By major · Foreign Languages and Literatures
Where can your student actually get into foreign languages and literatures?
In 2022-23, 134 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in foreign languages and literatures, 5 of them in California. The biggest program that year was University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras, with 69 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 134 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's foreign languages and literatures program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras (69), North Carolina State University at Raleigh (64), University of South Florida (63).
- 5 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: Purdue University Northwest, $6,079 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (5 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
PR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
69 graduates
|
— | 53% | $9,175 | — | — |
|
North Carolina State University at Raleigh
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
64 graduates
|
— | 40% | $17,303 | $26,425 | — |
|
University of South Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
63 graduates
|
— | 41% | $9,812 | $22,859 | — |
|
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
52 graduates
|
— | 57% | $24,953 | $36,951 | — |
|
University of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
42 graduates
|
— | 24% | $6,541 | $22,523 | — |
|
University of Memphis
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
41 graduates
|
— | 93% | $12,397 | $25,169 | — |
|
New Mexico State University-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
40 graduates
|
— | 76% | $8,889 | $23,274 | — |
|
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
40 graduates
|
— | 77% | $20,268 | $31,713 | — |
|
Northern Arizona University
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
38 graduates
|
— | 91% | $14,158 | $29,933 | — |
|
Middle Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
37 graduates
|
— | 68% | $13,359 | $24,289 | — |
|
The University of Texas at San Antonio
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
36 graduates
|
— | 88% | $10,836 | $22,352 | — |
|
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
32 graduates
|
— | 46% | $18,976 | $33,678 | — |
|
Kennesaw State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
31 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,048 | $24,008 | — |
|
Mississippi State University
MS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
30 graduates
|
— | 76% | $17,595 | $29,267 | — |
|
George Mason University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
29 graduates
|
— | 89% | $17,915 | $28,604 | — |
|
Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
28 graduates
|
— | 16% | $12,116 | $28,167 | — |
|
University of Maryland-Baltimore County
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
26 graduates
|
— | 74% | $16,467 | $28,576 | — |
|
Metropolitan State University of Denver
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
24 graduates
|
— | 99% | $15,327 | $24,622 | — |
|
West Chester University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
24 graduates
|
— | 79% | $23,331 | $28,394 | — |
|
Missouri State University-Springfield
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
22 graduates
|
— | 91% | $17,613 | $25,048 | — |
|
University of North Georgia
GA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
22 graduates
|
— | 72% | $9,823 | $18,177 | — |
|
Texas Tech University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
16 graduates
|
— | 71% | $19,070 | $27,443 | — |
|
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
15 graduates
|
— | 90% | $21,279 | $31,642 | — |
|
Florida Atlantic University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
15 graduates
|
— | 73% | $8,752 | $21,522 | — |
|
Clemson University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
14 graduates
|
— | 38% | $22,253 | $35,015 | — |
|
James Madison University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
14 graduates
|
— | 76% | $23,322 | $31,735 | — |
|
University of Alabama at Birmingham
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
14 graduates
|
— | 88% | $18,749 | $28,145 | — |
|
University of Alabama in Huntsville
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
14 graduates
|
— | 74% | $18,796 | $27,392 | — |
|
Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
13 graduates
|
— | 95% | $15,699 | $25,161 | — |
|
East Carolina University
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
13 graduates
|
— | 90% | $15,739 | $23,867 | — |
|
Fort Hays State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
13 graduates
|
— | 92% | $12,569 | $19,909 | — |
|
Kansas State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
13 graduates
|
— | 79% | $19,406 | $27,402 | — |
|
Old Dominion University
VA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
13 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,638 | $29,446 | — |
|
Stetson University
FL · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
13 graduates
|
— | 86% | $19,372 | $72,533 | — |
|
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
12 graduates
|
— | 90% | $13,297 | $28,329 | — |
|
Tennessee Technological University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
12 graduates
|
— | 83% | $14,246 | $25,663 | — |
|
The University of Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
12 graduates
|
— | 76% | $22,420 | $33,382 | — |
|
Towson University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
12 graduates
|
— | 83% | $17,413 | $28,535 | — |
|
University of Missouri-St Louis
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
12 graduates
|
— | 57% | $15,071 | $31,199 | — |
|
University of Southern Indiana
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
12 graduates
|
— | 95% | — | $22,383 | — |
|
University of Alaska Anchorage
AK · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
