By major · Aerospace Engineering
Where can your student actually get into aerospace engineering?
Aerospace engineering is one major with a very wide door. The same degree admitted 95 of 2,890 first-year applicants at UC Berkeley and 1,075 of 1,110 at UC Merced, and among the Cal States it runs from 12.0% at Cal Poly SLO to 77.1% at San Jose State. At the UC campuses, admission is to the campus rather than to the major at most programs, so a low rate here describes the students who applied under that major name, not a separate door. Every number below is the college system's own reporting, assembled in one place.
At a glance · All states
- 75 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's aerospace engineering program: 72 awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions); 2 more report an aerospace engineering admit rate in the UC/CSU data; 1 more carry program earnings in federal outcome data but no 2022-23 degree count under these program codes.
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Purdue University-Main Campus (314), Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Daytona Beach (304), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (237).
- 13 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Hardest reported gate into the program (only the UC and the CSU publish one): University of California-Berkeley — Aerospace Engineering, Fall 2025: 2,890 applied, 95 admitted (3%).
- Highest reported admit rate into the program: University of California-Merced — 97% (1,110 applied, 1,075 admitted, Fall 2025).
- Highest median earnings four years after the degree: University of Southern California, $125,514.
- Lowest average net price with aid: University of Florida, $6,541 per year.
Every California program on this page reports a first-year row, so families can see the freshman door at each one rather than a transfer path only. A college with no row, such as USC, is one that does not report to the UC or CSU systems, and the federal earnings figure is all this page can show for it. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (13 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Hardest reported gate
Aerospace Engineering, Fall 2025: 2,890 applied, 95 admitted
Highest reported admit rate
Aerospace Engineering, Fall 2025: 1,110 applied, 1,075 admitted
Highest earnings, 4 yrs out
median, graduates of this program
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of California-Berkeley
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Engineering
Fall 2025: 2,890 applied, 95 admitted · admit GPA 4.20–4.29
|
— | 3% | 10% | $13,481 | $45,619 | — |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Engineering
Fall 2025: 2,887 applied, 136 admitted · admit GPA 4.25–4.30
|
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
63 graduates
|
5% | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | $115,706 |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Engineering
Fall 2025: 2,399 applied, 289 admitted
impacted
|
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
109 graduates
|
12.0% | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | $107,498 |
|
University of California-San Diego
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,823 applied, 307 admitted · admit GPA 4.17–4.30
|
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
87 graduates
|
17% | 27% | $12,470 | $38,701 | $100,173 |
|
University of California-Irvine
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Engineering
Fall 2025: 2,193 applied, 502 admitted · admit GPA 4.16–4.29
|
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
79 graduates
|
23% | 30% | $14,251 | $38,632 | $100,537 |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Science And Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,911 applied, 688 admitted · admit GPA 4.09–4.29
|
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
60 graduates
|
36% | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | $93,414 |
|
California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,851 applied, 690 admitted
impacted
|
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
126 graduates
|
37.3% | 74% | $11,531 | $23,955 | $106,171 |
|
California State University-Long Beach
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,810 applied, 691 admitted
impacted
|
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
92 graduates
|
38.2% | 47% | $10,440 | $22,679 | $101,797 |
|
San Diego State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,943 applied, 910 admitted
impacted
|
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
111 graduates
|
46.8% | 34% | $15,364 | $27,780 | $100,139 |
|
San Jose State University
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Engineering
Fall 2025: 847 applied, 653 admitted
impacted
|
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
68 graduates
|
77.1% | 80% | $13,760 | $26,593 | — |
|
University of California-Merced
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Aerospace Engineering
Fall 2025: 1,110 applied, 1,075 admitted · admit GPA 3.65–4.19
|
— | 97% | 95% | $11,983 | $39,665 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
55 graduates
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | $125,514 |
|
University of Colorado Boulder
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
218 graduates
|
— | 83% | $25,346 | $37,684 | $116,350 |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
103 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | $115,075 |
|
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
MA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
56 graduates
|
— | 5% | $20,111 | $82,730 | $114,620 |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
68 graduates
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | $111,349 |
|
Illinois Institute of Technology
IL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
28 graduates
|
— | 55% | $18,425 | $68,164 | $110,956 |
|
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
237 graduates
|
— | 57% | $24,953 | $36,951 | $106,633 |
|
Case Western Reserve University
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
36 graduates
|
— | 29% | $41,190 | $85,851 | $106,134 |
|
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
58 graduates
|
— | 58% | $43,071 | $78,679 | $105,171 |
|
The University of Texas at Austin
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
138 graduates
|
— | 29% | $19,857 | $31,247 | $104,422 |
|
University of Notre Dame
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
25 graduates
|
— | 12% | $26,780 | $83,271 | $103,022 |
|
Auburn University
AL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
95 graduates
|
— | 50% | $24,323 | $34,919 | $102,756 |
|
Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
224 graduates
|
— | 16% | $12,116 | $28,167 | $102,415 |
|
The University of Texas at Arlington
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
30 graduates
|
— | 81% | $13,951 | $25,261 | $99,239 |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
