 62% | $22,900 | $67,613 | — |
|
Indian River State College
FL · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Lipscomb University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $24,739 | $55,117 | — |
|
McKendree University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 64% | $24,717 | $48,845 | — |
|
Mid-Atlantic Christian University
NC · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | $18,328 | — | — |
|
Montana State University-Northern
MT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | $12,664 | — | — |
|
North Dakota State University-Main Campus
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $15,543 | $23,716 | — |
|
Northeastern State University
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 99% | $12,710 | $21,551 | — |
|
Northern Arizona University
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $14,158 | $29,933 | — |
|
Ohio Wesleyan University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 51% | $20,897 | $68,424 | — |
|
Olivet Nazarene University
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $20,729 | $51,981 | — |
|
Siena Heights University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $17,124 | $44,449 | — |
|
Southwest Baptist University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 100% | $21,677 | $40,301 | — |
|
Southwestern Oklahoma State University
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 100% | $14,459 | $23,334 | — |
|
The University of Montana-Western
MT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | $16,558 | — | — |
|
Toccoa Falls College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 64% | $21,642 | $37,561 | — |
|
Turtle Mountain Community College
ND · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Central Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 40% | $10,411 | $23,133 | — |
|
University of Maine at Farmington
ME · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 98% | $16,857 | $25,822 | — |
|
Vincennes University
IN · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | — |
|
Wichita State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 95% | $13,194 | $21,780 | — |
|
William Penn University
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | 57% | $22,601 | $42,874 | — |
|
Wilmington University
DE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Science Teacher Education/General Science Teacher Education
1 graduate
|
— | — | $15,644 | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/science-teacher-education, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a science teacher education applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 103 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359