11 graduates
|
— | 66% | $15,301 | $24,096 | — |
|
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
11 graduates
|
— | 58% | $17,248 | $22,519 | — |
|
University of Nebraska at Omaha
NE · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
11 graduates
|
— | 87% | $13,441 | $21,120 | — |
|
University of Southern Mississippi
MS · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
11 graduates
|
— | 99% | $21,708 | $26,566 | — |
|
Wichita State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
11 graduates
|
— | 95% | $13,194 | $21,780 | — |
|
Coastal Carolina University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
10 graduates
|
— | 80% | $13,966 | $26,692 | — |
|
Millersville University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
10 graduates
|
— | 89% | $20,787 | $26,913 | — |
|
Truman State University
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
10 graduates
|
— | 80% | $12,780 | $25,115 | — |
|
University of Missouri-Kansas City
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
10 graduates
|
— | 75% | $13,310 | $25,320 | — |
|
University of North Carolina Asheville
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
10 graduates
|
— | 94% | $12,250 | $21,685 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
NC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
10 graduates
|
— | 90% | $10,965 | $21,373 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-River Falls
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
10 graduates
|
— | 82% | $14,054 | $19,781 | — |
|
Christopher Newport University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
9 graduates
|
— | 88% | $23,015 | $33,766 | — |
|
Eastern Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
9 graduates
|
— | 68% | $12,786 | $26,996 | — |
|
The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
9 graduates
|
— | 77% | $14,265 | $25,489 | — |
|
University of Houston
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
9 graduates
|
— | 70% | $14,276 | $26,185 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
9 graduates
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | — |
|
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
PA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
8 graduates
|
— | 75% | $19,608 | $25,537 | — |
|
Stockton University
NJ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
8 graduates
|
— | 88% | $20,670 | $35,139 | — |
|
Arkansas Tech University
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
7 graduates
|
— | 96% | — | $22,808 | — |
|
East Tennessee State University
TN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
7 graduates
|
— | 87% | $15,983 | $27,042 | — |
|
St. Mary's College of Maryland
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
7 graduates
|
— | 75% | $18,441 | $31,865 | — |
|
University of Mary Washington
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
7 graduates
|
— | 86% | $20,667 | $31,137 | — |
|
University of South Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
7 graduates
|
— | 66% | $17,648 | $25,476 | — |
|
Virginia Military Institute
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
7 graduates
|
— | 82% | $17,113 | $34,824 | — |
|
Western Illinois University
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
7 graduates
|
— | 75% | $12,937 | $28,254 | — |
|
Southeastern Louisiana University
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
6 graduates
|
— | 94% | $13,154 | $23,604 | — |
|
Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville
IL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
6 graduates
|
— | 97% | $14,889 | $28,919 | — |
|
Stephen F Austin State University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
6 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,260 | $25,791 | — |
|
University of Central Arkansas
AR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
6 graduates
|
— | 90% | $16,511 | $25,029 | — |
|
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
6 graduates
|
— | 89% | $13,530 | $24,884 | — |
|
University of Massachusetts-Lowell
MA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
6 graduates
|
— | 85% | $17,163 | $30,786 | — |
|
University of Nebraska at Kearney
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
6 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,242 | $25,808 | — |
|
University of Rhode Island
RI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
6 graduates
|
— | 77% | $21,440 | $34,321 | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
6 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,032 | $21,266 | — |
|
Winthrop University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
6 graduates
|
— | 75% | $15,343 | $30,710 | — |
|
California State University-Northridge
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
5 graduates
|
— | 93% | $7,021 | $20,485 | — |
|
Georgia College & State University
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
5 graduates
|
— | 88% | $20,686 | $30,258 | — |
|
Lewis & Clark College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
5 graduates
|
— | 74% | $36,013 | $79,987 | — |
|
Marshall University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
5 graduates
|
— | 96% | $7,502 | $22,022 | — |
|
SUNY at Purchase College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
5 graduates
|
— | 73% | $18,913 | $29,043 | — |
|
Texas A & M University-College Station
TX · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
5 graduates
|
— | 63% | $21,315 | $32,696 | — |
|
University of Central Missouri
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
5 graduates
|
— | 69% | $14,462 | $22,947 | — |
|
University of Louisiana at Monroe
LA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
5 graduates
|
— | 75% | $13,466 | $24,932 | — |
|
Virginia Commonwealth University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
5 graduates
|
— | 93% | $23,433 | $38,954 | — |
|
Wayne State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
