By major · Respiratory Therapy
Where can your student actually get into respiratory therapy?
In 2022-23, 80 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in respiratory therapy, 5 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Boise State University, with 178 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 80 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's respiratory therapy program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Boise State University (178), San Joaquin Valley College-Visalia (93), Midwestern State University (88).
- 5 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: Dalton State College, $5,012 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (5 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Boise State University
ID · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
178 graduates
|
— | 84% | $21,610 | $28,224 | — |
|
San Joaquin Valley College-Visalia
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
93 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Midwestern State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
88 graduates
|
— | 87% | $11,656 | $22,652 | — |
|
Pima Medical Institute-Tucson
AZ · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
42 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Texas State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
41 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,805 | $28,073 | — |
|
University of Southern Indiana
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
36 graduates
|
— | 95% | — | $22,383 | — |
|
Weber State University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
36 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Georgia State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
34 graduates
|
— | 62% | $15,931 | $28,241 | — |
|
Jacksonville State University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
33 graduates
|
— | 76% | $14,279 | $24,257 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
33 graduates
|
— | 80% | $15,435 | $23,010 | — |
|
University of Cincinnati-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
32 graduates
|
— | 88% | $25,648 | $32,171 | — |
|
Salisbury University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
30 graduates
|
— | 89% | $17,743 | $28,310 | — |
|
Northern Kentucky University
KY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
29 graduates
|
— | 96% | $8,191 | $19,725 | — |
|
Stony Brook University
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
29 graduates
|
— | 49% | $18,784 | $30,539 | — |
|
Middle Georgia State University
GA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
27 graduates
|
— | 100% | $12,361 | $19,617 | — |
|
Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
26 graduates
|
— | 93% | $15,796 | $25,637 | — |
|
University of Mary
ND · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
25 graduates
|
— | 78% | $17,770 | $33,672 | — |
|
University of Kansas
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
24 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,059 | $26,751 | — |
|
Oregon Institute of Technology
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
22 graduates
|
— | 92% | $15,706 | $27,524 | — |
|
Youngstown State University
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
22 graduates
|
— | 80% | $12,767 | $21,708 | — |
|
Long Island University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
21 graduates
|
— | 90% | $33,062 | $55,424 | — |
|
The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
TX · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
20 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
University of Akron Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
20 graduates
|
— | 71% | $13,946 | $26,284 | — |
|
University of North Carolina Wilmington
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
20 graduates
|
— | 74% | $20,109 | $26,547 | — |
|
University of Toledo
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
20 graduates
|
— | 95% | $17,249 | $26,512 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Flint
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
18 graduates
|
— | 69% | $7,007 | $20,915 | — |
|
Utah Valley University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
18 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Liberty University
VA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
17 graduates
|
— | 99% | $29,357 | $42,025 | — |
|
Upstate Medical University
NY · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
16 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
15 graduates
|
— | 21% | $13,739 | $23,970 | — |
|
Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
15 graduates
|
— | 91% | $16,804 | $26,898 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
15 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
Loma Linda University
CA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
14 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Modesto Junior College
CA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
14 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Palm Beach State College
FL · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
14 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Radford University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
14 graduates
|
— | 91% | $14,578 | $28,405 | — |
|
St Catherine University
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
14 graduates
|
— | 94% | $19,764 | $60,476 | — |
|
Augusta University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
13 graduates
|
— | 89% | $13,787 | $23,524 | — |
|
St Louis College of Health Careers-Fenton
MO · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
13 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
TX · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
13 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Gwynedd Mercy University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
12 graduates
|
— | 94% | $27,483 | $55,786 | — |
|
College of Southern Nevada
NV · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
11 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
East Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
11 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,983 | $27,042 | — |
|
Georgia Southern University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
11 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,267 | $24,430 | — |
|
Marywood University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
11 graduates
|
— | 84% | $23,388 | $55,582 | — |
|
North Dakota State University-Main Campus
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
11 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,543 | $23,716 | — |
|
Valencia College
FL · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
11 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Ball State University
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
10 graduates
|
— | 72% | $14,940 | $26,146 | — |
|
Nova Southeastern University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
10 graduates
|
— | 73% | $30,371 | $56,692 | — |
|
Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus
PR · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
10 graduates
|
— | — | $7,646 | — | — |
|
Bowling Green State University-Firelands
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Ferris State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | 81% | $8,624 | $27,048 | — |
|
Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University
LA · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | — | $18,552 | — | — |
|
Marshall University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | 96% | $7,502 | $22,022 | — |
|
Skyline College
CA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Utah Tech University
UT · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
9 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Bellarmine University
KY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
7 graduates
|
— | 94% | $21,499 | $61,691 | — |
|
Pueblo Community College
CO · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
7 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Dalton State College
GA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
6 graduates
|
— | — | $5,012 | — | — |
|
Nebraska Methodist College of Nursing & Allied Health
NE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
6 graduates
|
— | — | $21,863 | — | — |
|
Texas Southern University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
6 graduates
|
— | 93% | $16,590 | $27,052 | — |
|
York College of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
6 graduates
|
— | 94% | $18,556 | $37,319 | — |
|
Carlow University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 87% | $20,786 | $49,327 | — |
|
Colby-Sawyer College
NH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 90% | $27,431 | $38,527 | — |
|
Concordia University-Saint Paul
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 75% | $18,462 | $37,239 | — |
|
Indiana University-Indianapolis
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 81% | $11,668 | $23,316 | — |
|
Kent State University at Ashtabula
OH · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Siena Heights University
MI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 67% | $17,124 | $44,449 | — |
|
University of Hartford
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
5 graduates
|
— | 83% | $30,282 | $64,729 | — |
|
Baptist Health Sciences University
TN · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 68% | $11,212 | $22,227 | — |
|
Gannon University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 77% | $22,553 | $52,869 | — |
|
Platt College-Los Angeles
CA · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
South Dakota State University
SD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 99% | $19,841 | $24,636 | — |
|
Southern Connecticut State University
CT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 81% | $20,857 | $29,673 | — |
|
University of Indianapolis
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
4 graduates
|
— | 73% | $21,602 | $52,590 | — |
|
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
3 graduates
|
— | 95% | $15,699 | $25,161 | — |
|
Florida National University-Main Campus
FL · Private for-profit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
3 graduates
|
— | — | — | — | — |
|
Marian University
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
2 graduates
|
— | 67% | $21,937 | $44,450 | — |
|
Missouri State University-Springfield
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
2 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,613 | $25,048 | — |
|
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport
LA · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist
1 graduate
|
— | — | — | — | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/respiratory-therapy, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a respiratory therapy applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 80 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359