126 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | $99,159 |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
142 graduates
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | $98,044 |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
314 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | $97,332 |
|
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
137 graduates
|
— | 44% | $14,355 | $33,642 | $97,276 |
|
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
162 graduates
|
— | 63% | $21,315 | $32,696 | $97,227 |
|
Florida Institute of Technology
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
81 graduates
|
— | 62% | $35,639 | $62,440 | $97,015 |
|
University of Central Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
205 graduates
|
— | 40% | $10,411 | $23,133 | $96,972 |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
123 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | $96,946 |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
80 graduates
|
— | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | $96,510 |
|
Missouri University of Science and Technology
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
78 graduates
|
— | 73% | $16,298 | $29,231 | $96,090 |
|
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Daytona Beach
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
304 graduates
|
— | 66% | $41,272 | $64,632 | $95,552 |
|
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Prescott
AZ · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
147 graduates
|
— | 75% | $40,287 | $62,798 | $95,552 |
|
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Worldwide
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
44 graduates
|
— | 62% | $18,725 | $24,878 | $95,552 |
|
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
117 graduates
|
— | 58% | $36,228 | $82,404 | $94,750 |
|
West Virginia University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
80 graduates
|
— | 86% | $15,634 | $26,415 | $94,750 |
|
West Virginia University Institute of Technology
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system | — | — | 61% | $9,337 | $18,907 | $94,750 |
|
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
52 graduates
|
— | 65% | $24,406 | $36,993 | $94,598 |
|
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
143 graduates
|
— | 24% | $6,541 | $22,523 | $94,375 |
|
Western Michigan University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
44 graduates
|
— | 85% | $15,273 | $29,237 | $94,177 |
|
Iowa State University
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
121 graduates
|
— | 89% | $18,589 | $24,018 | $94,089 |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
96 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | $92,999 |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
70 graduates
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | $92,422 |
|
University at Buffalo
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
90 graduates
|
— | 69% | $20,995 | $30,785 | $92,360 |
|
University of Kansas
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
51 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,059 | $26,751 | $92,335 |
|
The University of Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
69 graduates
|
— | 76% | $22,420 | $33,382 | $91,999 |
|
Oklahoma State University-Main Campus
OK · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
79 graduates
|
— | 71% | $17,447 | $28,290 | $91,249 |
|
Clarkson University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
40 graduates
|
— | 77% | $30,305 | $79,022 | $91,066 |
|
Syracuse University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
36 graduates
|
— | 42% | $38,793 | $84,517 | $90,470 |
|
North Carolina State University at Raleigh
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
77 graduates
|
— | 40% | $17,303 | $26,425 | $89,932 |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
35 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | $89,714 |
|
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
61 graduates
|
— | 46% | $18,976 | $33,678 | $89,015 |
|
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
60 graduates
|
— | 88% | $25,648 | $32,171 | $88,511 |
|
Mississippi State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
68 graduates
|
— | 76% | $17,595 | $29,267 | $88,444 |
|
University of Alabama in Huntsville
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
124 graduates
|
— | 74% | $18,796 | $27,392 | $87,339 |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
56 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | $86,529 |
|
University of Virginia-Main Campus
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
40 graduates
|
— | 17% | $21,565 | $39,926 | $85,681 |
|
Wichita State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
54 graduates
|
— | 95% | $13,194 | $21,780 | $83,057 |
|
United States Air Force Academy
CO · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
138 graduates
|
— | 14% | — | — | — |
|
United States Naval Academy
MD · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
50 graduates
|
— | 9% | — | — | — |
|
Saint Louis University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
35 graduates
|
— | 82% | $24,398 | $71,932 | — |
|
University of South Carolina-Columbia
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
27 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,811 | $31,638 | — |
|
Morehead State University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
18 graduates
|
— | 82% | $9,793 | $21,961 | — |
|
University of Akron Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
15 graduates
|
— | 71% | $13,946 | $26,284 | — |
|
Capitol Technology University
MD · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
14 graduates
|
— | — | $22,102 | — | — |
|
Tuskegee University
AL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
14 graduates
|
— | 31% | $35,013 | $43,454 | — |
|
Stanford University
CA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
13 graduates
|
— | 4% | $13,807 | $87,833 | — |
|
Southern New Hampshire University
NH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
12 graduates
|
— | 96% | $36,708 | $40,918 | — |
|
Kent State University at Kent
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
10 graduates
|
— | 87% | $20,787 | $30,567 | — |
|
University of Miami
FL · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
5 graduates
|
— | 18% | $37,244 | $86,078 | — |
|
University of Hartford
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General
3 graduates
|
— | 83% | $30,282 | $64,729 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/aerospace-engineering, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a aerospace engineering applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
A list for aerospace engineering needs a real spread of admit rates on it, because the same degree runs from 3% to 97% across California. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359