5 graduates
|
— | 82% | $12,766 | $27,350 | — |
|
Butler University
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
4 graduates
|
— | 86% | $36,041 | $65,970 | — |
|
Columbus State University
GA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
4 graduates
|
— | 99% | $13,115 | $21,676 | — |
|
Longwood University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
4 graduates
|
— | 85% | $19,066 | $34,588 | — |
|
New College of Florida
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
4 graduates
|
— | 74% | $7,195 | $24,449 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Berks
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
4 graduates
|
— | 97% | $24,356 | $32,242 | — |
|
Pittsburg State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
4 graduates
|
— | 88% | — | $22,099 | — |
|
Purdue University Northwest
IN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
4 graduates
|
— | 71% | $6,079 | $15,571 | — |
|
University of New Orleans
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
4 graduates
|
— | 67% | $12,384 | $23,431 | — |
|
University of North Dakota
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
4 graduates
|
— | 77% | $18,551 | $25,605 | — |
|
Austin Peay State University
TN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 96% | $9,735 | $22,233 | — |
|
Colorado State University Pueblo
CO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 100% | $10,051 | $23,937 | — |
|
Duke University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 7% | $29,612 | $87,072 | — |
|
Emporia State University
KS · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 98% | $16,261 | $21,967 | — |
|
Louisiana Tech University
LA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 73% | $11,864 | $24,280 | — |
|
Pace University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 77% | $30,892 | $69,550 | — |
|
Radford University
VA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 91% | $14,578 | $28,405 | — |
|
Scripps College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 34% | $36,294 | $87,564 | — |
|
University of Idaho
ID · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 79% | $14,831 | $23,738 | — |
|
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
NC · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 19% | $11,655 | $26,055 | — |
|
University of South Carolina-Columbia
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
3 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,811 | $31,638 | — |
|
Arkansas State University
AR · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 70% | $12,366 | $25,082 | — |
|
Cameron University
OK · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | — | $10,912 | — | — |
|
Citadel Military College of South Carolina
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 98% | $20,723 | $33,880 | — |
|
Lamar University
TX · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 86% | $9,366 | $22,254 | — |
|
Minot State University
ND · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 72% | $12,703 | $19,339 | — |
|
Nebraska Wesleyan University
NE · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 84% | $18,327 | $53,569 | — |
|
New York University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 9% | $37,050 | $84,374 | — |
|
Rochester Institute of Technology
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $34,906 | $74,626 | — |
|
Roger Williams University
RI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 88% | $37,999 | $61,950 | — |
|
Southern Adventist University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 67% | $24,345 | $38,618 | — |
|
University of California-Riverside
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 88% | $14,304 | $38,942 | — |
|
University of New Mexico-Main Campus
NM · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
2 graduates
|
— | 96% | $15,489 | $21,259 | — |
|
Auburn University at Montgomery
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 93% | $13,224 | $21,353 | — |
|
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 30% | $16,665 | $32,265 | — |
|
Francis Marion University
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 82% | $11,386 | $23,850 | — |
|
Frostburg State University
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 89% | $16,715 | $27,056 | — |
|
Gardner-Webb University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 87% | $17,674 | $47,091 | — |
|
Jacksonville State University
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 76% | $14,279 | $24,257 | — |
|
Missouri Western State University
MO · Public
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $13,251 | — | — |
|
Occidental College
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 40% | $38,263 | $84,800 | — |
|
Stonehill College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 73% | $33,016 | $72,714 | — |
|
Trinity College
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 34% | $34,832 | $87,840 | — |
|
Union Adventist University
NE · Private nonprofit
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | — | $23,716 | — | — |
|
University of Montevallo
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 54% | $17,683 | $27,398 | — |
|
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
NV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $10,359 | $19,638 | — |
|
University of North Alabama
AL · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 96% | $12,170 | $23,786 | — |
|
Western Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 91% | $21,193 | $30,359 | — |
|
Yale University
CT · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Foreign Languages and Literatures, General
1 graduate
|
— | 4% | $23,777 | $88,300 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/foreign-languages, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a foreign languages and literatures applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 134 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359