By major · Engineering Physics
Where can your student actually get into engineering physics?
In 2022-23, 94 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in engineering physics, 9 of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, with 96 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 94 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's engineering physics program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (96), Colorado School of Mines (53), Murray State University (38).
- 9 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Engineering Physics, Fall 2025: 384 applied, 29 admitted (8%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: University of California-San Diego — 21% (229 applied, 48 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY New York City College of Technology, $5,127 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (9 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Engineering Physics, Fall 2025: 384 applied, 29 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Engineering Physics, Fall 2025: 229 applied, 48 admitted
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Engineering Physics
Fall 2025: 384 applied, 29 admitted · admit GPA 4.21–4.28
|
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
11 graduates
|
8% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Engineering Physics
Fall 2025: 229 applied, 48 admitted · admit GPA 4.21–4.29
|
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
21% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | — |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
96 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | — |
|
Colorado School of Mines
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
53 graduates
|
— | 60% | $28,690 | $40,560 | — |
|
Murray State University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
38 graduates
|
— | 86% | $9,096 | $23,485 | — |
|
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
29 graduates
|
— | 83% | $25,346 | $37,684 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
23 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,032 | $21,266 | — |
|
Stephen F Austin State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
22 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,260 | $25,791 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
20 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
19 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
Cornell University
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
18 graduates
|
— | 8% | $28,690 | $88,140 | — |
|
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Daytona Beach
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
18 graduates
|
— | 66% | $41,272 | $64,632 | — |
|
Tulane University of Louisiana
LA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
18 graduates
|
— | 15% | $39,949 | $87,004 | — |
|
Delaware State University
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
14 graduates
|
— | 62% | $13,910 | $27,939 | — |
|
Fordham University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
13 graduates
|
— | 56% | $44,338 | $82,762 | — |
|
Biola University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
12 graduates
|
— | 60% | $31,495 | $62,757 | — |
|
Columbia University in the City of New York
NY · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
9 graduates
|
— | 4% | $21,590 | $89,472 | — |
|
University of Connecticut
CT · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
9 graduates
|
— | 54% | $25,097 | $39,426 | — |
|
University of Maine
ME · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
9 graduates
|
— | 96% | $17,510 | $27,328 | — |
|
University of Tulsa
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
8 graduates
|
— | 58% | $15,000 | $64,459 | — |
|
University of Illinois Chicago
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
7 graduates
|
— | 78% | $10,974 | $27,521 | — |
|
University of Kansas
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
7 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,059 | $26,751 | — |
|
Carroll University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
6 graduates
|
— | 58% | $15,193 | $52,639 | — |
|
Juniata College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
6 graduates
|
— | 72% | $23,988 | $71,850 | — |
|
Kettering University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
6 graduates
|
— | 79% | $34,660 | $61,250 | — |
|
Marian University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
6 graduates
|
— | 95% | $24,018 | $56,258 | — |
|
Ouachita Baptist University
AR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
6 graduates
|
— | 68% | $22,409 | $47,321 | — |
|
University of New Hampshire-Main Campus
NH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
6 graduates
|
— | 87% | $23,805 | $35,537 | — |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
6 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
6 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
Whittier College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
6 graduates
|
— | 85% | $25,757 | $63,664 | — |
|
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
5 graduates
|
— | 29% | $41,190 | $85,851 | — |
|
Loyola Marymount University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
5 graduates
|
— | 40% | $48,381 | $83,943 | — |
|
Miami University-Oxford
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
5 graduates
|
— | 82% | $28,384 | $38,757 | — |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
5 graduates
|
— | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | — |
|
Oglethorpe University
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
5 graduates
|
— | 60% | $19,509 | $60,581 | — |
|
Tufts University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
5 graduates
|
— | 10% | $39,998 | $88,300 | — |
|
University of Central Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
5 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,511 | $25,029 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Duluth
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
