By major · Russian Language and Literature
Where can your student actually get into Russian language and literature?
In 2022-23, 65 colleges awarded a bachelor's degree in Russian language and literature, 3 of them in California. The biggest program that year was Brigham Young University, with 17 graduates. We build this page from federal data for every college that awards the degree, so it is the whole field rather than a shortlist.
This page is assembled from federal data for every college that awards the degree. There is no hand-written analysis on it.
At a glance · All states
- 65 colleges nationwide offer a bachelor's Russian language and literature program; every one of them awarded the degree in 2022-23 (federal IPEDS completions).
- Largest programs by graduates in 2022-23: Brigham Young University (17), Ohio State University-Main Campus (12), University of Georgia (9).
- 3 of them are in California, the one state whose public systems (the University of California and the CSU) publish an admit rate into the major.
- Lowest average net price with aid: CUNY Hunter College, $2,984 per year.
Only the University of California and the CSU publish an admit rate into a major, so most colleges here show no program admit rate. A blank rate is not an open door. It means the college does not report one, and your student is applying against the campus admit rate instead. Admits are not enrollees. At most UC programs students are admitted to the campus, not the major. This page as JSON → · California only (3 colleges, with the UC and CSU gates) →
Lowest net price with aid
average for aid recipients, per year
Every college, one row each
Colleges with a reported gate into the program come first, hardest first; the rest are sorted by earnings, then by graduates. Degree awarded is the program the college conferred bachelor's degrees in during 2022-23, with the number of graduates (federal IPEDS completions). Program admit rate is the college system's own number for this major (UC Information Center, CSU Chancellor's Office). Net price is the average paid by aid recipients; full price is the cost of attendance. Earnings are federal College Scorecard medians four years after the degree.
| College | Gate into the program | Degree awarded · graduates 2022-23 |
Program admit rate |
Campus admit rate |
Net price with aid |
Full price |
Earnings 4 yrs out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Brigham Young University
UT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
17 graduates
|
— | 69% | $15,564 | $22,690 | — |
|
Ohio State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
12 graduates
|
— | 51% | $17,339 | $30,305 | — |
|
University of Georgia
GA · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
9 graduates
|
— | 37% | $13,936 | $27,993 | — |
|
Arizona State University Campus Immersion
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 90% | $14,967 | $30,111 | — |
|
Portland State University
OR · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 91% | $9,552 | $21,590 | — |
|
United States Military Academy
NY · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 14% | — | — | — |
|
University of Wisconsin-Madison
WI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
7 graduates
|
— | 43% | $17,354 | $28,679 | — |
|
University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
OK · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 76% | $15,300 | $28,872 | — |
|
University of South Carolina-Columbia
SC · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
6 graduates
|
— | 62% | $22,811 | $31,638 | — |
|
Dickinson College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 43% | $37,607 | $82,902 | — |
|
University of Arizona
AZ · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 86% | $16,674 | $29,423 | — |
|
University of Utah
UT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
5 graduates
|
— | 87% | $16,200 | $25,557 | — |
|
Central Washington University
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 90% | $18,476 | $28,816 | — |
|
Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 54% | $32,875 | $39,694 | — |
|
University of Pennsylvania
PA · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 6% | $28,699 | $89,028 | — |
|
University of Rochester
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 36% | $29,278 | $85,962 | — |
|
University of Washington-Seattle Campus
WA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 42% | $14,091 | $32,446 | — |
|
Wellesley College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
4 graduates
|
— | 14% | $25,496 | $86,290 | — |
|
CUNY Hunter College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 54% | $2,984 | $13,905 | — |
|
Grinnell College
IA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 13% | $17,648 | $83,440 | — |
|
Middlebury College
VT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 10% | $31,483 | $85,880 | — |
|
Purdue University-Main Campus
IN · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 50% | $14,600 | $24,591 | — |
|
St Olaf College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 52% | $23,874 | $71,843 | — |
|
University of Vermont
VT · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 60% | $19,343 | $35,649 | — |
|
West Virginia University
WV · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
3 graduates
|
— | 86% | $15,634 | $26,415 | — |
|
Bowdoin College
ME · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 8% | $14,398 | $85,100 | — |
|
Connecticut College
CT · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 38% | $36,175 | $84,623 | — |
|
Macalester College
MN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 28% | $32,149 | $82,991 | — |
|
Swarthmore College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 7% | $23,149 | $84,103 | — |
|
University of Delaware
DE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 65% | $17,799 | $30,952 | — |
|
University of Denver