5 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,743 | $27,680 | — |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | — |
|
Augustana College
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 68% | $22,736 | $63,553 | — |
|
Austin Peay State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 96% | $9,735 | $22,233 | — |
|
CUNY New York City College of Technology
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 81% | $5,127 | $14,110 | — |
|
John Carroll University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 81% | $28,746 | $65,827 | — |
|
Saint Louis University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 82% | $24,398 | $71,932 | — |
|
Southeast Missouri State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 78% | $15,882 | $25,177 | — |
|
Spring Arbor University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 37% | $19,353 | $44,703 | — |
|
Texas Lutheran University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 95% | $24,654 | $50,002 | — |
|
Trinity University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 28% | $23,464 | $68,224 | — |
|
University of Central Oklahoma
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 82% | $18,309 | $26,392 | — |
|
Yale University
CT · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
4 graduates
|
— | 4% | $23,777 | $88,300 | — |
|
Boston University
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 11% | $24,402 | $86,285 | — |
|
Eastern Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 81% | $15,407 | $29,640 | — |
|
Hamline University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 90% | $20,744 | $58,110 | — |
|
Hampden-Sydney College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 50% | $22,400 | $70,325 | — |
|
Minnesota State University Moorhead
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 53% | $17,997 | $25,197 | — |
|
Morehouse College
GA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 51% | $39,013 | $51,433 | — |
|
Randolph College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 95% | $15,921 | $45,040 | — |
|
Randolph-Macon College
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 83% | $27,866 | $63,985 | — |
|
Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 73% | $42,513 | $77,890 | — |
|
Samford University
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 82% | $32,622 | $57,456 | — |
|
Southwestern Oklahoma State University
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 100% | $14,459 | $23,334 | — |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Boston
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 83% | $17,707 | $30,544 | — |
|
University of St Thomas
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 93% | $19,359 | $45,672 | — |
|
Xavier University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
3 graduates
|
— | 88% | $32,997 | $65,476 | — |
|
Albion College
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,301 | $69,986 | — |
|
Goshen College
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 89% | $14,493 | $48,449 | — |
|
Linfield University
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 88% | $26,536 | $65,935 | — |
|
Morgan State University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,985 | $25,413 | — |
|
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 9% | $37,050 | $84,374 | — |
|
Point Loma Nazarene University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 82% | $38,729 | $60,488 | — |
|
Santa Clara University
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 44% | $50,062 | $82,026 | — |
|
Siena College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $33,733 | $64,870 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Reno
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,927 | $25,786 | — |
|
University of the Pacific
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 95% | $25,447 | $71,515 | — |
|
Westmont College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 80% | $29,053 | $71,150 | — |
|
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
2 graduates
|
— | 58% | $43,071 | $78,679 | — |
|
Anderson University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 53% | $25,021 | $51,585 | — |
|
Arkansas Tech University
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | — | $22,808 | — |
|
Augustana University
SD · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 59% | $23,894 | $55,159 | — |
|
Belmont University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $33,147 | $62,570 | — |
|
Dartmouth College
NH · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 6% | $29,519 | $87,793 | — |
|
Drew University
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $24,280 | $65,301 | — |
|
Elon University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 67% | $41,555 | $62,266 | — |
|
Ithaca College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $33,926 | $68,699 | — |
|
LeTourneau University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 41% | $28,185 | $51,124 | — |
|
Marquette University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 87% | $31,487 | $66,768 | — |
|
Michigan Technological University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 88% | $14,182 | $34,152 | — |
|
Oral Roberts University
OK · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 99% | $25,365 | $50,004 | — |
|
Providence College
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 49% | $48,523 | $80,466 | — |
|
Stevens Institute of Technology
NJ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 43% | $41,346 | $79,790 | — |
|
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 69% | $20,995 | $30,785 | — |
|
Westminster College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Engineering Physics/Applied Physics
1 graduate
|
— | 86% | $19,859 | $53,003 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/engineering-physics, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a engineering physics applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 94 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359