CO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 71% | $36,131 | $78,476 | — |
|
University of Iowa
IA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 85% | $22,531 | $28,596 | — |
|
University of Maryland-College Park
MD · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 45% | $15,678 | $29,299 | — |
|
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 18% | $13,138 | $34,654 | — |
|
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
MN · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 77% | $16,778 | $30,061 | — |
|
University of Missouri-Columbia
MO · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 77% | $20,268 | $31,713 | — |
|
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
NE · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 77% | $17,747 | $26,697 | — |
|
Vanderbilt University
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 6% | $15,846 | $89,590 | — |
|
Vassar College
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 18% | $39,343 | $87,419 | — |
|
Williams College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
2 graduates
|
— | 10% | $17,716 | $84,860 | — |
|
Amherst College
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $23,367 | $87,640 | — |
|
Beloit College
WI · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 57% | $21,526 | $71,365 | — |
|
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus
OH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 81% | $24,022 | $33,007 | — |
|
Bucknell University
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 32% | $40,766 | $83,756 | — |
|
CUNY Queens College
NY · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 68% | $4,195 | $14,367 | — |
|
Dartmouth College
NH · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 6% | $29,519 | $87,793 | — |
|
Duke University
NC · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 7% | $29,612 | $87,072 | — |
|
Florida State University
FL · Public · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 25% | $11,297 | $25,720 | — |
|
Georgetown University
DC · Private nonprofit · Required
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 13% | $40,815 | $88,741 | — |
|
Juniata College
PA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 72% | $23,988 | $71,850 | — |
|
Michigan State University
MI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 84% | $19,680 | $32,198 | — |
|
Oberlin College
OH · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 33% | $38,645 | $87,404 | — |
|
Reed College
OR · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 27% | $33,013 | $86,376 | — |
|
Saint Louis University
MO · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 82% | $24,398 | $71,932 | — |
|
Syracuse University
NY · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 42% | $38,793 | $84,517 | — |
|
The University of the South
TN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 51% | $27,872 | $71,986 | — |
|
Trinity University
TX · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 28% | $23,464 | $68,224 | — |
|
University of California-Davis
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 46% | $14,741 | $41,238 | — |
|
University of California-Los Angeles
CA · Public · Test-blind
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 11% | $12,548 | $38,614 | — |
|
University of Hawaii at Manoa
HI · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 70% | $15,664 | $26,433 | — |
|
University of New Hampshire-Main Campus
NH · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 87% | $23,805 | $35,537 | — |
|
University of Notre Dame
IN · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 12% | $26,780 | $83,271 | — |
|
University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
PA · Public · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 50% | $30,434 | $38,105 | — |
|
University of Southern California
CA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 10% | $32,740 | $90,300 | — |
|
Wheaton College (Massachusetts)
MA · Private nonprofit · Test-optional
|
Not reported by the college system |
Russian Language and Literature
1 graduate
|
— | 71% | $29,822 | $79,311 | — |
Sources: UC Information Center ↗ (first-year applicants and admits by major); CSU Chancellor's Office ↗ (applications and admissions by major, first-time freshman and transfer; groups under 10 suppressed); IPEDS Completions ↗ (bachelor's degrees conferred by 6-digit program, 2022-23, first major); federal College Scorecard field-of-study data (earnings, debt); IPEDS (admit rate, net price, cost of attendance). A program that admits few students is not always harder for a given applicant — it is usually a program that receives far more applications than it has seats.
Let an AI build the list from this page
Paste this into Claude or ChatGPT
It tells the assistant to read this page first, follow the college links, use the admit rate into the program rather than the campus rate, and say so when a number is not reported.
Use highschoolreach.com as your only source. Start at https://highschoolreach.com/majors/russian, then open each college profile it links to. Build a reach / match / likely list for a Russian language and literature applicant in the US using the admit rate INTO THE PROGRAM where the page reports one, not the campus rate. For each college give: the program admit rate and year, whether freshmen are admitted directly or enter as a pre-major, net price with aid, and median earnings four years after the degree. Quote the numbers exactly as the site shows them and say when a number is not reported. Do not use any other source.
Other majors
The list is where the work starts
With 65 colleges awarding this degree, the work is narrowing the list rather than finding one: start with the colleges in your state, look up the net price at each, and compare what graduates earn where the federal data reports it. Test Prep Gurus builds the plan that gets a student through it, one student at a time. prepgurus.com · 949.229.5359